Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 154/2014

Study Supports Free “Super WiFi”

New Frequency Ranges May Make Free Network Access Possible over Long Distances and Relieve Mobile Communications Networks / Expected to Trigger Innovations
2014_154_Studie_plaediert_fuer_freies_Super-WiFi_72dpi
Wireless communication and consumption of digital media might profit from freely accessible transmission frequencies in the UHF range. (Photo: KIT)

The need for the wireless transfer of data will increase significantly in the coming years. Scientists at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) therefore propose to turn some of the TV frequencies that will become free into common property and to use it to extend existing wireless networks (WiFi) instead of using the frequencies for mobile communications. Their study, published in the international journal “Telecommunications Policy,” recommends that the additional frequencies not be marketed but made available to the population and companies at no cost (doi 10.1016/j.telpol.2014.05.003).

 


Wireless data transmission largely takes place via WLAN networks, such as WiFi. However, these networks are currently limited to high frequency ranges at 2 GHz and above and, hence, have a limited range. The authors of the study, Arnd Weber of the Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) of KIT and Jens Elsner, a former member of the staff of the KIT Communications Engineering Lab, propose to extend the frequencies for free communication to include lower ranges and even increased transmission power. These bands are being used less and less for the transmission of TV signals. They are highly suited for penetrating obstacles such as walls. Depending on the ambient conditions and by automatically adapting transmission power to prevent interference, such WLAN networks might even reach communication partners at a distance of several kilometers. Even in cities where the transmission capacity will be limited due to the large number of transmission stations, the range of wireless networks could be extended significantly. The networks could, for example, be made available to passersby on neighboring streets for transferring data to and from their smartphones.

 

“Implementation of our approach would have far-reaching consequences. Individuals, institutions, and companies would be far less dependent on expensive mobile communications networks in conducting their digital communication. This would also be of great economic benefit,” according to Arnd Weber. Even the opening of existing WLAN frequencies in the last century demonstrated that users and companies utilized the new opportunities innovatively to develop new products. Examples besides wireless computer networks are wireless loudspeakers and cameras, remote controls for garage doors, transponders, baby phones, and Bluetooth.

 

According to Weber, however, a worldwide and broad debate about the approach is required because governments could also use the frequencies to extend the range of state-owned TV channels or auction them to mobile telephony providers at high prices. For this reason, Arnd Weber and Jens Elsner propose discussing their approach at the World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC). This conference, organized by the United Nations, will meet again next year and decides on the use of radio frequencies at the global level.

 

Study Contradicts Established Economic Theory
In accordance with the systems analysis approach used at ITAS, the study combines technical, social, and economic perspectives. Its conclusion that low frequency ranges should, as common property, be made available at no cost contradicts an established economic theory represented by, for instance, the economist and Nobel Prize winner Ronald Coase, who died in 2013. In his opinion, rights of use should be defined and sold on the market to achieve the optimal use of limited resources such as radio frequencies. According to the economist and political consultant Martin Cave, only the high GHz ranges where there is no risk of congestion should be opened to the public. Elsner and Weber show in their study, in contrast, how such congestion can be prevented technically. They argue that the low-cost approach to electronic communication should be given preference to intensive commercialization not only from the perspective of an individual, but also from that of the national economy. They suggest reserving a 90-MHz interval in the UHF bands. Apart from mobile communication for everyone, applications such as “program making and special events” technology might profit, for instance stage microphones and cameras, which could then transmit digitally instead of using niches of the TV spectrum with analogue technology. Use by disaster relief services is also conceivable.

 

Jens Elsner has meanwhile joined the Munich Innovation Group. Arnd Weber conducts research at the KIT Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS). He is a member of the International Telecommunications Society. The study by Elsner and Weber is based on work performed under the startup project “User Networks,” financed by funds from the Excellence Initiative at KIT.

 

Original publication:
Jens Elsner, Arnd Weber, Beachfront commons (deutscher Titel etwa “Gemeingut mit Meerblick”), Telecommunications Policy, Volume 38, Issues 8–9, Pages 709-714,
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S030859611400086X 

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

kes, 17.11.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseHtu4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 154/2014

Studie plädiert für freies “Super-WiFi“

Nutzung neuer Frequenzbereiche kann kostenlosen Netzzugang über große Entfernungen ermöglichen und Mobilfunknetze entlasten / Schub an innovativen Anwendungen erwartet
Drahtlose Kommunikation und digitaler Medienkonsum unterwegs könnten von frei zugänglichen Übertragungsfrequenzen im UHF-Bereich profitieren. (Bild: KIT)
Drahtlose Kommunikation und digitaler Medienkonsum unterwegs könnten von frei zugänglichen Übertragungsfrequenzen im UHF-Bereich profitieren. (Bild: KIT)

Der Bedarf an drahtlosem Datentransfer wird in den kommenden Jahren deutlich steigen. Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) schlagen deshalb vor, bestimmte frei werdende TV-Frequenzen als Allgemeingut für die Ausdehnung bestehender Drahtlosnetzwerke (WiFi) statt für den Mobilfunk zu nutzen. Ihre nun im internationalen Fachblatt „Telecommunications Policy“ veröffentlichte Studie empfiehlt, die zusätzlichen Frequenzen nicht kommerziell zu vermarkten, sondern der Bevölkerung und den Unternehmen kostenlos zur Verfügung zu stellen. (doi 10.1016/j.telpol.2014.05.003)

 


Über WLAN-Netzwerke wie WiFi wird bereits heute ein großer Teil des drahtlosen Datenverkehrs abgewickelt. Allerdings sind sie aktuell auf hohe Frequenzbereiche im Bereich von 2 GHz und darüber beschränkt und haben daher eine begrenzte Reichweite. Die Autoren der Studie, Arnd Weber vom Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT und Jens Elsner, früher Mitarbeiter des Communications Engineering Lab des KIT, schlagen vor, die Frequenzen für freie Kommunikation auch auf niedrigere Bereiche und sogar mit höherer Leistung zu erweitern. Diese Bänder werden immer weniger für die Übertragung von TV-Signalen genutzt und können Hindernisse wie Mauern besonders gut passieren. Bestehende WLAN-Netzwerke könnten so – mit automatischer Anpassung der Sendeleistung, um Störungen zu vermeiden – je nach der Beschaffenheit der Umgebung sogar Kommunikationspartner in einer Entfernung von mehreren Kilometern erreichen. Selbst in Städten, wo aufgrund vieler Sendestationen mit begrenzter Sendeleistung gearbeitet werden müsste, könnte die Reichweite drahtloser Netzwerke deutlich ausgedehnt werden, um sie beispielsweise Passanten in umliegenden Straßenzügen für den Datentransfer ihrer Smartphones zur Verfügung zu stellen.

 

„Die Realisierung unseres Ansatzes hätte weitreichende Folgen. Personen, Institutionen und Unternehmen wären bei ihrer digitalen Kommunikation in viel geringerem Maße auf teure Mobilfunknetze angewiesen. Darin sehen wir nicht zuletzt auch einen großen gesamtwirtschaftlichen Nutzen”, so Arnd Weber. Schon die Öffnung der bisherigen WLAN-Frequenzen im letzten Jahrhundert hat gezeigt, dass Anwender und Unternehmen die neuen Möglichkeiten innovativ für neue Produkte nutzen, neben den drahtlosen Computernetzwerken etwa auch kabellose Lautsprecherboxen und Kameras, Garagenfernbedienungen, Funketiketten, Babyphones, Bluetooth, u.v.m. .

 

Nötig sei jedoch eine breite, weltweite Debatte des Ansatzes, denn Regierungen könnten die Frequenzen auch für die Vergrößerung der Reichweite staatlicher Fernsehkanäle nutzen oder sie teuer an Mobilfunkanbieter versteigern. Arnd Weber und Jens Elsner schlagen deshalb vor, ihren Ansatz in der World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC) zu diskutieren. Diese von den Vereinten Nationen initiierte Konferenz tagt nächstes Jahr wieder und entscheidet auf globaler Ebene über die Nutzung von Radiofrequenzen.

 

Studie widerspricht gängiger Wirtschaftstheorie
Entsprechend des systemanalytischen Ansatzes des ITAS kombiniert die Studie technische, soziale und ökonomische Perspektiven. Ihre Schlussfolgerung, niedrige Frequenzbereiche als Allgemeingut kostenlos zur Verfügung zu stellen, widerspricht einer gängigen Wirtschaftstheorie, die etwa der 2013 verstorbene Ökonom und Nobelpreisträger Ronald Coase vertrat: Um begrenzte Ressourcen wie Funkfrequenzen optimal zu nutzen, sollten Nutzungsrechte definiert und am Markt veräußert werden. Der Wettbewerbsökonom und Politikberater Martin Cave spricht sich dafür aus, der Allgemeinheit nur die hohen GHz-Bereiche zu öffnen, wo keine Gefahr einer Überlastung besteht. Elsner und Weber zeigen in ihrer aktuellen Studie jedoch, wie diese Überlastungen technisch vermieden werden können, und halten entgegen, dass nicht nur aus individueller, sondern auch aus gesamtwirtschaftlicher Perspektive der kostengünstigste Ansatz für elektronische Kommunikation einer intensiven Vermarktung vorzuziehen ist. Sie schlagen konkret vor, ein 90-MHz-Intervall auf UHF-Bändern zu reservieren. Neben der mobilen Kommunikation für jedermann könnten auch Anwendungen wie die Veranstaltungstechnik davon profitieren, etwa für Bühnenmikrophone und –kameras, die digital senden, statt wie bislang Nischen des Fernsehspektrums analog zu nutzen. Aber auch eine Anwendung für Rettungskräfte im Katastrophenfall ist denkbar.

 

Der Autor Jens Elsner arbeitet mittlerweile für die Munich Innovation Group. Arnd Weber forscht am Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT. Er ist Mitglied der International Telecommunications Society. Ihre Studie basiert auf der Arbeit des am KIT aus Mitteln der Exzellenzinitiative durchgeführten Start-up-Projekts “Nutzer-Netze“.

 

Originalveröffentlichung:
Jens Elsner, Arnd Weber, Beachfront commons (deutscher Titel etwa “Gemeingut mit Meerblick”), Telecommunications Policy, Volume 38, Issues 8–9, Pages 709-714,
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S030859611400086X 

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 17.11.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseLfk7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.