Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 046/2018

KIT Senate Confirms Election of Michael Ganß as Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance

Senate Follows the Decision of the Supervisory Board –Appointment Procedure Is Next Step
Michael Ganß. (Photo HZG/Kerstin Petermann:)
Michael Ganß. (Photo HZG/Kerstin Petermann)

Today at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), a very large majority of the KIT Senate confirmed the unanimous vote of the Supervisory Board in favor of Michael Ganß as the new Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance. Upon completion of the appointment procedure and subsequent signing of the contract, a new Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance will assume office at KIT. Ganß is an acknowledged expert in science management, the focus being on finance, controlling, and infrastructure. Since 2003, he has been heading the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht as Administrative Director together with his scientific colleague.

 

Michael Ganß knows the world of research centers quite well. Before he became Administrative Director in Geesthacht, the mechanical engineer was Managing Director of the Cologne-Porz and Bonn-Oberkassel sites of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and Director of the Technical Services. Prior to this, the presently 59-year-old Ganß had assumed a range of executive positions at DLR, among others, for corporate controlling.

 

Professor Renate Schubert, who chairs the Supervisory Board of KIT, welcomes the decision of the KIT Senate: “The Supervisory Board unanimously decided in favor of Mr. Ganß as future Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance. We are pleased to have found with him a person with excellent expertise in finance management and, at the same time, vast knowledge of the research community. I am convinced that Mr. Ganß will manage the activities of KIT in his area of competence with a steady hand.”

 

“This clear confirmation by the KIT Senate is a strong and encouraging signal,” says the President of KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka. “Michael Ganß is an excellent choice and I am pleased that the post of Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance can be filled again,” Hanselka continues. “KIT is part of both the university world and the research world. This fact is associated with special challenges for this office. Thanks to the outstanding expertise and prudence of Mr. Ganß, I know that this task now is in good hands.”

 

“I would like to express my cordial thanks for the big trust placed in me by the bodies of KIT deciding in favor of my appointment,” Michael Ganß says. “After my work at two Helmholtz Centers, it is a great pleasure and challenge for me to help shape the future of KIT, the “Research University in the Helmholtz Association” that is unique in the German research community. I am aware of the special framework conditions of the KIT, which will result in highly complex new tasks for me. I greatly respect that and look forward to contributing my experience and my commitment to university business as well. The leitmotif of my work so far has been to understand administration and infrastructure as areas serving science. I will continue to work along this line in the future and to implement this at KIT.”

 

The term of office of the Vice President for Business Affairs and Finance is six years as from the time of his appointment. Ganß will assume office presumably in the middle of the year.

 

Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka mit Michael Ganß (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

Professor Holger Hanselka and Michael Ganß. (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim)

 

Michael Ganß – About the Person:

Michael Ganß was born in 1958 in Eschweiler near Aachen and studied first economics at Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz and then mechanical engineering at RWTH Aachen University. In 1989, he graduated with a mechanical engineering degree. In the same year, he started his career as assistant of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR). In 1990, he was additionally appointed Director of the Executive Board Office. In 1992, Ganß took over the direction of the Program Coordination Office and established the corporate controlling system of DLR, for which he became responsible in 1996. Following the merger of the DLR and the German Space Agency (DARA), Michael Ganß took over a management position in the space activities of DLR in Bonn in 1998 and in 1999 became Director of DLR’s location in Berlin-Adlershof and of the Institute of Planetary Research and Space Sensors Systems located there. From 2001 to 2003, he was Managing Director of the DLR locations in Cologne-Porz and Bonn-Oberkassel as well as Director of the Technical Services at DLR in Cologne. In 2003, he moved to Geesthacht and took over office as Administrative Director at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht with 1000 employees and an annual budget of EUR 120 million.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

lg, 23.04.2018

Press contact:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48126
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafXgg4∂kit edu

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Margarete Lehné
Kontakt:
Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-21157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 046/2018

KIT-Senat bestätigt die Wahl von Michael Ganß zum Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen

Das Gremium folgt dem Votum des Aufsichtsrats – Ein weiterer Schritt ist nun das Bestellungsverfahren
Michael Ganß (Foto: HZG/Kerstin Petermann)
Michael Ganß (Foto: HZG/Kerstin Petermann)

Der KIT-Senat hat heute mit sehr großer Mehrheit das einstimmige Votum des Aufsichtsrates bestätigt, der Michael Ganß zum neuen Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) gewählt hatte. Nach Abschluss des Bestellungsverfahrens und der anschließenden Vertragsunterzeichnung wird das KIT damit einen neuen Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen haben. Ganß gilt als ausgewiesener Experte im Wissenschaftsmanagement mit Schwerpunkt in den Bereichen Finanzen, Controlling und Infrastruktur. Seit 2003 leitet er gemeinsam mit seinem wissenschaftlichen Kollegen als kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer das Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht.

 

Michael Ganß kennt die Welt der Forschungszentren gut. Bevor er kaufmännischer Geschäftsführer in Geesthacht wurde, leitete der diplomierte Maschinenbauer die Geschäftsführung der Standorte Köln-Porz und Bonn-Oberkassel des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und war zudem Leiter der Technischen Dienste. Zuvor war der 59-Jährige in weiteren leitenden Positionen, unter anderem im Unternehmenscontrolling, beim DLR tätig.

 

Die Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende Professorin Renate Schubert begrüßt das Votum des KIT-Senats: „Der Aufsichtsrat hat sich einstimmig für Herrn Ganß als künftigen Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen ausgesprochen. Wir freuen uns, in ihm eine Persönlichkeit mit exzellenten Erfahrungen im Finanzmanagement und gleichzeitig weitreichenden Kenntnissen in der Forschungswelt zu gewinnen. Ich bin überzeugt, dass Herr Ganß die Geschicke des KIT in seinem Ressort mit ruhiger Hand lenken wird.“

 

„Diese klare Bestätigung im KIT-Senat ist ein starkes und erfreuliches Signal“, sagt der Präsident des KIT, Professor Holger Hanselka. „Michael Ganß ist eine hervorragende Wahl und ich freue mich, dass wir das Amt des Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen nun wieder besetzen können“, so Hanselka. „Das KIT ist gleichermaßen Teil der Universitäts- und Großforschungswelt – ein Umstand, der besondere Herausforderungen für dieses Amt mit sich bringt. Durch die hervorragende Expertise und Umsicht von Herrn Ganß weiß ich diese Aufgabe in guten Händen.“

 

„Für das große Vertrauen, das mir von den Gremien des KIT mit der Entscheidung zu meiner Berufung entgegengebracht wird, bedanke ich mich herzlich“, sagt Michael Ganß. „Nach meinen Tätigkeiten in zwei Helmholtz-Zentren ist es für mich eine besondere Freude und Herausforderung, nun an der weiteren Zukunftsgestaltung des KIT, der in der deutschen Forschungslandschaft einzigartigen „Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft“, mitwirken zu können. Mir ist bewusst, dass hier aufgrund der besonderen Rahmenbedingungen für das KIT sehr komplexe neue Aufgaben auf mich zukommen. Davor habe ich Respekt und freue mich sehr darauf, meine Erfahrungen und mein Engagement nun auch in eine Universität einzubringen. Mein bisheriges Leitmotiv, Administration und Infrastruktur als dienende Funktion für die Wissenschaft zu begreifen und zu gestalten, möchte ich dabei künftig auch im KIT in konkretes Handeln umsetzen.“

 

Die Amtsdauer des Vizepräsidenten für Wirtschaft und Finanzen beträgt sechs Jahre ab dem Zeitpunkt seiner Ernennung. Geplanter Amtsantritt ist voraussichtlich zur Jahresmitte.

 

Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka mit Michael Ganß (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka mit Michael Ganß (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

 

Michael Ganß – zur Person:

Michael Ganß, geboren 1958 in Eschweiler, Kreis Aachen, studierte zunächst Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und anschließend Maschinenbau an der RWTH Aachen, das Studium schloß er 1989 als Diplom-Ingenieur ab. Im selben Jahr startete er seine Karriere als Assistent des Vorstands des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und leitete ab 1990 zusätzlich das Vorstandsbüro.1992 übernahm er die Leitung der Programmkoordination und baute das Unternehmenscontrolling des DLR auf, das er ab 1996 leitete. Mit der Fusion des DLR mit der Deutschen Agentur für Raumfahrtangelegenheiten (DARA) wechselte Michael Ganß 1998 ins Raumfahrtmanagement des DLR nach Bonn und übernahm 1999 die Leitung des Standorts Berlin-Adlershof und die Leitung des Gesamtmanagements des dort ansässigen Instituts für Planetenerkundung und Weltraumsensorik. Von 2001 bis 2003 war er Leiter der Geschäftsführung der Standorte Köln-Porz und Bonn-Oberkassel und Leiter der Technischen Dienste des DLR in Köln. 2003 wechselte er nach Geesthacht und übernahm am Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht das Amt des kaufmännischen Geschäftsführers mit 1000 Beschäftigten und einem Jahresbudget von 120 Millionen Euro.

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

lg, 23.04.2018

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafFez7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseCxs3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.