Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 129/2014

Gips-Schüle Young Scientist Award for Two KIT Researchers

Awards for Outstanding Doctoral Theses in the Subjects of Mathematics, Informatics, Natural Sciences, and Engineering Are Granted in 2014 for the First Time – Awards Ceremony on October 22 at KIT
2014_129_Gips_Schuele_Nachwuchspreis_fuer_zwei_KIT_Forscher_1_72dpi
Laser system for selective deposition of material to produce high-density peptide arrays. Such peptide arrays may revolutionize the development of vaccines, as was outlined in the doctoral thesis of Dr. Felix Löffler. (Photo: Dr. Frieder Märkle)

Technology for mankind: Under this heading, the Gips-Schüle Foundation will grant awards for outstanding doctoral theses in mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering for the first time this year. The first prize is given to Dr. Felix Löffler, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), for his doctoral thesis about antibody research. The second prize goes to Dr. Torsten Hopp, KIT, for his thesis on the early recognition of breast cancer.

 

The award granted by the Gips-Schüle Foundation, the office of which is located in Stuttgart, is intended to support research for public welfare and in particular young scientists in natural sciences and engineering. Among the criteria for winning the award are the innovation potential and the vicinity to application. The first prize is endowed with an amount of EUR 10,000, the second prize with EUR 5000, the third with EUR 2500. In total, 29 doctoral theses completed between 2012 and 2014 in Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria were proposed for the 2014 Gips-Schüle Young Scientist Award.

 

Dr. Felix Löffler, postdoc of the Institute of Microstructure Technology (IMT) of KIT, is granted the first prize for his doctoral thesis “Development of particle-based highly dense peptide arrays for antibody assays” written at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), Heidelberg. If it was known where exactly antibodies have to bind to a pathogen for protection against an infection, it would be possible to specifically develop a vaccine or a therapy. The so-called peptide arrays play a key role for diseases like malaria or Dengue fever, for which a vaccine does not yet exist. Peptides, i.e. short protein fragments, can be applied to study binding of antibodies to proteins. Highly dense peptide arrays possess many different peptides side by side on a smallest area. With the help of these peptide arrays, proteins of a pathogen are imaged by overlapping peptides. Every field on the array contains another peptide. As the peptides are located on a very small area, a small drop of blood of a patient is sufficient to read out the binding of antibodies to all peptides simultaneously and to determine the protein regions relevant to vaccination. The working groups of Professor Frank Breitling and PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller, IMT, in which Dr. Felix Löffler participates develop new technologies to produce highly dense peptide arrays in interdisciplinary cooperation. Physicists cooperate with biologists, chemists, computer scientists, and engineers. Laser-based methods allow for the precise deposition of smallest amounts of material.

 

Dr. Torsten Hopp, postdoc of the Institute of Data Processing and Electronics (IPE) of KIT, wins the second prize for his doctoral thesis “Combination of X-ray mammography and 3D imaging for breast cancer diagnosis” written at the IPE. The probability of surviving breast cancer strongly depends on the time at which the tumor is detected. The standard procedure of breast imaging presently is X-ray mammography. For a more precise diagnosis, various imaging methods, such as magnetic resonance tomography (MRT), are combined with X-ray mammography. Comparison of the images recorded under different conditions, however, is very difficult. Torsten Hopp developed an automatic image registration method, by means of which two-dimensional mammograms can be compared directly with three-dimensional images produced by other methods, such as MRT or ultrasonic computer tomography (USCT). By a computer model, compression of the breast during mammography is simulated. Then, the spatial relationship of the images is represented by intuitive tools, for instance, by image correlation, i.e. the combination of information obtained from two methods in one image. The software was tested with a large number of clinical data sets and prepared for clinical use.

 


Image correlation: The suspicious structure of the MRT (left) or USCT (right) is superimposed on the X-ray mammogram. (Photo: Torsten Hopp, KIT)

 

The third prize goes to Tristan Anselm Kuder, postdoc at the German Cancer Research Center’s Division of Medical Physics in Radiology, for his doctoral thesis “Diffusion pore imaging by nuclear magnetic resonance.” This thesis lays the groundwork for a new imaging method to examine the microstructure of biological tissue, such as tumor tissue. By means of the new diffusion pore imaging method, parameters, such as the cell shape and size, can be determined. Usually, histological methods using previously taken tissue samples are applied. In the course of the work on the doctoral thesis, first measurements were made. They demonstrated the practical suitability of the method. In the future, the diffusion pore imaging method might be used for the determination of histological parameters in tumor diagnosis or for the diagnosis of lung diseases.

 

Program of the Gips-Schüle Young Scientist Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, October 22, 2014, 17.30 – 19.00 hrs
KIT Campus South, Building 11.30, Senatssaal

Presented by: Markus Brock

 

Welcome
Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT
Thomas Ducrée, Board of the Gips-Schüle Foundation

 

Hand-over of Awards and Interviews of the Winners about Their Research Work
Dr. Tristan Anselm Kuder, DKFZ (3rd prize)
Dr. Torsten Hopp, KIT (2nd prize)
Dr. Felix Löffler, KIT (1st prize)

 

Musical Contribution
Benoît and the Mandelbrots, Karlsruhe University of Music

 

Panel Discussion:
Research Policy and the Promotion of Young Scientists

Professor Peter Frankenberg, former Minister of Science of the State of Baden-Württemberg
Professor Britta Nestler, Chair for Microstructure Simulation in Materials Technology, KIT
Dr. Felix Löffler, Postdoc of the Institute of Microstructure Technology, KIT

 

Reception and Get-together

 

Activities of the Gips-Schüle Foundation based in Baden-Württemberg cover the three areas of science and research, young scientists, and education. The Foundation focuses on supporting non-profit institutions, such as universities, research institutes, or foundations. The Gips-Schüle Foundation funds endowed professorships and colloquia for doctoral students, it grants scholarships, and supports studies ambassadors who encourage secondary school graduates to start studies of mathematics, informatics, natural sciences, and engineering. Every two years, the Gips-Schüle Foundation grants the Gips-Schüle Research Award in the amount of EUR 40,000, the Special Research Award in the amount of EUR 15,000, and the Gips-Schüle Young Scientist Award in the amount of EUR 10,000. All prizes honor and support outstanding achievements in applied research for “Technology for Mankind.” More information is available at www.gips-schuele-stiftung.de.

 

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz-Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 13.10.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneTcg4∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseGtr7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 129/2014

Gips-Schüle-Nachwuchspreis für zwei KIT-Forscher

Auszeichnung für herausragende Doktorarbeiten in MINT-Fächern wird 2014 erstmals vergeben – Preisverleihung am 22. Oktober am KIT
Lasersystem zum selektiven Ablagern von Material, das die Herstellung hochdich-ter Peptidarrays ermöglicht. Solche Peptidarrays können die Impfstoffentwicklung revolutionieren, wie Dr. Felix Löffler in seiner Doktorarbeit zeigte. (Foto: Dr. Frieder Märkle
Lasersystem zum selektiven Ablagern von Material, das die Herstellung hochdichter Peptidarrays ermöglicht. (Foto: Dr. Frieder Märkle)

Technik für den Menschen: Unter diesem Motto zeichnet die Gips-Schüle-Stiftung dieses Jahr erstmals herausragende Doktorarbeiten in MINT-Fächern (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Technik) aus. Den ersten Preis erhält Dr. Felix Löffler vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) für seine Dissertation zur Antikörperforschung. Der zweite Preis geht an Dr. Torsten Hopp vom KIT für seine Arbeit zur Früherkennung von Brustkrebs.

 

Mit dem Preis fördert die in Stuttgart ansässige Gips-Schüle-Stiftung die Forschung für das Allgemeinwohl und besonders den Nachwuchs in naturwissenschaftlichen und technischen Disziplinen. Kriterien der Vergabe sind Innovationspotenzial und Anwendungsbezug. Der erste Preis ist mit 10.000 Euro dotiert, der zweite mit 5.000 Euro, der dritte mit 2.500 Euro. Für den Gips-Schüle-Nachwuchspreis 2014 wurden insgesamt 29 Doktorarbeiten, die zwischen 2012 und 2014 abgeschlossen wurden, aus Baden-Württemberg und Bayern eingereicht.

 

Dr. Felix Löffler, Postdoktorand am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik (IMT) des KIT, erhält den ersten Preis für seine Dissertation „Entwicklung von partikelbasierten hochdichten Peptidarrays für Antikörper-Assays“, die er am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ) in Heidelberg verfasste. Wenn bekannt wäre, wo genau Antikörper an einen Krankheitserreger binden müssen, um vor einer Infektion zu schützen, dann ließe sich gezielt ein Impfstoff oder eine Therapie entwickeln. Besonders bei Krankheiten wie Malaria oder Denguefieber, für die bis jetzt noch keine Impfung verfügbar ist, kommt den sogenannten Peptidarrays eine Schlüsselrolle zu. Peptide, das heißt kurze Proteinfragmente, lassen sich dazu nutzen, die Bindung von Antikörpern an Proteine zu untersuchen. Hochdichte Peptidarrays besitzen auf kleinster Fläche viele verschiedene Peptide nebeneinander. Mit diesen Peptidarrays lassen sich die Proteine eines Erregers in überlappenden Peptiden abbilden, jedes Feld auf dem Array beherbergt dabei ein anderes Peptid. Da die Peptide sich auf einer äußerst kleinen Fläche befinden, genügt ein kleiner Tropfen Blut von einem Patienten, um die Bindung von Antikörpern an allen Peptiden gleichzeitig auszulesen und mithin die entscheidenden Proteinregionen für eine Impfung zu bestimmen. Die Arbeitsgruppen von Professor Frank Breitling und PD Dr. Alexander Nesterov-Müller am IMT, in denen Dr. Felix Löffler mitarbeitet, entwickeln im interdisziplinären Zusammenwirken von Physik, Biologie, Chemie, Informatik und Ingenieurwissenschaften neue Techniken, um hochdichte Peptidarrays herzustellen. Dabei erlauben laserbasierte Methoden, ortsgenau kleinste Mengen von Material abzulagern.

 

Dr. Torsten Hopp, Postdoktorand am Institut für Prozessdatenverarbeitung und Elektronik (IPE) des KIT, bekommt den zweiten Preis für seine am IPE angefertigte Doktorarbeit „Kombination von Röntgenmammographie und 3D-Bildgebung für die Brustkrebsdiagnose“. Bei Brustkrebs hängt die Überlebenswahrscheinlichkeit stark vom Zeitpunkt ab, zu dem der Tumor erkannt wird. Das Standardverfahren in der Brustbildgebung ist derzeit die Röntgenmammographie. Um eine genauere Diagnose zu stellen, werden darüber hinaus verschiedene bildgebende Verfahren, wie die Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT), mit der Röntgenmammographie kombiniert. Der Vergleich der unter unterschiedlichen Bedingungen aufgenommenen Bilder ist allerdings schwierig. Torsten Hopp hat ein automatisches Bildregistrierungs-Verfahren entwickelt, das es ermöglicht, zweidimensionale Mammogramme mit dreidimensionalen Bildern ergänzender Verfahren, wie MRT oder Ultraschall-Computertomographie (USCT), direkt zu vergleichen: Anhand eines Computermodells wird die Kompression der Brust während der Mammographie simuliert. Anschließend wird die räumliche Beziehung der Bilder durch intuitive Werkzeuge dargestellt, beispielsweise durch Bildfusion, das heißt Kombination von Informationen zweier Verfahren in einem Bild. Die Software wurde mit einer großen Zahl klinischer Datensätze getestet und für den Einsatz in einer Klinik vorbereitet.

 


Bildfusion: Verdächtige Struktur aus MRT-Ergebnis (links) oder USCT-Ergebnis (rechts) wird dem Röntgenmammogramm überlagert (Abb.: Torsten Hopp, KIT)

 

Der dritte Preis geht an Tristan Anselm Kuder, Postdoktorand am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum in der Abteilung Medizinische Physik in der Radiologie, für seine Dissertation „Diffusions-Poren-Bildgebung mittels kernmagnetischer Resonanz“. Diese Arbeit schafft die Grundlage für ein neues bildgebendes Verfahren, welches die Untersuchung der Mikrostruktur von biologischem Gewebe, wie beispielsweise Tumorgewebe, ermöglicht. Insbesondere könnten mit der neuen Diffusions-Poren-Bildgebung Parameter wie Zellform und -größe bestimmt werden, welche üblicherweise mit histologischen Methoden unter Verwendung von zuvor entnommenen Gewebeproben ermittelt werden müssen. Im Laufe der Dissertation wurden bereits erste Messungen durchgeführt, die die Praxistauglichkeit des Verfahrens nachgewiesen haben. Zukünftig könnte die Diffusions-Poren-Bildgebung beispielsweise bei der Tumordiagnostik zur Bestimmung von histologischen Parametern oder bei der Diagnostik von Lungenkrankheiten eingesetzt werden. 

 

 

Programm der Verleihung des Gips-Schüle-Nachwuchspreises

Mittwoch, 22. Oktober 2014, 17.30 - 19:00 Uhr
KIT Campus Süd, Gebäude 11.30, Senatssaal

Moderation: Markus Brock

Begrüßung
Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT
Thomas Ducrée, Vorstand der Gips-Schüle-Stiftung

Ehrung der Preisträger und Interviews zu ihren Forschungsthemen
Dr. Tristan Anselm Kuder, DKFZ (3. Preis)
Dr. Torsten Hopp, KIT (2. Preis)
Dr. Felix Löffler, KIT (1. Preis)

Musikalischer Beitrag
Benoît and the Mandelbrots, Hochschule für Musik Karlsruhe

Podiumsdiskussion:
Forschungspolitik und Nachwuchsförderung

Professor Peter Frankenberg, ehemaliger Wissenschaftsminister des Landes Baden-Württemberg
Professorin Britta Nestler, Lehrstuhl für Mikrostruktursimulation in der Werkstofftechnik, KIT
Dr. Felix Löffler, Postdoktorand am Institut für Mikrostrukturtechnik, KIT

Empfang und Get-together

 

Das Tätigkeitsfeld der in Baden-Württemberg ansässigen Gips-Schüle-Stiftung umfasst die drei Bereiche Wissenschaft und Forschung, Nachwuchs sowie Lehre. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Unterstützung gemeinnütziger Einrichtungen, wie Universitäten, Forschungsinstitute oder Stiftungen. Die Gips-Schüle-Stiftung finanziert Stiftungsprofessuren und Doktorandenkolloquien, vergibt Stipendien und unterstützt Studienbotschafter zur Anwerbung von Abiturienten für MINT-Fächer (Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik). Zudem verleiht die Gips-Schüle-Stiftung im zweijährigen Turnus den mit 40.000 Euro dotierten Gips-Schüle-Forschungspreis, den mit 15.000 Euro dotierten Sonderforschungspreis sowie den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Gips-Schüle-Nachwuchspreis. Alle Preise würdigen und unterstützen herausragende Leistungen angewandter Forschung im Kontext „Technik für den Menschen“. Weitere Informationen auf www.gips-schuele-stiftung.de.

 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 13.10.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneLcw5∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseUxz7∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.