Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 026/2015

Haptophytes as a Model of Cell-free Biomineralization

Microalga Emiliania huxleyi Forms Microscopically Small Calcite Disks. Understanding of this Biological Process Might Be Used for Innovative Industrial Products
2015_026_Kalkalgen_als_Vorbild_fuer_zellfreie_Biomineralisation_72dpi
Electron microscopies reveal the extraordinary three-dimensional structure of the calcite particles formed by microalga Emiliania huxleyi. (Photo: Frank Friedrich, KIT)

Biogenic calcite produced by microalgae differs from fossil calcite mainly by its extraordinary three-dimensional structure. This unique highly complex shape of the calcite disks, called coccoliths, results from controlled crystal growth in the center of the alga. Scientists of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) study the fundamentals of this biomineralization. Potential fields of application of biogenic calcite particles are novel products in optics, paints, and surface coatings.

 

The scanning electron microscope reveals the filigree three-dimensional calcium and bicarbonate structures formed by the alga Emiliania huxleyi. Ioanna Hariskos, doctoral student of the KIT Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences, Bioprocess Engineering Division, compares the extraordinary structure of the calcite disks with flat, fine sink strainers that are connected by a central tunnel. “These complicated irregular structures of coccoliths can only be produced by nature. They can be obtained neither by grinding limestone nor by the precipitation of lime milk.” Hariskos says. At KIT, the bioengineer is involved in the interdisciplinary cooperation project “Cell-free biomineralization with calcium carbonate being used as an example: A way towards in-vitro synthesis of highly structured composite materials (ZeBiCa²)”. The project is aimed at reproducing coccolith formation by bioengineering methods using calcareous algae as a model, but without organisms. The project focuses on potential industrial applications: The microstructure of the surface and special chemical and physical properties of the calcite particles have a considerable potential for use in innovative products. “Chemical composition of coccoliths may probably be influenced, which might be used to specifically adjust the resulting mechanical properties,” the scientist points out. It might be feasible to use calcite particles as novel coloring agents. Coccoliths might provide paper with special color or glazing properties or used in abrasive paper. According to Hariskos, birefringence of calcite – the property of splitting light into two beams – might be applied in optics. “When we will understand the fundamentals of the bioprocess forming the coccoliths, we may succeed in producing further materials, structures, and properties,” the bioengineer explains.

 

Together with a small team of students, Hariskos developed a cultivation method to produce large amounts of coccoliths. She grows Emiliania huxleyi, a monocellular phytoplankton, in the bioreactor with modified artificial seawater. In nature, 1000 up to a maximum of 100,000 cells of the microscopically small calcite former are found in 1 ml seawater. “At the laboratory, we succeeded in cultivating 50 to 100 million cells per milliliter, which is a sensationally high yield,” Hariskos says. “We offer the algae a much better environment than the sea,” the bioengineer emphasizes. Apart from controlled nutrient supply, light plays an important role. “In the bioreactor, the algae performing photosynthesis are provided with light for 24 hours a day and light intensity can be adapted to the respective culture density,” Hariskos says. A KIT-developed enclosure of light-emitting diodes is applied.

 

For research under the ZeBiCa² project scheduled until 2016, the KIT Institute of Process Engineering in Life Sciences is granted a total of EUR 410,000 by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) for a duration of three years. Other partners involved in the ZeBiCa² project are the KIT Institute of Functional Interfaces, the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Centre for Polar and Marine Research, the Center for Biotechnology of Bielefeld University, and the Institute for System Dynamics of the University of Stuttgart. The industry partner is the company Schaefer Kalk located in Diez.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

afr, 09.03.2015

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneDoh2∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseLxe9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 026/2015

Kalkalgen als Vorbild für zellfreie Biomineralisation

Die Mikroalge Emiliania huxleyi bildet mikroskopisch kleine Kalkplättchen. Das Verständnis dieses biologischen Prozesses könnte für innovative industrielle Produkte genutzt werden.
Elektronenmikroskopische Aufnahmen zeigen die außergewöhnliche dreidimensionale Struktur der von der Mikroalge Emiliania huxleyi gebildeten Kalkpartikel. (Foto: Frank Friedrich, KIT)
Elektronenmikroskopische Aufnahmen zeigen die außergewöhnliche dreidimensionale Struktur der von der Mikroalge Emiliania huxleyi gebildeten Kalkpartikel. (Foto: Frank Friedrich, KIT)

Von Mikroalgen produzierter, biogener Calcit unterscheidet sich von fossilem Kalk vor allem durch seine außergewöhnliche dreidimensionale Struktur. Die einzigartige hochkomplexe Form dieser Coccolithen genannten Kalkplättchen entsteht durch kontrolliertes Kristallwachstum im Zentrum der Alge. Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) untersuchen die Grundlagen dieser Biomineralisation. Mögliche Anwendungsfelder für biogene Calcitpartikel sind neuartige Produkte in der Optik, für Farbanstriche und Oberflächenbeschichtungen.

 

Das Rasterelektronenmikroskop macht die filigranen dreidimensionalen Gebilde sichtbar, die die Alge Emiliania huxleyi aus Calcium und Bicarbonat bildet. Ioanna Hariskos, Doktorandin am KIT-Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik, Bereich Bioverfahrenstechnik, vergleicht die außergewöhnliche Struktur der Calcitscheibchen mit flachen, feinen Waschbecken-Sieben, die durch einen mittleren Tunnel verbunden sind. „Diese komplizierte unregelmäßige Struktur der Coccolithen kann bislang nur die Natur produzieren, sie lässt sich weder durch das Mahlen von Kalkstein noch durch das Ausfällen von Kalkmilch erreichen“, sagt Hariskos. Die Biotechnologin forscht am KIT im Zuge des interdisziplinären Kooperationsprojekts „Zellfreie Biomineralisation am Beispiel von Calciumcarbonat: Ein Weg zur in-vitro Synthese von hochstrukturierten Komposit-Materialien (ZeBiCa²)“. Ziel ist es, die Coccolithenbildung bioverfahrenstechnisch nach dem Vorbild der Kalkalgen, aber ohne Lebewesen nachzubilden. Im Fokus stehen insbesondere mögliche industrielle Anwendungen: Die Mikrostruktur der Oberfläche sowie besondere chemische und physikalische Eigenschaften der Kalkpartikel bergen Potenzial für die Verwendung in innovativen Produkten. „Die chemische Komposition der Coccolithen ist vermutlich beinflussbar, was sich gezielt für die resultierenden mechanischen Eigenschaften nutzen ließe“, so die Wissenschaftlerin. Denkbar sei, die Kalkpartikel als neuartige Farbträger zu verwenden. Coccolithen könnten Papier besondere Farb- und Glanzeigenschaften verleihen oder in Schleifpapieren zum Einsatz kommen. Die Doppelbrechung von Calcit – die Eigenschaft Licht in zwei Strahlenbündel aufzuspalten – lasse auch an eine Anwendung in der Optik denken, so Hariskos. „Wenn wir die Grundlagen des Bioprozesses verstehen, durch den Coccolithen gebildet werden, kann es uns gelingen, weitere Materialien, Strukturen und Eigenschaften herzustellen“, erklärt die Biotechnologin.

 

Hariskos hat mit einem kleinen Team von Studierenden ein Kultivierungsverfahren entwickelt, mit dem sich Coccolithen in großer Menge herstellen lassen. Sie züchtet die Kalkalge Emiliania huxleyi, ein einzelliges Phytoplankton, im Bioreaktor mit modifiziertem künstlichem Meerwasser. In der Natur finden sich 1.000 bis maximal 100.000 Zellen der mikroskopisch kleinen Kalkbildner pro Milliliter Meerwasser. „Im Labor ist es uns gelungen, 50 bis 100 Millionen Zellen pro Milliliter zu züchten, das ist eine sensationell hohe Ausbeute“, sagt Hariskos. „Wir können den Algen eine bessere Umgebung anbieten als das Meer“, erklärt die Biotechnologin. Neben der kontrollierten Nährstoffzufuhr spielt Licht eine wesentliche Rolle. „Im Bioreaktor können wir den Photosynthese betreibenden Algen 24 Stunden Licht anbieten und die Lichtintensität der jeweiligen Kulturdichte anpassen“, so Hariskos. Dabei kommt auch eine am KIT entwickelte Leuchtdioden-Ummantelung zum Einsatz.

 

Für seine Forschung in dem bis 2016 laufende Projekt ZeBiCa² wird das Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik des KIT vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) mit insgesamt 410.000 Euro über drei Jahre gefördert. Neben dem Institut für Bio- und Lebensmitteltechnik sind an dem Verbundprojekt ZeBiCa² das Institut für funktionale Grenzflächen des KIT sowie das Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung, das Centrum für Biotechnologie der Universität Bielefeld und das Institut für Systemdynamik der Universität Stuttgart beteiligt. Industriepartner ist das Unternehmen Schaefer Kalk im rheinland-pfälzischen Diez.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

afr, 09.03.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneVuk8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseDqa5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.