Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 062/2011

From Research Model to an Instrument Used by Weather Services

How Do Ash Plumes Disperse? KIT Meteorologists and Climate Researchers Improve Observation and Forecast Methods
Nach dem Ausbruch ist vor dem Ausbruch: Das KIT hilft Experten, die Ausdehnung  von Vulkanasche besser verfolgen zu können. (Foto: photocase.de)
After the eruption is before the eruption: KIT helps experts to better pursue the dispersion of volcano ashes. (Photo: photocase.de)

After the eruption of the volcano on Iceland one year ago, researchers of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) extensively worked on methods to improve the observation and forecast of the dispersion of ash plumes. Now, they have presented their findings in scientific articles. These articles also cover the question of how an ash plume affects air quality and health. The results are of high use among others to the German Weather Service (DWD).

The scientists studied the dispersion of the ash plume of the Eyjafjallajökull volcano above central Europe in mid-April 2010. Their analyses are based on remote measurements from the ground using a network of optical methods, such as ceilometers and lidar devices. They reveal that the first cloud on April 16 and 17, 2010, essentially consisted of a several hundred kilometers wide and a few hundred meters thick ash layer that moved southwards above Germany. It subsided due to descending winds in a high-pressure area extending over several hundred kilometers.  

In the morning of April 17, 2010, the plume reached the Alpine foothills and partly dissolved. These findings were confirmed by analyses of air movement and observations from mountain observatories. Based on measurements by the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division (IMK-IFU) with an ultra-light aircraft, the scientists discovered the arrival of a second plume of volcanic material in South Germany.

Moreover, the researchers simulated the dispersion numerically using two three-dimensional models: The climate-chemistry model MCCM of IMK-IFU, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, and COSMO-ART of the Troposphere Research Division (IMK-TRO), Karlsruhe. While the former is designed for emission and air quality analyses based on an internationally widely used meteorology model, the latter model is designed for the interaction between air quality and climate. The MCCM model was used to calculate the displacement of the ash plume from the place of eruption in Iceland to central Europe over several days. Like the measurements, the simulations revealed the dispersion of a flat, spatially extended plume. “The arrival times simulated by MCCM are in very good agreement with the measurements, except for the Alpine foothills,” says Professor Stefan Emeis from IMK-IFU.

According to Dr. Peter Suppan from IMK-IFU, these activities confirm “that the ash plume can be observed in a cloudless sky with ground-based optical remote measurement methods.” It was also documented that official measurement stations in South Germany recorded a major increase in fine dust, with concentrations exceeding limit values. The scientists are sure: “Chemical analyses clearly prove the presence of the ash plume.” Another major finding: Numerical dispersion models like MCCM are able to correctly calculate the dispersion of an ash plume. “And it is proved for the first time that a ceilometer network is suited for checking the quality of dispersion models,” says Suppan. It is also shown by the work that mountain ranges, such as the Alps, considerably influence the dispersion of ash plumes.

In close cooperation with the German Weather Service (DWD), the scientists started to operate COSMO-ART during the eruption already. In this way, the DWD was enabled to forecast the ash plume over a period of 72 hours and in intervals of six hours parallel to daily weather forecast. Spatial resolution in horizontal direction amounted to seven kilometers in the complete model area. This forecast chain was maintained over the complete duration of the eruption of the volcano and did not only consider forecasts made by other research institutions, but also measurements of atmospheric variables like air pressure or temperature. “This demonstrably improved the quality of the model results,” says Dr. Bernhard Vogel from IMK-TRO. During the eruption, the researchers made aerosol measurements in order to check the results. “As six model results are available for every point of time of forecast,” Vogel explains, “first probability statements can be made as to whether the ash concentration exceeds the limit value relevant to air traffic.” In case of future volcano eruptions, COSMO-ART will be used as a standard instrument by DWD in cooperation with IMK-TRO.

The studies were performed by KIT scientists in cooperation with the DWD, Federal Environment Agency, Helmholtz Center Munich, Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich, University of Innsbruck, Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Bavarian State Environment Agency, University of Augsburg, and VAISALA GmbH.

Publications:

Emeis, S., R. Forkel, W. Junkermann, K. Schäfer, H. Flentje, S. Gilge, W. Fricke, M. Wiegner, V. Freudenthaler, S. Groß, L. Ries, F. Meinhardt, W. Birmili, C. Münkel, F. Obleitner, P. Suppan, 2011: Measurement and simulation of the 16/17 April 2010 Eyjafjallajökull volcanic ash layer dispersion in the northern Alpine region. Atmos. Chem. Phys., 11, 2689–2701. www.atmos-chem-phys.net/11/2689/2011/, DOI: 10.5194/acp-11-2689-2011

Schäfer, K., W. Thomas, A. Peters, L. Ries, F. Obleitner, J. Schnelle-Kreis, W. Birmili, J. Diemer, W. Fricke, W. Junkermann, M. Pitz, S. Emeis, R. Forkel, P. Suppan, H. Flentje, S. Gilge, H.E. Wichmann, F. Meinhardt, R. Zimmermann, K. Weinhold, J. Soentgen, C. Münkel, C. Freuer, J. Cyrys, 2011: Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss., 11, 9083-9132, 2011, www.atmos-chem-phys-discuss.net/11/9083/2011/ doi:10.5194/acpd-11-9083-2011

Simulation of the dispersion of the Eyjafjallajökull plume over Europe with an operational version of COSMO-ART, Vogel, H., J. Förstner, B. Vogel, Th. Hanisch, B. Mühr, U. Schättler, prepared for submission to Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss Atmospheric CP

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ele, 15.04.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKud1∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmeleGwh9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 062/2011

Vom Forschungsmodell zum Gerät der Wetterdienste

Wie breiten sich Aschewolken aus? Meteorologen und Klimaforscher am KIT verbessern Verfahren zur Beobachtung und Vorhersage
Nach dem Ausbruch ist vor dem Ausbruch: Das KIT hilft Experten, die Ausdehnung  von Vulkanasche besser verfolgen zu können. (Foto: photocase.de)
Nach dem Ausbruch ist vor dem Ausbruch: Das KIT hilft Experten, die Ausdehnung von Vulkanasche besser verfolgen zu können. (Foto: photocase.de)

Nach dem Ausbruch des Vulkans auf Island vor einem Jahr arbeiteten Forscherinnen und Forscher des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) intensiv an Verfahren zur besseren Beobachtung und Vorhersage der Ausbreitung von Aschewolken. Jetzt haben sie in wissenschaftlichen Artikeln ihre Ergebnisse vorgelegt. Dabei gehen sie auch der Frage nach, wie sich eine Aschewolke auf die Luftqualität und die Gesundheit auswirkt. Von großem Nutzen sind die Resultate unter anderem für den Deutschen Wetterdienst (DWD).

Die Wissenschaftler haben die Ausbreitung der Aschewolke des Vulkans Eyjafjallajökull Mitte April 2010 über Mitteleuropa untersucht. Die Analysen basieren auf Fernmessungen vom Boden aus mit einem Netzwerk von optischen Verfahren wie Ceilometern und Lidar-Geräten. Sie zeigen, dass die erste Wolke am 16. und 17. April 2010 im Wesentlichen aus einer viele hundert Kilometer breiten und wenige hundert Meter dicken Ascheschicht bestand, die über Deutschland südwärts zog. Sie sank ab aufgrund von abwärts gerichteten Winden in einem sich über viele hundert Kilometer erstreckenden Hochdruckgebiet.

Am Vormittag des 17. April 2010 erreichte die Wolke den Alpenrand und löste sich teilweise auf. Analysen der Luftbewegung und Beobachtungen aus Bergobservatorien stützten diese Erkenntnisse. Messungen mit einem ultraleichten Flugzeug des Bereichs Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK-IFU) ermöglichten es den Wissenschaftlern, die Ankunft einer zweiten Wolke mit vulkanischem Material in Süddeutschland zu entdecken.

Zudem erstellten die Forscherinnen und Forscher numerische Simulationen der Ausbreitung mit zwei dreidimensionalen Modellen: dem Klima-Chemie-Modell MCCM des IMK-IFU in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, das auf Emissions- und Luftqualitätsanalysen ausgerichtet ist und auf einem international weit verbreiteten Meteorologie-Modell beruht; und dem auf die Wechselwirkung zwischen Luftqualität und Klima aangelegten COSMO-ART des Bereichs Troposphäre (IMK-TRO) in Karlsruhe. Das Modell MCCM berechnete die Verlagerung der Aschewolke vom Eruptionsort in Island bis nach Mitteleuropa über mehrere Tage hinweg. Die Simulationen zeigten wie die Messungen die Ausbreitung einer flachen, räumlich ausgedehnten Wolke. „Die mit MCCM simulierten Ankunftszeiten stimmen bis auf den Alpenrand recht gut mit den Messungen überein“, sagt Professor Stefan Emeis vom IMK-IFU.

Die Arbeiten belegten, so erklärt Dr. Peter Suppan vom IMK-IFU, „dass die Aschewolke bei wolkenlosem Himmel mit bodengebundenen optischen Fernmessverfahren beobachtbar ist“. Ferner dokumentierten sie, dass die offiziellen Messstationen in Süddeutschland einen deutlichen Anstieg des Feinstaubs mit Grenzwertüberschreitungen festhielten. Sicher sei zudem: „Chemische Analysen beweisen eindeutig die Präsenz der Aschewolke.“ Eine weitere wichtige Erkenntnis: Numerische Ausbreitungsmodelle wie MCCM sind in der Lage, die Ausbreitung einer Aschewolke korrekt zu berechnen. „Sie liefern außerdem erstmals den Nachweis, dass ein Ceilometer-Netzwerk geeignet ist, die Qualität von Ausbreitungsmodellen zu überprüfen“, sagt Suppan. Schließlich zeigten die Arbeiten, dass Gebirgsketten wie die Alpen die Ausbreitung von Aschewolken erheblich beeinflussten.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem DWD überführten die Wissenschaftler COSMO-ART noch während des Vulkanausbruchs in den Betrieb. Dies versetzte den DWD in die Lage, parallel zur täglichen Wetterprognose im Abstand von sechs Stunden Vorhersagen der Aschewolke über einen Zeitraum von 72 Stunden zu treffen. Die räumliche Auflösung betrug dabei in horizontaler Richtung im gesamten Modellgebiet sieben Kilometer. Diese Vorhersagekette hielt über den gesamten Zeitraum des Vulkanausbruchs und berücksichtigte neben den Vorhersagen, die andere Forschungseinrichtungen erstellten, Messungen der atmosphärischen Variablen wie Luftdruck oder Temperatur. „Das verbesserte die Güte der Modellergebnisse nachweislich“, sagt Dr. Bernhard Vogel vom IMK-TRO. Während des Ausbruchs nahmen die Forscher Aerosolmessungen vor, um die Ergebnisse zu überprüfen. „Da zu jedem Vorhersagezeitpunkt sechs Modellergebnisse vorliegen“, so Vogel, „erlaubt dies erste Wahrscheinlichkeitsaussagen bezüglich der Überschreitung der für die Luftfahrt relevanten Grenzwerte der Aschekonzentration.“ COSMO-ART wird bei zukünftigen Vulkanausbrüchen beim DWD standardmäßig in Kooperation mit dem IMK-TRO zum Einsatz kommen.

Bei ihren Untersuchungen arbeiteten die KIT-Wissenschaftler mit dem DWD, dem Umweltbundesamt, dem Helmholtz Zentrum München, der Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München, der Universität Innsbruck, dem Leibniz Institut für Troposphärenforschung, dem Bayerischen Landesamt für Umwelt, der Universität Augsburg und der Firma VAISALA GmbH zusammen.

Veröffentlichungen:

Emeis, S., R. Forkel, W. Junker-mann, K. Schäfer, H. Flentje, S. Gilge, W. Fricke, M. Wiegner, V. Freudenthaler, S. Groß, L. Ries, F. Meinhardt, W. Birmili, C. Münkel, F. Obleitner, P. Suppan, 2011: Meas-urement and simulation of the 16/17 April 2010 Eyjafjallajökull volcanic ash layer dispersion in the northern Alpine region. Atmos. Chem. Phys., 11, 2689–2701. www.atmos-chem-phys.net/11/2689/2011/, DOI: 10.5194/acp-11-2689-2011

Schäfer, K., W. Thomas, A. Peters, L. Ries, F. Obleitner, J. Schnelle-Kreis, W. Birmili, J. Die-mer, W. Fricke, W. Junkermann, M. Pitz, S. Emeis, R. Forkel, P. Suppan, H. Flentje, S. Gilge, H.E. Wichmann, F. Meinhardt, R. Zimmermann, K. Weinhold, J. Soentgen, C. Münkel, C. Freuer, J. Cyrys, 2011: Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss., 11, 9083-9132, 2011, www.atmos-chem-phys-discuss.net/11/9083/2011/ doi:10.5194/acpd-11-9083-2011


Simulation of the dispersion of the Eyjafjallajökull plume over Europe with an operational version of COSMO-ART, Vogel, H., J. Först-ner, B. Vogel, Th. Hanisch, B. Mühr, U. Schättler, prepared for submission to Atmos. Chem. Phys. Discuss Atmospheric CP

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

ele, 15.04.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmelePeh2∂kit edu