Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 160/2014

Science: Big Data Explain Evolution of Birds

Bird Tree of Life Reproduced by Gene Analysis and Supercomputing / New Findings about Basics of Birdsongs, Feathers, Biodiversity, and Bird Evolution
2014_160_Science_-_Big_Data_erklaert_Evolution_der_Voegel_72dpi
For the family of bee-eaters (on the photo Merops bullocki), the study revealed a close relationship to oscine birds, parrots, and birds of prey. (Photo: Peter Houde)

About 95 percent of the more than 10,000 bird species known only evolved upon the extinction of dinosaurs about 66 million years ago. According to computer analyses of the genetic data, today’s diversity developed from a few species at a virtually explosive rate after 15 million years already. KIT scientists designed the algorithms for the comprehensive analysis of the evolution of birds. To obtain the results that are now presented in the Science journal, a computing capacity of 300 processor-years was required. (DOI 10.1126/science.1253451)

 

“Computation of these trees of life for evolution research is impossible without adequate algorithms and supercomputers,” Alexandros Stamatakis, Professor for High-performance Computing in Life Sciences of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Head of the Research Group “Scientific Computing” of the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS), explains. “Today, modern sequence analyses supply comprehensive genetic data for numerous species. So far, however, computer programs even on supercomputers have been overstrained by the task of generating evolutionary knowledge from these large and complex data volumes.”

 

Although supercomputers have meanwhile been equipped with thousands of processors, the software for analyzing trees of life was limited to about 500 processors. “We therefore had to redesign and redevelop the communication scheme between the program components on various processors,” Stamatakis says. The new approach accelerated the software by a factor of 3 and now allows to efficiently distribute the computations to 4000 processors. Computer scientists speak of a parallelization of algorithms. “Instead of 24 months, we are now waiting one month for the results.”

 

The computation of trees of life is an extremely computationintensive (NP-hard) mathematical problem. “For 50 species, more than 10 to the power of 76 possible trees of life exist. Of these, the right one has to be found,” Andre J. Aberer, doctoral student of KIT, explains. He works at the HITS and performed the computer analyses. “For comparison: About 10 to the power of 78 atoms exist in the universe.” First, the algorithms coarsely filter out the improbable evolution scenarios. Then, based on the data of 14,000 genes of 48 representative bird species, the evolutionary tree of life is calculated, which plausibly explains the data. The new parallel software was run on the high-performance computer “SuperMUC” of the Leibniz Computing Center of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and at two computing centers in the US. The computing power needed corresponds to a computing time of 300 years on a single processor.

 

“The methods we developed for the computation of the tree of life can be applied to all types of creatures,” Stamatakis says. They already allowed for a comprehensive study of the tree of life of insects with 144 species, which was published recently in the Science journal. In addition, it is possible to reproduce the origin and abundance of viruses and bacteria in order to better fight pathogens. Analysis of the genetic relationship of Australian poisonous snakes helped identify the still lacking antidotes for some snake species.

 

Apart from the tree of life and the evolution of birds, the following new findings relating to birds are reported simultaneously by a total of 23 scientific publications in Science and other expert journals:

 

- Genetic fundamentals of biodiversity.
- Genetic fundamentals of the brain regions controlling the evolution of birdsong.
- The loss of teeth of birds about 100 million years ago.
- The relationship between dinosaurs and birds.
- The evolution of colored feathers.

 

The study of the evolution of birds was made by the “Avian Phylogenomics Consortium”, consisting of 200 scientists of 80 institutes in 20 countries. The project was coordinated by Guojie Zhang, BGI, China, Erich D. Jarvis, Duke University, USA, and M. Thomas P. Gilbert, Natural History Museum, Denmark. Tandy Warnow of the University of Illinois and Alexandros Stamatakis coordinated the computer analyses. Alexandros Stamatakis and Andre J. Aberer are the only German co-authors. The study represents the most comprehensive genomic analysis of a vertebrate class and covers ducks falcons, woodpeckers, and other representatives of all branches of modern birds, among others. All data and methods will now be made available cost-free to researchers worldwide for further studies.

 

Website of the research group of Alexandros Stamatakis:
www.exelixis-lab.org
http://www.informatik.kit.edu/309_6333.php

 

KIT interview of Alexandros Stamatakis:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6Laa58M-vk



Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

kes, 12.12.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseOeg0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 160/2014

Science: Big Data erklärt Evolution der Vögel

Stammbaum der Vögel mittels Gen-Analysen und Supercomputern nachvollzogen / Neue Erkenntnisse über Grundlagen von Gesang, Federn, Biodiversität und Entwicklung der Vögel
Für die Familie der Bienenfresser (im Bild Merops bullocki) zeigte die Studie eine enge Verwandtschaft mit Singvögeln, Papageien und Raubvögeln. (Bild: Peter Houde)
Für die Familie der Bienenfresser (im Bild Merops bullocki) zeigte die Studie eine enge Verwandtschaft mit Singvögeln, Papageien und Raubvögeln. (Bild: Peter Houde)

Rund 95 Prozent der über 10 000 bekannten Vogelarten entwickelten sich erst nach dem Aussterben der Dinosaurier vor rund 66 Millionen Jahren. Computeranalysen der genetischen Daten zeigen auch, dass sich die heutige Vielfalt explosionsartig aus wenigen Spezies bereits nach 15 Millionen Jahren entwickelt hatte. KIT-Forscher entwarfen die Algorithmen für die umfassende Analyse der Vogel-Evolution. Für die jetzt im Fachjournal Science vorgestellten Ergebnisse wurde eine Rechenleistung von 300 Prozessorjahren benötigt. (DOI 10.1126/science.1253451)

 

„Die Berechnung dieser Stammbäume für die Evolutionsforschung ist ohne entsprechende Algorithmen und Supercomputer nicht möglich“, erklärt Alexandros Stamatakis, Professor für High Performance Computing in den Lebenswissenschaften am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und Leiter der Forschungsgruppe „Scientific Computing“ am Heidelberger Institut für Theoretische Studien (HITS). „Moderne Sequenzanalysen liefern heutzutage umfangreiche Gendaten über zahlreiche Spezies. Aber mit der Aufgabe, auch evolutionäres Wissen aus diesen riesigen und komplexen Datenmengen zu erzeugen, waren Computerprogramme bislang selbst auf Supercomputern überfordert.“

 

Obwohl Supercomputer mittlerweile Tausende Prozessoren besitzen, war die Software für Stammbaumanalysen auf etwa 500 Prozessoren beschränkt. „Wir mussten daher das Kommunikationsschema zwischen den Programmteilen auf verschiedenen Prozessoren überdenken und neu entwickeln,“ so Stamatakis. Der neue Ansatz beschleunigte die Software um den Faktor 3 und ermöglicht es gleichzeitig die Rechnungen auf 4000 Prozessoren effizient zu verteilen. Informatiker sprechen hier von der Parallelisierung von Algorithmen. „Statt 24 Monate warten wir nun also nur 1 Monat auf die Ergebnisse.“

 

Die Berechnung von Stammbäumen gehört zu einer extrem rechenintensiven Klasse von mathematischen Problemen (NP-Hard genannt). „Schon bei 50 Spezies gibt es mehr als 10 hoch 76 mögliche Stammbäume, aus denen der Richtige gefunden werden muss“, erklärt Andre J. Aberer, Doktorand am KIT und Mitarbeiter des HITS, der die Computeranalysen durchgeführt hat. „Zum Vergleich: Im Universum gibt es etwa 10 hoch 78 Atome.“ Die Algorithmen filtern zunächst grob die unwahrscheinlichen Evolutionsszenarien heraus. Unter den verbliebenen wird dann anhand der Daten von jeweils 14 000 Genen von 48 repräsentativen Vogelspezies der evolutionäre Stammbaum berechnet, der die Daten plausibel erklärt. Die neue parallele Software wurde am Höchstleistungsrechner "SuperMUC" des Leibniz-Rechenzentrums der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und zwei US-Rechenzentren ausgeführt. Die aufgewandte Rechenleistung entspricht einer Rechenzeit von 300 Jahren auf einem einzelnen Prozessor.

 

„Die von uns entwickelten Methoden zur Stammbaumberechnung sind auf alle Arten von Lebewesen anwendbar“, so Stamatakis. Sie ermöglichten bereits eine umfassende Studie zum Stammbaum der Insekten mit 144 Arten, die vor Kurzem im Fachmagazin Science veröffentlicht wurde. Aber auch der Ursprung und die Verbreitung von Viren und Bakterien lassen sich damit nachvollziehen, um etwa Krankheitserreger besser bekämpfen zu können. Die Analyse der genetischen Verwandtschaft von australischen Giftschlangen half entscheidend, die noch fehlende Gegengifte für einige Schlangenarten zu identifizieren.

 

Zu den neuen Erkenntnissen über Vögel, die nun zeitgleich in insgesamt 23 wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen bei Science und weiteren Fachjournalen publiziert werden gehören, neben dem Stammbaum und der Evolution der Vögel:

 

- Genetische Grundlagen der Biodiversität.
- Die genetischen Grundlagen der Hirnregionen, die die Entstehung des Vogelgesangs steuern.
- Der Verlust von Zähnen bei Vögeln vor rund 100 Millionen Jahren.
- Die Verwandtschaft von Dinosauriern und Vögeln.
- Wie farbige Federn entstanden sind.

Die aktuelle Studie über die Entwicklung der Vögel wurde vom „Avian Phylogenomics Consortium“ durchgeführt, welches 200 Wissenschaftler an 80 Instituten in 20 Ländern umfasst. Koordinatoren waren Guojie Zhang vom BGI in China, Erich D. Jarvis von der Duke University in den USA und M. Thomas P. Gilbert vom Natural History Museum in Dänemark. Tandy Warnow von der University of Illinois und Alexandros Stamatakis waren die Koordinatoren der Computeranalysen. Alexandros Stamatakis und Andre J. Aberer sind die einzigen deutschen Ko-Autoren. Die Studie stellt die größte Genomanalyse einer Wirbeltierklasse dar und umfasst unter anderem Enten, Falken, Spechte und weitere Repräsentanten aller Zweige der modernen Vögel. Alle Daten und Methoden werden nun Forschern weltweit für weitere Studien kostenlos zugänglich gemacht.

 

Web-Site der Forschungsgruppe von Alexandros Stamatakis:

www.exelixis-lab.org
http://www.informatik.kit.edu/309_6333.php

Interview am KIT mit Alexandros Stamatakis:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6Laa58M-vk

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 12.12.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseJrt6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.