Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 001/2015

How Cells Communicate

Research of the European Zebrafish Resource Center of KIT Provides Insight into the Development of the Central Nervous System of Vertebrates – Publication in Nature Communications
Steuerung der Zelldifferenzierung: Lange, blau markierte Zellfortsätze tragen an ihrer Spitze den rot eingefärbten Botenstoff Wnt. Kontaktstellen färben sich gelb. (Aufnahme: Eliana Stanganello und Steffen Scholpp)
Cell differentiation in the nervous system: Blue-colored cytoplasmic projections, called filopodia, carry the red-colored signaling protein Wnt. As soon as cells are activated, the contact points are colored yellow. (Photos: E. Stanganello/ S. Scholpp)

During embryonal development of vertebrates, signaling molecules inform each cell at which position it is located. In this way, the cell can develop its special structure and function. For the first time now, researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) have shown that these signaling molecules are transmitted in bundles via long filamentary cell projections. Studies of zebrafish of the scientists of the European Zebrafish Resource Center (EZRC) of KIT revealed how the transport of the signaling molecules influences signaling properties. A publication in the Nature Communications journal presents the results.

 

Organisms, organs, and tissues are complex three-dimensional systems that consist of thousands of cells of various types. During embryonal development of vertebrates, each cell requires information on the position at which it is located in the tissue. This position information enables the cell to develop a certain cell type for later execution of the correct function. This information is transmitted via signal molecules, so-called morphogenes. These morphogenes are not homogenously distributed in the tissue, their concentration varies. Various concentrations activate various genes in the target cell.

 

The cells in the developing central nervous system receive their position information from signal molecules belonging to the family of Wnt proteins. The concentration of Wnt proteins determines whether a cell differentiates to a cell of the forebrain or of the afterbrain. “Distribution of these signal molecules has to be controlled precisely,” Dr. Steffen Scholpp, head of a research group of the KIT Institute of Toxicology and Genetics (ITG), explains. “Smallest changes of the concentration or the transport direction may cause severe damage, such as massive malformations during embryonal development or formation of cancer.”

 

For the first time now, the working group of Dr. Steffen Scholpp has shown that the Wnt proteins are transmitted specifically via long cell projections, so-called filopodia. In the Nature Communications journal, the scientists report that the signaling factors are loaded on the tips of the filopodia only. In this way, signaling can start immediately upon contacting. The signaling factors bind to the corresponding receptors of the target cell and induce the correct cell response. “Now, the source cell can decide precisely which target cell receives how much signaling protein at which time,” Scholpp explains. The KIT researchers study zebrafish and human cell lines and succeeded in reproducing or reducing the filopodia and analyzing the resulting changes of signaling properties of the Wnt morphogenes.

 

Eliana Stanganello, Anja I.H. Hagemann, Benjamin Mattes, Claude Sinner, Dana Meyen, Sabrina Weber, Alexander Schug, Erez Raz & Steffen Scholpp: Filopodia-based Wnt transport during vertebrate tissue patterning. Nature Communications, published 5 January 2015. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms6846

 

About the EZRC
The European Zebrafish Resource Center (EZRC) of KIT accommodates a central archive for the cultivation and distribution of zebrafish stems for research. Zebrafishes are ideal model organisms for studying the causes of cancer or cardiac diseases or the effects of medical substances. Most organ systems of these vertebrates correspond to the organ systems of human beings. Moreover, zebrafish eggs are transparent and develop outside of the mother’s body. In this way, the development of organs or even of individual cells can be observed in the embryo or the also transparent larva. The EZRC also is a screening center that offers innovative technologies, such as high-throughput synthesis of medical substances, genome sequencing, robotics and software for sample handling, microscopy, and image analysis.

 


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

or, 07.01.2015

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseTps6∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 001/2015

Wie Zellen miteinander sprechen

Forschung am Europäischen Zebrafisch-Ressourcenzentrum des KIT ermöglicht Einblicke in die Entwicklung des Zentralnervensystems bei Wirbeltieren – Publikation in Nature Communications
Steuerung der Zelldifferenzierung: Lange, blau markierte Zellfortsätze tragen an ihrer Spitze den rot eingefärbten Botenstoff Wnt. Kontaktstellen färben sich gelb. (Aufnahme: Eliana Stanganello und Steffen Scholpp)
Steuerung der Zelldifferenzierung: Lange, blau markierte Zellfortsätze tragen an ihrer Spitze den rot eingefärbten Botenstoff Wnt. Kontaktstellen färben sich gelb. (Aufnahme: Eliana Stanganello und Steffen Scholpp)

Bei der Embryonalentwicklung von Wirbeltieren signalisieren Botenstoffe jeder einzelnen Zelle, an welcher Position sie sich befindet. So kann die Zelle ihre spezielle Struktur und Funktion ausbilden. Forscher am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) haben nun erstmals gezeigt, dass die Botenstoffe über lange fadenförmige Zellfortsätze gebündelt weitergegeben werden. In Untersuchungen an Zebrafischen fanden die Wissenschaftler am Europäischen Zebrafisch-Ressourcenzentrum (EZRC) des KIT heraus, wie sich der Transport der Botenstoffe auf die Signaleigenschaften auswirkt. Eine Publikation in der Zeitschrift Nature Communications stellt die Ergebnisse vor.

 

Organismen, Organe und Gewebe sind komplexe dreidimensionale Systeme, die aus Tausenden von Zellen verschiedener Zelltypen bestehen. Bei der embryonalen Entwicklung von Wirbeltieren benötigt jede einzelne Zelle die Information, an welcher Position im Gewebe sie sich befindet. Diese Positionsinformation ermöglicht es der Zelle, sich zu einem bestimmten Zelltyp auszubilden, um dann die korrekte Funktion auszuüben. Vermittelt wird sie über Signalmoleküle, sogenannte Morphogene. Diese kommen im Gewebe nicht gleichmäßig verteilt vor; ihre Konzentration variiert. Verschiedene Konzentrationen aktivieren unterschiedliche Gene in der Zielzelle.

 

Die Zellen im sich entwickelnden Zentralnervensystem erhalten ihre Positionsinformation über Signalmoleküle, die zur Familie der Wnt-Proteine gehören. Dabei bestimmt die Konzentration der Wnt-Proteine, ob sich eine Zelle in eine Zelle des Vorderhirns oder des Rückenmarks differenziert. „Die Verbreitung dieser Signalmoleküle muss genau kontrolliert werden“, erklärt Dr. Steffen Scholpp, Gruppenleiter am Institut für Toxikologie und Genetik (ITG) des KIT. „Kleinste Veränderungen der Konzentration oder der Transportrichtung können zu schweren Schäden führen, beispielsweise zu massiven Fehlbildungen in der Embryonalentwicklung oder zur Entstehung von Krebs.“

 

Die Arbeitsgruppe um Dr. Steffen Scholpp hat nun zum ersten Mal gezeigt, dass die Wnt-Proteine über lange Zellfortsätze, sogenannte Filopodien, zielgerichtet weitergegeben werden. Wie die Wissenschaftler im Magazin Nature Communications berichten, werden die Signalfaktoren nur auf der Spitze der Filopodien geladen. So können sie nach Kontaktaufnahme sofort signalisieren: Sie binden an die entsprechenden Rezeptoren der Zielzelle und induzieren die korrekte Zellantwort. „Somit kann die Quellzelle genau entscheiden, wie viel Signalstoff welche Zielzelle zu welchem Zeitpunkt bekommt“, erläutert Scholpp. In Untersuchungen an Zebrafischen und an humanen Zelllinien gelang es den KIT-Forschern, die Zellfortsätze zu vermehren oder zu reduzieren und die dadurch veränderten Signaleigenschaften der Wnt-Morphogene zu analysieren.

 

Eliana Stanganello, Anja I.H. Hagemann, Benjamin Mattes, Claude Sinner, Dana Meyen, Sabrina Weber, Alexander Schug, Erez Raz & Steffen Scholpp: Filopodia-based Wnt transport during vertebrate tissue patterning. Nature Communications, Published 5 January 2015. DOI: 10.1038/ncomms6846

 

Über das EZRC
Das Europäische Zebrafisch-Ressourcenzentrum (EZRC) des KIT bietet ein zentrales Archiv zur Haltung und Verteilung von Zebrafischstämmen für die Forschung. Zebrafische sind ideale Modellorganismen, um beispielsweise die Ursachen von Krebs oder Herzerkrankungen oder die Wirkung von Medikamenten zu untersuchen: Als Wirbeltiere haben sie die meisten Organsysteme mit dem Menschen gemeinsam. Die Eier der Zebrafische sind zudem transparent und entwickeln sich außerhalb des Körpers der Mutter: So lässt sich am Embryo oder an der ebenfalls durchsichtigen Larve die Entwicklung von Organen oder sogar von einzelnen Zellen beobachten. Das EZRC stellt als Zebrafisch-Screening-Zentrum überdies innovative Technologien wie die Hochdurchsatz-Synthese von möglichen Arzneimittelwirkstoffen, Genomsequenzierung, Robotik sowie Software für Probenhandling, Mikroskopie und Bildanalyse bereit.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 07.01.2015

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIee1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.