Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 143/2014

2014 State Research Prize Awarded to Christian Koos

KIT scientist is awarded euro 100,000 for his work on optical communication technology enabling even faster and more energy-efficient data transmission.
2014_143_Landesforschungspreis_2014_fuer_Christian_Koos_72dpi
Christian Koos is awarded this year’s State Prize for Applied Research (photo: Markus Breig, KIT).

Professor Christian Koos of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is awarded this year’s Baden-Württemberg State Prize for Applied Research. Minister for Science, Research, and Art, Theresia Bauer, made the announcement in Stuttgart today. Koos conducts research on nanophotonic components and novel techniques of optical high-speed communication. Together with colleagues of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) he and his team succeeded in transmitting a data stream of 1.44 terabit per second – corresponding to the data volume of more than 100 million telephone calls – using a miniaturized frequency comb as an optical source.

 

“Optical high-speed communication is the backbone of information society. Professor Christian Koos’ research is an outstanding contribution to the solution of important problems of the future. The State Research Prize awarded to him is another acknowledgment of his great achievements,” says KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka.

 

Professor Christian Koos and his co-workers conduct research on new optical components and transmission techniques for terabit communications at the KIT’s Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics and at its Institute of Microstructure Technology. This work allows to miniaturize optical components and enables integration on optical microchips. “We seek to reduce to the size of current rack-filling transmitter and receiver systems to a matchbox format. This makes systems not only less expensive, but also saves electricity; our components are among the most energy-efficient worldwide,” explains Koos. Besides terabit communication in large data centers, he envisages a number of other possible applications of his components, e.g., in optical sensing and metrology or in life sciences, where optical chips are also becoming more and more important.

 

Using optical frequency combs instead of conventional laser light is a key concept to speed up data transmission: Optical frequency combs consist of thousands of closely spaced spectral lines whose distances are defined very precisely. Each of these spectral lines can be used to transmit an optical data stream. “A single frequency comb source can replace a large number of conventional lasers in a data transmission system,” says Jörg Pfeifle, who conducts research on frequency combs in the group of Christian Koos. In combination with nano-scale components that can be integrated in larger quantities on one tiny silicon chips, optical frequency combs allow data streams to be processed with highest transmission rates in an energy-efficient way. Together with colleagues of the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Koos and his team last year were the first research group in the world to show that miniaturized optical frequency comb sources allow data transmission rates of up to 1.44 terabit per second over 300 km to be achieved. This corresponds to a data volume of more than 100 million telephone conversations.

 

Christian Koos intends to spend part of the prize money on investments into equipment opening up new possibilities in nanofabrication and data transmission. In addition, he also plans to make use of the prize money as “scientific venture capital,” allowing young scientists room for creative research. “I would like to use these funds to finance work of post-graduates and post-docs who want to try out new ideas on their own,” says Koos.

 

The Baden-Württemberg State Ministry for Science, Research, and Art awards the State Research Prize to outstanding scientists. This most highly endowed research prize of any German federal state in the amount of EUR 200,000 is given in equal parts to one scientist each in basic research and applied research. This year’s basic research award goes to Professor Katerina Harvati-Papatheodorou, a paleoanthropologist at the University of Tübingen. The awarding ceremony will be held in Stuttgart on December 8, 2014.

 

Some personal information about Professor Christian Koos

Christian Koos his with Karlsruhe Institute of Technology since 2010. Since 2013, he has headed the Institute of Photonics and Quantum Electronics and has been a member of the Management Board of the Institute of Microstructure Technology. The work awarded with the State Research Prize is part of the multi-disciplinary training program of the Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST), whose coordinator and spokesperson Christian Koos has been since 2012.

 

Koos studied electrical engineering and computer technology at the then University of Karlsruhe (TH), now the KIT, between 1997 and 2002. He finished his diploma thesis at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Afterwards, he obtained his doctorate at the High-Frequency and Quantum Electronics Laboratory of the University of Karlsruhe (TH), where he also did research as a post-doc. After spending two years with Carl Zeiss AG, where he was heading the technology radars for Nanotechnology and Metrology, Koos returned to Karlsruhe in 2010. Based on his research on nanophotonics and optical data transmission, the 36-year-old scientist was awarded a series of prizes and grants over the last years. In 2011, Koos obtained an “ERC Starting Grant” in the amount of EUR 1.5 million by the European Research Council. One year later, he won the Alfried Krupp Prize for Young University Teachers, which is endowed with 1 million euro. Christian Koos has authored and co-authored more than 200 publications in scientific journals and conference proceedings, more than 140 conference presentations, and more than 20 patent applications. The editors of the “Capital” business magazine repeatedly voted him among the “40 top talents in politics, industry, science.”

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz-Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

le, 29.10.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneYrd7∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseHoj4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 143/2014

Landesforschungspreis 2014 für Christian Koos

KIT-Wissenschaftler erhält 100.000 Euro für seine Arbeit zur optischen Kommunikationstechnik – für eine noch schnellere und energieeffizientere Datenübertragung
Christian Koos erhält in diesem Jahr den Landespreis für angewandte Forschung (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Christian Koos erhält in diesem Jahr den Landespreis für angewandte Forschung (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Professor Christian Koos vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) erhält in diesem Jahr den Preis des Landes Baden-Württemberg für angewandte Forschung. Das gab die Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Theresia Bauer heute in Stuttgart bekannt. Koos forscht an nanophotonischen Bauteilen und neuartigen Verfahren für die optische Hochgeschwindigkeitskommunikation. Zusammen mit Kollegen von der Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL) gelang es ihm und seinem Team, einen Datenstrom von 1,44 Terabit pro Sekunde – das entspricht dem Datenvolumen von mehr als 100 Millionen Telefongesprächen – mithilfe eines miniaturisierten optischen Frequenzkammes zu übertragen.

 

„Die optische Hochgeschwindigkeitskommunikation bildet das Rückgrat der Informationsgesellschaft. Mit seiner Forschung trägt Professor Christian Koos auf herausragende Weise zur Lösung wichtiger Zukunftsfragen bei. Die Auszeichnung mit dem Landesforschungspreis ist eine weitere Anerkennung seiner großartigen Leistungen“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka.

 

Professor Christian Koos und seine Mitarbeiter forschen am Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik und am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik des KIT an neuen optischen Bauteilen und Übertragungstechniken für die Terabit-Kommunikation. Ziel der Arbeiten ist es, die Bauteile zu miniaturisieren und auf optische Mikrochips zu integrieren. „Wir arbeiten daran, Sender- und Empfängersysteme, die heute noch ganze Schaltschränke füllen, auf das Format einer Streichholzschachtel zu reduzieren. Das macht die Systeme nicht nur kostengünstiger, sondern spart auch Strom – unsere Bauteile zählen zu den energieeffizientesten weltweit“, erläutert Koos. Neben der Terabit-Kommunikation in großen Datenzentren sieht er eine Reihe weiterer Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für seine Bauteile, etwa in der Sensorik und Messtechnik oder in den Lebenswissenschaften, in denen optische Chips zunehmend wichtig werden.

 

Eine zentrale Rolle beim Beschleunigen der Datenübertragung spielt der Einsatz von Frequenzkämmen statt herkömmlicher Laserstrahlen: Optische Frequenzkämme bestehen aus Tausenden dicht benachbarter Spektrallinien, deren Abstände sehr präzise definiert sind. Jede dieser Spektrallinien kann zur Übertragung eines Datensignals genutzt werden. „Eine einzige Frequenzkammquelle kann damit eine Vielzahl konventioneller Laser in einem Datenübertragungssystem ersetzen“, sagt Jörg Pfeifle, der in der Gruppe von Christian Koos zu Frequenzkämmen forscht. In der Kombination mit kleinsten Bauteilen, die eine hohe Zahl von Nanostrukturen auf einem winzigen Siliziumchip vereinen, ermöglichen optische Frequenzkämme die energieeffiziente Verarbeitung von Datenströmen mit höchsten Übertragungsraten auf kleinstem Raum. Gemeinsam mit Kollegen der Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL) haben Koos und sein Team im vergangenen Jahr als erste Forschergruppe weltweit gezeigt, dass miniaturisierte optische Frequenzkammquellen Datenübertragungsraten von bis zu 1,44 Terabit pro Sekunde über 300 Kilometer ermöglichen. Das entspricht einem Datenvolumen von mehr als 100 Millionen Telefongesprächen.

 

Das Preisgeld des Landesforschungspreises will Christian Koos zum einen in Geräte investieren, die neue Möglichkeiten in der Nanofabrikation und in der Datenübertragung eröffnen. Darüber hinaus will er das Preisgeld auch als „wissenschaftliches Wagniskapital“ nutzen und so Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler Freiräume für kreatives Forschen zu ermöglichen. „Ich möchte damit Arbeiten von Doktoranden und Post-Doktoranden finanzieren, die ganz neue Ideen eigenständig ausprobieren wollen“, so Koos.

 

Mit dem Landesforschungspreis Baden-Württemberg zeichnet das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst herausragende Forscherinnen und Forscher aus. Der mit 200.000 Euro höchstdotierte Forschungspreis eines Bundeslandes wird zu gleichen Teilen jeweils an eine Wissenschaftlerin oder einen Wissenschaftler aus der Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Forschung vergeben. Den Preis für Grundlagenforschung erhält in diesem Jahr Professorin Katerina Harvati-Papatheodorou, Paläoanthropologin an der Universität Tübingen. Die Preisverleihung findet am 8. Dezember 2014 in Stuttgart statt.

 

Professor Christian Koos – Zur Person
Seit 2010 forscht und lehrt Christian Koos am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, seit 2013 leitet er das Institut für Photonik und Quantenelektronik und ist Mitglied der kollegialen Leitung des Instituts für Mikrostrukturtechnik. Die durch den Landesforschungspreis ausgezeichneten Arbeiten sind eingebettet in das multidisziplinäre Ausbildungsprogramm der Helmholtz International Research School for Teratronics (HIRST), deren Koordinator und Sprecher Christian Koos seit 2012 ist.

 

Zuvor studierte er von 1997 bis 2002 Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik an der damaligen Universität Karlsruhe (TH), heute KIT; seine Diplomarbeit schloss er am Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) ab. Anschließend promovierte er am Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Quantenelektronik der Universität Karlsruhe (TH), wo er anschließend auch als Postdoktorand forschte. Nach zwei Jahren in der freien Wirtschaft – als Leiter der Technologieradare für Nanotechnologie und Messtechnik der Carl Zeiss AG – kehrte Koos nach Karlsruhe zurück. Für seine Forschung zur Nanophotonik und der optischen Datenübertragung wurde der 36-Jährige bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet. So erhielt er 2011 einen mit 1,5 Millionen Euro dotierten „ERC Starting Grant“ des Europäischen Forschungsrates. Ein Jahr später wurde er mit dem mit einer Million Euro dotierten Alfried-Krupp-Förderpreis ausgezeichnet. Christian Koos kann auf mehr als 200 international häufig zitierte Publikationen in Fachzeitschriften und Tagungsberichten, über 140 Fachvorträge und mehr als 20 Patentanmeldungen verweisen. Die Redakteure des Wirtschaftsmagazins Capital wählten ihn mehrfach unter die „40 Toptalente aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft“.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26 000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

le, 29.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneVek3∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseRak9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.