Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 131/2014

125 Years of Liquid Crystal Research

Groundwork for Flat Screens and LCD Displays Was Laid by Otto Lehmann in 1889 in Karlsruhe When He First Studied the Properties of Liquid Crystals Systematically
2014_131_125_Jahre_Fluessigkristall-Forschung_72dpi
Otto Lehmann and one of his microscopes. The liquid crystals he studied are applied in digital displays and LCD screens today. (Photo: KIT Archives 27059, 8)

Flat-screen TVs, digital and mobile phone displays are common technologies today. The liquid crystals inside allow for a flat and energy-efficient construction of these modern devices. The basis of liquid crystal research that turned out to be most useful in our computer era was laid exactly 125 years ago by the physicist Otto Lehmann in Karlsruhe. On October 25, 1889, Lehmann presented the first systematic scientific results about the new class of materials of liquid crystals in the Journal for Physical Chemistry.

 

“Otto Lehmann, a highly committed researcher, teacher, and communicator, is a role model also in our times,” Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT, says. “Trusting in his experimental results, he constantly faced scientific and public discourse and opened a new chapter of materials research.”

 

Research of Lehmann concentrated on the physics of molecules and their interaction during the melting and solidification of matter, i.e. in the transition areas of the liquid, solid, and crystalline states. In 1888, he was told by the Austrian botanist Friedrich Reinitzer, Prague, that certain organic substances simultaneously exhibited properties of a liquid and a solid. As this behavior was inconsistent with the then accepted doctrine, Lehmann studied this phenomenon extensively. On October 25, 1889, he published his first experimental results and physical interpretations. The next 30 years of Lehmann’s work were dedicated to liquid crystals. Lehmann developed the necessary scientific instruments, such as the heatable crystallization microscope, that allowed for a large number of individual observations while the time and material expenditure was reduced.

 

“His means of observation were the most modern ones at that time, they were comparable to today’s electron microscopes or synchrotron sources,” explains Peter Knoll, extraordinary Professor of KIT and Chairman of the Otto Lehmann Foundation. “Therefore, it is not surprising that many of his colleagues could not reproduce his results.” Today, it is known that the properties of liquid crystals can be explained by the elongated shape of the organic molecules and the weak forces among them. Although the forces ensure loose bonding as in liquids only, the “cigar shape” allows for an ordered, crystalline arrangement similar to that of matches in a box.

 

Between 1900 and 1910, the conception of matter having a state other than the three known since the ancient times, i.e. solid, liquid, or gaseous, caused fierce discussions of the experts. Meetings were called to decide on the nature of liquid crystals. Lehmann frequently was the target of partly fierce criticism. In the end, however, his research was granted high importance. This is reflected by a statement of the member of the Nobel Committee, Carl Benedicks. After the death of Lehmann in 1922, he wrote to Lehmann’s son: “I consider his [Lehmann’s] work the currently most important scientific achievement in the area of physics and chemistry that did not gain the recognition of a Nobel Prize.”

 

“In the 30 years of his work in Karlsruhe, Lehmann initiated many further activities,” Klaus Nippert, Head of the KIT Archives, reports. As the Head of Institute, he campaigned for the construction of a new building for the Physical Institute and in 1893 already did he support the establishment of an Electrical Engineering Institute. He complemented lectures by presenting experiments in the lecture hall. His textbooks were standard literature for a generation of physicists. In the Karlsruhe Scientific Club, he made many public presentations. In 1921, he even presented his research on liquid crystals in a documentary film for German cinemas. In his inaugural speech as Rector of the then Karlsruhe Technical University in 1900, he spoke in a rather visionary way about the coming energy scarcity and the possibility of replacing lignite by solar energy in his speech entitled “Physics and Politics”.

 

“Without Lehmann, today’s digital displays would be inconceivable,” Knoll says. Liquid crystal displays can be found in a variety of applications. It started with digital clocks in the 1970s and continued with displays in household appliances and first flat screens in the 1990s. Liquid crystals allowed for small mobile applications, such as laptops, navigations systems, and smartphones. In monitors and TV sets, liquid crystal screens replaced energy-intensive and heavy tube devices.

 

In liquid crystal displays (LCD), a very thin (5 -7 µm) liquid crystal layer is arranged between two glass plates. The cigar-shaped molecules are oriented parallel to the suitably treated glass surfaces and, in addition, are twisted by 90° over the depth of the liquid crystal layer. The individual image elements (pixels) are generated by transparent electrodes of the inner sides of the glass plates. On the glass plates, polarizing foils are located, whose polarization directions are vertical to each other. If light hits the liquid crystal cell, it is first polarized and then rotated by 90° by the twisted layer. It leaves the cell via the second polarizer. By applying an electric voltage, twisting of the layer inside the individual image element is eliminated and the light can no longer pass the cell. The liquid crystal layer acts like a light valve for a light source located behind and if it is controlled properly, it generates the characters and images on the display. Color is generated by thin color filters in the cell.

 

Short Biography of Otto Lehmann:

January 13,      1855 Birth at Constance

1872 – 1877     Studies of natural sciences and doctorate at Strasbourg

1877 – 1888     Teacher and university teacher at Mühlhausen/Alsace, Aachen, and Dresden

1889 – 1919     Professor at the Karlsruhe Technical University, successor of Heinrich Hertz 

1900 – 1901     Rector of the Karlsruhe Technical University

June 17, 1922   Death in Karlsruhe

 

The permanent exhibition “Von der Karotte zum Flachbildschirm” (From the carrot to the flat screen) at KIT explains the history of liquid crystal research from the 19th century to date. It can be found in the entrance hall of building 30.22 directly in front of the Otto Lehmann Lecture Hall (KIT Campus South, Engesser Straße 7). It is open free of charge on working days from 9 to 17 hrs. The exhibition designed by Horst Stegemeyer (Paderborn) and Ludwig Pohl (Darmstadt) presents boards and glass cabinets with historical exhibits to illustrate the history of liquid crystal research, starting from the observations made by Reinitzer using ingredients of carrots in 1888 to the pioneer work of Otto Lehmann to first prototypes of a digital display to today’s large screens.

 

Original publication:
Otto Lehmann, Über fliessende Kristalle (On flowing crystals), Zeitschrift für Physikalische Chemie, Vol. 4, pp. 462, October 25, 1889.

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

kes, 15.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseGoj8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisAjy0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseSub1∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 131/2014

125 Jahre Flüssigkristall-Forschung

Die Grundlagen für die flachen Bildschirme und LCD-Displays wurden 1889 von Otto Lehmann in Karlsruhe gelegt, als er erstmals die Eigenschaften der Flüssigkristalle systematisch untersuchte
Otto Lehmann an einem seiner Mikroskope. Die Flüssigkristalle, die er grundlegend erforschte, kommen heute in Digitalanzeigen und LCD-Bildschirmen zum Einsatz. (Bild: KIT-Archiv 27059, 8)
Otto Lehmann an einem seiner Mikroskope. Die Flüssigkristalle, die er grundlegend erforschte, kommen heute in Digitalanzeigen und LCD-Bildschirmen zum Einsatz. (Bild: KIT-Archiv 27059, 8)

Flachbild-Fernseher, Digitalanzeigen und Handydisplays gehören heute zu den alltäglichsten Technologien. Flüssigkristalle darin erlauben es, diese modernen Geräte flach und energieeffizient zu bauen. Die Grundlagen der Flüssigkristallforschung, deren Erkenntnisse im Computerzeitalter so nützlich wurden, legte vor genau 125 Jahren der Karlsruher Physiker Otto Lehmann. In der Zeitschrift für Physikalische Chemie stellte er am 25. Oktober 1889 die ersten systematischen, wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse über die neue Materialklasse der Flüssigkristalle vor.

 

„Otto Lehmann ist als engagierter Forscher, Lehrer und Kommunikator bis heute Vorbild“, sagt Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT. „Mit Vertrauen auf seine experimentellen Ergebnisse hat er sich immer wieder dem wissenschaftlichen und öffentlichen Diskurs gestellt und für die Materialforschung ein neues Kapitel eröffnet.“

 

Zentrales Forschungsthema Lehmanns war die Physik von Molekülen und ihr Zusammenspiel beim Schmelzen und Erstarren von Materie, also dem Übergang zwischen dem flüssigen, dem festen und dem kristallinen Zustand. Im Jahre 1888 bekam er vom österreichischen Botaniker Friedrich Reinitzer aus Prag den Hinweis, dass bestimmte organische Substanzen gleichzeitig Eigenschaften einer Flüssigkeit und eines Feststoffes zeigen. Da dieses Verhalten der damals gängigen Lehrmeinung widersprach, untersuchte er dieses Phänomen intensiv und veröffentlichte am 25. Oktober 1889 seine ersten experimentellen Ergebnisse und physikalischen Deutungen. In den folgenden 30 Jahren widmete sich Lehmann den Flüssigkristallen und entwickelte kontinuierlich das notwendige wissenschaftliche Instrumentarium wie etwa das beheizbare Kristallisationsmikroskop, das bei geringem Zeit- und Materialaufwand eine sehr große Zahl an Einzelbeobachtungen erlaubte.

 

„Seine Beobachtungsmöglichkeiten waren die modernsten ihrer Zeit, vergleichbar mit Elektronenmikroskopen oder Synchrotronquellen heutzutage“, erklärt Peter Knoll, außerplanmäßiger Professor am KIT und Vorsitzender der Otto-Lehmann-Stiftung. „Daher ist es nicht verwunderlich, dass viele seiner Kollegen die Ergebnisse nicht selber reproduzieren konnten.“ Heutzutage weiß man, dass sich die Eigenschaften der Flüssigkristalle durch die längliche Form von organischen Molekülen und die schwachen Kräfte zwischen ihnen erklären lassen. Obwohl die Kräfte nur für eine lose Bindung wie bei Flüssigkeiten sorgen, erlaubt die „Zigarrenform“ eine geordnete, kristalline Anordnung, ähnlich wie bei Streichhölzern in einer Schachtel.

 

Zwischen 1900 und 1910 sorgte die Vorstellung, dass Materie neben den drei aus der Antike bekannten Zuständen fest, flüssig oder gasförmig einen weiteren haben kann, für heftige Diskussionen zwischen den Experten. Kommissionen wurden einberufen, um über die Natur von Flüssigkristallen zu entscheiden. Und Lehmann sah sich oft teils polemischer Kritik ausgesetzt. Welche Bedeutung Lehmanns Forschung schließlich doch zugesprochen wurde, belegt eine Aussage des Mitglieds des Nobelkomitees, Carl Benedicks. Nach Lehmanns Tod 1922 schrieb er dem Sohn Lehmanns: „Ich betrachte sein [Lehmanns] Lebenswerk als die z.Z. bedeutendste wissenschaftliche Leistung auf dem Gebiet der Physik und Chemie, die nicht mit der Anerkennung eines Nobelpreises gekrönt worden ist.“

 

„In den 30 Jahren seiner Tätigkeit in Karlsruhe hat Lehmann viele Impulse gegeben“, berichtet Klaus Nippert, Leiter des KIT-Archivs. Als Institutsleiter setzte er sich für den Neubau des Physikalischen Instituts ein und unterstützte bereits 1893 die Einrichtung eines Elektrotechnischen Instituts. Die Lehre bereicherte er konsequent um Experimentvorführungen im Hörsaal. Seine Lehrbücher waren Standardwerke für eine Generation von Physikern. Im Karlsruher Wissenschaftlichen Verein hielt er viele öffentliche Vorträge, und 1921 stellte er seine Forschung zu Flüssigkristallen sogar in einem Dokumentarfilm für die deutschen Kinos vor. In seiner Antrittsrede als Rektor der damaligen Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe spricht er im Jahr 1900 visionär unter dem Titel „Physik und Politik“ über kommende Energieknappheit und die Möglichkeit, Steinkohle durch Sonnenenergie zu ersetzen.

 

„Ohne Lehmann wären die heutigen Digitalanzeigen undenkbar“, sagt Knoll. Flüssigkristallanzeigen sind heute in zahlreichen Anwendungen zu finden. Angefangen mit den Digitaluhren der 1970er, über Displays in Haushaltsgeräten hin zu den ersten Flachbildschirmen der 1990er. Erst Flüssigkristalle ermöglichten kleine mobile Anwendungen wie Laptop, Navigationssysteme und Smartphones. Auch bei Monitoren und Fernsehern haben Flüssigkristallbildschirme die energieintensiven und schweren Röhrengeräte ersetzt.

 

In Flüssigkristallanzeigen (LCD – Liquid Cristal Display) ist eine sehr dünne (5-7 Mikrometer) Flüssigkristallschicht zwischen zwei Glasplatten angeordnet. Die zigarrenförmigen Moleküle orientieren sich parallel zu den geeignet behandelten Glasoberflächen und erhalten zusätzlich eine 90-Grad-Verdrillung über die Tiefe der Flüssigkristallschicht. Die einzelnen Bildelemente (Pixel) werden durch transparente Elektroden auf den Innenseiten der Glasplatten gebildet. Auf den Glasplatten befinden sich polarisierende Folien, deren Polarisationsrichtungen senkrecht zueinander stehen. Fällt Licht auf die Flüssigkristallzelle, wird es zunächst polarisiert, dann durch die verdrillte Schicht um 90° gedreht und kann die Zelle durch den zweiten Polarisator verlassen. Durch Anlegen einer elektrischen Spannung wird die Verdrillung der Schicht innerhalb des einzelnen Bildelements aufgehoben und das Licht kann die Zelle nun nicht mehr passieren. Somit wirkt die Flüssigkristallschicht wie ein Lichtventil für eine passende dahinterliegende Lichtquelle und erzeugt richtig gesteuert die Zeichen und Bilder auf der Anzeige. Farbe wird durch dünne Farbfilter in der Zelle erzeugt.

 

Otto Lehmanns Lebensdaten:

13. Januar 1855   in Konstanz geboren

1872 – 1877        Studium der Naturwissenschaften und Promotion in Straßburg

1877 – 1888        Lehrer und Hochschullehrer in Mühlhausen/Elsass, Aachen und Dresden

1889 – 1919        Professor an der Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe als Nachfolger von Heinrich

                          Hertz

1900 – 1901        Rektor der Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe

17. Juni 1922       in Karlsruhe gestorben

 

Die Dauerausstellung „Von der Karotte zum Flachbildschirm“ am KIT erklärt die Geschichte der Flüssigkristall-Forschung vom 19. Jahrhundert bis heute. Sie befindet sich im Foyer des Physik-Flachbaus direkt vor dem Otto-Lehmann-Hörsaal, (Geb. 30.22, Erdgeschoss, KIT-Campus Süd, Engesser-Str. 7) und ist werktags zwischen 9 und 17 Uhr kostenfrei zugänglich. Die von Horst Stegemeyer (Paderborn) und Ludwig Pohl (Darmstadt) gestaltete Ausstellung zeigt anhand von Schautafeln und Vitrinen mit historischen Exponaten die Geschichte der Flüssigkristall-Forschung, beginnend mit den Beobachtungen Reinitzers 1888 an Karotten-Inhaltsstoffen über die bahnbrechenden Arbeiten Otto Lehmanns bis hin zu ersten Versuchen einer Zifferndarstellung und der heutigen Technologie der Großbildschirme.

 

Originalveröffentlichung:
Otto Lehmann, Über fliessende Krystalle, Zeitschrift für Physikalische Chemie, Heft 4, Seite 462ff, 25. Oktober 1889

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 15.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: pressePtz7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.