Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Leibniz Prize 2019 Winner Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer
Wolfgang Wernsdorfer

Prof. Wernsdorfer carried out pioneering work on nanomagnetism and single-molecule magnets.

Leibniz Prize 2017 Winner Prof. Britta Nestler

Prof. Nestler is an expert in the field of computational materials science.

KIT Research Office

Science awards

Overview of all Awards

Overview of the Awards
(in German)

Laureates at KIT

In the tradition of Noble Prize laureates such as Ferdinand Braun (1909), smart minds at KIT are regularly granted prominent awards.

Be it the prestigious prizes of the German Research Foundation (DFG) or science awards from ministries or foundations: KIT scientists repeatedly are among the winners. In the past years, several of the coveted State Research Prizes of the State of Baden-Württemberg or of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes of the DFG were awarded to KIT.

On the following pages, we would like to present some of the winners primarily of the past ten years.



Erwin Schrödinger Prize 2019 goes to KIT

A multidisciplinary team of KIT scientists is awarded the Erwin Schrödinger Prize of the Helmholtz Association and the Stifterverband. Alexander Colsmann, Michael J. Hoffmann, Tobias Leonhard, Holger Röhm, Alexander D. Schulz and Susanne Wagner share a prize money of 50,000 euros for developments to improve perovskite solar cells.

Press release


Konrad Zuse Medal awarded to Prof. Dorothea Wagner

Prof. Dorothea Wagner is this year's recipient of the Konrad Zuse Medal, the most prestigious award of the German speaking computer science community. The medal is awarded by the Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. Dorothea Wagner holds the chair of Algorithmics I at the Institute of Theoretical Informatics at KIT.

Press release (in German)


Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for Prof. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the German Science Foundation, the most prestigious science award in Germany, was awarded to Prof. Wolfgang Wernsdorfer. He is being recognized for his work in the fields of electronics, spin physics and quantum computing. The prize comes with a prize money of EUR 2.5 million.

Press release