Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 132/2014

Joachim Milberg Is Awarded Heinrich Hertz Guest Professorship

The Chairman of the BMW Supervisory Board Will Give Public Lectures at KIT on Oct. 21 and 22
2014_132_Joachim_Milberg_erhaelt_Heinrich_Hertz_Gastprofessur_72dpi
Professor Joachim Milberg, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BMW AG, is Heinrich Hertz Guest Professor 2014. (Photo: BMW)

The 2014 Heinrich Hertz Guest Professorship is awarded to Professor Joachim Milberg by the Karlsruhe University Society (KUG) and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). In two public lectures, the Chairman of the BMW Supervisory Board and former full Professor for Machine Tools and Operation Sciences of TU Munich, will speak about “Sustainable growth by innovations” and “Individual mobility” on October 21 and 22, 18 hrs, at the Tulla-Hörsaal on KIT Campus South (building 11.40, Englerstraße 11). In addition, Milberg will hold a seminar for KIT students.

 

Before Milberg’s first lecture as Heinrich Hertz Guest Professor on October 21, 2014, KIT President Holger Hanselka will make the opening speech. In his following lecture entitled “Sustainable growth by innovations – how Germany will remain a stronghold of industry in the future”, Joachim Milberg will emphasize the importance of innovations to sustainable prosperity. According to him, a strong and competitive industrial basis of high technological performance is required for this purpose. At the same time, more investments in research and education are needed to establish good framework conditions and, at the same time, to support the acceptance of and motivation for viable innovations in German society.

 

After the lecture, the awards ceremony will take place.

 

On October 22, the Heinrich Hertz Guest Professor will speak about “Individual mobility – a challenge for industry and science as well as for the society and politics.” Among others, the following questions will be dealt with: Will paradigms change in individual mobility in the future or are they already changing at the moment? Who or what are the drivers? Which role do alternative drive concepts, such as electric mobility, play and which are the challenges we face?

 

The Heinrich Hertz Guest Professorship is awarded every academic year to outstanding personalities in science, industry, culture, and politics for their services and contributions to research and the society by the Karlsruhe University Society (KUG) and KIT. The KUG donated the guest professorship in 1987 on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the discovery of electromagnetic waves by the physicist Heinrich Hertz at Universität Karlsruhe.

 

About the Person
Joachim Milberg, born 1943 in Verl (Westphalia), completed a training as a mechanic. He studied production engineering at the State Engineering School of Bielefeld and at the Technical University of Berlin. Then, he worked as a research assistant at the Institute of Machine Tools and Production Engineering of TU Berlin and was awarded his doctorate in 1971 for his thesis “Analytical and experimental studies relating to the stability limit in turning.” In 1972, Milberg started to work as an executive employee with the machine tool factory Gildemeister AG, Bielefeld. In 1978, he became Head of the “Automatic Lathe” Division. From 1981 to 1993, he was a full professor for machine tools and business administration at Technische Universität München. From 1991 to 1993, he was Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.

 

During his work with the university, Joachim Milberg developed the essential basis for further development of computer-integrated construction and production and, hence, contributed essentially to increasing the competitiveness of German industry. In 1993, Milberg started to work with BMW AG, Munich. From 1993 to 1999, he was Member of the Board of Management and from 1999 to 2002, Chief Executive Officer. Since 2002, he has been Member of the Supervisory Board and since 2004, its Chairman. Milberg succeeded in bringing the productivity and quality at the BMW factories to the highest level. This success as well as the successful solution of the Rover problem and the reorganization of BMW made him gain high recognition in the industry sector. From 2002 to 2009, Joachim Milberg was the Founding President of the acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering. He was awarded several prizes and honors.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 15.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJhz4∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-41150
monika landgrafPss7∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseCqo4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 132/2014

Joachim Milberg erhält Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur

Der BMW-Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende hält am 21. und 22. Oktober öffentliche Vorträge am KIT
Professor Joachim Milberg, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der BMW AG, ist Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor 2014. (Foto: BMW)
Professor Joachim Milberg, Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der BMW AG, ist Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor 2014. (Foto: BMW)

Die Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur 2014 der Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG) und des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) geht an Professor Joachim Milberg. In zwei öffentlichen Vorträgen spricht der BMW-Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende und ehemalige Ordinarius für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften an der TU München über „Nachhaltiges Wachstum durch Innovationen“ sowie „Individuelle Mobilität“. Termine sind der 21. und 22. Oktober, jeweils 18 Uhr, im Tulla-Hörsaal am KIT Campus Süd (Gebäude 11.40, Englerstraße 11). Darüber hinaus hält Milberg ein Seminar für Studierende des KIT.

 

Zum Auftakt der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur 2014 am 21. Oktober spricht KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka ein Grußwort. In seinem Vortrag über „Nachhaltiges Wachstum durch Innovationen – Wie Deutschland auch in Zukunft ein starker Industriestandort bleibt“ hebt Joachim Milberg die elementare Bedeutung von Innovationen für nachhaltigen Wohlstand hervor. Voraussetzung hierfür sei eine starke und wettbewerbsfähige industrielle Basis mit hoher technologischer Leistungsfähigkeit. Zugleich müssten mit mehr Investitionen in Forschung und Bildung die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen und gleichzeitig auch die Akzeptanz von und Motivation für zukunftsgerichtete Innovationen in Deutschland stärker gesellschaftlich verankert werden.

 

Nach dem Vortrag folgt die feierliche Preisübergabe.

 

Am 22. Oktober spricht der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessor über „Individuelle Mobilität – eine Herausforderung für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft sowie Gesellschaft und Politik“. Dabei wird es unter anderem um folgende Fragen gehen: Stehen wir vor oder sind wir bereits in einem Paradigmenwechsel in Sachen individueller Mobilität und wer oder was sind die Treiber? Welche Rolle spielen dabei alternative Antriebskonzepte wie die Elektromobilität und welche weiteren Herausforderungen müssen wir bewältigen?

 

Mit der Heinrich-Hertz-Gastprofessur ehren die KUG und das KIT in jedem akademischen Jahr herausragende Persönlichkeiten aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Kultur und Politik für ihre Leistungen und Beiträge zu Forschung und Gesellschaft. Die KUG stiftete die Gastprofessur 1987 – im 100. Jahr nach der Entdeckung der elektromagnetischen Wellen durch den Physiker Heinrich Hertz an der Universität Karlsruhe.

 

Zur Person
Joachim Milberg, geboren 1943 in Verl (Westfalen), absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Maschinenschlosser, studierte Fertigungstechnik an der Staatlichen Ingenieursschule Bielefeld und an der TU Berlin. Er war wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Institut für Werkzeugmaschinen und Fertigungstechnik der TU Berlin und promovierte 1971 mit der Arbeit „Analytische und experimentelle Untersuchungen zur Stabilitätsgrenze bei der Drehbearbeitung“. Milberg trat 1972 als leitender Angestellter in die Werkzeugmaschinenfabrik Gildemeister AG in Bielefeld ein und wurde 1978 Leiter des Geschäftsbereichs „Automatische Drehmaschinen“. Von 1981 bis 1993 war er Ordinarius für Werkzeugmaschinen und Betriebswissenschaften an der TU München. 1991 bis 1993 wirkte er als Dekan der Fakultät für Maschinenwesen.

 

Während seiner Hochschultätigkeit erarbeitete Joachim Milberg wesentliche Grundlagen zur Weiterentwicklung der rechnerintegrierten Konstruktion und Produktion und vermittelte damit wichtige Impulse zur Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Industrie. 1993 trat Milberg in die BMW AG in München ein, war von 1993 bis 1999 Mitglied des Vorstands, von 1999 bis 2002 Vorstandsvorsitzender. Seit 2002 ist er Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats, seit 2004 dessen Vorsitzender. Milberg gelang es, Produktivität und Qualität in den BMW-Fabriken auf höchstes Niveau zu bringen. Dieser Erfolg sowie die erfolgreiche Lösung des Rover-Problems und die Neuausrichtung von BMW brachten ihm hohe Anerkennung in der Wirtschaft ein. Joachim Milberg war von 2002 bis 2009 Gründungspräsident der acatech – Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften. Er ist Träger zahlreicher Preise und Auszeichnungen. 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

or, 15.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseMtb9∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
monika landgrafFpq2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseRhk1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.