Press Release 061/2011

Promotion of Young Scientists

Additional Helmholtz Graduate and Research Schools for Structured Training of Ph. D. Students at KIT
Schlüsselkompetenzen und Fachwissen: Nachwuchswissenschaftler erwerben beides in den Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen und Kollegs. (Foto: KIT)
Key competences and expert knowledge: Young scientists acquire both at the Helmholtz Graduate and Research Schools. (Photo: Hardy Müller)

In the next six years, the Helmholtz Association of National Research Centers will fund four Ph. D. programs at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Helmholtz Graduate and Research Schools combine interdisciplinary Ph. D. training in the fields of bioengineering, teratronics, i.e. the interface between electronics and photonics, earth and environment, and energy with the specific conveying of multidisciplinary competences.

Helmholtz Graduate Schools provide a “roof”, under which various disciplines find a home. They are characterized by a clearly structured qualification concept with various modules and extensive support. The Helmholtz Association is funding graduate schools with a maximum of EUR 400,000 per year for up to six years.

The KIT BioInterfaces International Graduate School is a joint institution of KIT and the University of Heidelberg. Control of living systems is a fundamental challenge for biomedicine, bioengineering, and synthetic biology. The Helmholtz BioInterface program is aimed at pooling expert knowledge from biology, chemistry, physics, materials sciences, information technology, and micro- and nanotechnologies and transferring it to biomedical applications and industry. Based on synergies of various disciplines, the researchers develop new technologies to obtain systematic knowledge about living systems. The curriculum consisting of three blocks additionally conveys major skills for joint research to the Ph. D. students. “We attach great importance to the combination of transdisciplinary training, on the one hand, and specific training, on the other. Conveying of soft skills and cross-disciplinary communication, mobility, and innovation are of high importance,” explains the spokesman of the Graduate School, Professor Uwe Strähle from the KIT Institute of Toxicology and Genetics. “Due to this modular type of training, our Ph. D. students can adapt their studies flexibly to their individual skills and needs.”

Helmholtz Research Schools promote a structured training of Ph. D. students, which focuses on trans- and multidisciplinary issues. Helmholtz Research Schools are offered to groups of up to 25 Ph. D. students. The Helmholtz Association is funding research schools with up to EUR 300,000 annually over a maximum of six years.

The Helmholtz Teratronics Research School is a joint training platform of numerous KIT institutes. “It is the answer to the increasing need of science and industry for a new generation of multidisciplinary researchers and developers with competences covering the complete electromagnetic spectrum, who will be able to face the challenges associated with future electronic-photonic systems. These systems will be used in medical engineering, sensor and safety technology, communication as well as in the energy sector,” explains the spokesman, Professor Jürg Leuthold, Head of the Institutes of Microstructure Technology and Photonics and Quantum Electronics of KIT. The challenge for the Ph. D. students lies in the development of components and systems operating at highest frequencies in the terahertz range to transmit and process data flows in the terabit range, i.e. the contents of a stack of folders of about 16 km height. For this purpose, the Ph. D. program combines fundamental physical principles of teratronic components and materials science methods for the fabrication of these components, engineering aspects of systems integration, application-specific aspects in medical engineering, and information technology. The young scientists are conveyed competences covering the complete electromagnetic spectrum. Moreover, further training in the areas of management and leadership and scientific teaching and presentation techniques will be offered to the Ph. D. students. 
 

The Helmholtz Research School on Mechanisms and Interactions of Climate Change in Mountain Regions (MICMoR) concentrates on the investigation of interactions at the interfaces of the atmosphere, biosphere, pedosphere, and hydrosphere (A-B-PH) in mountain regions, i.e. at the contact points of climate, flora and fauna, water bodies, and soil. “In the seminars, our Ph. D. students can acquire the knowledge they need to be successful in international A-B-PH research,” says spokesman Professor Hans Peter Schmid from the KIT Campus Alpine (Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research, IMK-IFU, Garmisch-Partenkirchen). The infrastructure for MICMoR is provided by the TERENO (Terrestrial Environmental Observatories) project and in particular by the observatory in the Bavarian Alps and alpine foothills that is operated by KIT and the Helmholtz Center in Munich (HMGU). In summer schools and seminars, Ph. D. students acquire capabilities for A-B-PH research. Interdisciplinary mentoring programs conveying leadership qualities and team skills complement the scope of offers. In addition, a research forum will be established to provide both experienced and young scientists with a platform for scientific exchange and to promote expert know-how, experience, internationality, and interdisciplinarity. Apart from the KIT Campus Alpine (IMK-IFU), the Technical University of Munich, the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, and the University of Augsburg are involved in this research school. Associated partners are the University of Bayreuth, the University of Würzburg, DLR, and the Helmholtz Center Munich - German Research Center for Environmental Health. 

The partners of the Helmholtz Research School on Energy Scenarios – Construction, Evaluation, and Impacts are KIT and the German Aerospace Center as well as the University of Stuttgart and the Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research (ISI). “The program is unique, because it promotes a systematic approach to cooperation in integrated scenario research and, at the same time, to structured Ph. D. training,” says spokesman Professor Armin Grunwald from the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis. “Highly qualified Ph. Ds. are given the opportunity to start successful careers in industry, science, or politics.” The research school is aimed at conveying to the Ph. D. students a comprehensive understanding of energy scenarios, including modeling, economic, and philosophic aspects. The program among others combines the generation and analysis of energy systems with their evaluation and the investigation of their impacts in energy policy and public debates.

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

sk, 14.04.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePlg5∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtXtj7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseIjt6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 061/2011

Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses

Das KIT erhält weitere Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen und –kollegs für eine strukturierte Ausbildung von Promovenden
Schlüsselkompetenzen und Fachwissen: Nachwuchswissenschaftler erwerben beides in den Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen und Kollegs. (Foto: KIT)
Schlüsselkompetenzen und Fachwissen: Nachwuchswissenschaftler erwerben beides in den Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen und Kollegs. (Foto: Hardy Müller)

Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren fördert in den kommenden sechs Jahren vier Doktorandenprogramme am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Die Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen und -kollegs kombinieren eine interdisziplinäre Doktorandenausbildung in den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Teratronik, also dem Grenzbereich zwischen Elektronik und Photonik, Erde und Umwelt sowie Energie mit der gezielten Vermittlung von überfachlichen Kompetenzen.

Die Helmholtz-Graduiertenschulen als disziplinübergreifendes „Dach“ zeichnen sich durch ein klar strukturiertes Qualifizierungskonzept mit verschiedenen Modulen und intensiver Betreuung aus. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft fördert Graduiertenschulen mit jährlich maximal 400.000 Euro für bis zu sechs Jahre.

Die KIT-BioInterfaces International Graduate School ist eine gemeinsame Einrichtung des KIT und der Universität Heidelberg. Die Kontrolle von lebenden Systemen ist eine fundamentale Herausforderung für die Biomedizin, die Biotechnologie und die Synthetische Biologie. Ziel des Helmholtz-BioInterface-Programms ist es, Fachwissen aus der Biologie, der Chemie, der Physik, den Materialwissenschaften, der Informationstechnologie sowie der Mikro- und Nanotechnik miteinander zu verbinden und in Anwendungen für die Biomedizin und die Industrie zu übertragen. Auf der Basis von Synergien zwischen verschiedenen Disziplinen entwickeln die Forscher neue Technologien, mit denen sie systematisches Wissen über lebende Systeme erhalten. Der in drei Blöcke gestaffelte Lehrplan vermittelt den Doktoranden zudem wichtige Fähigkeiten für die gemeinschaftliche Forschung. „Wir legen besonderen Wert auf die Kombination von transdisziplinärer Ausbildung auf der einen Seite und fachspezifischer Ausbildung auf der anderen. Wichtig sind dabei besonders die Vermittlung von Soft Skills wie fachübergreifende Kommunikation, Mobilität und Innovation“, erklärt der Sprecher der Graduiertenschule, Professor Uwe Strähle vom KIT-Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik. „Mit der modularisierten Ausbildung können unsere Doktoranden ihr Studium flexibel auf ihre individuellen Fähigkeiten und ihren Bedarf abstimmen.“


Die Helmholtz-Kollegs fördern eine strukturierte Doktorandenausbildung mit forschungsübergreifenden und interdisziplinären Themen. Ein Kolleg umfasst bis zu 25 Mitglieder. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft fördert die Graduiertenkollegs mit jährlich bis zu 300.000 Euro über maximal sechs Jahre.

Das Helmholtz-Kolleg Teratronik ist eine gemeinsame Ausbildungsplattform von zahlreichen Instituten des KIT. „Sie ist eine Antwort auf den zunehmenden Bedarf in Wissenschaft und Industrie an einer neuen Generation von fächerübergreifenden Forschern und Entwicklern, die über Kompetenzen im gesamten elektromagnetischen Spektrum verfügen und die sich den Herausforderungen zukünftiger elektronisch-photonischer Systeme stellen können. Ihr Einsatzfeld liegt auf den Gebieten der Medizintechnik, der Sensorik- und Sicherheitstechnik, der Kommunikation, aber auch der Energietechnik", erläutert Sprecher Professor Jürg Leuthold, Leiter des Instituts für Mikrostrukturtechnik und des Instituts für Photonik und Quantenelektronik des KIT. Die fachliche Herausforderung für die Doktoranden ist die Entwicklung von Komponenten und Systemen, die bei höchsten Frequenzen im Terahertzbereich arbeiten und die Möglichkeit eröffnen, Datenströme im Terabit-Bereich, also den Inhalt von rund 16 Regalkilometern Aktenordnern pro Sekunde, zu übertragen und zu verarbeiten. Deshalb verbindet die Doktorandenausbildung grundlegende physikalische Prinzipien teratronischer Bauteile und materialwissenschaftlicher Verfahren zur Herstellung dieser Bauteile, ingenieurwissenschaftliche Aspekte der Systemintegration und anwendungsspezifische Fragen in der Medizintechnik und der Informationstechnik. Das Programm vermittelt den Nachwuchsforschern Kompetenzen im gesamten elektromagnetischen Spektrum. Darüberhinaus stehen den Doktoranden Weiterqualifizierungsangebote im Bereich von Management und Führungsthemen sowie von wissenschaftlichen Lehr- und Präsentationstechniken zur Verfügung.

Das Helmholtz-Kolleg Mechanismen und Interaktionen des Klimawandels in Bergregionen (MICMoR) konzentriert sich auf die Erforschung von Wechselwirkungen an den Grenzflächen zwischen der Atmosphäre, der Biosphäre und der Pedo- und Hydrosphäre (A-B-PH) in Bergregionen, also auf die Berührungspunkte zwischen Klima, Pflanzen- und Tierwelt, Gewässern und Boden. „Die Seminare des Kollegs vermitteln unseren Doktoranden Kenntnisse, die sie brauchen, um sich erfolgreich in der internationalen A-B-PH-Forschung zu bewegen“, so Sprecher Professor Hans Peter Schmid vom KIT-Campus Alpin (Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, IMK-IFU, in Garmisch-Partenkirchen). Die Infrastruktur für MICMoR stellt das Helmholtz-Großprojekt TERENO – Observatorium Bayrische Alpen/Voralpenland bereit, das vom KIT und dem Helmholtz Zentrum München (HMGU) betrieben wird. Die Doktoranden erarbeiten über Summer Schools und Seminare Fähigkeiten für die A-B-PH-Forschung. Interdisziplinäre Mentoring-Programme, in denen Führungsqualitäten und Teamfähigkeit vermittelt werden, ergänzen das Angebot. Außerdem wird ein Forschungsforum eingerichtet, das sowohl erfahrenen Wissenschaftlern als auch Nachwuchsforschern eine Plattform für den wissenschaftlichen Austausch bietet und dabei neben Fachwissen und Erfahrung vor allem Internationalität und Interdisziplinarität fördert. Neben dem KIT-Campus Alpin (IMK-IFU) sind die Technische Universität München, die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und die Universität Augsburg beteiligt. Assoziierte Partner sind die Universität Bayreuth, die Universität Würzburg, das DLR und das Helmholtz-Zentrum München – Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Gesundheit und Umwelt.

An dem Helmholtz-Kolleg Energieszenarien – Konstruktion, Bewertung und Auswirkungen sind neben dem KIT und dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt als Kooperationspartner auch die Universität Stuttgart und das Fraunhofer Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung (ISI) beteiligt. „Das Programm ist einzigartig, weil es einen systematischen Ansatz für Kooperationen in integrierter Szenarienforschung und gleichzeitig auch in der strukturierten Doktorandenausbildung fördert“, so der Sprecher Professor Armin Grunwald vom KIT-Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse. „Es ermöglicht den hochqualifizierten Absolventen erfolgreiche Karrieren in der Industrie, in der Wissenschaft oder in der Politik“. Ziel des Kollegs ist es, Doktoranden ein umfassendes Verständnis für Energieszenarien zu vermitteln, von modelltechnischen über ökonomische bis hin zu philosophischen Fragen. Das Progamm vereinbart daher unter anderem die Erstellung und Analyse von Energiesystemen mit ihrer Bewertung und der Erforschung ihrer Folgen in Energiepolitik und öffentlichen Debatten.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

sk, 14.04.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Saskia Kutscheidt
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
saskia kutscheidtQks5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZvw5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.