Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Press Release 109/2011

KIT Takes over the Archive of Works by Frei Otto

Models of Architecture and Other Materials Exhibited at saai I Archive for Architecture and Engineering in Southwest Germany
Lichtaugen für Stuttgart 21: eines der Modelle aus dem Werkarchiv Frei Otto (Foto: saai)
Light eyes for Stuttgart 21: One of the models from the archive of Frei Otto. (Photo: saai)

Frei Otto is one of the most renowned architects of the 20th century. Among his best-known constructions are the roofs in the Olympic Park in Munich. Last, he designed the light eyes for the Stuttgart 21 project. The archive of works by Frei Otto with more than 400 models is now handed over by the 86-year-old architect to saai I Archive for Architecture and Engineering in Southwest Germany at KIT. During a press conference on Wednesday, July 06, 11 hrs, at the Karlsruher Staatliche Münze (Stephanienstrasse 28a), saai will present this collection.

Apart from Frei Otto, Professor Johann Josef Böker, Head of saai, Dr. Joachim Kleinmanns, scientist at saai, and the architect and scientist Professor Roland Ostertag, Stuttgart, will answer the questions asked by the press. In addition, a guided tour through the archive of works by Frei Otto will be offered. Representatives of the media are cordially invited. Kindly register using the form enclosed.

Frei Otto is architect, engineer, constructor, inventor, and scientist. In the past century, he influenced modern architecture and engineering. As early as in 1970 did he draw public attention to aspects of resources efficiency, planning for saving energy, and climate and environmental protection during construction. Frei Otto extensively worked on these topics, for instance, by developing and inventing viable and energy-efficient constructions.

In February this year already were 429 models of architecture transferred from the artist’s workshop at Warmbronn to KIT. Other materials, such as sketches and plans, files, photos, and specimen copies will follow. “As soon as these documents will be in Karlsruhe, we will start with the indexing of the material, which is the prerequisite for its use,” says the Head of saai, Professor Johann Josef Böker.

KIT has purchased the archive of works with financial support by the State of Baden-Württemberg and transferred it to saai. Numerous, also international institutions, such as the Centre Pompidou, Paris, struggled to get this collection. Thanks to the architect and scientist Professor Roland Ostertag, Stuttgart, the collection now stays in Baden-Württemberg at a university. “This is an investment with perspective, in the future, in research, in education and training of future generations,” says Ostertag. The decision in favor of the saai was made due to its convincing concept: While most competitors wanted to present some models of high value in exhibitions, saai intends to use the works as a basis of research. “For this purpose, also the files and plans will be of crucial importance,” says Dr. Joachim Kleinmanns, scientist at saai. “This inventory allows to reproduce the planning process in all individual steps.” At the Staatliche Münze Karlsruhe (state’s mint), the materials will be accessible for scientific, didactic, and artistic purposes. Access of the public will require advance reservation.
 
After an indexing phase in the next years, several research projects of saai and external researchers will then be dedicated to partial aspects of the works by Frei Otto. In addition, the archive will be permanently available to the institutions of KIT and other establishments as teaching material. saai understands itself as coordination partner for research and teaching activities relating to the works of Frei Otto. It is one of the most significant and largest archives of architecture in Germany. Here, inventories of more than 200 architects and engineers with more than 1 million documents are stored.

About Frei Otto
Frei Otto was born in 1925 at Siegmar, Saxony, and studied architecture at the Technical University of Berlin. In 1952, the started his career as free-lance architect. In 1958, he founded the “Entwicklungsstätte für den Leichtbau” (workshop for the development of lightweight construction). In 1964, he was appointed head of the Institute for Lightweight Load-bearing Surface Structures of the Technical University of Stuttgart. In Stuttgart, he taught as an ordinary professor from 1976 to 1991. There, he also established the collaborative research centers on “Tensioned Load-bearing Surface Constructions” (from 1971) and “Natural Constructions” (from 1984). Among the best-known constructions are the German pavilion at the World Exposition in Montreal in 1976 (with Rolf Gutbrod), the roofings of the Olympic Park in Munich (with Behnisch& Partner, 1968 – 72), the sports hall of the King Abdul Aziz University in Jeddah (with Rolf Gutbrod, 1976 – 81), and the diplomatic club at Riyadh (with the office Omrania, Riyadh; 1980 – 86), Saudi Arabia. Last, Frei Otto was successful with his design for Stuttgart 21 (with Ingenhoven, Overdiek, and Partners).

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

le, 29.06.2011

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneUqd7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseXdq3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 109/2011

KIT übernimmt das Werkarchiv Frei Otto

Architekturmodelle und weitere Materialien sind im saai  Südwestdeutsches Archiv für Architektur und Ingenieurbau zu sehen.
Lichtaugen für Stuttgart 21: eines der Modelle aus dem Werkarchiv Frei Otto (Foto: saai)
Lichtaugen für Stuttgart 21: eines der Modelle aus dem Werkarchiv Frei Otto (Foto: saai)

Frei Otto ist einer der bedeutendsten Architekten des 20. Jahrhunderts. Zu seinen bekanntesten Bauten gehört die Überdachung des Münchner Olympiageländes. Zuletzt entwarf er die Lichtaugen für das Projekt Stuttgart 21. Das Werkarchiv Frei Otto mit mehr als 400 Modellen übergibt der heute 86-Jährige an das saai  Südwestdeutsches Archiv für Architektur und Ingenieurbau am KIT. Bei einem Pressegespräch am Mittwoch, 6. Juli, um 11 Uhr in der Karlsruher Staatlichen Münze (Stephanienstraße 28 a) stellt das saai die Sammlung vor.

Gesprächspartner sind neben Frei Otto selbst, Professor Johann Josef Böker, Leiter des saai, Dr. Joachim Kleinmanns, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter des saai, sowie der Stuttgarter Architekt und Wissenschaflter Professor Roland Ostertag. Zudem wird es eine Führung durch das Werkarchiv Frei Otto geben. Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Medien sind hierzu herzlich eingeladen.

Frei Otto ist Architekt, Ingenieur, Konstrukteur, Erfinder und Wissenschaftler. Im vergangenen Jahrhundert hat er im Besonderen die Entwicklung der modernen Architektur und des Ingenieurwesens maßgebend beeinflusst. Bereits seit 1970 hat er auf Ressourcenschonung, energiesparendes Planen sowie Klima- und Umweltschutz beim Bauen aufmerksam gemacht. An diesen Themen hat er intensiv gearbeitet, etwa im Bereich von Entwicklung und Erfindung zukunftsweisender, effizienter, energetischer Konstruktionen.

Bereits im Februar dieses Jahres kamen 429 Architekturmodelle aus dem Atelier Frei Otto in Warmbronn an das KIT. Die weiteren Materialien wie Skizzen und Pläne, Akten, Fotos und Belegexemplare werden nach und nach folgen. „Sobald diese Dokumente in Karlsruhe sind, können wir mit der Erschließung des Materials, die Voraussetzung für die Benutzung ist, beginnen“, sagt der Leiter des saai Professor Johann Josef Böker.

Das KIT hat das Werkarchiv mit finanzieller Hilfe des Landes Baden-Württemberg erworben und an das saai übergeben. Zahlreiche, auch internationale Einrichtungen wie das Centre Pompidou in Paris hatten sich um die Sammlung bemüht. Dass sie im Land bleibt, ist ist unter anderem dem Stuttgarter Architekten und Wissenschaftler Professor Roland Ostertag zu verdanken, der sich für den Erhalt am Universitätsstandort Baden-Württemberg einsetzte. „Das ist eine Investition mit Perspektive, in die Zukunft, in die Forschung, in die Bildung und Ausbildung zukünftiger Generationen“, so Ostertag. Die Entscheidung für das saai fiel aufgrund des überzeugenden Konzepts: Während es den meisten der Mitbewerber um eine museale Präsentation von einzelnen besonders wertvollen Modellen in Ausstellungen ging, soll der Bestand in Karlsruhe langfristig der Forschung als Grundlage dienen. „Dafür werden auch der Akten- und Planbestand von zentraler Wichtigkeit sein“, sagt Dr. Joachim Kleinmanns, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter des saai. „Denn er macht den tatsächlichen Planungsprozess in allen Einzelschritten nachvollziehbar.“ Der Bestand wird in den Räumen der Staatlichen Münze Karlsruhe für wissenschaftliche, didaktische und künstlerische Zwecke bei Voranmeldung allgemein zugänglich sein.
 
Nach einer Aufarbeitungsphase in den nächsten Jahren sollen in der Folgezeit mehrere Forschungsprojekte des saai und externer Forscher zu unterschiedlichen Teilaspekten des Werkes von Frei Otto eingerichtet werden. Darüber hinaus steht das Werkarchiv als Lehrmaterial den verschiedenen Einrichtungen des KIT wie auch anderen Institutionen zur ständigen Verfügung. Das saai versteht sich dabei als Koordinationspartner für Forschung und Lehre zum Werk von Frei Otto. Die Einrichtung ist eines der bedeutendsten und größten Architekturarchive Deutschlands. Es bewahrt Bestände von über 200 Architekten und Ingenieuren mit über 1 Million Dokumenten.

Zur Person Frei Otto

Der 1925 in Siegmar in Sachsen geborene Frei Otto studierte an der TU Berlin Architektur und begann 1952 seine Karriere als Freier Architekt. 1958 gründete er in Berlin die „Entwicklungsstätte für den Leichtbau“, 1964 wurde er zum Leiter des Instituts für leichte Flächentragwerke an die TH Stuttgart berufen. In Stuttgart lehrte er von 1976 bis 1991 als Ordentlicher Professor. Dort rief er auch die Sonderforschungsbereiche „Weitgespannte Flächentragwerke“ (ab 1971) und „Natürliche Konstruktionen“ (ab 1984) ins Leben. Zu seinen bedeutendsten Bauten zählen der Deutsche Pavillon der Weltausstellung in Montreal 1967 (mit Rolf Gutbrod), die Überdachung des Olympiaparks in München (mit Behnisch & Partner, 1968-1972), die Sporthalle der King-Abdul-Aziz-Universität in Jeddah (mit Rolf Gutbrod, 1976-1981) und der Diplomatische Club in Riyadh (mit dem Büro Omrania, Riyadh; 1980-1986), beide in Saudi-Arabien. Zuletzt war Frei Otto vor allem durch den Wettbewerbsentwurf zu Stuttgart 21 (mit Ingenhoven, Overdiek und Partner) erfolgreich.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 29.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTrz5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseQwg4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.