Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 034/2015

Pavel Levkin Is Granted Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Highest Distinction in Germany for Young Researchers – Polymer Chemist Develops Novel Materials for Molecular Cell Biology
2015_034_Pavel_Levkin_erhaelt_Heinz_Maier-Leibnitz-Preis_72dpi
Pavel Levkin (Photo: Markus Breig/KIT)

The chemist Dr. Pavel Levkin of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is granted the 2015 Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize by the German Research Foundation (DFG). The prize is considered the highest distinction for young researchers in Germany. Scientific work of Pavel Levkin focuses on the investigation of cell-surface interactions, the development of biofunctional materials and super-water-repellent surfaces as well as on nanoparticles for specific medicine and gene transport. A major scientific success of Levkin was the synthesis of lipid-like molecules for gene modification of cells.

 

“Polymer chemistry develops new synthesis methods for innovative materials with so far unreached properties and has a high potential for future use,” KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka explains. “An important application is molecular cell biology. Based on his excellent understanding of polymer chemistry and biology, Pavel Levkin made major contributions. I am extraordinarily happy that this great achievement is now honored by the important Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize.”

 

The Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize is granted annually by the DFG to young scientists for outstanding achievements. The prize does not only account for the doctoral thesis, but also considers the fact that the winners have already developed a scientific standing of their own after their doctorate. The distinction is to provide an incentive for the scientists to continue their scientific career. Ten prizes in the amount of EUR 20.000 each are granted. The funds are made available by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). According to a survey of the journal “Bild der Wissenschaft”, the big research organizations consider the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize the third important science award in Germany, after the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the DFG and the Deutscher Zukunftspreis, the German President’s Award for Innovation in Science and Technology. On May 05, the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prizes will be handed over officially in Berlin.

 

Research of Pavel Levkin covers the interface of polymer research, micro-engineering, and biologico-medical applications. He uses his profound knowledge of chemical applications to find new solutions of biological problems. The so far biggest scientific success of Dr. Pavel Levkin was the development of super-water-repellent polymer surfaces, which are now applied for miniaturized cell experiments. Levkin’s research team at KIT works on strategies of modifying surfaces that are in contact with cells as well as on the development of new nanoparticles for specific medicine and gene transport. Meanwhile, renowned molecular cell biologists have used Levkin’s systems. Based on his work, a spinoff, Incella GmbH, was established.

 

About the Person
Pavel Levkin was born in Moscow in 1980 and studied chemistry at the Moscow Institute of Fine Chemical Technology. He was conferred his doctorate at the University of Tübingen. After a research stay at the University of Vienna, Levkin started to work as a postdoc at the University of California in Berkeley. Since 2009, he has been working at the Institute of Organic Chemistry (IOC) and at the Institute of Toxicology and Genetics (ITG) of KIT. He heads the Helmholtz Research Group of Biofunctional Materials at KIT and the University of Heidelberg. In 2013, Levkin was granted an ERC starting grant for his work on superhydrophobic-hydrophilic microstructures.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

or, 02.04.2015
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseCpa9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 034/2015

Pavel Levkin erhält Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis

Wichtigste deutsche Auszeichnung für den Forschungsnachwuchs – Polymerchemiker entwickelt neuartige Materialien für die molekulare Zellbiologie
Pavel Levkin (Bild: Markus Breig/KIT)
Pavel Levkin (Bild: Markus Breig/KIT)

Der Chemiker Dr. Pavel Levkin vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält den Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis 2015. Die von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) verliehene Auszeichnung gilt als wichtigster Preis für den Forschungsnachwuchs in Deutschland. Zu den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten von Pavel Levkin gehören die Erforschung von Zell-Oberflächen-Interaktionen, die Entwicklung von biofunktionalen Materialien und super-wasserabstoßenden Oberflächen sowie Nanopartikeln für den gezielten Medikamenten- und Gentransport. Ein großer wissenschaftlicher Erfolg gelang ihm mit der Synthese von lipidartigen Molekülen zur Genmodifikation von Zellen.

 

„Die Polymerchemie entwickelt neue Synthesemethoden für innovative Materialien mit bisher unerreichten Eigenschaften und besitzt großes Zukunftspotenzial“, erklärt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka. „Ein wichtiges Anwendungsgebiet ist die molekulare Zellbiologie. Pavel Levkin hat dazu mit seinem außerordentlichen polymerchemischen und biologischen Verständnis wesentliche Beiträge geleistet. Ich freue mich außerordentlich, dass diese großartige Leistung nun mit dem bedeutenden Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis gewürdigt wird.“

 

Mit dem jährlich an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler verliehenen Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis erkennt die DFG herausragende Leistungen an. Der Preis würdigt nicht nur die Dissertation; vielmehr haben die Preisträger nach der Promotion bereits ein eigenständiges wissenschaftliches Profil entwickelt. Die Auszeichnung soll sie dabei unterstützen, ihre wissenschaftliche Laufbahn fortzuführen. Vergeben werden zehn Preise, dotiert mit je 20 000 Euro. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) stellt die Mittel zur Verfügung. In einer Umfrage der Zeitschrift „bild der wissenschaft“ wählten die großen Forschungsorganisationen den Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Preis zum drittwichtigsten Wissenschaftspreis in Deutschland – nach dem Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der DFG und dem Deutschen Zukunftspreis des Bundespräsidenten. Am 05. Mai werden die Preise feierlich in Berlin überreicht.

 

Mit seiner Forschung bewegt sich Pavel Levkin an der Schnittstelle zwischen Polymerforschung, Mikrotechnik und biologisch-medizinischen Applikationen. Er setzt seine ausgeprägten Kenntnisse chemischer Anwendungen dazu ein, neue Zugänge zu biologi-schen Fragestellungen zu finden. Sein bis jetzt größter wissenschaftlicher Erfolg gelang Dr. Pavel Levkin mit der Entwicklung von super-wasserabstoßende Polymeroberflächen, die er für miniaturisierte Zellexperimente nutzt. Levkins Forschergruppe am KIT arbeitet an Strategien der Modifikation von Oberflächen, die in Kontakt mit Zellen treten sowie an der Entwicklung von neuen Nanopartikeln für den gezielten Medikamenten- und Gentransport. Inzwischen setzen namhafte molekulare Zellbiologen Levkins Systeme ein. Aus seinen Arbeiten ging eine Ausgründung hervor, die Incella GmbH.

 

Zur Person
Pavel Levkin, geboren 1980 in Moskau, studierte Chemie am Moskauer Institut für Feinchemikalientechnologie und promovierte an der Universität Tübingen. Nach einem Forschungsaufenthalt an der Universität von Wien wurde er Postdoktorand an der University of California Berkeley. Seit 2009 ist er am Institut für Organische Chemie (IOC) und am Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG) des KIT tätig und leitet die am KIT und an der Universität Heidelberg angesiedelte Helmholtz-Forschungsgruppe Biofunktionale Materialien. 2013 erhielt Levkin einen „ERC Starting Grant" für seine Arbeiten zu superhydrophoben-hydrophilen Mikrostrukturen.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 02.04.2015
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZai6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.