Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseZfd7∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 047/2015

Solar Power Storage Units Reduce Costs of the Energiewende

KIT Starts Operation of a Solar Power Storage System at Its Helmholtz Institute in Ulm – Modern Battery Technology and Smart Power Control Make Solar Power Capable of Meeting Base Load Requirements
2015_047_Solarstromspeicher_senken_Kosten_der_Energiewende_72dpi
The batteries store solar power and feed it into the mains of HIU, if required. (Photo: Frederik Elschenbroich, ads-tec)

The increasing share of electricity based on solar and wind power results in an increasing load of distribution and transmission grids. At the “Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) for Electrochemical Energy Storage“, the KIT demonstrates how modern high-performance batteries and smart controls make renewable energy compatible with the grid. Expensive and controversial grid extension measures can be reduced in this way. The solar power storage system with a 76 kWh battery unit started operation at HIU today and supplies the building with electricity.

 

“The transformation of the energy system in Baden-Württemberg, Germany, and Europe is a big challenge. Modern storage technologies are a major approach to solving this problem,” says Director-General of the Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts, Simone Schwanitz, on the occasion of the official opening of the solar power storage system. “With this system, the KIT builds a bridge between fundamental research and application.”
“The solar power storage system at our institute in Ulm shows what future-oriented technologies for the transformation of the energy system may be like,” explains Ulrich Breuer, Vice President for Finance and Business Affairs of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. “We demonstrate that economy and ecology do not exclude each other, but may give rise to marketable solutions.”

 

“Strengthening and clustering of the competences of Ulm University, KIT, and the other partners for research into and development of modern battery technologies at HIU has now started to bear fruit,” says the President of Ulm University, Karl Joachim Ebeling. “The new solar power storage system at Ulm is a successful contribution to the Energiewende.”

 

“The new storage system provides multiple benefits for our institute,” explains Horst Hahn, Director of HIU: “Firstly, KIT can study intelligent control strategies for a grid-compatible operation of solar storage units. Secondly, this system will be used to test novel battery materials under real operation conditions in the future. The new storage system will also serve as a test laboratory and, as a by-product of research, it supplies electricity for the operation of the institute.”

 

The storage system is equipped with a smart control unit developed by KIT. It ensures that electricity is not fed into the public distribution grid. Grid load is reduced by cutting the supply peaks of the photovoltaics system and the load peaks of the consumers at the institute. Hence, economically efficient and grid-compatible system operation is guaranteed. An autonomous, self-learning prognosis tool calculates the consumption and production data to be expected and, on this basis, optimizes energy management over the day.

 

“The control is the brain of the facility. Here, it is decided what happens with the solar power. In fact, this is a highly complicated task, because the expected solar energy yield has to be distributed in the institute and battery, such that optimum efficiency is reached,” Nina Munzke explains. She is responsible for software development under the Competence E Project of KIT. “For the development of a reliable, energy- and cost-optimized operational management system, two years of hard work of our team were required. Now, we are all happy that the software works in a real application and everything runs smoothly.” The next step planned by KIT is the commercialization of the software by a startup company.

 

Data of the solar power system:

Photovoltaics peak power 31 kW
Battery capacity 76 kWh
Reduction of mains power consumption
at HIU per year 31 MWh

 

The Competence E project covers all research aspects from the battery materials to the electric storage system in a way that is unique in Germany. With an open technology platform for battery-electric vehicle drives and stationary energy storage systems, the systemic approach is aimed at developing industrially applicable solutions and their production methods. Thanks to integration along the chain of values added, battery systems with an energy density of 250 Watt-hours/kg are to be manufactured at costs of EUR 250 per kilowatt-hour by 2018. This will be an important step towards the energy turnaround and reaching climate objectives: Increased storage capacity or stationary storage systems to compensate the fluctuation of renewable energies and enhance the range of electric vehicles for increased acceptance.

 

Find more on the Competence E project at:

http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/english/index.php

 

The HIU was established in January 2011 by KIT, member of the Helmholtz Association, in cooperation with Ulm University. With the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg (ZSW), two other renowned institutions are involved in the HIU as associated partners. The international team of about 115 scientists at HIU works on the further development of the fundamentals of viable energy storage systems for stationary and mobile use.

 

Find more on HIU at:

http://www.hiu-batteries.de/en/

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

dm, kes, 06.05.2015

Press contact:

Daniel Messling
HIU, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: 0 731 50 34013
E-Mail: Daniel MesslingLvu8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseWaq4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 047/2015

Solarstromspeicher senken Kosten der Energiewende

KIT startet den Betrieb einer Solarstromspeicheranlage in seinem Helmholtz-Institut in Ulm – Moderne Batterietechnik und intelligente Leistungssteuerung machen Solarstrom grundlastfähig
In den Batterien wird der Solarstrom gespeichert und nach Bedarf in das Betriebsnetz des HIU eingespeist.  (Foto: Frederik Elschenbroich, ads-tec)
In den Batterien wird der Solarstrom gespeichert und nach Bedarf in das Betriebsnetz des HIU eingespeist. (Foto: Frederik Elschenbroich, ads-tec)

Der steigende Anteil von Strom aus Sonne und Wind belastet zunehmend die Verteil- und Übertragungsnetze. Im „Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU) Elektrochemische Energiespeicherung“ demonstriert das KIT, wie moderne Hochleistungsbatterien und intelligente Steuerung erneuerbare Energie netzverträglich machen. Teure und umstrittene Netzausbaumaßnahmen lassen sich so reduzieren. Die Solarstromspeicheranlage mit 76 kWh großer Batterie am HIU ging heute feierlich in Betrieb und versorgt das Gebäude mit Strom.

 

„Die Energiewende in Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland und Europa ist eine große Herausforderung. Moderne Speichertechnologien sind dazu ein wichtiger Lösungsansatz“, sagt die Ministerialdirektorin im baden-württembergischen Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst, Dr. Simone Schwanitz, anlässlich der feierlichen Übergabe der Solarstromspeicheranlage. „Mit dieser Anlage baut das KIT eine Brücke zwischen Grundlagenforschung und Anwendungen.“

 

„Mit der Solarstromspeicheranlage an unserem Institut in Ulm zeigt das KIT, wie zukunftsweisende Technologien für die Energiewende aussehen können“, erklärt Dr. Ulrich Breuer, Vizepräsident für Wirtschaft und Finanzen am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie KIT. „Wir zeigen, dass sich Ökonomie und Ökologie nicht ausschließen, sondern schon heute zu marktfähigen Lösungen führen.“

 

„Die Stärkung und Bündelungen der Kompetenz der Universität Ulm, des KIT und der weiteren Partner zur Erforschung und Entwicklung moderner Batterietechnologien am HIU trägt nun die ersten Früchte“, freut sich der Präsident der Universität Ulm, Professor Karl Joachim Ebeling. „Die neue Solarstromspeicheranlage am Standort Ulm ist ein schöner Beitrag zur Umsetzung der Energiewende.“

 

„Das neue Speichersystem bringt unserem Institut gleich mehrfachen Nutzen“, erklärt Professor Horst Hahn, Direktor des HIU: „Einerseits erforscht das KIT intelligente Steuer- und Regelstrategien für einen möglichst netzschonenden Betrieb von Solarstromspeichern, andererseits können wir mit diesem System zukünftig auch neuartige Batteriematerialien unter realen Einsatzbedingungen erproben. Der neue Speicher ist für uns also ein Reallabor und liefert als Nebenprodukt der Forschung auch noch Strom für den Betrieb des Instituts.“

 

Eine Besonderheit des Speichers liegt in seiner intelligenten Steuerung, die am KIT entwickelt wurde und dafür sorgt, dass es zu keinem Zeitpunkt zu einer Einspeisung ins öffentliche Verteilnetz kommt. Sie entlastet das Netz, indem Einspeisespitzen der Photovoltaikanlage und Lastspitzen der Verbraucher am Institut gekappt werden, und ermöglicht eine wirtschaftliche und netzdienliche Systembetriebsführung. Ein autonomes, selbstlernendes Prognosetool errechnet die zu erwartende Verbrauchs- und Erzeugungsdaten und optimiert damit das Energiemanagment über den Tag.

 

„Die Steuerung ist das Gehirn der Anlage. Hier wird entschieden, was mit dem Solarstrom passiert. Es ist tatsächlich eine hoch komplexe Aufgabe, denn der von der Sonne zu erwartende Energie-Ertrag muss im Institut und der Batterie so verteilt werden, das jeweils eine optimale Effizienz erreicht wird“, erläutert Nina Munzke, verantwortlich für die Software-Entwicklung beim Projekt Competence E des KIT. „Für die Entwicklung einer zuverlässigen, energie- und kostenoptimierten Betriebsführung hat unser Team über zwei Jahre hart gearbeitet. Jetzt sind wir alle begeistert, dass die Software hier in einer realen Anwendung läuft und dass alles so funktioniert wie vorgesehen.“ Als nächsten Schritt plant das KIT die Vermarktung der Software in einem Start-up-Unternehmen.

 

Steckbrief der Solarstromanlage:

Photovoltaik Spitzenleistung: 31 Kilowatt
Batteriegröße: 76 Kilowattstunden
Reduktion des Netzstromverbrauchs am HIU pro Jahr: 31 Megawattstunden

 

Das Projekt Competence E vereint alle Forschungsaspekte vom Batteriematerial bis zum elektrischen Speichersystem auf eine deutschlandweit einzigartige Weise. Mit einer offenen Technologieplattform für batterieelektrische Fahrzeugantriebs- und stationäre Energiespeichersysteme zielt der systemische Ansatz auf industriell anwendbare Lösungen und deren Produktionsverfahren. Dank der Integration entlang der Wertschöpfungskette soll das ehrgeizige Ziel angegangen werden, bis 2018 Batteriesysteme zu fertigen, die eine Energiedichte von 250 Wattstunden pro Kilogramm bei Kosten von 250 Euro pro Kilowattstunde aufweisen. Damit wird ein wichtiger Schritt in Richtung Energiewende und Klimaschutzziele umgesetzt: eine erhöhte Speicherfähigkeit für stationäre Speicher zum Ausgleich der Fluktuation von erneuerbaren Energien sowie eine Verlängerung der Reichweite von Elektrofahrzeugen zur Erhöhung der Akzeptanz.

 

Mehr zum Projekt Competence E unter:

http://www.competence-e.kit.edu/


 

Das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU) wurde im Januar 2011 vom KIT als Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft in Kooperation mit der Universität Ulm gegründet. Mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft - und Raumfahrt (DLR) sowie dem Zentrum für Sonnenenergie-und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW) sind zwei weitere renommierte Einrichtungen als assoziierte Partner in das HIU eingebunden. Das internationale Team aus rund 115 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern forscht im HIU an der Weiterentwicklung der Grundlagen von zukunftsfähigen Energiespeichern für den stationären und mobilen Einsatz.

 

Mehr zum HIU unter:

http://www.hiu-batteries.de/

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

dm, kes, 06.05.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Daniel Messling
HIU, Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel.: 0 731 50 34013
E-Mail: Daniel MesslingBbt1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseKps9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.