Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Press Release 036/2010

Cattle Reduce Nitrous Oxide Emissions

Climate Reseachers Correct the Relationship between the Formation of the Greenhous Gas and Livestock Breeding on Free Grassland – Publication in Renowned “Nature” Journal
Langzeitstudie in der Mongolei: KIT-Wissenschaftler studierten ein Jahr lang die Auswirkungen von Beweidung auf die Entstehung von Lachgas im Boden. (Foto: KIT)
Long-term study in Mongolia: For one year, KIT scientists studied the impacts of grazing on the formation of nitrous oxide in the soil. (Photo: KIT)

Nitrous oxide emissions, mainly from agriculture, contribute considerably to the anthropogenic greenhouse effect. Contrary to previous assumptions, however, livestock breeding in steppe and prairie areas does not increase nitrous oxide emissions, but reduces them. This was found by scientists from the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-IFU) during studies in China. The results of the project funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) have now been published in the journal “Nature”.

After carbon dioxide (CO2) and methane, nitrous oxide (N2O) is the third most important greenhouse gas in the atmosphere. The greenhouse effect of a kilogram of N2O exceeds that of the same amount of CO2 by a factor of about 300. About 60% of the anthropogenic emissions of this trace gas are due to agriculture activities, e.g. following the microbial decomposition of nitrogen-containing excrement of grazing sheep or cattle in the soil. Therefore, it was assumed by scientists that increased livestock breeding in steppe and prairie areas has contributed to the constantly growing nitrous oxide concentration in the atmosphere. Such calculations were also reported by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) known as World Climate Council.

“This was a big error,” says Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl from the Atmospheric Environmental Research Division of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-IFU) in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. “In fact, areas not used for livestock breeding emit much larger amounts of nitrous oxide over the year than steppe areas on which animals are grazing.” This was found by scientists during a project in Inner Mongolia, China, funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG). For a complete year, they installed and operated several measurement stations in the steppe where temperatures may drop down to -40°C cold in winter. The German scientists were supported by scientists from the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Scottish Centre for Ecology and Hydrology in Midlothian.

“Previous short-term studies ignored the fact that the emission of significant nitrous oxide amounts from steppe soils into the atmosphere is a natural process and most of the natural nitrous oxide emissions take place during the thawing period in spring,” explains Butterbach-Bahl the new results. Livestock breeding significantly reduces exactly these emissions. As the grass height is reduced by grazing, snow is transported by the wind more easily and, thus, the snow pack at grazed areas is smaller than in areas not used for grazing. Consequently, areas used for livestock grazing are less insulated during the long and cold winter and, hence, soil temperatures colder by up to 10 degrees. On the other hand, these areas are much dryer during the thawing period in March due to the reduced snow cover. Both factors, i.e. colder temperatures and reduced soil moisture inhibit microbial activities during thawing. As a result, the soil emits far less nitrous oxide.

Emissions Overestimated by 72%
These reductions by far exceed the “normal” stimulation of nitrous oxide emissions following faeces excretion and manure management, with considerable impacts. Scientists assume that previous calculations overestimate the nitrous oxide emissions due to livestock breeding of large areas of semi-arid, cool temperate grassland in Eurasia and North America, by about 72%.

Still, these results are no positive signals for climate change. The constantly growing nitrous oxide concentration in the atmosphere is a fact. “Our work just shows that much research remains to be done to really understand the sources of atmospheric nitrous oxide,” says Butterbach-Bahl. Also extensive grazing must not be reasonable. Ruminants are emitting large quantities of climate-active methane, which was not considered by this study. Nevertheless, the KIT study shows a way to improve the greenhouse balance of grass steppes: Haying in autumn may reduce the grass height and, hence, the snow height during winter as well as nitrous oxide emissions during thawing.

Benjamin Wolf, Xunhua Zheng, Nicolas Brüggemann, Weiwei Chen, Michael Dannenmann, Xingguo Han, Mark A. Sutton, Honghui Wu, Zhisheng Yao, Klaus Butterbach-Bahl: “Grazing-induced reduction of natural nitrous oxide release from continental steppe“ (Nature Issue No. 7290, Vol. 464, page 881-884).


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

jm, 07.04.2010

For further information, please contact:

Jonas Moosmüller Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing Tel.: +49 721 608-8120 Fax: +49 721 608-3658 E-Mail:jonas moosmuellerVyr8∂kit edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Presseinformation 036/2010

Vieh verringert Lachgas-Emissionen

Klimaforscher korrigieren den Zusammenhang zwischen der Entstehung des Treibhausgases und der Tierhaltung auf freien Grasflächen – Publikation in renommierter Fachzeitschrift „Nature“
Langzeitstudie in der Mongolei: KIT-Wissenschaftler studierten ein Jahr lang die Auswirkungen von Beweidung auf die Entstehung von Lachgas im Boden. (Foto: KIT)
Langzeitstudie in der Mongolei: KIT-Wissenschaftler studierten ein Jahr lang die Auswirkungen von Beweidung auf die Entstehung von Lachgas im Boden. (Foto: KIT)

Lachgasemissionen, vor allem aus der Landwirtschaft, tragen wesentlich zum anthropogenen Treibhauseffekt bei. Im Gegensatz zu bisherigen Annahmen führt die Viehhaltung in Steppen- und Präriegebieten jedoch nicht zu erhöhten Lachgasemissionen. Im Gegenteil: Sie reduziert die Abgabe von Lachgas an die Atmosphäre. Dies ermittelten Forscher des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK- IFU) des KIT bei Untersuchungen in China. Die Ergebnisse des von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) geförderten Projekts veröffentlichte jetzt die Fachzeitschrift „Nature“.

Nach Kohlendioxid (CO2) und Methan gehört Lachgas (N2O) zu den Hauptverursachern des Klimawandels. Ein Kilogramm N2O ist rund 300 mal treibhauswirksamer als die gleiche Menge CO2. Vom Menschen verursachte Emissionen des Spurengases entstehen zu rund 60 Prozent in der Landwirtschaft, zum Beispiel beim mikrobiellen Abbau der stickstoffhaltigen Exkremente weidender Schafe oder Rinder im Erdreich. Bisher gingen Wissenschaftler deshalb davon aus, dass auch die Haltung großer Viehbestände in Steppen- und Präriegebieten zur stetig wachsenden Lachgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre beiträgt – entsprechende Kalkulationen flossen  in die Berichte des als Weltklimarat bekannten Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

„Ein großer Irrtum“, sagt Professor Klaus Butterbach-Bahl vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Bereich Atmosphärische Umweltforschung (IMK-IFU) des KIT in Garmisch-Partenkirchen. „Tatsächlich emittieren nicht zur Viehhaltung genutzte Flächen auf Jahressicht größere Mengen an Lachgas als beweidete Steppenflächen“. Dies ermittelten die Wissenschaftler gefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) in der Inneren Mongolei, China. Über ein gesamtes Jahr unterhielten sie in dem menschenleeren, im Winter bis zu -40 Grad Celsius kalten Steppengebiet mehrere Messstationen. Unterstützung kam von Wissenschaftlern der Chinese Academy of Sciences und dem schottischen Centre for Ecology and Hydrology in Midlothian.

„Bisherige Kurzzeituntersuchungen übersehen, dass die Abgabe bedeutender Lachgas-Mengen aus Steppenböden an die Atmosphäre ein natürlicher Prozess ist und ein Großteil der natürlichen Lachgas-Emissionen auf die Tauperiode im Frühjahr entfallen“, erklärt Butterbach-Bahl die neuen Ergebnisse. Die Viehhaltung bewirkt, dass genau diese Emissionen deutlich zurückgehen. Die durch Beweidung verringerte Grashöhe hat zur Folge, dass Schnee leichter vom Wind weitertransportiert wird und somit die Schneehöhe niedriger bleibt als bei unbeweideten Grasflächen. Einerseits sind beweidete Böden dadurch im langen und kalten Winter schlechter isoliert und daher um bis zu 10 Grad kälter. Andererseits bleiben beweidete Steppe-Böden durch die geringere Schneeauflage in der Tauperiode im März trockener. Kälte und Trockenheit hemmen dann mikrobielle Aktivitäten in der Tauperiode. Als Folge gibt das Erdreich bedeutend weniger Lachgas ab.

Emissionen um 72 Prozent überschätzt
Diese „Einsparungen“ übersteigen deutlich die „normale“ Stimulierung der Lachgasemissionen durch die Exkremente der Tiere - mit weitreichenden Folgen: Die Wissenschaftler gehen davon aus, dass bisherige Berechnungen die Lachgasemissionen gewaltiger Flächen –  etwa ein Fünftel der Gesamtfläche der Landmasse der gemäßigten Breiten sind Grasland – um rund 72 Prozent überschätzen.


Ein positives Signal für den Klimawandel sind die Ergebnisse jedoch nicht. Die stetig wachsende Lachgaskonzentration in der Atmosphäre ist ein Faktum. „Unsere Arbeit zeigt lediglich, dass noch viel Forschungsarbeit notwendig ist, um die Quellen für atmosphärisches Lachgas wirklich zu verstehen“, sagt Butterbach-Bahl. Auch die extensive Beweidung durch Vieh muss kein praktikabler Ansatz sein. Viehwirtschaft setzt in großen Mengen klimawirksames Methan frei, das die Studie nicht berücksichtigte. Dennoch weist die KIT-Studie einen Weg, um die Treibhausgasbilanz von Grassteppen zu verbessern: herbstliches Heumachen könnte die Grashöhe und somit die winterliche Schneehöhe genauso wie die Lachgas-Emissionen in der Tau-Periode verringern.

Literatur:
Benjamin Wolf, Xunhua Zheng, Nicolas Brüggemann, Weiwei Chen, Michael Dannenmann, Xingguo Han, Mark A. Sutton, Honghui Wu, Zhisheng Yao, Klaus Butterbach-Bahl: „Grazing-induced reduction of natural nitrous oxide release from continental steppe“  (Nature Ausgabe No. 7290 Vol. 464, page 881-884)

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

jm, 07.04.2010

Weiterer Kontakt:

Jonas Moosmüller Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing Tel.: +49 721 608-8120 Fax: +49 721 608-3658 E-Mail:jonas moosmuellerQcl9∂kit edu