Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 140/2014

German IT Security Prize Goes to Karlsruhe

First Place for ”Blurry Box®“: Method Protects Software against Attackers – Joint IT Security Research Project of FZI, KIT, and Wibu-Systems
2014_140_Deutscher_IT-Sicherheitspreis_geht_nach_Karlsruhe_72dpi
The first place in the IT Security Contest was reached by the application of Kerckhoffs’s principle for software protection. With their Blurry Box® method, the Karlsruhe scientists won EUR 100,000. (© RUB, Photo: Sadrowski)

A mechanism that protects software against attackers even when the latter know this security mechanism: With the jointly developed innovative Blurry Box® security method, the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), and Wibu-Systems AG won the first place in the 5th German IT Security Contest of the Horst Görtz Foundation. The prize money totals EUR 100,000.

 

“The Blurry Box method is based on Kerckhoffs’s principle. It is not the security method that is kept secret, but the exchangeable key. In this way, protection against unauthorized copying, manipulation, industrial espionage, and sabotage is enhanced,” Professor Jörn Müller-Quade, Holder of the Chair for Cryptography and Security of KIT and Director of the FZI, explains. The method can already be applied reliably and, at the same time, discussed publicly and developed further.

 

The German IT Security Prize is among the highest valued privately donated science awards in Germany. Main criteria for the evaluation of concepts and solutions by the jury of top-class IT security experts from science and industry are innovativeness, real market potential, and usability.

 

During yesterday’s awards ceremony at Ruhr-Universität Bochum, the project coordinators Professor Jörn Müller-Quade and Oliver Winzenried, CEO of Wibu-Systems AG, together with their team, were handed over the certificate for the first prize of the IT Security Contest and the prize money in the amount of EUR 100,000.

 

In the area of IT security in research, education, and science and with its numerous IT companies, the Karlsruhe Technology Region is rather strong. Here, scientists in cooperation with regional enterprises work on IT security solutions and concepts.

 

KASTEL at KIT is one of three national Competence Centers for Cyber Security funded by the federal government. Here, eleven chairs of KIT cooperate with the Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies, and Image Exploitation, the FZI, and partners in the research and education sectors for the close-to-application development of security solutions.

 

Last week, the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI), an independent institution for technology transfer, was granted funding under the Baden-Württemberg Forward-IT initiative. It will now be established as a central contact point for small and medium-size enterprises having security-related problems. For their clients, the FZI scientists develop cryptography and verification methods as well as safety protocols and threat analyses. Research concentrates on IT security management and application security.

 

“Our research and transfer activities are characterized by an interdisciplinary approach to security: The cooperation of lawyers, IT security experts, cryptographers, and software engineers allows for the analysis of security of highly complex systems. This will be of increasing importance in the future, as more and more devices will be increasingly equipped with information technologies and the networks will become increasingly complex. We focus on this networking of devices and living environments and develop reliable and reproducible security guarantees,” KASTEL Manager and FZI Director Müller-Quade emphasizes.

 

In cooperation with a strong network of leading enterprises in the Karlsruhe Technology Region, such as Wibu-Systems AG, IT security competence is planned to be extended. The prize money granted by the Horst Görtz Foundation will be of great help.

 

The founder of the Horst Görtz Foundation, Dr. Horst Görtz, has been actively involved in the development of IT security in Germany for many years. With the German IT Security Prize, his Foundation wishes to contribute to strengthening and promoting IT security “made in Germany”.

 

Blurry Box® is a registered trademark of Wibu-Systems AG.

 

The FZI Research Center for Information Technology at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is a non-profit institution for applied research in information technology and technology transfer. Its task is to provide businesses and public institutions with the latest research findings in information technology. It also qualifies young scientists for their career in academics or business as well as self-employment. Led by professors from various departments, research teams at FZI interdisciplinarily develop and prototype concepts, software, hardware, and systems solutions for their clients. With the FZI House of Living Labs, a unique research environment is available for applied research. The FZI has a branch office in Berlin.

 

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

 

The photo of printing quality may be downloaded at http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/mam/images/2014/

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz-Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

le, 24.10.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneJya9∂kit edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 140/2014

Deutscher IT-Sicherheitspreis geht nach Karlsruhe

Erster Platz für „Blurry Box®“: Verfahren schützt Software vor Angreifern – gemeinsame IT-Sicherheitsforschung von FZI, KIT und Wibu-Systems ausgezeichnet
Den 1. Platz des IT-Sicherheitspreises belegte die Anwendung des Kerckhoffs‘schen Prinzips für den Softwareschutz. Mit ihrem Blurry-Box®-Verfahren gewannen die Karlsruher 100.000 Euro. (©RUB, Foto: Sadrowski)
Den 1. Platz des IT-Sicherheitspreises belegte die Anwendung des Kerckhoffs‘schen Prinzips für den Softwareschutz. Mit ihrem Blurry-Box®-Verfahren gewannen die Karlsruher 100.000 Euro. (©RUB, Foto: Sadrowski)

Ein Softwareschutz, der nachweislich sogar dann vor Angreifern schützt, wenn diese den Schutzmechanismus kennen: Mit dem gemeinsam entwickelten innovativen Sicherheitsverfahren Blurry Box® haben das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik, das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Wibu-Systems AG den ersten Platz beim 5. Deutschen IT-Sicherheitspreis der Horst Görtz Stiftung nach Karlsruhe geholt. Für den ersten Platz erhält das Team 100.000 Euro.

 

„Das Blurry-Box-Verfahren funktioniert nach dem Kerckhoffs’schen Prinzip: Es wird nicht das Schutzverfahren selbst geheim gehalten, sondern nur ein austauschbarer Schlüssel. Damit wird ein höheres Schutzniveau gegenüber unerlaubter Vervielfältigung, Manipulation, Industriespionage und -sabotage erreicht“, erläutert Professor Jörn Müller-Quade, Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Kryptographie und Sicherheit am KIT und Direktor am FZI. Das Verfahren sei ein Softwareschutz gegen Manipulation und Industriespionage, der bereits jetzt sicher eingesetzt, gleichzeitig öffentlich diskutiert und weiterentwickelt werden könne.

 

Der deutsche IT-Sicherheitspreis zählt zu den höchst dotierten privat gestifteten Wissenschaftspreisen in Deutschland. Hauptkriterien für die Bewertung der Konzepte und Lösungen durch die hochkarätige Jury aus IT-Sicherheitsexperten aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft waren der Innovationsgrad, die realen Marktchancen und die Nutzbarkeit.

 

Bei der gestrigen Preisverleihung an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum erhielten die Projektverantwortlichen Professor Jörn Müller-Quade und Oliver Winzenried, Vorstand der Wibu-Systems AG, gemeinsam mit ihrem Team die Urkunde für den ersten Platz beim IT-Sicherheitspreis und das Preisgeld in Höhe von 100.000 Euro.

 

Die Technologieregion Karlsruhe ist im Bereich der IT-Sicherheit in Forschung, Lehre und Wissenschaft, aber auch mit ihren zahlreichen IT-Unternehmen bestens aufgestellt: Hand in Hand arbeiten hier Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit den regionalen Unternehmen an Lösungen und Konzepten für IT-Sicherheit.

 

Mit KASTEL ist am KIT eines von drei von der Bundesregierung geförderten nationalen Kompetenzzentren für Cybersicherheit beheimatet. Hier arbeiten elf Lehrstühle des KIT gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung und dem FZI sowie mit Partnern aus Forschung und Lehre anwendungsbezogen an Sicherheitslösungen.

 

Das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik als unabhängige Transfereinrichtung hat erst letzte Woche durch die Forward-IT-Initiative des Landes Mittel zugesprochen bekommen, um zentrale Anlaufstelle für KMU und deren Sicherheitsfragestellungen zu werden. Für ihre Auftraggeber erarbeiten die FZI-Wissenschaftler neben Kryptographie- und Verifikationsverfahren auch Sicherheitsprotokolle oder Bedrohungsanalysen und forschen an IT-Sicherheitsmanagement und Anwendungssicherheit.

 

„Wesentliches Merkmal unserer Forschungs- und Transferaktivitäten ist der interdisziplinäre Zugang zur Sicherheit: Die Zusammenarbeit von Juristen, Experten für IT-Sicherheit, Kryptographen und Software-Ingenieuren ermöglicht es, Sicherheit für Systeme von großer Komplexität zu betrachten. Dies wird in Zukunft immer wichtiger, da immer mehr Geräte einen hohen Anteil an IT-Technik haben und immer stärker vernetzt sind. Wir widmen uns auch diesem Zusammenwachsen von Geräten und Lebenswelten und entwickeln verlässliche und nachvollziehbare Sicherheitsgarantien“, so KASTEL-Leiter und FZI-Direktor Müller-Quade.

 

Gemeinsam mit einem starken Netzwerk an technologieführenden Unternehmen der Technologieregion Karlsruhe wie die Wibu-Systems AG wollen die Partner ihre Kompetenz in IT-Sicherheitsfragen weiter ausbauen. Die jetzt gewonnene Auszeichnung durch die Horst Görtz Stiftung unterstützt dieses Vorhaben.

 

Der Gründer der Horst Görtz Stiftung, Dr. Horst Görtz, war selbst viele Jahre aktiv an der Entwicklung der IT-Sicherheit in Deutschland beteiligt. Mit dem Deutschen IT-Sicherheitspreis möchte seine Stiftung dazu beitragen, die Position von IT-Sicherheit “Made in Germany” zu festigen und zu fördern.

 

Blurry-Box® ist eine eingetragene Marke der WIBU-SYSTEMS AG.

 

Das Foto steht in druckfähiger Qualität auf zum Download unter:
http://aktuell.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/mam/images/2014/5._preis_f%C3%BCr_it_sicherheit-8337.jpg

 

Das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie ist eine gemeinnützige Einrichtung für Informatik-Anwendungsforschung und Technologietransfer. Es bringt die neuesten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse der Informationstechnologie in Unternehmen und öffentliche Einrichtungen und qualifiziert junge Menschen für eine akademische und wirtschaftliche Karriere oder den Sprung in die Selbstständigkeit. Geführt von Professoren verschiedener Fakultäten entwickeln die Forschungsgruppen am FZI interdisziplinär für ihre Auftraggeber Konzepte, Software-, Hardware- und Systemlösungen und setzen die gefundenen Lösungen prototypisch um. Mit dem FZI House of Living Labs steht eine einzigartige Forschungsumgebung für die Anwendungsforschung bereit. Das FZI ist mit einer Außenstelle in Berlin vertreten.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 24.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneNdh6∂kit edu