Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 133/2014

Platform for Smart Data Research Starts Operation

Information Technology for Big Data in Industry and Daily Life / SDIL Links Research with Application / Project Presentation at the National IT Summit

Big amounts of digital data are gaining importance in industry and society, for instance, when efficiently controlling power grids, machine parks, or urban traffic. Now, the Smart Data Innovation Lab, SDIL, has started operation at KIT. On this national research platform, the tools required for handling these big data are to be developed. Industry and research cooperate closely in order to produce economic and societal added value from the big data and to generate smart data.

 

“We are very happy that we found so many competent partners for the SDIL,” Wilfried Juling, Head of Division 2 – Informatics, Economics, and Society of KIT, says. The consortium agreement and, hence, corporate charter of the SDIL was signed by leading companies and research institutes in various sectors: Bayer, Bosch, EnBW, IBM, SAP, Siemens, Software AG, the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence, Fraunhofer IAIS, Forschungszentrum Jülich, and KIT. Another 50 partners are associated. “Together, we will develop new algorithms and instruments to manage big data and to make them usable as a source of knowledge for our society.” 

 

“Already prior to the establishment of the platform did the partners fill SDIL with life,” emphasizes Michael Beigl, Coordinator of the SDIL at KIT. In four working groups on energy, smart cities, medicine, and industry 4.0, project ideas were discussed and first pilot projects identified. Now, the projects enter the implementation phase. Science and industry jointly generate new innovative applications. Among the research topics are decentralized energy markets, flood protection, and personalized medicine. “As soon as the SDIL will be in full swing, we want to work on about 30 smart data projects in parallel,” Beigl says.

 

“For the work of the SDIL, two high-performance data systems are presently available at the KIT,” emphasizes Bernhard Neumair, Director of the Steinbuch Centre for Computing, where the SDIL infrastructure is operated. The hardware will grow with the increasing demand of the research projects. Moreover, the SDIL will offer diverse and unique software equipment for smart data innovation. This includes the software packages of the partners SAP: HANA, Software AG: Terracotta, and IBM: Watson.

 

The SDIL supplies a research platform and latest analysis functions, by means of which big data of companies (real data sources) and publicly available data sources can be evaluated. In addition, the platform is planned to enhance information flow among individual branches and to result in competitive advantages for the companies. Small and medium-sized enterprises in particular are granted unique access to the infrastructure and know-how to foster their big data applications.

 

Via the SDIL, scientists are granted access to data of industrial processes under defined projects. These data are stored safely on the platform. The analysis of the data, such as the description and structurization of specific data sets or the finding of anomalies, take place in close cooperation with the industry partner, thus ensuring rapid knowledge and technology transfer. The participating research institutes will also develop universal tools and methods for data analysis. Via the platform, these tools and methods will be made available to all participants of the Smart Data Innovation Lab.

 

Apart from the SDIL, the KIT already operates other infrastructures for big data. Examples are the GridKa Data Center as part of the worldwide distributed network of the European Particle Accelerator Center CERN and the Large-scale Data Facility, LSDF, for science in the state of Baden-Württemberg. The KIT coordinates the Large-scale Data Management and Analysis – LSDMA project of the Helmholtz Association. For years now, the informatics institutes of KIT have been focusing on analysis methods, evaluation algorithms, and data security.

 

The concept of the SDIL research platform was developed by the working group “Education and research for a digital future” of the national IT summit of the federal government. The working group concentrates on the education and further qualification of specialists as well as on research for the digital future and has already implemented two successful initiatives in this connection: Software Campus Network (2011) and Academy Cube (2012).

 

The SDIL is embedded among others in the Baden-Württemberg Initiative “Forward IT” that is planned to strengthen the interaction of industry and science in the areas of industry 4.0, company software, mobility, and IT security.

Homepage of SDIL: www.sdil.de.

 

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 16.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNqv3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisFul5∂kit edu


The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 133/2014

Plattform für Smart-Data-Forschung nimmt Betrieb auf

Informationstechnologie für große Datenmengen (Big Data) aus Industrie und Alltag / SDIL verknüpft Forschung und Anwendung / Projektvorstellung beim Nationalen IT-Gipfel

Digitale Daten in großen Mengen werden in der Industrie und in der Gesellschaft immer wichtiger, etwa wenn es darum geht, Stromnetze, Maschinenparks oder Stadtverkehr effizient zu steuern. Mit dem Smart Data Innovation Lab SDIL am KIT hat nun eine nationale Forschungsplattform die Arbeit aufgenommen, auf der die Werkzeuge für den Umgang mit großen Datenmengen entwickelt werden. Industrie und Forschung arbeiten hier eng zusammen, um wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Mehrwert aus Big Data zu gewinnen und Smart Data zu generieren.

 

„Wir freuen uns, so viele kompetente Partner innerhalb von SDIL versammelt zu haben“, erklärt Wilfried Juling, Leiter des Bereichs 2 „Informatik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft“ am KIT. Die Konsortialvereinbarung und quasi Gründungsurkunde von SDIL haben nun führende Unternehmen und Forschungsinstitute aus verschiedensten Handlungsfeldern unterschrieben: Bayer, Bosch, EnBW, IBM, SAP, Siemens, Software AG, Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz, Fraunhofer IAIS, Forschungszentrum Jülich und das KIT. Weitere 50 Partner sind assoziiert. „Gemeinsam werden wir neue Algorithmen und Instrumente entwickeln, um große Datenmengen zu managen und für unsere Gesellschaft als Wissensquellen nutzbar zu machen.“

 

„Schon im Vorfeld haben die Partner SDIL mit Leben gefüllt“, betont Michael Beigl, Koordinator des SDIL am KIT. In vier Arbeitsgruppen zu den Gebieten Energie, Smart Cities, Medizin und Industrie 4.0 wurden Projektideen diskutiert und erste Pilotprojekte identifiziert. Mit dem nun erfolgten Startschuss können die Projekte in die Umsetzungsphase gehen. Wissenschaft und Industrie erzeugen so gemeinsam neue innovative Anwendungen. Zu den Forschungsthemen gehören zum Beispiel dezentrale Energiemärkte, Hochwasserschutz sowie personalisierte Medizin. „Wenn das SDIL volle Fahrt aufgenommen hat, wollen wir rund 30 Smart-Data-Projekte parallel bearbeiten“, so Beigl.

 

„Für die Arbeit des SDIL stehen derzeit am KIT zwei Hochleistungsdatensysteme zur Verfügung“, sagt Bernhard Neumair, Direktor des Steinbuch Centre for Computing, an dem die SDIL-Infrastruktur betrieben wird. Die Hardware wird mit dem Bedarf der Forschungsprojekte wachsen. Zudem bietet SDIL eine vielfältige und in ihrer Kombination einmalige Softwareausstattung für den Bereich Smart Data Innovation. Dazu zählen etwa die Softwarepakete der Partner SAP: HANA, Software AG: Terracotta und IBM: Watson.

 

Das SDIL stellt eine Forschungsplattform und modernste Analysefunktionen bereit, mit denen sich große Datenbestände aus Unternehmen (reale Datenquellen) und aus öffentlich verfügbaren Datenquellen auswerten lassen. Die Plattform möchte darüber hinaus einen besseren Informationsfluss zwischen einzelnen Branchen ermöglichen, der Wettbewerbsvorteile für die Unternehmen mit sich bringt. Gerade für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen öffnet SDIL einen einmaligen Zugang zu Infrastruktur und Knowhow, um ihren Big-Data-Anwendungen neue Impulse zu geben.

 

Die Wissenschaftler am SDIL erhalten im Rahmen abgegrenzter Projekte Zugang zu Daten aus Industrieprozessen, die auf der Plattform sicher gespeichert sind. Die Analyse der Daten, beispielsweise die Beschreibung und Strukturierung von spezifischen Datensätzen oder auch das Auffinden von Anomalien, erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem jeweiligen Unternehmenspartner, wodurch ein schneller Wissens- und Technologietransfer möglich wird. Die beteiligten Forschungsinstitute werden außerdem allgemeingültige Werkzeuge und Methoden zur Datenanalyse entwickeln, die über die Plattform allen Teilnehmern des Smart Data Innovation Lab zur Verfügung gestellt werden können.

 

Das KIT betreibt bereits neben dem SDIL weitere Infrastrukturen für große Datenmengen. Etwa das Datenzentrum GridKa als Teil eines weltweit verteilten Netzwerkes für das europäische Teilchenbeschleunigerzentrum CERN und die Large-Scale Data Facility – LSDF für die Wissenschaft im Land Baden-Württemberg. Im Projekt Large-Scale Data Management and Analysis – LSDMA der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft hat das KIT die Koordinatorrolle. Seit Jahren befassen sich Informatik-Institute am KIT mit Analysemethoden, Auswertealgorithmen und Datensicherheit.

 

Das Konzept für die Forschungsplattform SDIL wurde in der Arbeitsgruppe „Bildung und Forschung für die digitale Zukunft“ des Nationalen IT-Gipfels der Bundesregierung entwickelt. Die Arbeitsgruppe konzentriert sich auf die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Fachkräften sowie Forschung für die digitale Zukunft und verwirklichte in dem Zusammenhang bereits zwei erfolgreiche Initiativen: Software Campus Netzwerk (2011) und Academy Cube (2012).

 

Das SDIL fügt sich unter anderem in die Baden-Württemberg-Initiative „Forward IT“ ein, die das Zusammenwirken von Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft unter anderem auf den Feldern Industrie 4.0, Unternehmenssoftware, Mobilität und IT-Sicherheit stärken will.

 

Webseiten des SDIL: http://www.sdil.de

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 16.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu