Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 029/2015

Researchers Increase Energy Density of Lithium Storage Materials

Optimized Storage Principle and New Material Increase Lithium Storage Density in Batteries
2015_029_Forscher_steigern_Energiedichte_von_Lithiumspeichermaterialien_72dpi
New storage material with (left) and without lithium (right). (Photo: HIU)

An interdisciplinary team of researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and KIT-founded Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU) pushes the further development of lithium ion batteries: The researchers developed a new cathode material based on a new storage principle, as a result of which energy storage densities can be increased beyond those of systems known so far. The researchers now present the new material in the journal “Advanced Energy Materials”.

 

The lithium ion battery currently is the most widespread battery technology. It is indispensable for devices, such as laptops, mobile phones or cameras. Current research activities are aimed at reaching higher lithium storage densities in order to increase the amount of energy stored in a battery. Moreover, lithium storage should be quick for energy supply of devices with high power requirements. This requires the detailed understanding of the electrochemical processes and new development of battery components.

 

The materials used so far are based on intercalation storage of lithium in small cavities (so-called interstitials), in a host structure that usually consists of metal oxides. This method works well, but the storage densities reached are limited, as lithium cannot be packed very densely in the structure. In addition, intercalation storage of more than one lithium ion per formula unit is generally not possible, as the structure then is no longer stable and collapses. It would therefore be desirable to increase the packing density of lithium in the stable structure and to exceed the upper limits reached so far.

 

A team around Professor Maximilian Fichtner and Dr. Ruiyong Chen of KIT has now presented a new storage principle and a material on this basis, which allows for the reversible storage of 1.8 Li per formula unit. With a material of the composition Li2VO2F, storage capacities of up to 420 mAh/g were measured at a mean voltage of 2.5 V. As a result of the comparably high density of the material, a storage capacity of up to 4600 Wh/L relative to the active material is obtained.

 

Contrary to the materials used so far, the new system no longer stores lithium at the interstitials, but directly at the lattice sites of a cubic close packed structure. As a result, packing densities are increased significantly.

 

Surprisingly, the lithium ions are highly mobile in this structure and can be incorporated into the lattice and removed again easily. Vanadium takes up two charges or releases them again, while the lattice as a whole remains stable – a novelty in such storage materials. The structure has a high defect mobility, such that the lattice can stabilize itself.

 

“The high stability of the structure at a high defect mobility, associated with a very small volume change of 3 % only – this is what makes the new system unusual. The storage principle appears to be transferable to other compositions. Using other compounds of similar structure, we presently measure even higher energy densities than for the vanadium-based system,” the head of the research team, Maximilian Fichtner, reports.

 

R. Chen, S. Ren, M. Knapp, D. Wang, R. Witter, M. Fichtner, and H. Hahn: Disordered Lithium-Rich Oxyfluoride as a Stable Host for Enhanced Li+ Intercalation Storage. Advanced Energy Materials. Article first published online: 3 FEB 2015. DOI: 10.1002/aenm.201401814


About the Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU)

The HIU was established in January 2011 by KIT, member of the Helmholtz Association, in cooperation with Ulm University. With the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and the Center for Solar Energy and Hydrogen Research Baden-Württemberg (ZSW), two other renowned institutions are involved in the HIU as associated partners. The international team of about 110 scientists at HIU works on the further development of the fundamentals of viable energy storage systems for stationary and mobile use.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

mf, dm, 16.03.2015

For further information, please contact:

Daniel Messling
HIU Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon: +49 731 50 34013
E-Mail: daniel messlingCrc4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseVid0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 029/2015

Forscher steigern Energiedichte von Lithiumspeichermaterialien

Optimiertes Speicherprinzip und neues Material sorgen für höhere Speicherdichte von Lithium in Batterien
Neues Speichermaterial mit (links) und ohne Lithium (rechts). (Abbildung: HIU)
Neues Speichermaterial mit (links) und ohne Lithium (rechts). (Abbildung: HIU)

Ein interdisziplinäres Forscherteam des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und des vom KIT gegründeten Helmholtz-Instituts Ulm (HIU) forciert die Weiterentwicklung von Lithium-Ionen-Batterien: Die Wissenschaftler haben ein neues Kathodenmaterial, basierend auf einem neuen Speicherprinzip entwickelt, das deutlich höhere Energiespeicherdichten als bisher bekannte Systeme bietet. In der Zeitschrift „Advanced Energy Materials“ stellt die Forschungsgruppe das neue Materialsystem vor.

 

Die Lithium-Ionen-Batterie ist die derzeit am weitesten verbreitete Batterietechnologie - kein anderer wiederaufladbarer Energiespeicher kann mit ihr mithalten. Für Geräte wie Laptops, Handys oder Kameras ist sie unersetzlich. Ziel der derzeitigen Forschung ist insbesondere, höhere Speicherdichten für Lithium zu erreichen, um damit mehr Energie in einer Batterie speichern zu können. Darüber hinaus sollte die Lithiumspeicherung schnell vonstatten gehen, um auch Geräte mit hohen Leistungsanforderungen versorgen zu können. Dafür ist es erforderlich, ein detailliertes Verständnis der elektrochemischen Vorgänge zu erarbeiten und Komponenten der Batterie neu zu entwickeln.

 

Die bisher verwendeten Materialien basieren auf einer Einlagerung von Lithium in kleine Hohlräume (so genannte Zwischengitterplätze) - einer Wirtsstruktur, welche in der Regel aus Metalloxiden besteht. Diese Methode funktioniert gut, allerdings sind die damit erzielbaren Speicherdichten begrenzt, da das Lithium nicht besonders dicht in der Struktur gepackt werden kann. Auch ist die Einlagerung von mehr als einem Lithium-Ion pro Formeleinheit in der Regel nicht möglich, da die Struktur dann nicht mehr stabil ist und zerfällt. Wünschenswert wäre es deshalb, Lithium deutlich dichter in eine stabile Struktur zu packen und die bisherigen Obergrenzen zu überwinden.

 

Eine Forschungsgruppe um Professor Maximilian Fichtner und Dr. Ruiyong Chen hat nun am KIT ein neues Speicherprinzip und ein darauf basierendes Material vorgestellt, welches die reversible Einlagerung von bis zu 1,8 Li pro Formeleinheit erlaubt. Mit einem Material der Zusammensetzung Li2VO2F wurden Speicherkapazitäten von bis zu 420 mAh/g, bei 2,5 V mittlerer Spannung gemessen. Durch die vergleichsweise hohe Dichte des Materials ergibt das eine Speicherkapazität von bis zu 4600 Wh/L, bezogen auf das Aktivmaterial.

 

Im Gegensatz zu den bisher verwendeten Materialien wird in dem neuen System das Lithium nicht mehr auf Zwischengitterplätzen, sondern direkt auf den Gitterplätzen einer kubisch dichtesten Packungsstruktur gespeichert, wodurch die deutlich höheren Packungsdichten erreicht werden.

 

Überraschenderweise sind die Lithium-Ionen sehr mobil in dieser Struktur und sie können leicht in das Gitter ein- und wieder ausgebaut werden. Dabei nimmt das Vanadium zwei Ladungen auf oder gibt sie wieder ab, während das Gitter insgesamt überraschenderweise stabil bleibt – ein Novum bei solchen Speichermaterialien. Die Struktur besitzt eine hohe Defektmobilität, sodass sich das Gitter selbst stabilisieren kann.

 

„Die hohe Stabilität der Struktur bei gleichzeitig hoher Defektmobilität, verbunden mit einer sehr kleinen Volumenänderung von nur 3% ist das eigentlich Ungewöhnliche an diesem neuen System. Das Speicherprinzip scheint zudem auf andere Zusammensetzungen übertragbar zu sein. Mit anderen Verbindungen ähnlicher Struktur messen wir derzeit sogar noch höhere Energiedichten als mit dem auf Vanadium basierenden System“, berichtet Forschungsgruppenleiter Maximilian Fichtner.

 

R. Chen, S. Ren, M. Knapp, D. Wang, R. Witter, M. Fichtner, and H. Hahn: Disordered Lithium-Rich Oxyfluoride as a Stable Host for Enhanced Li+ Intercalation Storage. Advanced Energy Materials. Article first published online: 3 FEB 2015. DOI: 10.1002/aenm.201401814


Über das Helmholtz-Institut Ulm (HIU)

Das HIU wurde im Januar 2011 vom KIT als Mitglied der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft in Kooperation mit der Universität Ulm gegründet. Mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) sowie dem Zentrum für Sonnenenergie- und Wasserstoff-Forschung Baden-Württemberg (ZSW) sind zwei weitere renommierte Einrichtungen als assoziierte Partner in das HIU eingebunden. Das internationale Team aus rund 110 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern forscht im HIU an der Weiterentwicklung der Grundlagen von zukunftsfähigen Energiespeichern für den stationären und mobilen Einsatz.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

mf, dm, 16.03.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Daniel Messling
HIU Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon: +49 731 50 34013
E-Mail: daniel messlingIqe9∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseUew4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.