Press Release 055/2011

Support of Decision-makers in Disaster Management

KIT and Fraunhofer Institute Agree on Strategic Partnership
Wenn die Stromversorgung ausfällt, müssen Katastrophenschützer schnell und fundiert entscheiden können. KIT und Fraunhofer IOSB helfen ihnen. (Foto: EnBW)
If power supply fails, disaster managers have to decide rapidly and in a well-founded manner. KIT and Fraunhofer IOSB support them. (Photo: dpa)

The KIT Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) and the Fraunhofer Institute for Optronics, Systems Technology, and Image Evaluation (IOSB) have agreed on a strategic partnership in the next years. Among others, they plan to develop a system to support decision-makers in disaster management when power supply or traffic break down.

Central research areas of the Fraunhofer IOSB are information and knowledge management, image-based object recognition, and control and interaction systems. CEDIM focuses on risk acquisition, early warning, real-time prognosis, and risk management in case of natural disasters. “These profiles complement each other in a unique way,” says Professor Friedemann Wenzel, spokesman of CEDIM and professor at KIT’s Geophysical Institute. Professor Jürgen Beyerer, Managing Director of the Fraunhofer IOSB and holder of the KIT Chair of Interactive Real-time Systems, is convinced “that the synergies resulting from the cooperation of IOSB and CEDIM will lead to new developments in early warning and the design of decision support systems.”

Within their strategic partnership, CEDIM and Fraunhofer IOSB will pursue two activities: They conceived the “KRITIS” research project on the safety of critical infrastructures and have been working on it jointly since late 2010. It is aimed at developing a system to support decision-makers in disaster management in municipalities, districts, and federal states when power supply or traffic break down.

Moreover, CEDIM supports the organization of the 2013 ISCRAM Conference. The respective competition was won by KIT together with Fraunhofer IOSB. ISCRAM is the International Community on Information Systems for Crisis Response and Management and stands for high-quality international conferences. The conference will take place from May 12 to 15, 2013, in Baden-Baden and Karlsruhe and will be chaired by Professor Beyerer.

The Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) of the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam German Research Centre for Geosciences - GFZ and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is an interdisciplinary research center in the field of disaster management. With its help, natural and anthropogenic risks shall be understood better and identified earlier and disaster management shall be improved. More than 30 scientists from more than 15 GFZ and KIT institutes work on individual projects.

According to a recommendation made by the German Council of Science and Humanities in 2007, the new Fraunhofer Institute for Optronics, Systems Technology, and Image Evaluation IOSB with offices in Karlsruhe and Ettlingen was established on January 01, 2010 by a merger of the FGAN Institute for Optronics and Pattern Recognition FOM, Ettlingen, and the Fraunhofer Institute for Information and Data Processing IITB.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

ele, 30.03.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGex8∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Phone: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmeleKrl7∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Presseinformation 055/2011

Beistand für Entscheider im Katastrophenschutz

KIT und Fraunhofer Institut vereinbaren strategische Partnerschaft
Wenn die Stromversorgung ausfällt, müssen Katastrophenschützer schnell und fundiert entscheiden können. KIT und Fraunhofer IOSB helfen ihnen. (Foto: EnBW)
Wenn die Stromversorgung ausfällt, müssen Katastrophenschützer schnell und fundiert entscheiden können. KIT und Fraunhofer IOSB helfen ihnen. (Foto: dpa)

Das Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM), eine gemeinsame Einrichtung des KIT und des GeoForschungsZentrums Potsdam, sowie das Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (IOSB) haben eine strategische Partnerschaft für die kommenden Jahre vereinbart. Dabei wollen sie unter anderem ein System entwickeln, das Entscheider im Katastrophenschutz unterstützt, wenn Stromversorgung oder Verkehr zusammenbrechen.

Zentrale Forschungsgebiete des Fraunhofer IOSB sind Informations- und Wissensmanagement, bildgestützte Objekterkennung sowie Leit- und Interaktionssysteme. Die Schwerpunkte von CEDIM im Bereich der Naturkatastrophen heißen Risikoerfassung, Frühwarnung, Echtzeitprognosen und Risikomanagement. „Diese Profile ergänzen sich in einzigartiger Weise“, erklärt Professor Friedemann Wenzel, Sprecher von CEDIM und Professor am Geophysikalischen Institut des KIT. Professor Jürgen Beyerer, geschäftsführender Leiter des Fraunhofer IOSB und Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Interaktive Echtzeitsysteme am KIT, ist überzeugt, „dass die mit der Zusammenarbeit von IOSB und CEDIM geschaffenen Synergien zu neuen Entwicklungen bei der Frühwarnung und der Konzeption von Systemen zur  Entscheidungsunterstützung führen werden.“

Die strategische Partnerschaft setzen CEDIM und Fraunhofer IOSB in zwei Aktivitäten um: Sie haben das Forschungsprojekt „KRITIS“ zur Sicherheit kritischer Infrastrukturen konzipiert und treiben es seit Ende 2010 gemeinsam voran. Ziel ist es, ein System zu entwickeln, das den Entscheidern im Katastrophenschutz in Kommunen, Kreisen und Ländern hilft, wenn Stromversorgung oder Verkehr nicht mehr funktionieren.

Zudem unterstützt CEDIM die Organisation der Konferenz ISCRAM 2013, deren Ausrichtung das KIT in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IOSB in einem Wettbewerb gewonnen hat. ISCRAM ist die „International Community on Information Systems for Crisis Response and Management“ und steht für hochwertige internationale Konferenzen im Bereich der Informationstechnologien für das Krisenmanagement. Die Konferenz wird vom 12. bis 15. Mai 2013 in Baden-Baden und Karlsruhe stattfinden. Konferenzleiter ist Professor Beyerer.

Das Center for Disaster Management and Risk Reduction Technology (CEDIM) des Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum – GFZ und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungszentrum im Bereich des Katastrophenmanagements. Es soll helfen, natürliche und anthropogene Risiken besser zu verstehen, früher zu erkennen und die Folgen von Katastrophen besser zu beherrschen. In den einzelnen Projekten arbeiten über 30 Wissenschaftler aus mehr als 15 Instituten dieser Einrichtungen.

Das neue Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung IOSB mit den beiden Standorten Karlsruhe und Ettlingen entstand gemäß der Empfehlung des Wissenschaftsrates von 2007 zum 1.1.2010 aus dem FGAN-Institut für Optronik und Mustererkennung FOM in Ettlingen und dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Informations- und Datenverarbeitung IITB.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

ele, 30.03.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Klaus Rümmele
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing (PKM)
Tel.: +49 721 608-48153
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
klaus ruemmeleQkn5∂kit edu