Press Release 105/2011

Energy Engineering and Management Program about to start

Innovative Studies Program at KIT’s HECTOR School for Young Executives in Industry
Erneuerbare Energien sind ein Themenfeld des neuen Studiengangs, der ingenieurwissenschaftliche Module mit Managementmodulen kombiniert. (Foto: istock)
Renewable energies will be in the focus of the new studies program that combines engineering with management modules. (Photo: Martin Lober, KIT)

Profound knowledge of new energy technologies, combined with up-to-date management know-how, is conveyed by the new studies program “Energy Engineering and Management” that will be offered parallel to profession by KIT’s Hector School. This innovative master program addresses young executives in industry and meets with the increasing demand for engineers having international management know-how. As part of the European KIC InnoEnergy consortium, the studies program will support the development of a climate-neutral, sustainable energy supply in Europe.

Energy drives progress. Industry, communication, mobility and transport, public institutions, and private households depend on reliable, secure, and affordable energy supply. At the same time, energy use is increasingly associated with problems for the climate and environment, such as global warming due to carbon dioxide emissions (CO2). Wide use of renewable energies and a high effi-ciency of energy conversion, storage, and distribution will pave the way towards secure and sustainable energy supply. Industry and research have to develop viable solutions. “Excellently qualified engineers and scientists with comprehensive technical knowledge and profound entrepreneurial thinking and acting are indispensable,” Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer, Scientific Spokesman of the KIT En-ergy Center, says. Together with Professor Mathias Noe, he directs the master program “Energy Engineering and Management.”

In September this year, the M.Sc. program will start at the Hector School of Engineering and Management, KIT’s Technology Busi-ness School. The program has a duration of one and a half years. The target group consists of future executives and high potentials of utilities and producing companies in the energy sector. “Ex-perienced engineers in particular have an acute need for requalifica-tion relating to technologies for renewable energies”, the manager of the Hector School, Dr. Judith Elsner, explains. “In view of the high industrial and social relevance of this issue, demand for experts in this field is growing.”
 
Five engineering modules of the studies program in the Englsih language focus on renewable energies, conversion of thermal ener-gy, electricity production and energy storage, smart grids and ener-gy distribution, and on energy management. In addition, five man-agement modules are offered on finance and accounting, interna-tional project management, innovation and intrapreneurship, human resources management, and contract law. The module on innovation and intrapreneurship, i.e. on the entrepreneurial acting of the staff, will be held at the ESADE Business School in Barcelona/Spain.
 
The Energy Engineering and Management Program of KIT is in-tended to complement the training offers made by the European consortium KIC InnoEnergy. KIC InnoEnergy, an association of 28 renowned companies, research institutions, universities, and busi-ness schools, was founded to establish a secure and sustainable energy supply in Europe. KIC InnoEnergy wishes to strengthen the innovative capacity of Europe by closing the innovation gap and training highly qualified experts for the energy sector.

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. The KIT Energy Center pools fundamental research with applied research into all relevant energy sources for industry, households, services, and mobility. Holistic assessment of the energy cycle also covers conversion processes and energy efficiency. The KIT Energy Center links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable ener-gies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 21.06.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseVpd4∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneRqb0∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 105/2011

„Energy Engineering and Management“ startet

Innovativer Studiengang an der HECTOR School des KIT für Führungsnachwuchs der Industrie
Erneuerbare Energien sind ein Themenfeld des neuen Studiengangs, der ingenieurwissenschaftliche Module mit Managementmodulen kombiniert. (Foto: istock)
Erneuerbare Energien sind ein Themenfeld des neuen Studiengangs, der ingenieurwissenschaftliche Module mit Managementmodulen kombiniert. (Foto: Martin Lober, KIT)

Fundiertes Wissen über neue Energietechnologien, verbunden mit aktuellem Managementwissen, vermittelt der neue berufsbegleitende Studiengang „Energy Engineering and Management“ an der HECTOR School des KIT. Das innovative Masterprogramm richtet sich an Nachwuchsführungskräfte in der Industrie und entspricht der steigenden Nachfrage nach Ingenieuren mit internationalen Managementkenntnissen. Verankert im europäischen Konsortium KIC InnoEnergy, unterstützt der Studiengang die Entwicklung einer klimaneutralen, nachhaltigen Energieversorgung für Europa.

Energie treibt den Fortschritt an. Industrie, Kommunikation, Mobilität und Transport, öffentliche Einrichtungen und private Haushalte sind auf eine sichere, zuverlässige und bezahlbare Energieversorgung angewiesen. Zugleich bringt die Energienutzung zunehmend Probleme für Klima und Umwelt mit sich, wie die globale Erwärmung durch Kohlendioxid-Emissionen (CO2). Eine breite Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien sowie eine hohe Effizienz bei Energieumwandlung, -speicherung und -verteilung ebnen den Weg zu einer sicheren und nachhaltigen Energieversorgung. Industrie und Forschung sind gefordert, tragfähige Lösungen zu entwickeln. „Hervorragend ausgebildete Ingenieure und Wissenschaftler mit umfassenden technischen Kenntnissen sowie ausgeprägtem unternehmerischem Denken und Handeln stellen dafür eine wichtige Voraussetzung dar“, sagt Professor Hans-Jörg Bauer, wissenschaftlicher Sprecher des KIT-Zentrums Energie, der zusammen mit Professor Mathias Noe als Programmdirektor des Masterstudiengangs „Energy Engineering and Management“ fungiert.

Der Studiengang mit Abschluss M.Sc. startet im September dieses Jahres an der HECTOR School of Engineering and Management, der Technology Business School des KIT, und dauert insgesamt eineinhalb Jahre. Zielgruppe sind künftige Führungskräfte und High Potentials bei Energieversorgungsunternehmen und produzierenden Unternehmen im Energiebereich. „Gerade bei berufserfahrenen Ingenieuren besteht ein akuter Bedarf nachzuqualifizieren, besonders was Technologien für erneuerbare Energien betrifft“, erklärt die Geschäftsführerin der HECTOR School, Dr. Judith Elsner. „Angesichts der hohen wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Relevanz des Themas werden Experten in diesem Bereich immer stärker nachgefragt.“
 
Fünf ingenieurwissenschaftliche Module des englischsprachigen Programms sind den Themen Erneuerbare Energien, Umwandlung von Wärmeenergie, Stromerzeugung und Energiespeicherung, Intelligente Netzwerke und Energieverteilung sowie Energiewirtschaft gewidmet. Dazu kommen fünf Managementmodule zu den Themen Finanz- und Rechnungswesen, Internationales Projektmanagement, Innovation und Intrapreneurship, Personalmanagement sowie Vertragsrecht. Das Modul zu Innovation und Intrapreneurship, das heißt unternehmerischem Handeln von Mitarbeitern, findet an der ESADE
Business School in Barcelona/Spanien statt.
 
Mit „Energy Engineering and Management“ steuert das KIT einen innovativen Studiengang zum Ausbildungsangebot des europäischen Konsortiums KIC InnoEnergy bei. KIC InnoEnergy, ein Zusammenschluss von 28 renommierten Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen, Universitäten und Business Schools, ist angetreten, um eine sichere und nachhaltige Energieversorgung für Europa aufzubauen. Indem KIC InnoEnergy die Innovationslücke schließt und hochqualifizierte Fachkräfte für den Energiesektor ausbildet, trägt es dazu bei, die Innovationskraft Europas zu stärken.


In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen: Das KIT-Zentrum Energie vereint grundlegende und angewandte Forschung zu allen relevanten Energieformen für Industrie, Haushalt, Dienstleistungen und Mobilität. In die ganzheitliche Betrachtung des Energiekreislaufs sind Umwandlungsprozesse und Energieeffizienz mit einbezogen. Das KIT-Zentrum Energie verbindet exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse.



Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

or, 21.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneHio5∂kit edu