Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 161/2014

Live Adaptation of Organ Models in the OR

Using a New Computation Method, Young Scientists of KIT Transfer Organ Deformations during Computer-aided Operations to the Underlying Models
2014_161_Organverformungen_im_OP-Saal_live_modellieren_72dpi
The non-deformed liver model (red) adapts to the deformed surface profile (blue). (Graphics: Dr. Stefanie Speidel, KIT, in Medical Physics, 41)

During minimally invasive operations, a surgeon has to trust the information displayed on the screen: A virtual 3D model of the respective organ shows where a tumor is located and where sensitive vessels can be found. Soft tissue, such as the tissue of the liver, however, deforms during breathing or when the scalpel is applied. Endoscopic cameras record in real time how the surface deforms, but do not show the deformation of deeper structures such as tumors. Young scientists of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) have now developed a real-time capable computation method to adapt the virtual organ to the deformed surface profile.

 

The principle appears to be simple: Based on computer tomography image data, the scientists construct a virtual 3D model of the respective organ, including the tumor, prior to operation. During the operation, cameras scan the surface of the organ and generate a stiff profile mask. To this virtual mold, the 3D model then is to fit snuggly, like jelly to a given form. The Young Investigator Group of Dr. Stefanie Speidel analyzed this geometrical problem of shape adaptation from the physical perspective. “We model the surface profile as electrically negative and the volume model of the organ as electrically positive charged,” Speidel explains. “Now, both attract each other and the elastic volume model slides into the immovable profile mask.” The adapted 3D model then reveals to the surgeon how the tumor has moved with the deformation of the organ.

 

Simulations and experiments using a close-to-reality phantom liver have demonstrated that the electrostatic-elastic method even works when only parts of the deformed surface profile are available. This is the usual situation at the hospital. The human liver is surrounded by other organs and, hence, only partly visible by endoscopic cameras. “Only those structures that are clearly identified as parts of the liver by our system are assigned an electric charge,” says Dr. Stefan Suwelack who, as part of Speidel’s group, wrote his Ph.D. thesis on this subject. Problems only arise, if far less than half of the deformed surface is visible. To stabilize computation in such cases, the KIT researchers can use clear reference points, such as crossing vessels. Their method, however, in contrary to others does not rely on such references from the outset.

 

 

 

In addition, the model of the KIT researchers is more precise than conventional methods, because it also considers biomechanical factors of the liver, such as the elasticity of the tissue. So for instance, the phantom liver used by the scientists consists of two different silicones: A harder material for the capsule, i.e. the outer shell of the liver, and a softer material for the inner liver tissue.

 

As a result of their physical approach, the young scientists also succeeded in accelerating the computation process. As shape adaptation was described by electrostatic and elastic energies, they found a single mathematical formula. Using this formula, even conventional computers equipped with a single processing unit only work so quickly that the method is competitive. Contrary to conventional computation methods, however, the new method is also suited for parallel computers. Using such a computer, the Young Investigator Group now plans to model organ deformations stably in real time.

 

Publication:
Stefan Suwelack, et al.: Physics-based shape matching for intraoperative image guidance, Medical Physics, Vol. 41 (2014)
http://dx.doi.org/10.1118/1.4896021

 

Open Access Research Data
http://opencas.webarchiv.kit.edu/?q=PhysicsBasedShapeMatching

 

Video on the 3D Model
http://www.kit.edu//videos/virtuelle_op_planung

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:

http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 


Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

lcp, 16.12.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneAmv9∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseChu9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 161/2014

Organmodelle im OP-Saal live anpassen

Mit einem neuen Rechenverfahren übertragen Nachwuchswissenschaftler des KIT Organverformungen während computergestützter Operationen auf die zugrundeliegenden Modelle.
Das unverformte Lebermodell (rot) passt sich an das verformte Oberflächenprofil (blau) an. (Grafik: Dr. Stefanie Speidel, KIT, in Medical Physics, 41).
Das unverformte Lebermodell (rot) passt sich an das verformte Oberflächenprofil (blau) an. (Grafik: Dr. Stefanie Speidel, KIT, in Medical Physics, 41).

Bei minimalinvasiven Operationen muss ein Chirurg auf die Informationen am Bildschirm vertrauen: Wo sich ein Tumor befindet und wo sensible Gefäße, zeigt ihm ein virtuelles 3-D-Modell des entsprechenden Organs. Weiches Gewebe, wie das der Leber, verformt sich allerdings beim Atmen oder wenn das Skalpell ansetzt. Endoskopische Kameras erfassen live, wie sich die Oberfläche dabei verändert – nicht aber wie beispielsweise ein tieferliegender Tumor. Nachwuchswissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) haben nun eine echtzeitfähige Rechenmethode entwickelt, die das virtuelle Organ an das verformte Oberflächenprofil anpasst.

 

Das Prinzip klingt einfach: Anhand computertomographischer Bilddaten erzeugen die Wissenschaftler vor der Operation ein virtuelles 3-D-Modell des betreffenden Organs samt Tumor. Während der Operation tasten Kameras die Oberfläche des Organs ab und erstellen eine starre Profilmaske. An diesen virtuellen Abdruck soll sich das 3-D-Modell dann anschmiegen – ähnlich wie Wackelpudding an eine Form. Die Nachwuchsgruppe von Dr. Stefanie Speidel hat sich diesem geometrischen Problem der Formanpassung nun von physikalischer Seite genähert: „Wir modellieren das Oberflächenprofil als elektrisch negativ und das Volumenmodell des Organs als elektrisch positiv geladen“, erklärt Speidel. „Da sich beide nun anziehen, gleitet das elastische Volumenmodell quasi von selbst in die unbewegliche Profilmaske hinein.“ An dem angepassten 3-D-Modell kann der Chirurg direkt erkennen, wie sich der Tumor mit der Verformung des Organs verschoben hat.

 

Simulationen und Experimente mit einer wirklichkeitsnahen Phantomleber haben bereits gezeigt: Das elektrostatisch-elastische Verfahren der Nachwuchsgruppe funktioniert selbst dann, wenn das verformte Oberflächenprofil nur bruchstückhaft vorliegt. Im Klinikum ist das die Standardsituation, weil die Leber beim Menschen zwischen anderen Organen eingebettet und daher selbst mit endoskopischen Kameras bloß teilweise sichtbar ist. „Nur die Strukturen, die unser System eindeutig als Teile der Leber identifizieren kann, erhalten eine elektrische Ladung“, sagt Dr. Stefan Suwelack, der in der Gruppe von Speidel über das Thema promoviert hat. Problematisch werde es erst, wenn deutlich weniger als die Hälfte der verformten Oberfläche zu sehen sei. Um die Rechnung in solchen Fällen zu stabilisieren, können die KIT-Forscher eindeutige Referenzpunkte, wie sich kreuzende Gefäße, mit einbeziehen. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Verfahren sind sie aber nicht von vorneherein darauf angewiesen.

 

 

Zudem ist das Modell der KIT-Forscher genauer als bisherige Standardmethoden, weil es auch biomechanische Faktoren der Leber berücksichtigt: etwa wie elastisch das Gewebe ist. So setzt sich ihre Phantomleber beispielsweise aus zwei unterschiedlichen Silikonen zusammen: einem härteren für die Kapsel, also die äußere Hülle der Leber, und einem weichen für das innere Lebergewebe.

 

Ihre physikalische Herangehensweise ermöglicht es den Nachwuchswissenschaftlern außerdem, den Rechenvorgang zu beschleunigen. Weil sie die Formanpassung über elektrostatische und elastische Energien beschrieben, konnten sie dafür eine einzige mathematische Formel finden. Damit arbeiten selbst gewöhnliche Computer, die nur über eine Recheneinheit verfügen, so schnell, dass die Methode konkurrenzfähig ist. Im Gegensatz zu bisher gängigen Berechnungsverfahren eignet sie sich aber auch für Parallelrechner. Mit einem solchen will die Nachwuchsgruppe Organverformungen als nächstes stabil in Echtzeit modellieren.

 

Publikation:
Stefan Suwelack, et al.: Physics-based shape matching for intraoperative image guidance, Medical Physics, Vol. 41 (2014)
http://dx.doi.org/10.1118/1.4896021

 

Forschungsdaten als Open Access
http://opencas.webarchiv.kit.edu/?q=PhysicsBasedShapeMatching

 

Video zu 3-D-Modell
http://www.kit.edu//videos/virtuelle_op_planung

 

Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 


Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lcp, 16.12.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneEsf5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseWjx9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.