Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 164/2014

Researchers Study Change in the Dead Sea Valley

HEADS Measurement Campaign Supplies Evaporation Data – Part of the DESERVE Helmholtz Virtual Institute – Winter School for Young Scientists
2014_164_Forscher_untersuchen_Wandel_im_Tal_des_Toten_Meeres_72dpi(1)
The world’s lowest meteorological measurement station: A measurement tower of six meters in height is located directly on the Dead Sea. The instruments measure radiation, evaporation, and heat. (Photo: Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier)

Water evaporation in the Dead Sea valley contributes significantly to sea level drop and varies as a function of the season and meteorological conditions. Within the framework of the HEADS measurement campaign, researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) study evaporation, the vapor layer, and local wind systems. The measurements are embedded in the Helmholtz Virtual Institute “DESERVE – Dead Sea Research Venue” in which scientists from Germany, Jordan, Israel, and Palestine cooperate.

 

The Dead Sea is a closed system that is situated 428 meters below the sea level. Its average salt concentration is 28 percent. In this worldwide unique natural area with a salt sea, stone desert, semi-desert, and Mediterranean landscapes, environmental changes take place very rapidly. The findings obtained by climate and environmental researchers in this area can also be transferred to other regions with slower change processes. At the DESERVE Helmholtz Virtual Institute, scientists from Germany, Jordan, Israel, and Palestine cooperate. The activities are coordinated by the KIT. “The relationship among the researchers is characterized by fruitful scientific exchange and mutual respect,” Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier, head of a research group of the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research – Troposphere Research Division (IMK-TRO) and co-initiator of DESERVE, reports. The interdisciplinary project links meteorology with hydrology, geophysics, and earth system sciences and focuses on the three big topics of water availability, climate change, and environmental risks.

 

Within the framework of DESERVE, the KIT scientists presently are conducting the measurement campaign HEADS (Heat and Evaporation at the Dead Sea). To collect data on vapor and evaporation ratios in the summer and winter in the Dead Sea valley, they use the KITcube. This observation system of IMK-TRO measures a “cube”, i.e. a section of the atmosphere with an edge length of about ten kilometers. Various measurement instruments for all relevant meteorological parameters are integrated in the KITcube. A first overview of the data confirms that evaporation considerably contributes to the drop of the water level of the Dead Sea by more than one meter per year. “This is an average value. Evaporation varies as a function of the annual season and meteorological conditions,” Ulrich Corsmeier explains. When the wind is strong enough to have an influence in the valley about 400 meters below the sea level, air humidities may be less than 10 percent, which is hardly encountered anywhere else on earth.

 

Parallel to the sea level, the groundwater levels drop as a result of freshwater flow into the Dead Sea. This does not only endanger the supply of the region with drinking water - more than 4 million people are dependent on the underground water resources. The freshwater flows also dissolve underground salt layers, which produces cavities that eventually collapse. Such sinkholes endanger buildings and lead to the abandonment of agricultural areas. In addition, gigantic flashfloods are a problem. They occur after locally limited strong rainfalls that cause rapid discharge processes.

 

However, total precipitation in the region has been decreasing since several years. With the help of the KITcube measurements and a network of meteorological measurement stations, the IMK-TRO scientists determine evaporation rates above water, desert ground, and the reed zone. Based on all measurement data, the scientists plan to set up a total water balance. For this purpose, the KIT researchers closely cooperate with scientists of the Helmholtz Center for Environmental Research (UFZ), Leipzig.

 

Apart from the water budget, water availability, and geophysical phenomena, such as sinkholes and flashfloods, interaction processes of the atmosphere (air), hydrosphere (water), and lithosphere (ground), and geophysical risks, such as earthquakes, are in the focus of DESERVE. Another important aspect is the education and qualification of young scientists. In late November/early December, DESERVE organized an interdisciplinary winter school of twelve days’ duration at Masada/Israel. 25 students, doctoral candidates, and post-docs from Germany, Jordan, and Israel took part.

 

At Helmholtz virtual institutes, several Helmholtz institutes, together with universities and non-university research institutions, study a topic in interdisciplinary cooperation. Every partner institute contributes its competencies. Apart from the KIT (IMK-TRO), the project partners of DESERVE are the Helmholtz Centre Potsdam – German Research Centre for Geosciences (GFZ), the Helmholtz Center for Environmental Research (UFZ), Leipzig as well as the Jordanian Al Balqa Applied University, the Israeli Hebrew University, Jerusalem, and the University of Tel Aviv as well as the University of Nablus in Palestine. Among the associated institutes from Germany, Jordan, Israel, and Palestine are GRACE, the Graduate School of the KIT Climate and Environment Center. The Helmholtz Association finances the DESERVE project that started in 2012 with a total of up to EUR 3 million from the Initiative and Networking Fund for a duration of five years. Own funds provided by the partners total about EUR 1.5 million.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 22.12.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseRzk5∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneWzm2∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseDln9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseLxn8∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 164/2014

Forscher untersuchen Wandel im Tal des Toten Meeres

Messkampagne HEADS liefert Daten zur Verdunstung – Teil des Helmholtz Virtuellen Instituts DESERVE – Winter School für junge Wissenschaftler
Die tiefstgelegene meteorologische Messstation der Erde: Direkt am Toten Meer steht ein sechs Meter hoher Messmast. Die Instrumente messen Strahlung, Verdunstung und Wärme. (Foto: Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier)
Die tiefstgelegene meteorologische Messstation der Erde: Direkt am Toten Meer steht ein sechs Meter hoher Messmast. Die Instrumente messen Strahlung, Verdunstung und Wärme. (Foto: Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier)

Die Wasserverdunstung im Tal des Toten Meeres, die wesentlich zum Sinken des Seespiegels beiträgt, variiert je nach Jahreszeit und meteorologischen Bedingungen. In der Messkampagne HEADS untersuchen Forscher des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) zurzeit Verdunstung, Dunstschicht und lokale Windsysteme. Die Messungen sind eingebettet in das Helmholtz Virtuelle Institut „DESERVE – Dead Sea Research Venue“, in dem Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland, Jordanien, Israel und Palästina zusammenarbeiten.

 

Das Tote Meer ist ein abflussloser See, der 428 Meter unter dem Meeresspiegel liegt und einen Salzgehalt von durchschnittlich 28 Prozent aufweist. In dem weltweit einzigartigen Natur- und Kulturraum mit Salzsee, Steinwüste, Halbwüste und mediterranen Landschaften vollziehen sich Umweltveränderungen besonders schnell. Die Region fasziniert Klima- und Umweltforscher, denn die Erkenntnisse, die sie dort gewinnen, lassen sich auch auf andere Regionen übertragen, in denen der Wandel langsamer abläuft. In dem Helmholtz Virtuellen Institut DESERVE arbeiten Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland, Jordanien, Israel und Palästina unter Federführung des KIT zusammen. „Das Verhältnis zwischen den Forschern zeichnet sich durch einen fruchtbaren wissenschaftlichen Austausch und gegenseitigen Respekt aus“, berichtet Dr. Ulrich Corsmeier, Gruppenleiter am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Forschungsbereich Troposphäre (IMK-TRO) und Mitinitiator von DESERVE. Das interdisziplinäre Projekt verbindet Meteorologie, Hydrologie, Geophysik und Erdsystemwissenschaften und befasst sich mit drei großen Themen: Wasserverfügbarkeit, Klimawandel und Umweltrisiken.

 

Derzeit führen Wissenschaftler des KIT im Rahmen von DESERVE die Messkampagne HEADS (Heat and Evaporation at the Dead Sea) durch. Um Daten zu den sommerlichen und winterlichen Dunst- und Verdunstungsverhältnissen im Tal des Toten Meers zu sammeln, nutzen sie den KITcube, ein Beobachtungssystem des IMK-TRO, das einen „Würfel“, also einen Ausschnitt der Atmosphäre mit einer Kantenlänge von rund zehn Kilometern vermessen kann. In den KITcube sind verschiedene Messgeräte für alle relevanten meteorologischen Parameter integriert. Eine erste Übersicht über die Daten bestätigt, dass die Verdunstung wesentlich dazu beiträgt, dass der Wasserspiegel des Toten Meeres um mehr als einen Meter im Jahr sinkt. „Dies ist ein Durchschnittswert; die Verdunstung variiert je nach Jahreszeit und meteorologischen Bedingungen“, erklärt Ulrich Corsmeier. Wenn der Wind stark genug ist, um im Tal rund 400 Meter unter dem Meeresspiegel Einfluss zu nehmen, können Luftfeuchten unter zehn Prozent auftreten, was auf der Erde sonst kaum vorkommt.

 

Mit dem Wasserspiegel des Sees sinken auch die Grundwasserpegel, da Süßwasser ins Tote Meer strömt. Dies gefährdet nicht nur die Versorgung der Region mit Trinkwasser – mehr als vier Millionen Menschen sind auf die unterirdischen Ressourcen angewiesen. Vielmehr löst das strömende Süßwasser auch unterirdische Salzschichten, wodurch Hohlräume entstehen, die schließlich einbrechen. Solche Einsturzlöcher (sinkholes) gefährden Gebäude und führen zur Aufgabe landwirtschaftlicher Flächen. Daneben sind mächtige Flutwellen (flashfloods) ein Problem: Sie treten nach lokal begrenzten starken Regenfällen auf, die zu schnellen Abflussprozessen führen.

 

Insgesamt aber gehen die Niederschläge in der Region seit einigen Jahren zurück. Im Rahmen von Messungen mit dem KITcube sowie einem Netz von meteorologischen Messstationen bestimmen Wissenschaftler des IMK-TRO die Verdunstung über dem Wasser, dem Wüstenboden und einem Schilfgürtel. Ziel ist, zusammen mit Messungen anderer Größen eine Gesamtwasserbilanz aufzustellen. Dabei arbeiten die KIT-Forscher mit Wissenschaftlern des Helmholtz-Zentrums für Umweltforschung (UFZ) in Leipzig zusammen.

 

Neben Wasserhaushalt und Wasserverfügbarkeit sowie geophysikalischen Phänomenen wie Einsturzlöchern und Flutwellen gehören wechselwirkende Prozesse in Atmosphäre (Luft), Hydrosphäre (Wasser) und Lithosphäre (Boden) sowie geophysikalische Risiken wie Erdbeben zu den Themen von DESERVE. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Ausbildung und Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. So hielt DESERVE Ende November/Anfang Dezember eine zwölftägige interdisziplinäre Winter School in Masada/Israel ab, an der 25 Studierende, Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden aus Deutschland, Jordanien und Israel teilnahmen.

 

In Helmholtz Virtuellen Instituten bearbeiten mehrere Helmholtz-Institute zusammen mit Universitäten und außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen ein Themenfeld interdisziplinär, wobei jeder Partner seine Kompetenzen einbringt. Projektpartner in DESERVE sind neben dem KIT (IMK-TRO) das Helmholtz-Zentrum Potsdam Deutsches GeoForschungsZentrum (GFZ) und das Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung (UFZ) in Leipzig sowie die jordanische Al Balqa Applied University, die israelischen Universitäten Hebrew University in Jerusalem und Tel Aviv University sowie die Universität Nablus in Palästina. Dazu kommen weitere assoziierte Institutionen aus Deutschland, Jordanien, Israel und Palästina, darunter GRACE, die Graduiertenschule des KIT-Zentrums Klima und Umwelt. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft fördert das 2012 gestartete Projekt DEVERVE über fünf Jahre mit insgesamt bis zu drei Millionen Euro aus dem Impuls- und Vernetzungsfonds. Dazu kommen rund 1,5 Millionen Euro an Eigenanteilen der Partner.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 100 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 22.12.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneOsq3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseYhg6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.