Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Press Release 023/2011

Two KIT Researchers on Their Way to the Top

Stefanie Speidel and Elena Pancera Are Supported by the Margarete von Wrangell Program
 Arbeiten an der Habilitation: Stefanie Speidel (links) und Elena Pancera (rechts) (Foto: KIT)
Stefanie Speidel (left) and Elena Pancera (right) are working on their postdoctoral lecture qualification. (Photo: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Two young KIT scientists, whose research focuses on applications in medical engineering, have been granted a Margarete von Wrangell scholarship for postdoctoral lecture qualification. At the Institute of Anthropomatics, the information scientist Dr. Stefanie Speidel develops a system to assist surgeons in operations. At the Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE), the engineer Dr. Elena Pancera develops new methods based on ultra wideband technology for medical and diagnostic applications and the wireless monitoring of the vital functions of patients.  

With its Margarete von Wrangell program, the state of Baden-Württemberg supports excellent female scientists on their way towards postdoctoral lecture qualification. The positions of both scientists will be funded first by the Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts and by the European Social Funds (ESF) for three years. Then, funding will be provided by KIT for another two years.
In her research project “Computer-supported Assistance System in Minimally Invasive Surgery”, the 32-year-old Dr. Stefanie Speidel develops technical support systems integrated specifically in the operation process. Similar to a navigation system when driving a car, the operator is guided to a hidden tumor or informed about the location of an artery that should not be damaged by his instrument. Speidel’s research work is aimed at giving the surgeon precisely the information that is needed at the moment. The head of the group “Surgical Assistance Systems” at the Institute of Anthropomatics uses intelligent information filters for this purpose.  

So far, assistance systems have frequently displayed too much or insufficient information. “Similar to a human assistant who anticipates the next operation step by looking on the images and reacts to what is seen, a computer-based assistance system shall interact with the surgeon in an intelligent way,” explains the scientist. Speidel studied at KIT, at the Universidad de Malaga in Spain, and at the Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm. She also wrote her Ph. D. thesis at the KIT Department of Informatics.
 
Ultra wideband technology (UWB) is in the focus of research of Dr. Elena Pancera. “As UWB allows for the transmission of very large amounts of data and a high resolution, this radio technology can be used in medical diagnostics among others,” explains the engineer born at Verona in 1981. For example, it is possible to detect water accumulations and cancer lumps in the body and to monitor the vital signs of patients in a wireless manner. A major advantage compared to other diagnostic methods is the absence of radiation. “UWB does not ionize”, underlines the scientist. Pancera studied electrical engineering at Padua and was awarded her doctorate at KIT. At the IHE, the 29-year-old scientist heads the junior research group “Ultra Wideband Medical Diagnostics“. For her doctorate she was the first woman to be granted the Carl Freudenberg award in 2009.

According to Pancera, the Margarete von Wrangell program is a big chance to encourage women to start a university career. She attaches high value to the promotion of competences by special training apart from financial support. The program launched in 1997 is named after Margarete von Wrangell, who was the first female ordinary professor in Germany in 1923.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

af, 10.02.2011

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafSct1∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseJar3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 023/2011

Zwei KIT-Forscherinnen auf dem Weg nach oben

Stefanie Speidel und Elena Pancera werden im Margarete von Wrangell-Programm gefördert
 Arbeiten an der Habilitation: Stefanie Speidel (links) und Elena Pancera (rechts) (Foto: KIT)
Arbeiten an der Habilitation: Stefanie Speidel (links) und Elena Pancera (rechts) (Foto: Gabi Zachmann, KIT)

Zwei junge KIT-Wissenschaftlerinnen, deren Forschung die medizintechnische Anwendung im Blick hat, erhalten ein Margarete von Wrangell-Habilitationsstipendium. Die Informatikerin Dr. Stefanie Speidel entwickelt am Institut für Anthropomatik ein Assistenzsystem, das Chirurgen bei Operationen unterstützt. Am Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Elektronik (IHE) entwickelt die Ingenieurin Dr. Elena Pancera mit Hilfe der Ultra-Breitbandtechnologie neue Verfahren für medizinisch diagnostische Anwendungen und das drahtlose Überwachen der Lebensfunktionen von Patienten.

Mit dem Margarete von Wrangell-Habilitationsprogramm unterstützt das Land Baden-Württemberg exzellente Wissenschaftlerinnen auf dem Weg zur Habilitation. Die Stellen der beiden Wissenschaftlerinnen finanzieren zunächst drei Jahre lang das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst sowie der Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) und zwei weitere Jahre das KIT.
In ihrem Forschungsprojekt „Rechnergestütztes Assistenzsystem in der minimal-invasiven Chirurgie“ konzipiert die 32-jährige Dr. Stefanie Speidel situationsgerecht in den Ablauf einer Operation eingebundene technische Unterstützung. Vergleichbar einem Navigationssystem beim Autofahren wird der Operateur an einen verdeckten Tumor geführt oder über die Lage einer Arterie informiert, die er mit seinem Instrument nicht verletzen darf. Ziel ihrer Forschung ist es, dem Chirurgen durch intelligente Informationsfilter genau die Hinweise zu geben, die er im Augenblick benötigt, so die Gruppenleiterin „Chirurgische Assistenzsysteme“ am Institut für Anthropomatik.

Bislang zeigten Assistenzsysteme häufig zu viele oder unzureichende Informationen an. „Ähnlich wie ein menschlicher Assistent, der den nächsten Operationsschritt anhand der Bilder vorwegnimmt und auf das Gesehene reagiert, soll ein computerbasiertes Assistenzsystem intelligent mit dem Chirurgen interagieren“, erklärt die Wissenschaftlerin. Speidel studierte am KIT, an der Universidad de Malaga in Spanien sowie am Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm. Ihre Dissertation erarbeitet sie an der Fakultät für Informatik des KIT.
 
Ultra-Breitbandtechnologie, englisch Ultra Wideband (UWB), ist das Forschungsgebiet von Dr. Elena Pancera. „Da UWB die Übertragung sehr großer Datenmengen und eine hohe Auflösung ermöglicht, kann diese Funktechnologie unter anderem in der medizinischen Diagnostik angewandt werden“, erläutert die 1981 in Verona geborene Ingenieurin. So ist es zum Beispiel möglich, Wasseransammlungen und Krebsknötchen im Körper zu erkennen und die Lebenszeichen von Patienten drahtlos zu überwachen. Ein wesentlicher Vorteil gegenüber anderen diagnostischen Methoden liege in der Strahlungsfreiheit, „UWB ionisiert nicht“, so die Wissenschaftlerin. Pancera studierte Elektrotechnik in Padua und wurde am KIT promoviert. Am IHE leitet die 29-Jährige die Nachwuchsforschergruppe „Ultra Wideband Medical Diagnostic“. Für ihre Promotion erhielt sie 2009 als erste Frau den Carl-Freudenberg-Preis.

Das Margarete von Wrangell-Programm biete eine große Chance, Frauen zu einer Hochschulkarriere zu ermutigen, sagt Pancera. Neben der finanziellen Unterstützung hebt sie die Kompetenzförderung durch spezielle Schulungen hervor. Das seit 1997 aufgelegte Programm ist nach Margarete von Wrangell benannt, die 1923 die erste ordentliche Professorin in Deutschland war.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) ist eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts nach den Gesetzen des Landes Baden-Württemberg. Es nimmt sowohl die Mission einer Universität als auch die Mission eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft wahr. Thematische Schwerpunkte der Forschung sind Energie, natürliche und gebaute Umwelt sowie Gesellschaft und Technik, von fundamentalen Fragen bis zur Anwendung. Mit rund 9400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, darunter mehr als 6000 in Wissenschaft und Lehre, sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der größten Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas. Das KIT verfolgt seine Aufgaben im Wissensdreieck Forschung – Lehre – Innovation.

af, 10.02.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
PKM Abteilung Presse
Tel.: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafGqf7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePsr4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.