Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 020/2015

KIT Establishes Competence Center for Decommissioning

Pooled Expertise for Safe Decommissioning of Nuclear Facilities within the Energiewende: Innovative Technologies – Radiation Protection – Technology Assessment
2015_020_KIT_richtet_Kompetenzzentrum_Rueckbau_ein_72dpi
The MAFRO system autonomously measures radioactive contamination of surfaces, decontaminates, and measures again for the release of the surface. (Photo: Patrick Kern, KIT)

Safe decommissioning of nuclear facilities is one element of the transformation of the energy system in Germany, the so-called Energiewende. It represents a big challenge for science, technology, and industry. Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) therefore establishes a Competence Center for Decommissioning in order to secure the existing specialized know-how relating to the decommissioning of nuclear facilities and to deepen this knowledge in an application-specific manner. Apart from innovative dismantling technologies, radiological characterization of contaminated plant components, decontamination, radiation protection, management of complex processes, and interdisciplinary technology assessment are among the central activities.

 

Not only in Germany, also on the European level and worldwide, a big demand for competences relating to the safe decommissioning of nuclear facilities is to be expected in the future. This will also include the safe disposal of the radioactive wastes produced. According to the European Commission, about one third of the presently operating 145 nuclear power plants will be shut down by 2025. Hence, it is not only important to enhance existing know-how, but also to train young scientists and engineers for executing this work in the medium and long term. The KIT Competence Center for Decommissioning is part of the Nuclear Waste Management, Safety and Radiation Research Helmholtz Programme (NUSAFE). Twelve division heads of KIT and their teams are involved in the Center.

 

Decommissioning of nuclear facilities covers various aspects, for which vast competences exist at KIT. The expertise covers dismantling strategies according to the legal framework conditions, dismantling technologies, decommissioning management, decontamination and conditioning technologies, protection of the staff, population, and the environment against radiation exposure, analysis of political and societal conditions, as well as strategies for the appropriate participation and information of the public.

 

“The KIT Competence Center for Decommissioning can rely on comprehensive expertise and a highly performing infrastructure,” Dr. Walter Tromm, spokesperson of the KIT NUSAFE Programme and of the topic of nuclear energy and safety within the KIT Energy Center, says. “Hence, it offers ideal conditions for a sustainable qualification and training of young engineers.” Professor Sascha Gentes, holder of the Chair for Decommissioning of Conventional and Nuclear Facilities (TMRK) of the KIT Institute for Technology and Management in Construction (TMB) will set up the new Competence Center: “Decommissioning methods have to be specially adapted to each project and optimized,” Gentes explains. “The Competence Center is planned to scientifically and technically process and supply standardized solutions and methods.”

 

An optimal decontamination strategy requires detailed knowledge of the type of radionuclides, their distribution in components, and their chemical binding state. Hence, examination and comprehensive characterization of real radioactive samples are indispensable. The KIT Institute for Nuclear Waste Disposal (INE) is equipped with appropriate facilities.

 

The research portfolio of the Competence Center for Decommissioning will be extended and complemented in a stepwise manner in order to allow for a holistic research approach. Apart from technical and engineering aspects, natural sciences as well as sociopolitical, legal, medical, and ecological issues will be considered. As early as in 2008, the professorship for decommissioning of conventional and nuclear facilities was established at KIT, which is the only one of this type in Germany. In this way, interested students are given the opportunity to attend lectures and seminars and to qualify in this area. A complete lecture module on “Decommissioning of Nuclear Facilities” is offered. In addition, the AREVA Nuclear Professional School of KIT offers a training program on decommissioning. The Competence Center will also cooperate with other universities, research institutions, and industry partners.

 

Within a radius of about 60 km around the KIT, all nuclear power plants in Baden-Württemberg are located, namely, Philippsburg 1 and 2, Neckarwestheim 1 and 2, and Obrigheim. Of these, only Philippsburg 2 and Neckarwestheim 2 are still in operation.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, lg, 25.02.2015
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseJum2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 020/2015

KIT richtet Kompetenzzentrum Rückbau ein

Gebündelte Expertise zum sicheren Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen für die Energiewende: Innovative Technologien – Strahlenschutz – Technikfolgenabschätzung
Das System MAFRO misst selbstständig die radioaktive Belastung von Oberflächen, dekontaminiert und misst erneut für die Freigabe der Oberfläche. (Foto: Patrick Kern, KIT)
Das System MAFRO misst selbstständig die radioaktive Belastung von Oberflächen, dekontaminiert und misst erneut für die Freigabe der Oberfläche. (Foto: Patrick Kern, KIT)

Der sichere Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen ist ein Baustein für die Energiewende in Deutschland - dies stellt große Herausforderungen an Wissenschaft, Technik und Industrie. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) gründet daher ein Kompetenzzentrum Rückbau, um das vorhandene einzigartige Know-how zum Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen zu sichern und praxisbezogen zu vertiefen. Neben innovativen Rückbautechnologien gehören die radiologische Charakterisierung kontaminierter Anlagenteile, die Dekontamination, der Strahlenschutz, das Management komplexer Prozesse und die interdisziplinäre Technikfolgenabschätzung zu den zentralen Themen.

 

Nicht nur in Deutschland, auch europa- und weltweit ist künftig eine große Nachfrage nach Kompetenzen zum sicheren Rückbau zu erwarten, auch mit Blick auf eine sichere Entsorgung der dabei anfallenden radioaktiven Abfälle. Die Europäische Kommission geht davon aus, dass bis 2025 etwa ein Drittel der 145 derzeit aktiven Kernkraftwerke stillgelegt sein wird. Daher gilt es nicht nur, vorhandenes Know-how auszubauen, sondern mittel- und langfristig junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Ingenieure für dieses Arbeitsfeld auszubilden. Das Kompetenzzentrum Rückbau des KIT ist Teil des Helmholtz-Programms Nukleare Entsorgung und Sicherheit sowie Strahlenforschung (NUSAFE). Ihm gehören zwölf Abteilungsleiter am KIT mit ihren Teams an

 

Der Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen umfasst viele Aspekte, zu denen am KIT hohe Kompetenzen vorhanden sind. Dazu gehören Rückbaustrategien gemäß den gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen, Rückbautechnologien, Rückbaumanagement, Dekontaminations- und Konditionierungstechnologien, Schutz der Beschäftigten, der Bevölkerung und der Natur vor Strahlenexposition, Analyse der politischen und gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen sowie Strategien zur angemessenen Beteiligung und Information der Öffentlichkeit.

 

„Das Kompetenzzentrum Rückbau des KIT kann auf eine umfangreiche Expertise und eine leistungsstarke Infrastruktur zurückgreifen“, sagt Dr. Walter Tromm, Programmsprecher NUSAFE des KIT und Topicsprecher Kernenergie und Sicherheit des KIT-Zentrums Energie. „Damit bietet es auch ideale Voraussetzungen für die nachhaltige Ausbildung des Ingenieurnachwuchses.“ Professor Sascha Gentes, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für den Rückbau konventioneller und kerntechnischer Bauwerke (TMRK) am Institut für Technologie und Management im Baubetrieb (TMB) des KIT wird das neue Kompetenzzentrum aufbauen: „Bei jedem Projekt müssen die aktuellen Rückbaumethoden speziell angepasst und optimiert werden“, erklärt Gentes. „Mit dem Kompetenzzentrum wollen wir standardisierte Lösungen und Verfahren wissenschaftlich und technisch gezielt aufbereiten und bereitstellen.“

 

Eine optimale Dekontaminationsstrategie setzt die detaillierte Kenntnis der Art der Radionuklide, ihrer Verteilung in Komponenten sowie ihres chemischen Bindungszustands voraus. Daher ist auch die Untersuchung und umfassende Charakterisierung realer radioaktiver Proben unumgänglich; über eine spezielle Infrastruktur verfügt das KIT mit dem Institut für Nukleare Entsorgung (INE).

 

Das Forschungsportfolio des Kompetenzzentrums Rückbau wird schrittweise erweitert und ergänzt, um eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung zu ermöglichen. Dazu werden neben den technisch-ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Themen auch naturwissenschaftliche, gesellschaftspolitische, rechtliche, medizinische und ökologische Fragen einbezogen. Bereits im Jahre 2008 wurde am KIT die Professur Rückbau konventioneller und kerntechnischer Bauwerke eingerichtet, die es in dieser Form in Deutschland nur am KIT gibt. Diese ermöglicht interessierten Studierenden speziell in diesem Fachgebiet Vorlesungen und Lehrangebote zu besuchen und sich ausbilden zu lassen; es wird ein komplettes Vorlesungsmodul "Rückbau kerntechnischer Anlagen" angeboten. Auch die am KIT angebundene AREVA Nuclear Professional School bietet ein Weiterbildungsprogramm zum Thema Rückbau an. Das Kompetenzzentrum wird aber auch mit anderen Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Partnern aus der Industrie zusammenarbeiten.

 

Im Umkreis von rund 60 Kilometern um das KIT befinden sich alle baden-württembergischen Kernkraftwerke – Philippsburg 1 und 2, Neckarwestheim 1 und 2, Obrigheim –, von denen nur noch Philippsburg 2 und Neckarwestheim 2 am Netz sind.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, lg, 25.02.2015
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseMnl2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.