Press Release 008/2011

Close to Practice across All Disciplines

Contact Studies on “Combined Sciences” for Teachers of Intermediate Schools
Naturwissenschaftliche Methoden entdecken: Das KIT bietet ab sofort eine Weiterbildung für Realschullehrerinnen und -lehrer (Foto: KIT)
Scientific methods: KIT offers advanced training for teachers of intermediate schools. (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

The subject of “Combined Sciences” at intermediate schools conveys contents of biology, chemistry, and physics not only by lessons of the individual subjects, but also by comprehensive, close-to-practice scientific education. KIT’s contact studies on “Combined Sciences” are intended to support teachers of this subject. Learning modules focus on energy, materials, information, and the  “Spacecraft Earth”, for instance.

Modern teaching of sciences goes beyond selective networking of disciplines and considers issues in a multidisciplinary manner from the perspectives of biology, chemistry, and physics. The subject of “Combined Sciences” has been main subject for all pupils of grades 5 to 10 of intermediate schools since 2004. It extends beyond the limits of individual subjects by a holistic approach based on typical working methods. “Initially, teachers of intermediate schools study individual disciplines,” says Gerald Machner, Head of the Division for the Education and Advanced Training of Teachers of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Education, Youth, and Sports. “The contact studies help them design a modern, interdisciplinary lesson.” The first course with 25 participants started on January 19 and will run until December 2011. Other courses will follow from 2011 to 2015.

Training is based on blended learning with alternating phases of computer training and course attendance. An internet platform has been set up with modules on central issues like energy, materials, information, and “Spacecraft Earth”. The participants are assisted by technically specialized and didactic teletutors. Four attendance phases of two days each focus on the acquisition of methodological, didactic, and experimental competences. The Remote Studies Center of the House of Competence (HoC) of KIT makes available the virtual learning environment and provides technical and organizational support. “Work with the online platform has the side effect that teachers can try out the functions they would like to use in their own lessons later on,” says Daniel Weichsel, Director of the Remote Studies Center.

Gerald Machner points out that good cooperation between school and university is the prerequisite for such a training. “Life-long, extra-occupational learning requires periodical scientific input. Teachers constantly need access to latest findings.” The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Education relies on its successful cooperation with KIT: From 2003 to 2005, contact studies on “Natural Sciences” for secondary general schools and intermediate trade schools were organized, contact studies on “Natural Science and Engineering“ at grammar schools followed in 2006.  

The third cooperation partner of the contact studies on Combined Sciences are the Chemistry Associations of Baden-Württemberg that give scientific working at intermediate schools a high priority. “This training does not only network teachers with each other, but also allows for an exchange of information with representatives of industry that is not provided elsewhere,” says Daniel Weichsel.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,600 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 23,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 19.01.2011
Contact:

 

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseWgt1∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
Press Officer
Phone: +49 721 608-41157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneKrn6∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseTbi2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-41105.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Presseinformation 008/2011

Hoher Praxisbezug – quer durch die Disziplinen

Kontaktstudium „Naturwissenschaftliches Arbeiten“ für Lehrerinnen und Lehrer an Realschulen startet am KIT
Naturwissenschaftliche Methoden entdecken: Das KIT bietet ab sofort eine Weiterbildung für Realschullehrerinnen und -lehrer (Foto: KIT)
Naturwissenschaftliche Methoden entdecken: Das KIT bietet ab sofort eine Weiterbildung für Realschullehrerinnen und -lehrer (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Das Kernfach „Naturwissenschaftliches Arbeiten“ vermittelt Inhalte der Biologie, Chemie und Physik an Realschulen nicht mehr allein im Unterricht der Einzelfächer, sondern auch aus der Perspektive einer übergreifenden praxisnahen naturwissenschaftlichen Bildung. Lehrerinnen und Lehrer des Fachs unterstützt das Kontaktstudium NWA „Naturwissenschaftliches Arbeiten“, das jetzt am KIT gestartet ist. Unter anderem bietet es Lernmodule zu Themen wie Energie, Stoffe, Information und „Raumschiff Erde“.

Moderner naturwissenschaftlicher Unterricht geht über ein punktuelles Vernetzen der Disziplinen hinaus – und betrachtet Themen übergreifend aus den Blickrichtungen von Biologie, Chemie und Physik. Der Fächerverbund „Naturwissenschaftliches Arbeiten (NWA)“ ist seit 2004 Kernfach für alle Schülerinnen und Schüler der Klassen 5 bis 10 an Realschulen. Er überwindet Fächergrenzen mit einem ganzheitlichen Ansatz, die typischen Methoden des naturwissenschaftlichen Arbeitens sind dabei das verbindende Element. „Realschullehrkräfte haben zunächst einzelne Fachdisziplinen studiert“, sagt Minsterialrat Gerald Machner, Referent für Lehrerausbildung und Lehrerfortbildung im Ministerium für Kultus, Jugend und Sport Baden-Württemberg. „Das Kontaktstudium unterstützt sie bei der Gestaltung eines modernen, interdisziplinären Unterrichts“. Der erste Kurs mit 25 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern begann am 19. Januar und läuft bis Dezember 2011, weitere Kurse werden in den Jahren 2011 bis 2015 eingerichtet.  
Die Qualifizierungsmaßnahme ist als Blended-Learning-Angebot konzipiert, in dem sich Online- und Präsenzphasen abwechseln. Sie umfasst eine Internet-Plattform mit Modulen zu zentralen Themen des naturwissenschaftlichen Arbeitens wie Energie, Stoffe, Information und „Raumschiff Erde“. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden hier von fachinhaltlichen und fachdidaktischen Teletutorinnen und -tutoren betreut. Dazu kommen vier zweitägige Präsenzveranstaltungen, bei denen der Erwerb methodisch-didaktischer und experimenteller Kompetenzen im Mittelpunkt steht. Das Fernstudienzentrum im House of Compentence (HoC) des KIT stellt die virtuelle Lernumgebung zur Verfügung und betreut die Veranstaltung technisch und organisatorisch. „Nebeneffekt des Arbeitens mit der Online-Plattform ist, dass die Lehrerinnen und Lehrer auch ausprobieren, welche Funktionen sie später in ihrem eigenen Unterricht einsetzen können“, sagt Daniel Weichsel, Geschäftsführer des Fernstudienzentrums.

Als Voraussetzung für ein solches Weiterbildungsangebot nennt Gerald Machner die gute Kooperation zwischen Schule und Hochschule: „Lebenslanges, berufsbegleitendes Lernen erfordert periodisch wissenschaftlichen Input. Lehrkräfte brauchen immer wieder Zugang zu neuen Erkenntnissen.“ Das baden-württembergische Kultusministerium setzt dabei auf die bewährte Zusammenarbeit mit dem KIT: Von 2003 bis 2005 lief bereits das Kontaktstudium „Naturwissenschaften“ für Hauptschulen und Werkrealschulen, 2006 folgte das Kontaktstudium „Naturwissenschaft und Technik (NWT)“ am Gymnasium.

Dritter Kooperationspartner beim Kontaktstudium NWA sind die Chemieverbände Baden-Württemberg, die dem naturwissenschaftlichen Arbeiten gerade an Realschulen einen hohen Stellenwert einräumen. „Das neue Angebot vernetzt nicht nur die Lehrkräfte untereinander, sondern ermöglicht auch einen Austausch mit Industrievertretern, den man in anderen Fortbildungen nicht bekommt“, sagt Daniel Weichsel.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) vereint als selbständige Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts die Aufgaben einer Universität des Landes Baden-Württemberg und eines nationalen Forschungszentrums in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Seine drei strategischen Felder Forschung, Lehre und Innovation verbindet das KIT zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 24 500 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas

le, 19.01.2011

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneMxs3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZjb2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.