Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Press Release 037/2011

Excellence Initiative II: KIT with Three New Proposals in the Final

Two Graduate Schools for Informatics Engineering and Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics – Cluster of Excellence in the Field of Dependable Software
Exzellente Forschung und Lehre: Das KIT ist mit drei Neuanträgen in der  Endrunde der Exzellenzinitiative II. (Foto: KIT)
Excellent research and teaching: KIT is in the final round of the Excellence Initiative II with three new proposals. (Photo: Hardy Müller)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) will go into the final round of the Excellence Initiative II with three new and three follow-up proposals. Apart from the follow-up proposals for the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures, the Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics, and the Concept for the Future, KIT will submit full proposals for a new cluster of excellence relating to dependable software and for two graduate schools focusing on informatics engineering and elementary particle and astroparticle physics.

The decision as to which draft proposals took the first hurdle was announced today by the Joint Commission of the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the Council of Science and Humanities in Bonn. According to this decision, KIT has been invited to submit the following full proposals in the final round:

Graduate Schools for the Promotion of Young Scientists:
The “Karlsruhe School of Informatics Engineering” (KSIE) – “Karlsruher Graduiertenschule für Informatik-Ingenieurwesen“ is an initiative of the KIT COMMputation Focus. KSIE pursues a highly interdisciplinary approach. Research of the young scientists will concentrate in particular on the interactions of informatics and other engineering disciplines. Informatics engineering is understood to be the exchange of principles, methods, and modeling approaches by the disciplines involved. Apart from informatics, these are mainly electrical engineering and mechanical engineering, but also economic engineering.

The Graduate School ”Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology“ – ”Elementar- und Astroteilchenphysik: Wissenschaft und Technologie“ is a central component of the KIT Center KCETA. Ph.D. students from various disciplines will jointly work and conduct research on large-scale facilities of elementary particle and astroparticle physics. In this way, the Ph.D. students are integrated in large, international teams worldwide from the very beginning of their work.

Clusters of Excellence for the Promotion of Top Research:
The initiative ”Dependable Software for Critical Infrastructures” (DSCI) – “Verlässliche Software für kritische Infrastrukturen” combines activities of the KIT COMMputation Focus with those of the KIT Energy and Mobility Systems Centers. The research cluster is aimed at developing dependable software for so-called virtualized, i.e. decentralized, self-organized, and adaptable, infrastructures. In complex areas like energy, transport, and electronic data processing this is crucial to minimize errors and failure risks and, hence, to optimize functional systems important to society.

KIT Presidents Professor Horst Hippler and Professor Eberhard Umbach underline: ”KIT considers the competition under the Excellence Initiative II a big incentive. This is also reflected by the high commitment of our scientists and Service Units to the proposals of graduate schools and clusters of excellence submitted so far. It is good that we have now been invited to submit three full proposals – this is a big success for KIT. The decision of the reviewers clearly shows that KIT picks up on research, teaching, and innovation topics of high relevance to the future and that the synergies resulting from the merger have become visible already.“

”This is an important stage victory – now, we will have to fully open up the potential of KIT. This applies to both new and follow-up proposals and in particular to the further development of the Concept for the Future“, says Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President for Research and Information.

As regards the clusters and graduate schools, KIT has been invited to submit by September 01, 2011 not only the above new proposals, but also follow-up proposals for the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) and the Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP) that were successful in the first phase of the Excellence Initiative in 2006 already.

The internationally active KSOP (www.ksop.de) is presently offering a Ph.D. program for about 80 Ph.D. students and a master program in the English language with a total of 36 places per year. Apart from work on current interdisciplinary research projects, KSOP among others conveys technical skills and management competencies within the framework of a modular advanced training program. The equally interdisciplinary CFN (www.cfn.kit.edu) conducts fundamental and applied research in various fields of nanotechnology. The focus lies on nanophotonics, nanoelectronics, molecular nanostructures, nanobiology, and nanoenergy.

A special success in the Excellence Initiative I in 2006 was the award of excellence in the third funding line: The Concept for the Future I covered the foundation of KIT. Universität Karlsruhe and Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, member of the Helmholtz Association, merged into the new legal entity of KIT on October 01, 2009 already. This Concept for the Future will now be further developed in a follow-up proposal by KIT. The Concept for the Future II will further sharpen the profile of KIT and set special priorities, among others in the fields of the promotion of young scientists and gender equality.

In 2006, the former Universität Karlsruhe was one of three universities winning the Excellence Initiative I in all three funding lines. Through the Excellence Initiative, the Federal Republic of Germany and the federal states fund excellent research projects, excellent education and training of young scientists, and further organizational and institutional development of universities. In June 2009, it was agreed on extending the Excellence Initiative beyond 2012 for another 5 years with a total funding volume of EUR 2.7 billion (Excellence Initiative II).

Further information can be found at www.dfg.de .

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

lg, 02.03.2011

For further information, please contact:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafDng2∂kit edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGkh1∂kit edu

Presseinformation 037/2011

Exzellenzinitiative II: KIT mit drei Neuanträgen in der Endrunde

Zwei Graduiertenschulen für Informatik-Ingenieurwesen sowie Elementar- und Astroteilchenphysik – Exzellenzcluster im Bereich Verlässliche Software
Exzellente Forschung und Lehre: Das KIT ist mit drei Neuanträgen in der  Endrunde der Exzellenzinitiative II. (Foto: KIT)
Exzellente Forschung und Lehre: Das KIT ist mit drei Neuanträgen in der Endrunde der Exzellenzinitiative II. (Foto: Hardy Müller)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) geht mit drei Neuanträgen und drei Fortsetzungsanträgen in die Endrunde der Exzellenzinitiative II. Neben den Fortsetzungsanträgen für das DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen, die Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics sowie für das Zukunftskonzept wird das KIT für ein neues Exzellenzcluster zum Themenbereich Verlässliche Software sowie für zwei Graduiertenschulen im Bereich Informatik-Ingenieurwesen sowie Elementar- und Astroteilchenphysik Vollanträge stellen.

Die Entscheidung, welche Initiativen mit ihren Skizzen die erste Hürde genommen haben, gab heute die Gemeinsame Kommission der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und des Wissenschaftsrates in Bonn bekannt. Damit kommt das KIT mit folgenden Neuanträgen in die Endrunde:

Graduiertenschulen zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses:
Die “Karlsruhe School of Informatics Engineering” (KSIE) - Karlsruher Graduiertenschule für Informatik-Ingenieurwesen ist eine Initiative des KIT-Schwerpunkts COMMputation. KSIE verfolgt einen stark interdisziplinären Ansatz. Die Forschung der jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler wird sich besonders auf die Wechselwirkungen von Informatik und anderen Ingenieursdisziplinen konzentrieren. Informatik-Ingenieurwesen wird dabei verstanden als wechselseitiger Austausch von Prinzipien, Methoden und Modellierungsansätzen der beteiligten Disziplinen. Neben der Informatik sind dies vor allem Elektrotechnik und Maschinenbau, aber auch Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen.

Die Graduiertenschule „Elementary Particle and Astroparticle Physics: Science and Technology“ – „Elementar- und Astroteilchenphysik: Wissenschaft und Technologie“ ist ein zentraler Baustein des KIT-Zentrums KCETA. Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden aus verschiedenen Disziplinen arbeiten und forschen hier gemeinsam an Großgeräten der Elementarteilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik. Die Promovierenden sind dadurch von Anfang an in große, internationale Teams weltweit eingebunden.

Exzellenzcluster zur Förderung der Spitzenforschung:
Die Initiative „Dependable Software for Critical Infrastructures” (DSCI) – „Verlässliche Software“ verbindet Aktivitäten aus dem KIT-Schwerpunkt “COMMputation” mit der Arbeit der KIT-Zentren Energie und Mobilitätssysteme. Der Forschungscluster strebt die Entwicklung von verlässlicher Software für sogenannte virtualisierte, also dezentrale, selbstorganisierte und anpassungsfähige, Infrastrukturen an. Dies ist gerade in komplexen Bereichen wie Energie, Verkehr und EDV entscheidend, um Fehler und Ausfallrisiken zu minimieren und dadurch für die Gesellschaft wichtige Funktionssysteme zu optimieren.

Die KIT-Präsidenten Professor Horst Hippler und Professor Eberhard Umbach betonen: „Das KIT sieht den Wettbewerb zur Exzellenzinitiative II als großen Ansporn. Das zeigt sich auch an dem großen Engagement unserer Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler und unserer Dienstleistungseinheiten für die bisher eingereichten Anträge der Graduiertenschulen und Exzellenzcluster. Es ist schön, dass nun drei Antragsskizzen zur Vollantragstellung zugelassen wurden – das ist ein guter Erfolg für KIT. Die Entscheidung der Gutachter zeigt deutlich, dass das KIT in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation wichtige Zukunftsthemen aufgreift und die Synergien der Fusion bereits jetzt sichtbar werden.“

„Dies ist für uns ein wichtiger Etappensieg - nun wird es darum gehen, das Potenzial des KIT voll auszuschöpfen. Dies gilt sowohl für die Neu- und die Fortsetzungsanträge und in besonderem Maße für die Weiterentwicklung des Zukunftskonzepts“, so Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT-Vizepräsident für Forschung und Information.

Im Bereich der Cluster und Graduiertenschulen wird das KIT neben den Neuanträgen den Gutachtern bis zum 1. September 2011 die Fortsetzunganträge für das DFG-Centrum für Funktionelle Nanostrukturen (CFN) und die Karlsruhe School of Optics & Photonics (KSOP) vorlegen, die bereits in der ersten Phase der Exzellenzinitiative im Jahr 2006 erfolgreich waren.

Die international vernetzte KSOP (www.ksop.de) bietet derzeit ein Promotionsprogramm für rund 80 Doktoranden und einen englischsprachigen Masterstudiengang mit insgesamt 36 Studienplätzen pro Jahrgang an. Neben der Bearbeitung von aktuellen interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekten vermittelt die KSOP im Rahmen einer modularen Weiterbildung unter anderem technologische Fähigkeiten und Managementkompetenzen. Das ebenso interdisziplinäre CFN (www.cfn.kit.edu) betreibt Grundlagen- und angewandte Forschung auf verschiedenen Gebieten der Nanotechnologie. Die Schwerpunkte liegen hierbei auf den Bereichen Nano-Photonik, Nano-Elektronik, Molekulare Nanostrukturen, Nano-Biologie und Nano-Energie.

Ein besonderer Erfolg bei der Exzellenzinitiative I im Jahr 2006 war die Auszeichnung in der dritten Förderlinie: Im Zukunftskonzept I wurde die Gründung des KIT entwickelt. Bereits am 1. Oktober 2009 haben sich die Universität Karlsruhe und das Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft zur neuen Rechtsperson KIT zusammengeschlossen. Dieses Zukunftskonzept wird das KIT nun in einem Fortsetzungantrag weiterentwickeln. Das Zukunftskonzept II wird die Profilschärfung des KIT weiter vorantreiben und besondere Schwerpunkte setzen, unter anderem in den Bereichen Förderung des wissenschafltichen Nachwuchses und Gleichstellung.
 
Im Jahr 2006 war die damalige Universität Karlsruhe in der Exzellenzinitiative I als eine der ersten drei Universitäten in allen drei Förderlinien erfolgreich. Mit der Exzellenzinitiative fördern Bund und Länder herausragende Forschungsprojekte, die exzellente Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftlern und die organisatorisch-institutionelle Entwicklung von Universitäten. Im Juni 2009 wurde beschlossen, die Exzellenzinitiative über das Jahr 2012 hinaus für weitere 5 Jahre mit einem Gesamtfördervolumen von 2,7 Milliarden Euro fortzusetzen (Exzellenzinitiative II).

Weitere Informationen unter www.dfg.de .

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 02.03.2011

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafIjl2∂kit edu