Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 139/2014

Energy Lab 2.0 – The Smart Energiewende Platform

New Research Facility Links Producers with Storage Systems and Consumers – Investment Totaling EUR 22 Million
2014_139_Energy_Lab_2_0___Intelligente_Energiewendeplattform_2_72dpi
caption at the end of the text

The Energy Lab 2.0 at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a smart platform to analyze the interaction of components of future energy systems. Today, the project associated with an investment of EUR 22 million was started officially. The Energy Lab 2.0 aims at an acceleration of the Energiewende and in particular the integration of renewable energies in electricity production. It can be used to test closely to reality new approaches to stabilizing power grids. The platform pools electric, thermal, and chemical energy flows as well as new information and communciation technologies. Project partners are the German Aerospace Center (DLR) and Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ), both members of the Helmholtz Association. The Energy Lab 2.0 is financed by the Federal Republic of Germany and the state of Baden-Württemberg.

 

“The Energiewende is a central topic of relevance to the future in Germany, it is a big challenge for research and industry. For the Energiewende, the transformation of the energy system, to succeed, appropriate and reliable storage technologies, a smart extension of the grid, and securing of grid stability are of crucial importance. On the way towards electricity supply based on renewable energy sources, the Energy Lab 2.0 will make essential contributions. The Energy Lab 2.0 and in particular its simulation environment will help us advance the scientific use of big data and digitization,” comments Theresia Bauer, Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts.

 

“The Energy Lab 2.0 will be a unique infrastructure facility in Europe to support Germany in the development of options for transforming the energy system. The Energy Lab 2.0 will allow for the testing of new approaches to stabilizing power grids. It is our objective to further strengthen Germany as a location of research and to further extend our leadership in next-generation technologies in the energy sector in particular. Germany’s research institutions already are much sought-after partners for issues relating to energy. The institutions involved in the Energy Lab 2.0 project, namely, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, the German Aerospace Center, and Forschungszentrum Jülich, are among the biggest energy research centers in Europe and flagships of Germany as a location of energy research,” says the Undersecretary of State of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Dr. Georg Schütte.

 

“To support the transformation of the energy system in Germany, our clear priorities lie on renewable energy sources, energy storage systems, and grid technologies,” says KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka, who also is the Research Field Coordinator Energy of the Helmholtz Association. “Integrating energy from fluctuating renewable sources, such as the sun and the wind, into the grid and ensuring the required security of supply are among the biggest challenges we face. The findings made in the Energy Lab 2.0 will provide major indications as to how future power grids in Germany may be designed.”

 

“Transformation of the energy system requires the establishment of new technologies to convert renewable electricity into other energy carriers, such as hydrogen,” explains Professor Harald Bolt, Member of the Board of Directors of Forschungszentrum Jülich. “This “green” hydrogen can be used in mobility and industry and also be reconverted into electricity. Forschungszentrum Jülich contributes its competence relating to hydrogen technologies and their integration into the energy system to the Energy Lab 2.0.”

 

“The future energy system requires a much more flexible operation of power plants,” emphasizes Professor Manfred Aigner, Director of the DLR Institute of Combustion Technology. “This is a central challenge of the Energiewende. For this reason, the DLR develops a combustion system for gas turbine power plants, which allows for quick load cycling and the efficient and environmentally compatible use of various fuels, from natural gas to hydrogen. At the same time, the DLR contributes its expertise in the area of thermal energy storage for further flexibilization of operation to the Energy Lab,” Aigner continues.

 

“The problem of supplying efficient, sustainable, and secure power grids for the wide use of renewable energy sources is far from being solved,” Professor Jürgen Mlynek, President of the Helmholtz Association, says. “For the first time in Europe, the Energy Lab 2.0 will combine larger test facilities for electricity production, energy storage, and energy use in order to develop a smart system for energy supply. Pooling of expertise of various Helmholtz Centers once again shows how necessary interdisciplinary scientific cooperation is,” Mlynek adds.

 

The Energy Lab 2.0
The project is embedded in the overall energy strategy of the Helmholtz Association. For the Energy Lab 2.0, the partners plan to build a simulation and control center and a network of energy technology facilities on KIT Campus North, an electrolysis test center at Forschungszentrum Jülich, and a facility for testing power-to-heat concepts at the German Aerospace Center, Stuttgart, by 2018.

 

The energy platform will link characteristic components for power, heat, and synthesis gas production with various energy storage technologies and consumers. For this purpose, large facilities existing at KIT will be integrated into the Energy Lab 2.0: The solar power storage park, the bioliq pilot facility, and selected energy consumers on KIT Campus North. Electrical, electrochemical, and chemical storage systems as well as a load- and fuel-flexible gas turbine with current generator will be newly constructed and are planned to complement the network. A simulation and control center at KIT will integrate all network components of KIT and the partners in a smart energy system using information and communication technologies. This infrastructure facility is the first of its type in Europe.

 

In the long term, additional external test facilities and, in cooperation with industry, also large external components of the energy system, such as wind parks, geothermal facilities, conventional power plants, and large industrial consumers, can be integrated into the Energy Lab 2.0.

 

Stepwise Development and Validation
Under the Energy Lab 2.0 project, scientists will first develop model tools and approaches to grid stabilization. For this purpose, an experimentation field with all relevant system components on a smaller scale and a test field for electric grid components with real-time simulation will be used. Subsequent validation will take place on the network level. Based on the results, real energy systems will be simulated in a third step and analyzed for e.g. grid stability. The project is managed by Professor Roland Dittmeyer, Head of the KIT Institute for Micro Process Engineering (IMVT).

 

Of the total investment in the amount of EUR 22 million, 16.75 milion will be invested at KIT. The Helmholtz Association funds the Energy Lab 2.0 with a total of EUR 15 million. Three million are provided by the state of Baden-Württemberg. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supports the project with an additional amount of EUR 2.5 million, the share of the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) is EUR 1.5 million. The Energy Lab 2.0 is scheduled for an operation duration of 20 years.

 

 

Model of the Energy Lab 2.0. (Photo: Markus Breig)

 

 

Photo 1: Model of the Energy Lab 2.0. (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

Photo 2: Professor Roland Dittmeyer (KIT), Dr. Bernd Emonts (FZJ), Professor Holger Hanselka (President of KIT), Theresia Bauer (Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg), Dr. Herbert Zeisel (Section Head, Federal Ministry of Education and Research), Professor Manfred Aigner (DLR) (from left to right. Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 3: The solar power storage park at KIT is part of the Energy Lab 2.0. (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 4: Theresia Bauer (Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts) in front of the model of the Energy Lab 2.0. (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 5: Head of the Energy Lab 2.0 project, Professor Roland Dittmeyer. (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 6: President of KIT: Professor Holger Hanselka. (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 7: Theresia Bauer (Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science, Research, and the Arts). (Photo: Patrick Langer, KIT)

Photo 8: DLR’s high-temperature storage system HOTREG for thermal energy storage is digitally integrated into the Energy Lab 2.0. The high-temperature heat stored in the system can either be used to supply process heat or for conversion into electrical power. (Photo: DLR/Ernsting)

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, lg, 24.10.2014
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseByg0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 139/2014

Energy Lab 2.0 – Intelligente Energiewendeplattform

Neuartige Forschungsinfrastruktur vernetzt Erzeuger, Speicher und Verbraucher – Investitionssumme beträgt 22 Millionen Euro
Markus Breig KIT
Bildunterschrift siehe Textende

Mit dem Energy Lab 2.0 entsteht am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine intelligente Plattform, um das Zusammenspiel der Komponenten künftiger Energiesysteme zu erforschen. Heute ist das Projekt mit einer Investitionssumme von 22 Millionen Euro gestartet. Das Energy Lab 2.0 beschleunigt die Energiewende, besonders die Integration erneuerbarer Energien bei der Stromerzeugung. Denn es erlaubt, neue Ansätze zur Stabilisierung der Energienetze realitätsnah zu erproben. Ein Anlagenverbund verknüpft elektrische, thermische und chemische Energieströme sowie neue Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien. Partner im Projekt sind die Helmholtz-Zentren Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und Forschungszentrum Jülich (FZJ). Bund und Land fördern das Energy Lab 2.0.

 

„Die Energiewende ist ein zentrales Zukunftsthema in Deutschland, eine große Herausforderung für die Forschung wie für die Wirtschaft. Schlüsselfragen für das Gelingen der Energiewende sind geeignete und zuverlässige Speichertechnologien sowie der intelligente Netzausbau und der Erhalt der Netzstabilität. Auf dem Weg zu einer Stromversorgung, die sich aus erneuerbaren Energien speist, wird das Energy Lab 2.0 des KIT wichtige Beiträge liefern. Das Energy Lab 2.0 wird uns durch die Simulationsumgebungen auch im wissenschaftlichen Umgang mit Big Data und Digitalisierung voranbringen", kommentiert Theresia Bauer, Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg.

 

„Mit dem Energy Lab 2.0 wird eine in Europa einzigartige Infrastruktur geschaffen, um Deutschland bei der Entwicklung von Optionen zur Gestaltung der Energiewende zu unterstützen. Das Energy Lab 2.0 macht es möglich, neue Ansätze zur Stabilisierung der Energienetze zu erproben. Unser Ziel ist es, den Forschungsstandort Deutschland weiter zu stärken und unsere Technologieführerschaft bei Zukunftstechnologien auch und gerade im Energiebereich weiter auszubauen. Deutschlands Forschungseinrichtungen sind heute ein begehrter Partner bei Energiefragen. Die am Forschungsvorhaben Energy Lab 2.0 beteiligten Einrichtungen Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt und Forschungszentrum Jülich gehören zu den größten Energieforschungszentren in Europa und sind Aushängeschilder für den Energieforschungsstandort Deutschland“, so der Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, Dr. Georg Schütte.

 

„Um die Energiewende in Deutschland voranzutreiben, gehören erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netztechnologien zu unseren klaren Prioritäten“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka, der gleichzeitig Vizepräsident der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft für den Forschungsbereich Energie ist. „Energie aus fluktuierenden erneuerbaren Quellen wie Sonne und Wind in das Netz zu integrieren und dabei die erforderliche Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten, ist eine der großen Herausforderungen. Die Ergebnisse, die wir aus dem Energy Lab 2.0 gewinnen, werden wichtige Anhaltspunkte für die Gestaltung künftiger Energienetze in Deutschland liefern.“

 

„Der Umbau des Energiesystems erfordert es, neue Technologien zu etablieren, um den erneuerbaren Strom in andere Energieträger wie Wasserstoff umzuwandeln“, erläutert Professor Harald Bolt, Vorstandsmitglied des Forschungszentrums Jülich. „Dieser ‚grüne‘ Wasserstoff kann in der Mobilität und Industrie genutzt und auch wieder rückverstromt werden. Hier beteiligt sich das Forschungszentrum Jülich am Energy Lab 2.0 mit seinen Kompetenzen zu den Wasserstofftechnologien und deren Integration in das Energiesystem.“

 

„Das künftige Energiesystem verlangt einen wesentlich flexibleren Betrieb von Kraftwerken“, betont Professor Manfred Aigner, Direktor des DLR-Instituts für Verbrennungstechnik, eine zentrale Herausforderung der Energiewende. „Das DLR entwickelt deshalb ein Verbrennungssystem für Gasturbinen-Kraftwerke, das schnelle Lastwechsel ermöglicht und unterschiedliche Brennstoffe – von Erdgas bis Wasserstoff – effizient und umweltfreundlich nutzen kann. Gleichzeitig bringt das DLR seine Expertise im Bereich der thermischen Speicherung für die weitere Betriebsflexibilisierung in das Energy Lab ein“, so Aigner weiter.

 

„Noch immer ist das Problem nicht gelöst, effiziente, nachhaltige und sichere Stromnetze bereitzustellen, um erneuerbare Energien flächendeckend einzuspeisen“, sagt Professor Jürgen Mlynek, Präsident der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. „Mit dem Energy Lab 2.0 werden in Europa erstmals größere Versuchsanlagen zur Stromerzeugung, Energiespeicherung und –nutzung miteinander kombiniert, um daraus ein intelligentes Gesamtsystem zur Energieversorgung zu entwickeln. Die Verknüpfung der Expertisen unterschiedlicher Helmholtz-Zentren zeigt einmal mehr, wie notwendig übergreifendes wissenschaftliches Arbeiten ist“, so Mlynek.

 

Das Energy Lab 2.0
Das Projekt ist eingebettet in die Gesamtstrategie der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft zum Thema Energie. Für das Energy Lab 2.0 errichten die Partner bis 2018 ein Simulations- und Kontrollzentrum und einen energietechnischen Anlagenverbund am KIT-Campus Nord, ein Elektrolyse-Testzentrum am Forschungszentrum Jülich und eine Testanlage zur Erprobung von Power-to-Heat-Konzepten am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt in Stuttgart.
Der Anlagenverbund verknüpft charakteristische Komponenten zur Strom-, Wärme- und Synthesegaserzeugung mit verschiedenen Energiespeichertechnologien und Verbrauchern. Dazu werden vorhandene große Versuchseinrichtungen am KIT in das Energy Lab 2.0 integriert: der Solarstrom-Speicher-Park, die bioliq-Pilotanlage und ausgewählte Energieverbraucher am KIT-Campus Nord. Elektrische, elektrochemische und chemische Speicher sowie eine last- und brennstoffflexible Gasturbine mit Generator werden als neu zu schaffende Komponenten den Anlagenverbund ergänzen. Ein Simulations- und Kontrollzentrum am KIT verknüpft alle Komponenten des Anlagenverbundes am KIT und der Partner über Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien zu einem intelligenten Gesamtsystem („Smart Energy System“). In der Kombination ist diese Infrastruktur die erste ihrer Art in Europa.

Langfristig lassen sich zusätzlich externe Versuchsanlagen und – in Kooperationen mit der Industrie – auch große externe Komponenten des Energiesystems wie Windparks, Geothermieanlagen, konventionelle Kraftwerke und große industrielle Verbraucher in das Energy Lab 2.0 einbinden.

 

Stufenweise Entwicklung und Validierung
Im Energy Lab 2.0 entwickeln Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die Werkzeuge und Ansätze zur Netzstabilisierung zunächst im Modell. Dazu dienen ein Experimentierfeld mit allen relevanten Systemkomponenten in kleinerem Maßstab sowie ein Testfeld für elektrische Netzkomponenten mit Echtzeitsimulation. Die Validierung erfolgt anschließend auf der Ebene des Anlagenverbundes. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse können im dritten Schritt reale Energiesysteme simuliert und beispielsweise unter dem Blickwinkel der Netzstabilität analysiert werden. Projektleiter ist Professor Roland Dittmeyer, Leiter des KIT-Instituts für Mikroverfahrenstechnik (IMVT).

 

Von der gesamten Investitionssumme mit 22 Millionen Euro werden 16,75 Millionen Euro am KIT investiert. Die Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft bringt insgesamt 15 Millionen Euro in das Energy Lab 2.0 ein. Mit drei Millionen Euro fördert das Land Baden-Württemberg das Energy Lab 2.0. Das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unterstützt das Projekt mit zusätzlichen 2,5 Millionen Euro, das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) mit 1,5 Millionen Euro. Das Energy Lab 2.0 ist für einen Betrieb über 20 Jahre ausgelegt. 

 

 

 Modell des Energy Lab 2.0 (Bild: Markus Breig)

 

Bildunterschrift 1: Modell Energy Lab 2.0 (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 2: Prof. Roland Dittmeyer (KIT), Dr. Bernd Emonts (FZJ), Prof. Holger Hanselka, (Präsident des KIT), Theresia Bauer (Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg), Dr. Herbert Zeisel (Ministerialrat, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung), Prof. Manfred Aigner (DLR) (v.l.n.r. Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 3: Die Solarstrom-Speicheranlage am KIT ist Teil des Energy Lab 2.0 (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 4: Theresia Bauer (Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg) vor dem Modell Energy Lab 2.0 (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 5: Projektleiter Energy Lab 2.0 Prof. Roland Dittmeyer ( Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 6: Präsident des KIT: Prof. Holger Hanselka (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 7: Theresia Bauer (Ministerin für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg) (Foto: Patrick Langer, KIT)
Bildunterschrift 8:
Das DLR bindet den Hochtemperaturspeicher HOTREG zur thermischen Energiespeicherung digital in das Energy Lab 2.0 ein. Die in der Anlage gespeicherte Hochtemperaturwärme kann entweder zur Bereitstellung von Prozesswärme oder zur Rückverstromung genutzt werden. (Foto: DLR/Ernsting)

 


 

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, lg, 24.10.2014
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGaj9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.