Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 148/2014

Concentration of Ozone Killers on the Rise again

International monitoring network measures increase in atmospheric hydrogen chloride – The cause: slower stratospheric circulation – Montreal Protocol on track
2014_148_Konzentration_ozonzerstoerender_Stoffe_steigt_wieder_an_72dpi
Infrared spectrometers can be used to determine the composition of atmospheric air. The KIT and the Spanish Weather Service jointly operate a measurement container on Tenerife (photo: Thomas Blumenstock, KIT).

Stratospheric hydrogen chloride is an indicator of substances destroying ozone. An international team including scientists of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) observed an annual increase by up to three percent in the HCl content over the northern hemisphere since 2007. However, the scientists were able to show that the rise is due to a change in air circulation, not to higher emissions of the precursor substances of the ozone-destroying substances banned in the Montreal Protocol. They assume that the ozone layer will recover completely over the next 50 years despite the interim HCl rise. The results of the study are now published by the group in Nature (DOE: 10.1038/nature13857).

 

The ozone layer protects the earth from harmful UV radiation and is an important part of the climate system. That chlorofluorocarbons, CFCs for short, attack the ozone layer was discovered by scientists in the 1980s. Because of their long lifetime, CFCs can rise as high as into the stratosphere, an atmospheric layer at 15 to 45 km altitude also incorporating the ozone layer. CFCs are decomposed by high-energy UV radiation in the stratosphere. The chlorine released in the process is first immoblized in HCl and chloronitrate (ClONO2). Chemical reactions in the polar winter can release the chlorine again and destroy ozone. To protect the ozone layer, 48 countries signed the 1987 Montreal Protocol which puts a worldwide ban on the production of substances such as CFCs. From the mid-1990s, an annual decrease by one or two percent of the harmful chlorine compounds in the stratosphere has been observed.

 

A network of observation stations all over the world is monitoring the concentrations of various trace gases: Measurements by the “Network for the Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change,” corroborated by satellite measurements, now have shown that the HCl concentration in the stratosphere surprisingly has risen again in the years between 2007 and 2011.

 

Model calculations by the University of Leeds and the KIT Institute of Meteorology – Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing (IMK-ASF) have confirmed the results – and found the causes of the rise. There has not been an increase in the total amount of chlorine in the atmosphere, but the flow system in the northern part of the stratosphere, which carries air from the equator area into high latitudes, has slowed down slightly. “As a consequence, CFCs stay in the stratosphere for a longer period of time, and more noxious chlorine gases, such as HCl, can be released,” explains Dr. Thomas Reddmann of IMK. The reason for the change in circulation was not yet known. The scientists assume that this is a long-term variability, but a connection with climate change could not be excluded completely.

 

The scientists found no indication that new substances dangerous to ozone and not yet included in the Montreal Protocol entering the atmosphere are responsible for the increase. “The Montreal Protocol is effective. We can confirm this in our observations and models, even though occasional fluctuations in atmospheric flow can give rise to a temporary increase in ozone killer substances,” explains Dr. Thomas Blumenstock, IMK. “The network and the sensitive measuring instruments would enable us to detect new ozone killers. However, we can assume at present that the ozone layer will be restored 50 years from now.”

 

The scientists use infrared spectrometers for their measurements. These tools allow the type and amount of airborne substances to be determined from their attenuation of solar thermal radiation. The KIT is one of the leading institutions in the world employing this equipment for air measurements. Three spectrometers involved in this study are operated by German research institutions. Besides the KIT, these are the University of Bremen and the Alfred Wegener Institute Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research at Bre-merhaven. The IMK-ASF has employed spectrometers since the 1990s in cooperation with Swedish scientists in Kiruna, and in cooperation with the Spanish Weather Service, AEMet (Agencia Estatal de Meteorología) at Izaña, Tenerife. Other participating measurement stations of the international “Network for the Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change” are located on Spitzbergen, Greenland, Switzerland, Japan, Australia, and New Zealand. The observed increase in HCl by up to three percent per annum was found only in stations on the northern hemisphere, not so in the southern hemisphere where, in fact, a faster decrease is more apparent.

 

Recent northern hemisphere hydrogen chloride increase due to atmospheric circulation change, E. Mahieu, M.P. Chipperfield, J. Notholt, T. Reddmann, J. Anderson, P.F. Bernath, T. Blumenstock, M.T. Coffey, S. Dhomse, W. Feng, B. Franco, L. Froidevaux, D.W.T. Griffith, J. Hannigan, F. Hase, R. Hossaini, N.B. Jones, I. Morino, I. Murata, H. Nakajima, M. Palm, C. Paton-Walsh, J.M. Russell III, M. Schneider, C. Servais, D. Smale, K.A. Walker.
DOI: 10.1038/nature13857

 

Living conditions on earth have changed in the 21st century as drastically as never before. This imposes major challenges upon climate and environmental research. With more than 650 scientists and more than 30 institutes, the KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to protect the natural foundations of life.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 06.11.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseIia8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneLpm0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseByw5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 148/2014

Konzentration ozonzerstörender Stoffe steigt wieder an

Internationales Beobachtungsnetz misst Zunahme von Chlorwasserstoff in der Atmosphäre – Ursache ist eine verlangsamte Zirkulation der Stratosphäre – Montreal-Protokoll wird eingehalten
Mit Infrarot-Spektrometern lässt sich die Luftzusammensetzung  in der Atmosphäre bestimmen. Auf Teneriffa betreiben das KIT und der spanische Wetterdienst gemeinsam einen Messcontainer (Foto: Thomas Blumenstock, KIT).
Mit Infrarot-Spektrometern lässt sich die Luftzusammensetzung in der Atmosphäre bestimmen. Auf Teneriffa betreiben das KIT und der spanische Wetterdienst gemeinsam einen Messcontainer (Foto: Thomas Blumenstock, KIT).

Chlorwasserstoff (HCl) in der Stratosphäre ist ein Indikator für ozonzerstörende Substanzen. Ein internationales Team, darunter Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT), hat seit 2007 über der Nordhalbkugel eine Zunahme des HCl-Gehalts von bis zu drei Prozent pro Jahr beobachtet. Die Forscher konnten aber zeigen, dass der Anstieg auf einer Änderung der Luftzirkulation beruht – nicht auf einem vermehrten Ausstoß der durch das Montreal-Protokoll verbotenen Vorläufersubstanzen der ozonzerstörenden Stoffe. Sie gehen davon aus, dass sich die Ozonschicht daher trotz des zwischenzeitlichen HCl-Anstiegs in den nächsten 50 Jahren vollständig erholen wird. Die Ergebnisse der Studie veröffentlichte die Gruppe nun in Nature (DOI: 10.1038/nature13857). 

 

Die Ozonschicht schützt die Erde vor gefährlicher UV-Strahlung und ist ein wichtiger Teil des Klimasystems. Dass Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffe, kurz FCKWs die Ozonschicht angreifen, entdeckten Wissenschaftler in den 1980er-Jahren. FCKWs gelangen wegen ihrer langen Lebensdauer bis in die Stratosphäre – eine Atmosphärenschicht in 15 bis 45 Kilometern Höhe, in der auch die Ozonschicht liegt: In der Stratosphäre werden FCKWs durch energiereiche UV-Strahlung aufgespalten. Das dabei frei werdende Chlor wird zunächst in HCl und Chlornitrat (CIONO2) gebunden. Durch chemische Reaktionen im polaren Winter kann das Chlor wieder freigesetzt werden und Ozon zerstören. Zum Schutz der Ozonschicht unterzeichneten 48 Staaten im Jahr 1987 das Montrealer Protokoll, das die Produktion von Substanzen wie FCKWs weltweit verbietet. Seit Mitte der 1990er-Jahre ließ sich eine jährliche Abnahme der schädlichen Chlorverbindungen in der Stratosphäre von ein bis zwei Prozent beobachten.

 

Weltweit überwacht ein Netz von Beobachtungsstationen die Konzentrationen verschiedener Spurengase: Messungen des „Network for the Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change“ haben nun – gestützt durch Satellitenmessungen – gezeigt, dass die HCl-Konzentration in der Stratosphäre in den Jahren 2007 bis 2011 überraschenderweise wieder angestiegen ist.

 

Modellrechnungen der Universität Leeds und des Instituts für Meteorologie-Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (IMK-ASF) am KIT konnten die Ergebnisse bestätigen – und fanden die Ursache für die Zunahme: Nicht die Gesamtmenge des Chlors ist in der Atmosphäre angestiegen, sondern das Strömungssystem im nördlichen Teil der Stratosphäre, welches Luft aus dem Äquatorbereich in hohe Breiten transportiert, hat sich etwas verlangsamt. „Dadurch halten sich die FCKWs länger in der Stratosphäre, es können auch mehr schädliche Chlorgase wie HCl freigesetzt werden“, erläutert Dr. Thomas Reddmann vom IMK. Die Ursache für die Änderung der Zirkulation sei noch nicht bekannt. Die Wissenschaftler gehen davon aus, dass es sich um eine langfristige Veränderlichkeit handelt, ganz auszuschließen sei ein Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel aber nicht.

 

Hinweise darauf, dass neue, noch nicht in Montreal Protokoll einbezogene ozongefährdende Substanzen in die Atmosphäre gelangen, haben die Forscher keine gefunden. „Das Montreal-Protokoll wirkt. Wir können das mit unseren Beobachtungen und Modellen bestätigen – auch wenn wie hier gelegentlich Strömungsschwankungen in der Atmosphäre zu einem zeitweisen Anstieg ozonzerstörender Substanzen führen“, erläutert Dr. Thomas Blumenstock vom IMK. „Wir wären mit dem Netzwerk und den empfindlichen Messgeräten in der Lage, neue Ozonkiller nachzuweisen. Aber gegenwärtig können wir davon ausgehen, dass die Ozonschicht in fünfzig Jahren wiederhergestellt ist.“

 

Für die Messungen setzen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Infrarot-Spektrometer ein: Mit ihnen können aus der Abschwächung der Wärmestrahlung der Sonne Art und Menge von Luftbeimengungen bestimmt werden. Das KIT ist eine der weltweit führenden Einrichtungen für den Einsatz dieser Geräte für Luftmessungen. Drei der an dieser Studie beteiligten Spektrometer betreiben deutsche Forschungseinrichtungen. Neben dem KIT sind dies die Universität Bremen und das Alfred-Wegener-Institut Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung in Bremerhaven. Das IMK-ASF betreibt Spektrometer seit den 1990er-Jahren in Zusammenarbeit mit schwedischen Wissenschaftlern in Kiruna und mit dem spanischen Wetterdienst AEMet (Agencia Estatal de Meteoroligia) in Izaña, Teneriffa. Die weiteren beteiligten Messstationen des internationalen „Network for the Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change“ liegen auf Spitzbergen, Grönland, in der Schweiz, in Japan, Australien und Neuseeland. Die beobachtete Zunahme von HCl mit bis zu drei Prozent pro Jahr wurde nur an Stationen der Nordhemisphäre festgestellt, jedoch nicht in der Südhemisphäre, wo sich eher eine schnellere Abnahme abzeichnet.

 

Recent northern hemisphere hydrogen chloride increase due to atmospheric circulation change, E. Mahieu, M.P. Chipperfield, J. Notholt, T. Reddmann, J. Anderson, P.F. Bernath, T. Blumenstock, M.T. Coffey, S. Dhomse, W. Feng, B. Franco, L. Froidevaux, D.W.T. Griffith, J. Hannigan, F. Hase, R. Hossaini, N.B. Jones, I. Morino, I. Murata, H. Nakajima, M. Palm, C. Paton-Walsh, J.M. Russell III, M. Schneider, C. Servais, D. Smale, K.A. Walker.
DOI: 10.1038/nature13857

 

Die Lebensbedingungen auf der Erde verändern sich im 21. Jahrhundert so einschneidend wie nie zuvor. Die Klima- und Umweltforschung steht damit vor großen Herausforderungen. Mit mehr als 650 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus über 30 Instituten entwickelt das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 06.11.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLik3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseUmn2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.