Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 036/2011

Optimizing the Climate Balance of Biofuels

KIT Environmental Researchers Identify Possibilities to Reduce the Greenhouse Gas Emission of Bioethanol Production from Sugar Cane.
Zuckerrohr ist eine der Quellen für Biokraftstoffe der ersten Generation (Foto: Robert Brenner)
Sugar cane is one of the sources of biofuels of the first generation. (Photo: photocase.de)

Biofuels are considered a promising element in the renewable energies sector. Their production, however, is also associated with the emission of greenhouse gases. For the production of ethanol, a biofuel of the first generation, from sugar cane, a team of scientists headed by Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl from the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-IFU) has identified the  the sources of greenhouse gas emissions and formulated proposals for mitigation. 

It was the objective of the environmental researchers to find out whether the climatic advantage of sugar cane-based ethanol is reduced, if emissions associated with the cultivation of sugar cane specifically of nitrous oxide (N2O) and changes in soil and vegetation carbon stocks due to land use change are considered as well. For this purpose, they evaluated data from Brazil and Australia. Now, the results have been published by the journal “Global Change Biology Bioenergy”: Factors like land use changes or fertilizers have the largest influence on total greenhouse gas emissions. According to the researchers, emission of nitrous oxide (N2O, “laughing gas”) produced by nitrogen fertilization in particular has been underestimated so far. Literature search reveals that the emissions are above the value of one percent for direct soil emission due to nitrogen fertilization recommended by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, IPPC. “The variety of production systems and the uncertainty with respect to the greenhouse balance of bioethanol based on sugar cane clearly demonstrate that further measurements are required to comprehensively evaluate environmental impacts,” says Klaus Butterbach-Bahl, Head of the Biogeochemical Processes Division of IMK-IFU.

To minimize greenhouse gas emissions in the future, the team recommends to improve the production process at all points. Currently, sugar cane fields are still burnt down in order to facilitate harvesting. Mechanical harvesting, however, might preserve or even increase carbon and nitrogen binding in the soil. 

Bioethanol is considered a fuel of high potential. Biofuels of the second generation that are currently developed may further optimize climate compatibility. In contrast to fuels of the first generation that are based on cultural plants, they are based on residual biomass from agriculture and forestry. This makes their greenhouse gas balance more favorable. Moreover, their production does not compete with that of food.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 02.03.2011
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGib2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneKwt9∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 036/2011

Die Klimabilanz von Biokraftstoffen optimieren

KIT-Umweltforscher identifizieren Möglichkeiten zur Reduzierung des Treibhausgas-Ausstoßes bei der Produktion von Bioethanol aus Zuckerrohr.
Zuckerrohr ist eine der Quellen für Biokraftstoffe der ersten Generation (Foto: Robert Brenner)
Zuckerrohr ist eine der Quellen für Biokraftstoffe der ersten Generation (Foto: photocase.de)

Biokraftstoffe gelten als vielversprechendes Puzzleteil im Zusammenspiel der Erneuerbaren Energien. Bei ihrer Produktion entstehen aber auch Treibhausgase. Für die Herstellung von Ethanol aus Zuckerrohr, einem Biokraftstoff der ersten Generation, hat ein Wissenschaftlerteam um Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl, Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK-IFU) des KIT, die wesentlichen Treibhausgasquellen identifiziert und Lösungsvorschläge formuliert.

Ziel der Umweltforscher war es herauszufinden, ob sich der klimatische Vorteil von Ethanol aus Zuckerrohr vermindert, wenn die Treibhausgasbilanz auch die Emissionen aus dem Anbau berücksichtigt. Um die Quellen des Treibhausgas-Ausstoßes zu identifizieren, untersuchten sie unterschiedliche Produktionssysteme. Dazu haben sie vor allem Daten aus den Hauptanbauländern Brasilien und Australien ausgewertet. Ihre Ergebnisse haben sie jetzt in der Fachzeitschrift „Global Change Biology Bioernergy“ veröffentlicht: Den größten Einfluss auf die Emissionen haben Faktoren wie Landnutzungsänderungen oder Düngemittel. Unterschätzt, so die Forscher, habe man bislang vor allem den Ausstoß von Distickstoffmonoxid (N2O, „Lachgas“), das beim Düngen mit Stickstoff entsteht. Die Emissionen liegen hier nach der vorliegenden Literaturrecherche über dem vom Weltklimarat (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, IPPC) empfohlenen Wert von einem Prozent für direkte Bodenemissionen im Zuge der Stickstoffdüngung. „Die Vielfalt der Produktionssysteme und die Unsicherheit im Hinblick auf die Treibhaus-Balance von Bioethanol aus Zuckerrohr zeigen deutlich, dass weitere Messungen notwendig sind, um die Umwelteinflüsse umfassend zu bewerten“, sagt Klaus Butterbach-Bahl, Leiter der Abteilung biogeochemische Prozesse am IMK-IFU.

Um künftig möglichst viel Treibhausgas einzusparen, empfiehlt das Wissenschaftlerteam, den Produktionsprozess an allen Stellen zu verbessern. So werden Zuckerrohrfelder derzeit teils noch abgebrannt, um die Ernte zu erleichtern. Eine vollständige Umstellung auf eine mechanische Ernte könnte jedoch die Kohlenstoff- und Stickstoffbindung im Boden erhalten oder sogar erhöhen.

Bioethanol gilt als Kraftstoff mit hohem Potenzial. Biokraftstoffe der zweiten Generation, die derzeit entwickelt werden, könnten die Klimafreundlichkeit weiter optimieren: Im Gegensatz zu Kraftstoffen ersten Generation, die Teile von Kulturpflanzen verwenden, setzen sie auf Restbiomasse aus der Land- und Forstwirtschaft. In der Treibhausgasbilanz werden sie damit günstiger. Zudem steht ihre Herstellung nicht in Flächenkonkurrenz zur Nahrungsmittelproduktion.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

le, 02.03.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneIhg5∂kit edu