Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 138/2014

Smart Electricity Meters and Privacy

Close-to-practice Smart Metering Concept Measures Electricity Flows, but Does not Allow Any Conclusions to Be Drawn with Respect to the Habits of Users

Smart meters supply information about the electricity consumption of a household in a quick and detailed manner. However, these data might also reveal how many inhabitants a household has, when they are at home, and which devices they possess. According to the doctoral thesis of the computer scientist Sören Finster of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), using the advantages of smart metering and maintaining privacy require a small expenditure only. For this purpose, the measurement data of several households are combined.

 

Power grids are gaining complexity. An increasing energy share is produced by wind turbines and photovoltaic systems, cogeneration units, and biogas facilities that are distributed over the complete power grid. “Coordination of this multitude of decentralized power producers is a big challenge,” says KIT computer scientist Dr. Sören Finster. He thinks that smart metering is an important tool to manage this challenge. Smart electricity meters transmit data on current electricity consumption via the internet, for instance. In this way, utility companies are informed rapidly about when which amount of electricity is needed and they can adapt their production accordingly. As a source of information in a smart power grid, smart meters are very useful for supply security and energy efficiency.

 

Regular read-out provides a detailed overview of electricity consumption, but also insights into the everyday life of a household. Conclusions may be drawn with respect to private circumstances. “When using smart metering for the implementation of the smart grid, protection of privacy is indispensable,” Finster emphasizes. This above all implies protection against unauthorized access of the measured data. “If my power consumption allows the conclusion to be drawn that I do not have any air-conditioning system and I receive a lot of advertising material, no damage is done to me, but I have the uncomfortable feeling of being watched,” the scientist says. Moreover, by unauthorized access to the data collected, third parties may obtain information about when certain inhabitants are away from home or when certain devices are operated.

 

Finster’s doctoral thesis “Protokolle für privatsphärengerechtes Smart Metering” (Protocols for privacy-compliant smart metering) describes how data can be transmitted and used without allowing conclusions to be drawn with respect to private habits. The thesis was written at the Chair of Professor Martina Zitterbart of the KIT Institute of Telematics. Finster designed special communication protocols, by means of which the data can be concealed before they are sent and the measured values are summarized over several households and shifted in the figure space. Randomly generated masking data that do not contain any information about the measurement value are used to disguise the measured data. “By means of these pre-processed measurement values, the data can be transmitted with privacy being ensured,” Finster says. The recipient can no longer draw any conclusions with respect to the original measurement data. Still, the sum of the values transmitted corresponds to the sum of the measured values. ”They supply valuable information about the current consumption situation, but do no longer put the privacy of individual households at risk,” the scientist emphasizes. Finster proves that the idea of peer-to-peer privacy protection by bundling data of several households without any additional infrastructure can be applied in reality with a small expenditure only. The processes used require little computing power of the smart meters and, hence, are associated with a small electricity consumption and low production costs.

 

According to the KIT scientist, utility companies and manufacturers of smart meters are already interested in the software solution in order to meet their customers’ potential needs for confidentiality-compliant smart metering. By 2020, the number of smart electricity meters installed worldwide is expected to total 800 million.

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

afr, 22.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
pressePst6∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneDcu5∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 138/2014

Intelligente Stromzähler können Privatsphäre wahren

Praxisnahes Konzept für Smart Metering zeigt Stromflüsse auf, erlaubt aber keine Rückschlüsse auf die Lebensgewohnheiten einzelner Nutzerinnen und Nutzer

Intelligente Messgeräte – Smart Meter – bieten zeitnah und detailliert Informationen über den Stromverbrauch eines Haushalts. Die Daten könnten aber auch Hinweise darauf liefern, wie viele Bewohner ein Haushalt hat, wann diese zuhause sind, und welche Geräte sie besitzen. Der Informatiker Sören Finster vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) zeigt in seiner Dissertation, dass es mit geringem Aufwand realisierbar ist, die Vorteile des Smart Metering zu nutzen und gleichzeitig die Privatsphäre zu schützen. Die Messdaten werden dabei über mehrere Haushalte hinweg zusammengefasst.

 

Stromnetze werden immer komplexer. Zunehmend stammt die eingespeiste Energie von Windkraft- und Photovoltaikanlagen, Kraft-Wärme-Kopplungen und Biogasanlagen, die über das gesamte Stromnetz verteilt sind. „Die Koordination dieser Vielzahl an dezentralen Stromerzeugern ist eine große Herausforderung“, sagt KIT-Informatiker Dr. Sören Finster. Das Smart Metering sei ein wichtiges Werkzeug, um dieser Herausforderung zu begegnen. Intelligente Stromzähler übermitteln – zum Beispiel über das Internet – Daten zum aktuellen Stromverbrauch. So erfährt der Stromanbieter zeitnah, wann Strom in welchem Umfang gebraucht wird und kann seine Produktion an den Bedarf anpassen. Als Informationsquelle innerhalb des intelligenten Stromnetzes, des Smart Grid, haben die intelligenten Messgeräte damit einen großen Nutzen im Hinblick auf Versorgungssicherheit und Energieeffizienz.

 

Das regelmäßige Auslesen bietet eine detaillierte Übersicht des Stromverbrauchs – ermöglicht aber auch Einblicke in das Alltagsleben innerhalb des Haushalts und Rückschlüsse auf private Informationen. „Damit Smart Metering als Werkzeug für die Realisierung des Smart Grids bedenkenlos eingesetzt werden kann, ist der Schutz der Privatsphäre unabdingbar“, betont Finster. Dies beinhalte vor allem den Schutz vor unbefugtem Zugriff auf Messdaten. „Wenn anhand meines Stromverbrauchs festzustellen ist, dass ich keine Klimaanlage besitze, und ich daraufhin Werbung für diese Geräte erhalte, entsteht mir zwar kein Schaden, aber ich empfinde es als unangenehm, weil ich mich beobachtet fühle“, sagt der Wissenschaftler. Es sei aber auch nicht auszuschließen, dass Dritte durch unerlaubten Zugriff auf die gesammelten Daten erfahren, zu welcher Zeit bestimmte Bewohner außer Haus sind oder wann welche Geräte laufen.

 

Wie sich die Daten übertragen und dadurch sinnvoll einsetzen lassen, ohne Rückschlüsse auf private Gewohnheiten zu ermöglichen, beschreibt Finsters Doktorarbeit „Protokolle für privatsphärengerechtes Smart Metering“, die er am KIT-Institut für Telematik am Lehrstuhl von Professor Martina Zitterbart verfasst hat. Der Informatiker hat speziell ausgelegte Kommunikationsprotokolle entworfen, die es ermöglichen die Daten vor dem Versenden zu verschleiern, indem die Messwerte über mehrere Haushalte hinweg zusammengefasst und im Zahlenraum verschoben werden. Zufällig generierte Maskierungsdaten, die keine Informationen über den Messwert enthalten, werden dazu genutzt, die Messwerte zu tarnen. „Mittels dieser vorverarbeiteten Messwerte können die Daten privatsphärengerecht übertragen werden“, so Finster. Der Empfänger kann nicht mehr auf die ursprünglichen Messwerte schließen, dennoch entspricht die Summe der übertragenen Werte der Summe dieser Messwerte. „Sie liefern wertvolle Informationen über die aktuelle Verbrauchssituation, stellen aber keine Gefahr mehr für die Privatsphäre einzelner Haushalte dar“, betont der Wissenschaftler. Der Informatiker weist nach, dass sich die Idee dieses Peer-to-Peer-Privatsphärenschutzes, der Daten mehrerer Haushalte ohne zusätzliche Infrastruktur bündelt, mit nur geringem Aufwand real einsetzen lässt. Dabei stellen die eingesetzten Verfahren nur geringe Ansprüche an die Rechenleistung der Smart Meter und ermöglichen damit geringen Stromverbrauch und geringe Produktionskosten.

 

Stromhändler und Hersteller von Smart Metern zeigten sich bereits an der Software-Löung interessiert, so der KIT-Wissenschaftler, um gerüstet zu sein, falls ihre Kunden den Bedarf für privatsphärengerechtes Smart Metering sehen. Für das Jahr 2020 werde mit weltweit 800 Millionen installierten intelligenten Stromzählern gerechnet, so Finster.

 

Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

afr, 22.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneCuw3∂kit edu