Press Release 103/2011

ERC Starting Grants for Two KIT Scientists

Funds for Projects on Terabit Communication and Peptide Arrays
Vom Europäischen Forschungsrat mit Starting Grants ausgezeichnet: PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller (links) und Professor Christian Koos. (Fotos: KIT)
PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller (left) and Professor Christian Koos are awarded starting grants by the European Research Council. (Photos: KIT)

How can data be transmitted more rapidly and energy-efficiently? This question is studied by a research group on terabit communication, which is headed by Professor Christian Koos from the Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics (IPQ) of KIT. PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller from the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) works on a new process to produce highly dense peptide arrays – smallest “data carriers” with amino acids – for immunology and medicine development. Both scientists have now acquired one of the renowned ERC Starting Grants each. 

Their projects will be funded with about EUR 1.5 million each over a period of five years. With the Starting Independent Researcher Grant, the European Research Council (ERC) funds pioneer projects of young scientists under the specific programme “Ideas” of the 7th EU Research Framework Programme. The 2011 Starting Grant is the fourth call for proposals. In 2009 and 2010 already were the KIT physicist Dr. Regina Hoffmann and the KIT climate researcher Dr. Matthias Schneider awarded this renowned grant. A total of 4080 proposals were submitted in 2011, about 450 of them can be funded in this round.  
 
Worldwide data traffic is growing continuously and requires more and more energy. In 2007, information and communication technology was responsible for around 10% of electricity consumption in Germany. A large fraction was used for data transmission in computing centers, access and wide area networks. Making data transmission more rapid and more energy-efficient is the objective of the research group on “Energy-efficient terabit communication” that will be established by Professor Christian Koos with the ERC funds at the IPQ.

Using new transmission technologies, optical frequency combs, and nanophotonic components, the transmission rate in data networks is to be increased from presently 100 gigabits per second by a factor of 100 to more than 10 terabits per second. “This corresponds to about 1 billion telephone calls,” explains Professor Koos. For this purpose, optical frequency combs are applied, which consist of a regular pattern of frequency lines. Frequency combs may be used as an optical ruler to measure the frequency of electromagnetic radiation with highest precision. Together with nanophotonic components that combine a high number of nanostructures on a minute silicon chip, optical frequency combs allow for energy-efficient processing of data flows with high transmission rates on smallest space.

At the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) of KIT, PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller is working on a new process to produce highly dense peptide arrays with the help of laser radiation under his ERC project. Peptides are chains of amino acids. With the help of the new method, they can be synthesized on various surfaces, such as glass object carriers or silicon disks. Such peptide arrays are used in life sciences, where specific binding with peptides is relevant. This particularly applies to research into proteins and their interactions in cells and organisms (proteome research), immunology, but also to diagnosis and the development of medical agents. “Highly dense peptide arrays among others serve to study antigene-antibody interactions. With them, complete read-out of the information stored in the human immune system may become possible,” explains Nesterov-Müller.

In the course of the new process developed in close cooperation with PD Dr. Frank Breitling, the amino acids that make up the peptides are applied with highest precision by defined melting of solid particles using laser radiation rather than in solution. In this way, highly dense peptide arrays of up to a million peptides per cm2 can be produced. In parallel, Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller works on implementing molecular search machines to develop with maximum efficiency molecules with the desired material properties based on these highly dense arrays. Such a molecular search machine might be applied in many areas of life and material sciences, for instance, in the development of biocatalysts.

Professor Christian Koos has been holding the Chair for Photonic Communication Technology at the Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics (IPQ) of KIT since 2010. He studied electrical engineering at Universität Karlsruhe (TH), was conferred his diploma in 2002, and completed his doctorate in 2007. From 2007 to 2008, he worked at the IPQ as a post-doc and conducted pioneer research into nanophotonic silicon-organic hybrid (SOH) components. From 2008 to 2010, he was responsible for technology radars for nanotechnology and measurement technology in the research division of Carl Zeiss AG. Today, research of Christian Koos focuses on nanophotonics and optical data transmission and measurement technology.

PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller has been working at the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) and as a lecturer at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of KIT since 2010. From 1992 to 1998, he studied physics at the Lomonosov Moscow State University. From 1998 to 2000, he was employed as a scientist by the Institute on Laser and Information Technologies at Moscow/Shatura and moved to the Institute for Solid-state and Materials Research, Dresden, in 2001. From 2002 to 2003, he worked as a scientist at the Heinrich Hertz Institute for Communication Technology, Berlin. From 2003 to 2010, he was member of the working group “Chip-based Peptide Libraries“ at the German Cancer Research Center in Heidelberg. At Heidelberg University, Nesterov-Müller was conferred his doctorate and post-doctoral lecture qualification in 2006 and 2008, respectively. Presently, Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller is conducting research into the production and further development of particle-based highly dense molecular arrays and their application for evolutionary search machines.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 20.06.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGpw7∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneHre6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFry5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 103/2011

ERC Starting Grants für zwei KIT-Wissenschaftler

Die beiden geförderten Projekte befassen sich mit Terabitkommunikation sowie mit Peptidarrays
Vom Europäischen Forschungsrat mit Starting Grants ausgezeichnet: PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller (links) und Professor Christian Koos. (Fotos: KIT)
Vom Europäischen Forschungsrat mit Starting Grants ausgezeichnet: PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller (links) und Professor Christian Koos. (Fotos: KIT)

Wie lassen sich Daten schneller und zugleich energieeffizienter übertragen? Damit befasst sich eine Forschergruppe zur Terabitkommunikation unter Leitung von Professor Christian Koos am Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik (IPQ) des KIT. An einem neuen Verfahren, hochdichte Peptidarrays – kleinste „Datenträger“ mit Aminosäuren – für die Immunologie und Arzneimittelentwicklung herzustellen, arbeitet PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller vom Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT). Beide Wissenschaftler haben nun je einen der begehrten ERC Starting Grants eingeworben.

Sie erhalten für ihre Projekte eine Förderung von je rund 1,5 Millionen Euro, verteilt auf fünf Jahre. Mit dem Starting Independent Researcher Grant fördert der Europäische Forschungsrat (ERC – European Research Council) über das spezifische Programm „Ideen“ im 7. EU-Forschungsrahmenprogramm bahnbrechende Projekte von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern. Der Starting Grant 2011 ist die vierte Ausschreibung. Bereits 2009 und 2010 hatte mit der Physikerin Dr. Regina Hoffmann und dem Klimaforscher Dr. Matthias Schneider je ein KIT-Wissenschaftler den begehrten Grant eingeworben. 2011 gingen insgesamt 4080 Anträge ein; rund 450 Projekte können in dieser Runde gefördert werden.
 
Der weltweite Datenverkehr wächst unaufhörlich – und benötigt immer mehr Energie. Im Jahr 2007 war die Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik bereits für rund zehn Prozent des Stromverbrauchs in Deutschland verantwortlich, ein erheblicher Teil davon wurde für die Datenübertragung in Rechenzentren, Zugangs- und Weitverkehrsnetzen aufgewendet. Die Datenübertragung schneller und zugleich energieeffizienter zu machen, ist Ziel der Forschergruppe „Energieeffiziente Terabitkommunikation“, die Professor Christian Koos mit den ERC-Fördermitteln am IPQ aufbaut.
 
Mithilfe von neuen Übertragungstechniken, optischen Frequenzkämmen und nanophotonischen Bauteilen soll die Übertragungsrate in Datennetzen von derzeit 100 Gigabit pro Sekunde um einen Faktor 100 auf über 10 Terabit pro Sekunde steigen. „Das entspricht etwa einer Milliarde Telefongespräche“, erklärt Professor Koos. Dazu werden optische Frequenzkämme genutzt, die aus einem regelmäßigen Muster von Frequenzlinien bestehen. Man kann Frequenzkämme beispielsweise als optisches Lineal verwenden, um die Frequenz von elektromagnetischer Strahlung höchst präzise zu messen. In der Kombination mit nanophotonischen Bauteilen, die eine hohe Zahl von Nanostrukturen auf einem winzigen Siliziumchip vereinen, ermöglichen optische Frequenzkämme die energieeffiziente Verarbeitung von Datenströmen mit hohen Übertragungsraten auf kleinstem Raum.
 
An einem neuen Verfahren, hochdichte Peptidarrays mithilfe von Laserstrahlung herzustellen, arbeitet PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT in seinem ERC-geförderten Projekt. Peptide sind Ketten von Aminosäuren, die sich mit der neuen Methode auf verschiedenen Oberflächen wie Glasobjektträger oder Siliziumscheiben synthetisieren lassen. Solche Peptidarrays werden in den Lebenswissenschaften eingesetzt, wo immer eine spezifische Bindung mit Peptiden relevant ist. Das betrifft vor allem das Erforschen der Proteine und ihrer Wechselwirkungen in Zellen und Lebewesen (Proteomforschung), die Immunologie, aber auch die Diagnostik und die Entwicklung von Arzneimittelwirkstoffen. „Hochdichte Peptidarrays dienen unter anderem dazu, Antigen-Antikörper-Wechselwirkungen zu erforschen. Damit rückt beispielsweise das vollständige Auslesen der im menschlichen Immunsystem abgelegten Informationen in den Bereich des Möglichen“, erläutert Nesterov-Müller.
 
Bei dem in enger Kooperation mit PD Dr. Frank Breitling entwickelten neuen Verfahren werden die Aminosäuren, aus denen die Peptide aufgebaut sind, nicht in einer Lösung, sondern durch definiertes Anschmelzen von festen Partikeln mithilfe von Laserstrahlung punktgenau aufgebracht. So wird die Herstellung hochdichter Peptidarrays mit bis zu einer Million Peptiden pro Quadratzentimeter möglich. Parallel dazu arbeitet Dr. Alexander Nesterov daran, molekulare Suchmaschinen zu realisieren, mit denen sich Moleküle mit gewünschten Materialeigenschaften möglichst effizient auf Basis der hochdichten Arrays entwickeln lassen. Eine derartige molekulare Suchmaschine ließe sich in verschiedenen Bereichen der Lebenswissenschaften und der Materialwissenschaften einsetzen, beispielsweise bei der Entwicklung von Biokatalysatoren.
 
Professor Christian Koos hat seit 2010 den Lehrstuhl für Photonische Kommunikationstechnik am Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik (IPQ) des KIT inne. Er studierte Elektrotechnik an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH), erwarb 2002 sein Diplom und schloss 2007 seine Promotion ab. Von 2007 bis 2008 war er als Postdoktorand am IPQ tätig und leistete wegweisende Forschung zu nanophotonischen Silicon-Organic Hybrid (SOH) Bauteilen. Von 2008 bis 2010 leitete er die Technologieradare für Nanotechnologie und Messtechnik in der Konzernforschung der Carl Zeiss AG. Heute forscht Christian Koos vor allem auf den Gebieten der Nanophotonik sowie der optischen Datenübertragung und Messtechnik.
 
PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller ist seit 2010 am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) und als Dozent an der Fakultät für Maschinenbau des KIT tätig. Er studierte von 1992 bis 1998 Physik an der Lomonosow-Universität Moskau. Von 1998 bis 2000 arbeitete er als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institute on Laser and Information Technologies Moskau/Schatura, 2001 war er am Institut für Festkörper- und Werkstoffforschung in Dresden tätig. Von 2002 bis 2003 war er als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Heinrich-Hertz-Institut für Nachrichtentechnik Berlin beschäftigt. 2003 bis 2010 forschte er in der Arbeitsgruppe „Chip-Based Peptide Libraries“ am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum in Heidelberg. An der Universität Heidelberg promovierte er 2006 und habilitierte 2008. Aktuell forscht Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller vor allem auf dem Gebiet der Herstellung und Weiterentwicklung von partikel-basierten hochdichten molekularen Arrays und deren Anwendung für evolutionäre Suchmaschinen.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 20.06.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJca2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseEkn9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.