Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUmk8∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 150/2014

KIT in Third Place in Gründungsradar Ranking

KIT’s Support of Startups Is Exemplary, the Stifterverband Says – 25 Startups and Spinoffs in 2013

The 2013 Gründungsradar ranking published today by the Stifterverband for promoting science and education confirms the exemplary support of startups by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Of the 40 big German universities, KIT is in third place, six places better than in the past year. The ranking is based on data of the year 2013. Among others, 25 companies were established at KIT in that year.

 

The ranking of the Stifterverband is based on 33 indicators in the four areas of startup policy establishment, sensitization, support, and startup activities. The KIT scored 10.9 of a maximum of 12 points. All universities that are among the best 25% of their group are certified to be of “model character.” This also holds for the KIT.

 

“I am happy that the KIT is among the three best big universities in Germany in the Gründungsradar ranking. Support of young entrepreneurs is an important element of the innovation culture at KIT. This positive result shows that the highly committed work of our “Founders Forge” project yields fruit,” KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka says. In the past year, KIT was among the winners of the Germany-wide competition “EXIST – Gründungskultur” and, as a result, was given the opportunity to extend its entrepreneurial activities.

 

“Startups have a long tradition in Karlsruhe. We wish to offer new formats to provide better support and to build up more awareness during our daily routine work at the KIT,” Dr. Jens Fahrenberg, Head of the Innovation Management Service Unit of KIT and one of the project coordinators of the Founders Forge, emphasizes. In 2014, the new website http://www.kit-gruenderschmiede.de and the “KIT-Gründerguide” (KIT founders guide) were issued among others. The KIT strategy pursued in this area was also confirmed by three successfully passed competitions for the acquisition of funding for startups with KIT participation. Support is offered for both startups of students of KIT and spinoffs established by scientists working in the high-tech area. “We have developed new formats for entrepreneurship training and offer an accelerator program to support already established enterprises. In addition, we are active in community management to enhance networking and exchange among experienced and young founders, investors, and service providers”, Professor Orestis Terzidis, the other coordinator of the Founders Forge, explains.

 

Click here to download the “KIT-Gründerguide“: http://kit-gs.de/gruenderguide

 

Gründungsradar 2013

For the second time, the Stifterverband, on the behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, analyzed how German universities support the establishment of enterprises and which universities are best in doing so. The ranking reflects support of startups and spinoffs by German universities, presents good examples, and develops recommendations to politics on this basis. In total, 254 universities took part in the Gründungsradar 2013 competition. In the group of big universities, the KIT ranks in third place behind the TU München and the Hochschule München.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

le, 10.11.2014

Press contact:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneYro8∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 150/2014

KIT auf Platz drei beim Gründungsradar

Stifterverband bewertet KIT als vorbildlich in der Gründungsförderung – 25 Gründungen im Jahr 2013

Im heute veröffentlichten Gründungsradar 2013 bestätigt der Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine vorbildliche Gründungsförderung. In der Gruppe der 40 großen deutschen Hochschulen belegt das KIT Platz drei – und verbessert sich damit um sechs Plätze gegenüber dem Vorjahr. Die Auswertung beruht auf den Daten des Jahres 2013. Hier kann das KIT unter anderem auf 25 Gründungen verweisen.

 

Insgesamt hatte der Stifterverband für die Bewertung 33 Indikatoren aus den vier Themenbereichen Verankerung, Sensibilisierung, Unterstützung und Gründungsaktivitäten bewertet. Das KIT erreichte dabei 10,9 von zwölf maximal erreichbaren Punkten. Wie allen Hochschulen, die zu den besten 25 Prozent ihrer Gruppe gehören, bescheinigt der Gründungsradar dem KIT „Vorbildcharakter“.

 

„Ich freue mich, dass das KIT beim Gründungsradar nun zu den drei besten großen Hochschulen in Deutschland gehört. Das Fördern von Gründerinnen und Gründern ist ein wesentliches Element der Innovationskultur am KIT. Dieses erfreuliche Ergebnis zeigt, dass die engagierte Arbeit in unserem Projekt ‚Gründerschmiede‘ Früchte trägt“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka. Im vergangenen Jahr hatte sich das KIT im bundesweiten Wettbewerb „EXIST-Gründungskultur“ durchgesetzt und erhielt damit die Möglichkeit, seine Aktivitäten in der Gründerunterstützung auszubauen.

 

Gründungen haben in Karlsruhe eine starke Tradition, gleichzeitig wollen wir mit neuen Formaten noch besser beraten, noch mehr für dieses Thema sensibilisieren und es weiter in den Arbeitsalltag am KIT einbringen“, so Dr. Jens Fahrenberg, Leiter des Innovationsmanagements am KIT und einer der beiden Projektkoordinatoren der Gründerschmiede. So sind 2014 unter anderem der neue Internetauftritt www.kit-gruenderschmiede.de und der „KIT-Gründerguide“ entstanden. Auch drei erfolgreiche Finanzierungsrunden für Gründungen, an denen das KIT beteiligt ist, bestätigen die eingeschlagene KIT Strategie. Die Angebote gelten dabei für Start-ups von Studierenden des KIT ebenso wie für Gründungen aus dem wissenschaftlichen High-Tech-Umfeld. „Wir haben neue Formate für die Entrepreneurship-Lehre entwickelt und bieten ein Accelerator-Programm zur Begleitung bereits gegründeter Unternehmen an. Außerdem betreiben wir ein aktives Community Management, um die Vernetzung und den Austausch zwischen erfahrenen und jungen Gründern, Investoren und Dienstleistern zu stärken.“, erläutert Professor Orestis Terzidis, ebenfalls Projektkoordinator der Gründerschmiede.

 

Der „KIT-Gründerguide“ zum Herunterladen: http://kit-gs.de/gruenderguide

 

Gründungsradar 2013

Zum zweiten Mal hat der Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie gesichtet, wie die deutschen Hochschulen die Gründung von Unternehmen unterstützen – und welche Hochschulen das am besten tun. Das Ranking stellt die Gründungsförderung in der deutschen Hochschullandschaft dar, zeigt gelungene Beispiele und entwickelt auf dieser Grundlage auch Empfehlungen an die Politik. Insgesamt haben 254 Hochschulen am Gründungsradar 2013 teilgenommen. In der Gruppe der großen Hochschulen belegt das KIT den dritten Platz nach der TU München und der Hochschule München.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 10.11.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePvf4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneNdl6∂kit edu