Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 023/2015

Towards Dust-free Wood Combustion

Particle Emissions of Wood Combustion Systems Reduced by 90% - KIT Researchers Present Innovative Carola precipitator at the ISH 2015 Trade Fair
2015_023_Auf_dem_Weg_zur_feinstaubfreien_Holzverbrennung_72dpi
The Carola®-precipitator (light green) is installed into the flue gas passage reduces the concentration of soot and fine dust by up to 90%. (Bild: KIT/P. Langer)

About 15 million wood-fired stoves and combustion systems exist in Germany, including central-heating boilers for apartment houses. They are subject to strict clean air regulations. New wood-fired boilers exceeding emission limits for particles have to be equipped with precipitators since the beginning of 2015. Next week, KIT scientists will present the Carola®-precipitator for boilers at the ISH trade fair, Frankfurt.

 

“All wood-fired boilers can be equipped with our compact, low-maintenance precipitator,” Dr. Hanns-Rudolf Paur, one of the inventors and scientist of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), says. The Carola®-precipitator is installed into the flue gas passage between the boiler and the stack and reduces the concentration of soot and fine dust by up to 90%. If necessary, several systems can be connected in parallel or in series. The CCA system was developed to maturity for boiler systems of 25 to 1000 kW in cooperation with boiler manufacturers.

 

The functioning principle of the patented Carola®-precipitator is rather simple: The precipitator consists of two chambers. In the ionization chamber the particles of the flue gas are electrically charged by corona discharge. A natural corona discharge can be observed on e.g. masts of ships during thunderstorms. In the downstream collector chamber of the CCA system the charged soot and dust particles are deposited on a helical brush. It rotates regularly over a scraper and the collected particles fall into the collection vessel. “The only maintenance work to be done by the user is to empty the vessel every few months,” Paur explains.

 

“The advantages of our precipitator over other principles are obvious,” Dr. Hans P. Rheinheimer, Managing Director of CCA GmbH, a startup of KIT, says. The system is nearly maintenance-free, can be integrated into the boiler, and consumes less energy than a bulb. Contrary to HEPA filters, it is not necessary to exchange wear parts and the cross section of the stack is hardly reduced. With a separation efficiency of up to 90%, modern boilers can comply with the limits given by the Federal Emission Control Ordinance (1. BImSchV) for 2015.

 

KIT’s startup company CCA-Carola Clean Air GmbH is based on the know-how on precipitator systems for wood fired boilers. For the innovative process, the inventors were granted several awards, such as the Innovation Award of the Karlsruhe Chamber of Industry and Commerce and the Environmental Award of the Sparkasse Pforzheim Calw. Under a cooperation project with the boiler manufacturer HDG Bavaria, the precipitator was tested successfully.

 

KIT will present (stand 9.1 F OY02) the Carola®-precipitator at the world’s biggest trade fair for energy-efficient heating technology and renewable energies, ISH 2015, Frankfurt, from March 10 to 14, 2015.

 

Homepage of the KIT startup CCA GmbH: http://www.carola-clean-air.com

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 03.03.2015

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneNpl7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseXxs5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 023/2015

Auf dem Weg zur feinstaubfreien Holzverbrennung

Partikelemissionen aus Holzfeuerungsanlagen um 90 Prozent senken / KIT-Forscher präsentieren innovativen Partikelabscheider CCA auf der Fachmesse ISH 2015
Der CCA-Abscheider (hellgrün) entfernt effektiv Feinstaub aus dem Rauchgas von holzbefeuerten Kesselanlagen. (Bild: KIT/M. Breig)
Der CCA-Abscheider (hellgrün) entfernt effektiv Feinstaub aus dem Rauchgas von holzbefeuerten Kesselanlagen. (Bild: KIT/P. Langer)

Rund 15 Millionen Öfen und Feuerungsanlagen für Holz gibt es in Deutschland – vom Heizkessel für Mehrfamilienhäuser bis hin zum Bollerofen für Scheitholz. Sie alle unterliegen strengen Verordnungen zur Luftreinhaltung. Insbesondere neue holzgefeuerte Heizkessel müssen daher seit 2015 mit Partikelabscheidern ausgerüstet werden. Forscher des KIT stellen in der nächsten Woche auf der Fachmesse ISH in Frankfurt das anwendungsbereite CCA-Verfahren vor, das für Kesselanlagen verschiedenster Leistungsklassen geeignet ist. 

 

„Mit unserem kompakten, wartungsarmen Abscheider lassen sich alle holzgefeuerten Kessel nachrüsten“, sagt Dr. Hanns-Rudolf Paur, einer der Erfinder und Wissenschaftler am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Der Carola Clean Air (CCA) Abscheider wird zwischen Heizkessel und Kamin in den Rauchgasweg eingebaut und vermindert die Konzentration von Ruß und Feinstaub um bis zu 90 Prozent. Bei Bedarf lassen sich sogar mehrere Anlagen parallel bzw. hintereinanderschalten. Das Verfahren wurde für Kesselanlagen von 25 bis zu 1000 kW in Kooperation mit Kesselherstellern zur Serienreife entwickelt.

 

Das Funktionsprinzip des patentierten CCA-Abscheiders ist sehr einfach: Der Abscheider besteht im Prinzip aus zwei Kammern. In der Ionisationskammer werden die Partikel des Rauchgases mittels einer Corona-Entladung elektrisch aufgeladen. Eine natürliche Corona-Entladung beobachtet man etwa an Schiffsmasten bei Gewittern. In der nachgeschalteten Kollektorkammer lagern sich die geladenen Ruß- und Staubpartikel auf einer wendelförmigen Bürste ab. Diese dreht sich regelmäßig über eine Abstreifkante und die angesammelten Partikel fallen in den Auffangbehälter. „Alle paar Monate den Behälter zu leeren, ist die einzige Wartungsarbeit für den Nutzer“, erklärt Paur.

 

„Die Vorteile unseres Abscheide-Systems gegenüber anderen Wirkprinzipien liegen auf der Hand“, stellt Dr. Hans P. Rheinheimer fest, Geschäftsführer der CCA GmbH, einer Ausgründung des KIT. Das System ist nahezu wartungsfrei, kann sogar in den Kessel integriert werden und es verbraucht im Betrieb weniger Energie als eine Glühbirne. Anders als bei Schwebstofffiltern müssen keine Verschleißteile ausgetauscht werden und der Abluftzug im Kamin wird kaum reduziert. Mit der Abscheideeffizienz von bis zu 90 Prozent können moderne Heizkessel die Grenzwerte der zweiten Stufe der Bundesimmissionsschutzverordnung (1. BImSchV) ab dem Jahr 2015 einhalten.

 

Das KIT hat sein Know-how zu Abscheidesystemen für holzgefeuerte Kessel in das Start-up-Unternehmen Carola Clean Air GmbH ausgegründet. Für das innovative Verfahren haben die Erfinder schon Preise eingeheimst, etwa den Innovationspreis der IHK Karlsruhe und den Umweltpreis der Sparkasse Pforzheim Calw. In einem vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerium geförderten Verbundprojekt wurde gemeinsam mit dem Kesselhersteller HDG Bavaria der Carola-Abscheider erfolgreich getestet.

 

Der CCA-Partikelabscheider wird vom 10. bis 14. März 2015 auf der weltgrößten Industriemesse für energieeffiziente Heizungstechnik und erneuerbare Energien ISH 2015 in Frankfurt auf dem Stand des KIT (Messestand 9.1 F OY02) präsentiert.

 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 03.03.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneNsl0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseWtr2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.