Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 159/2014

KIT Receives IEEE Milestone Heinrich Hertz

Worldwide Association of Engineers Honors Discovery of Electromagnetic Waves in Karlsruhe – Ceremony on December 05
2014_159_KIT_erhaelt_IEEE_Milestone_Heinrich_Hertz-1_72dpi
The IEEE Milestone “Heinrich Hertz“ will be set up on the Ehrenhof, KIT Campus South, where the laboratory of Heinrich Hertz was located. (Photo: Alexander Stahl, KIT)

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) receives the
IEEE Milestone “Heinrich Hertz“ of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). The renowned worldwide association of electrical and electronics engineers wishes to honor the physicist Heinrich Hertz (1857 – 1894) and his discovery of electromagnetic waves in Karlsruhe in 1886. Representatives of the media are cordially invited to come to the ceremony and unveiling of the IEEE Milestone on Friday, December 05, 2014, 10 hrs c.t. at the Hertz-Hörsaal on KIT Campus South.

 

The “IEEE Milestones Program” has been established by the IEEE to honor important and outstanding discoveries and inventions in the areas of electrical engineering and information technology. The IEEE Milestone “Heinrich Hertz” is a bronze plaque of 45 x 30 x 2 cm in dimension. This bronze plaque will be put up on KIT Campus South on the Ehrenhof, where the former laboratory of Heinrich Hertz was located. Between 1885 and 1889, the physicist conducted research and taught at the then Technical University of Karlsruhe. In 1886, he discovered the electromagnetic waves, a physical effect that turned out to be the basis of wireless communication later on.

 

“Heinrich Hertz was an outstanding researcher. His work gave rise to a scientific and technical revolution,” says KIT Vice President Professor Detlef Löhe. “We are proud of having him among the ancestors of KIT as an ideal for generations of scientists and we are highly pleased to receive this permanent sign of commemoration of his work in Karlsruhe.”

 

“It was the discovery of Hertz that later led to the radio, television, telecommunications, and WLAN – applications that are part of our everyday life today. The discovery of Hertz is one of the major milestones in the history of electrical engineering and information technology,” says Professor Thomas Leibfried, Head of the KIT Institute of Electric Energy Systems and High-Voltage Engineering (IEH).

 

The “IEEE Milestones in Electrical Engineering and Computing“ of the IEEE History Committee honors products, services, work, and patents that turned out to be pioneer innovations and achievements for the benefit of mankind. The commemorated event has to date back 25 years at least. So far, the IEEE has granted more than 100 milestones worldwide. In 2013, the IEEE, the world’s professional association of electrical and electronic engineers with the office in New York City had more than 425,000 members in more than 160 countries and, hence, is the world’s largest professional association. The IEEE organizes conferences, issues journals, and establishes committees for the standardization of technologies, hardware, and software. In addition, the IEEE supports interdisciplinary information exchange and discussion of the impacts of new technologies on society.


IEEE Milestone Heinrich Hertz

Friday, December 05, 2014, 10.00 hrs c. t.
KIT Campus South, Hertz-Hörsaal
(Building 10.11; Kaiserstraße 12, 76131 Karlsruhe)

 

Program

Welcome and Opening of the Ceremony
Professor Thomas Leibfried, Dean of the Department of
Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, KIT

 

Greetings from the KIT Presidential Committee
Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President

 

Ceremonial Address by the IEEE President
Professor J. Roberto de Marca, IEEE President

 

Speech on IEEE Milestones in Region 8
Professor Martin J. Bastiaans, IEEE Director Region 8

 

Unveiling of the Bronze Plaque at the Original Location of
Heinrich Hertz’s Laboratory

Professor J. Roberto de Marca, IEEE President

 

Speech on Heinrich Hertz, His Life, His Work, and His Heritage
Professor Werner Wiesbeck, IEEE Life Fellow

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 28.11.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNuc2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseKed3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 159/2014

KIT erhält IEEE Milestone Heinrich Hertz

Weltweiter Ingenieurverband würdigt Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen in Karlsruhe – Festveranstaltung am 5. Dezember
Der IEEE Milestone „Heinrich Hertz“ wird am KIT Campus Süd im Ehrenhof stehen – am ursprünglichen Ort des Labors von Heinrich Hertz. (Foto: Alexander Stahl, KIT)
Der IEEE Milestone „Heinrich Hertz“ wird am KIT Campus Süd im Ehrenhof stehen – am ursprünglichen Ort des Labors von Heinrich Hertz. (Foto: Alexander Stahl, KIT)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält den IEEE Milestone „Heinrich Hertz“ vom Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Der renommierte weltweite Verband von Ingenieuren der Elektro- und Informationstechnik würdigt damit den bedeutenden Physiker Heinrich Hertz (1857-1894) und seine Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen in Karlsruhe im Jahr 1886. Zur feierlichen Verleihung und Enthüllung des IEEE Milestone am Freitag, 5. Dezember 2014, um 10 Uhr c. t. im Hertz-Hörsaal am KIT-Campus Süd sind Medienvertreterinnen und -vertreter herzlich willkommen.

 

Mit dem „IEEE Milestones program“ würdigt das IEEE wesentliche und herausragende Entdeckungen und Erfindungen in der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik. Konkret handelt es sich beim IEEE Milestone „Heinrich Hertz“ um eine Bronzetafel mit den Maßen 45 mal 30 mal 2 Zentimeter. Aufgestellt wird die Bronzetafel am KIT-Campus Süd im Ehrenhof – am ursprünglichen Ort des Labors von Heinrich Hertz. Der Physiker forschte und lehrte zwischen 1885 und 1889 an der damaligen Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe. Im Jahr 1886 entdeckte er mit den elektromagnetischen Wellen einen physikalischen Effekt, der sich als grundlegend für die drahtlose Kommunikation erweisen sollte.

 

„Heinrich Hertz war ein herausragender Forscher. Seine Arbeiten legten den Grundstein für eine wissenschaftliche und technische Revolution“, sagt der Vizepräsident des KIT, Professor Detlef Löhe. „Wir sind stolz darauf, ihn als Vorbild für Generationen von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler in der Ahnenreihe des KIT zu wissen und freuen uns sehr über die bleibende Erinnerung an sein Karlsruher Wirken durch den IEEE Milestone.“

 

„Erst diese Entdeckung von Hertz hat Funk, Radio, Fernsehen, Mobilfunk und WLAN ermöglicht – Anwendungen, die heute ganz selbstverständlich zu unserem Alltag gehören. Sie bildet damit einen der wesentlichsten Meilensteine in der Geschichte der Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik“, erklärt Professor Thomas Leibfried, Leiter des Instituts für Elektroenergiesysteme und Hochspannungstechnik (IEH) des KIT.

 

Das „IEEE Milestones in Electrical Engineering and Computing program“ des IEEE History Committee zeichnet Produkte, Services, Arbeiten und Patente aus, die sich als bahnbrechende Innovationen und Leistungen zum Wohl der Menschheit erwiesen haben. Voraussetzung ist, dass das Ereignis mindestens 25 Jahre zurückliegt. Bis jetzt hat das IEEE weltweit mehr als 100 Meilensteine verliehen. Das IEEE, ein weltweiter Berufsverband von Ingenieuren hauptsächlich aus Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik mit juristischem Sitz in New York City, hatte 2013 mehr als 425 000 Mitglieder in über 160 Ländern und ist damit der größte technische Berufsverband der Welt. Die Organisation veranstaltet Fachtagungen, gibt Fachzeitschriften heraus und bildet Gremien für die Standardisierung von Techniken, Hardware und Software. Überdies setzt sich das IEEE für fächerübergreifende Information und die Diskussion über gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen neuer Technologien ein.


IEEE Milestone Heinrich Hertz

Freitag, 5. Dezember 2014, 10 Uhr c. t.
KIT Campus Süd, Hertz-Hörsaal
(Gebäude 10.11; Kaiserstraße 12, 76131 Karlsruhe)

 

Programm

Welcome and Opening of the Ceremony
Begrüßung und Eröffnung der Feier
Professor Thomas Leibfried, Dean of the Faculty of
Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, KIT

 

Greetings from the KIT Presidential Committee
Grußworte des KIT-Präsidiums
Professor Detlef Löhe, KIT Vice President

 

Ceremonial Address by the IEEE President
Festansprache des IEEE Präsidenten
Professor J. Roberto de Marca, IEEE President

 

Speech on IEEE Milestones in Region 8
Festansprache zu IEEE Milestones in der IEEE Region 8
Professor Martin J. Bastiaans, IEEE Director Region 8

 

Unveiling of the Bronze Plaque at the Original Location of
Heinrich Hertz’s Laboratory

Enthüllung der Bronzetafel am ursprünglichen Ort des Labors von Heinrich Hertz
Professor J. Roberto de Marca, IEEE President

 

Speech on Heinrich Hertz, His Life, His Work, and His Heritage
Fachvortrag über Heinrich Hertz, sein Leben, sein Werk und sein Erbe
Professor Werner Wiesbeck, IEEE Life Fellow

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 25 500 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 28.11.2014
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseWkr0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.