Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 147/2014

New Material Makes Water and Oil Roll off

Lotus Effect 2.0 due to Super-repellent Surface / Federal Ministry of Research Funds KIT Development with EUR 2.85 Million
The novel material “fluoropore” repels water (left) and oil (right). These droplets do not adhere to or wet the surface. (Photo: KIT/Rapp)
The novel material “fluoropore” repels water (left) and oil (right). These droplets do not adhere to or wet the surface. (Photo: KIT/Rapp)

Car finish, to which no dirt particles adhere, house fronts, from which graffiti paints roll off, and shoes that remain clean on muddy paths – the material “fluoropore” might make all this possible. Both water and oil droplets roll off this new class of highly fluorinated super-repellent polymers. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has now decided to fund its further development at the KIT with EUR 2.85 million. Fundamental research in this area is aimed among others at making use of this new type of material for universal protective coatings.

 

The phenomenon is known from lotus plants as well as from cabbage leaves: Water droplets simply roll off. For some time, this classical lotus effect has been used technically for producing rough surfaces with special chemical properties. “However, this trick does not work for oils – the lotus plant repels water, but no oil,” Dr.-Ing. Bastian Rapp of the KIT Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) says. “Oil-repellent surfaces need to have another chemical structure, fluoropolymers are required for this purpose,” the scientist explains. Fluoropolymers are high-performance plastics with a high heat resistance and chemical stability. Teflon, the known anti-stick coating material for frying pans, belongs to this category of substances.

 

“When combining the chemical properties of fluoropolymers with the roughness of the lotus plant, surfaces are obtained, from which both water and oil droplets will roll off,” Rapp says. He has already succeeded in producing such super-repellent surfaces with the lotus 2.0 effect in the laboratory. In practical use, however, they turned out to have an insufficient stability. A big problem is sensitivity to abrasion. Rapp therefore works on developing a new class of fluorinated polymers, from which water and oil roll off and which are far more robust in practical application. These polymers, called “fluoropore”, are to possess the lotus 2.0 effect on nearly any surfaces.

 

The research project of the young KIT scientist was recently successful in the NanoMatFutur competition for young scientists launched by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Rapp’s project “Fluoropore – chemically inert, micro- to nanoporous ‘teflon’ with an adjustable wetting behavior” is granted EUR 2.85 million for the establishment of a young investigator group in the next four years. By the NanoMatFutur competition, the BMBF supports highly qualified young scientists in the areas of materials research and nanotechnology. Funds are granted to application-oriented fundamental research projects with a high industrial implementation potential.

 

With “fluoropore”, universal protective coatings against any type of staining can be produced. An example is a coating of car window panes to prevent water from condensing and freezing in winter. Other examples are fine-pore screens, whose chemistry and structure allow for the separation of oil/water mixtures used as cooling lubricants in processing industry.

 

In the young investigator group headed by mechanical engineer Rapp, chemical process engineers and experts of organic chemistry, materials chemistry, and process technology work on the development of the new material. “At the KIT Institute of Microstructure Technology and its Karlsruhe Nano Micro Facility, we can use a large variety of analysis and structurization methods for our work, for example, scanning force and scanning electron microscopes,” Rapp emphasizes.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) pools its three core tasks of research, higher education, and innovation in a mission. With about 9,300 employees and 25,000 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

KIT – The Research University in the Helmholtz Association

afr, 04.11.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseUwl3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 147/2014

Neuer Werkstoff lässt Wasser und Öl abperlen

Lotuseffekt 2.0 durch superabweisende Oberfläche / Bundesforschungsministerium fördert KIT-Entwicklung mit 2,85 Millionen Euro
Der neuartige Werkstoff „Fluoropor“ stößt Wasser (links) und Öl (rechts) gleichermaßen ab, sodass sie nicht haften oder die Oberfläche benetzen können. (Bild: KIT/Rapp)
Der neuartige Werkstoff „Fluoropor“ stößt Wasser (links) und Öl (rechts) gleichermaßen ab, sodass sie nicht haften oder die Oberfläche benetzen können. (Bild: KIT/Rapp)

Autolack, an dem kein Schmutz haftet, Fassaden, von denen Graffiti-Farbe abgleitet, und Schuhe, die auf matschigen Wegen sauber bleiben - der Werkstoff „Fluoropor“ könnte all dies möglich machen. An der neuen Klasse hochfluorierter superabweisender Polymere könnten sowohl Wasser als auch Öle abperlen. Das BMBF fördert die Weiterentwicklung am KIT nun mit 2,85 Millionen Euro. Die Grundlagenforschung zielt unter anderem darauf, den neuen Werkstoff für universale Schutzbeschichtungen nutzbar zu machen.

 

Von Lotuspflanzen, aber auch von Weißkohlblättern ist das Phänomen bekannt: Wassertropfen perlen einfach von ihnen ab. Dieser klassische Lotuseffekt wird bereits seit geraumer Zeit technisch nutzbar gemacht, indem man raue Oberflächen mit besonderen chemischen Eigenschaften herstellt. „Allerdings funktioniert dieser Trick nicht für Öle – die Lotuspflanze ist wasser- nicht aber ölabweisend“, sagt Dr.-Ing. Bastian Rapp vom Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT. „Ölabweisende Oberflächen müssen chemisch anders aufgebaut sein, hierfür sind Fluorpolymere notwendig“, erklärt der Wissenschaftler. Fluorpolymere sind Hochleistungskunststoffe, die sehr hitzebeständig und chemisch überaus stabil sind. Zu dieser Stoffklasse gehört das unter dem Handelsnamen Teflon bekannte Beschichtungsmaterial für Antihaft-Bratpfannen.

 

„Kombiniert man die chemischen Eigenschaften von Fluorpolymeren mit der Rauigkeit der Lotuspflanze, erreicht man Oberflächen, von denen sowohl Wasser als auch Öle abperlen“, sagt Rapp. Im Labor ist es bereits gelungen, solche superabweisende Oberflächen mit Lotus 2.0-Effekt herzustellen. Im Praxiseinsatz haben sie sich allerdings bislang noch als unzureichend stabil herausgestellt. Vor allem die Empfindlichkeit gegen Abrieb erweist sich als ein großes Problem. Rapp arbeitet deshalb an der Entwicklung einer neuen Klasse fluorierter Polymere, von denen Wasser und Öl abperlen, und die im praktischen Einsatz wesentlich robuster sind. Diese als „Fluoropor“ bezeichneten Polymere sollen die Herstellung des Lotus 2.0-Effekts auf nahezu beliebigen Oberflächen ermöglichen.

 

Mit seinem Forschungsvorhaben war der junge KIT-Wissenschaftler nun beim NanoMatFutur-Nachwuchswettbewerb des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) erfolgreich. Sein Projekt „Fluoropor – chemisch inertes, mikro- bis nanoporöses ‚Teflon‘ mit einstellbarem Benetzungsverhalten“ erhält für die kommenden vier Jahre 2,85 Millionen Euro für den Aufbau einer wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchsgruppe. Das BMFB unterstützt mit dem NanoMatFutur-Wettbewerb hochqualifizierten wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs in der Werkstoffforschung und Nanotechnologie. Gefördert wird anwendungsorientierte Grundlagenforschung mit hohem Potenzial für die industrielle Umsetzung.

 

Mit „Fluoropor“ können universale Schutzbeschichtungen gegen jede Form von Verschmutzung hergestellt werden, beispielsweise für Auto-Windschutzscheiben, an denen kein Wasser kondensiert und die im Winter nicht einfrieren. Der verarbeitenden Industrie könnten sehr feinporige Siebe zur Verfügung gestellt werden, die es dank ihrer Materialchemie und -struktur ermöglichen, Öl-Wasser-Gemische - die als Kühlschmierstoffe verwendet werden - wieder zu trennen.

 

An der Entwicklung des neuen Werkstoffs arbeiten in der von dem Maschinenbauingenieur Rapp geleiteten Nachwuchsgruppe unter anderem Chemieverfahrenstechniker sowie Fachleute für Organische Chemie, Materialchemie und Prozesstechnik zusammen. „Am KIT-Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik und seiner Technologieplattform Karlsruhe Nano Micro Facility steht uns für unsere Forschung eine große Bandbreite an Analyse- und Strukturierungsmethoden zur Verfügung, zum Beispiel die Rasterkraft- und Rasterelektronenmikroskopie“, betont Rapp.

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

afr, 04.11.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseKus6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.