Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 128/2014

Start of the Winter Semester at KIT

Welcome of Freshmen at the Schwarzwaldhalle – About 4000 Students Start Studies at KIT
2014_128_Start_ins_Wintersemester_am_KIT_72dpi(1)
The KIT welcomes its freshmen and their families at the Schwarzwaldhalle. (Photo: Sandra Göttisheim)

Approximately 4000 students are about to start their studies at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) in the 2014/2015 winter semester. The KIT will welcome the freshmen and their families in Karlsruhe at the traditional freshmen welcome event on Friday, October 17, 2014, 18 hrs, at the Schwarzwaldhalle of the Karlsruhe Congress Center.

 

“Research-oriented teaching and the vicinity to big research characterize studies at KIT. Thus, our students are given unique opportunities: Early in their studies can they focus on aspects of practical research and use large-scale research facilities,” KIT President Professor Holger Hanselka says. During the welcome event, he will speak about special features of studies at KIT. One of them is the above-average faculty-student ratio in comparison to other leading technical universities in Germany. It results from integrating scientists of the large-scale research sector in teaching activities.

 
The freshmen already familiarized with the most important contact points of KIT in the past days during the orientation phase organized by older students to facilitate the start of studies at KIT.

 

With nearly 4000 freshmen, the number has normalized on the level of the 2010/2011 winter semester again. In the past years, this number increased by up to 10% due to the reduction of duration of secondary school education by one year in Bavaria (2011), Baden-Württemberg (2012), and North Rhine-Westphalia (2013). However, enrolment and move-up procedures are still in progress. The reference date for the statistics is November 30. The total number of students will presumably be 23,500.

 

“Our students essentially shape the KIT, everywhere on the campus and beyond,” Professor Alexander Wanner, KIT Vice President for Higher Education and Academic Affairs, says. “In the student associations and various university groups, they do not only look beyond the limits of their own realm. With their offers and their activities, they enrich academic exchange and life at KIT.” This year, 55 students will be honored for their high commitment by Alexander Wanner.

 

KIT Backpack, Brochure “Was Studierende wissen sollten”

As in the past years, the freshmen will be given the KIT backpack. Apart from information material about major KIT institutions, the General Students’ Committee, and the Studierendenwerk, it will also contain information and give-aways of the backpack sponsors. Important information for starting studies, about central institutions, and services and support offers of KIT is summarized in the brochure “Was Studierende wissen sollten”:
www.kit.edu/mediathek/print_forschung/Broschuere_Erstsemester_de.pdf

 

New Issue of the Online Students Magazine “clicKIT“

The online students magazine “clicKIT” will also be issued at the beginning of the lecturing period. Under www.kit.edu/clickit, it supplies latest news and background information, with audio interviews, films (www.kit.edu/youtube), and discussions (www.kit.edu/facebook). Every issue covers a topic selected by the Facebook community. During the welcome event at the Schwarzwaldhalle, the magazine will be presented by the editorial staff at one of the booths. At other booths, various KIT institutions, university groups, and partners will inform about their offers and be pleased to answer questions. In addition, the KIT collection will be presented: Clothing, office articles, and gifts in KIT design may also be obtained at www.kit-shop.de or at the bookstore on Kronenplatz.

 

Program of the Freshmen Welcome Event
Start: 18 hrs, admission from 17.15 hrs

 

Musical Opening by the KIT University Dance Orchestra
Conductor: Frank Mathes

 

Welcome by the Presidential Committee
“Excellent Research – Excellent Education: Studying at KIT”
Professor Holger Hanselka, KIT President

 

Welcome Address by the City of Karlsruhe
Mayor Michael Obert

 

Welcome Address by the AStA External Relations Officer
“From Students for Students”
Johannes Janosovits

 

 

Prizes for Outstanding Student Commitment
Professor Alexander Wanner, KIT Vice President for Higher Eduation and Academic Affairs

 

Freshmen Quiz

 

Cabaret with Sascha Korf

 

After the program:
Visit of the information booths and get-together with professors of KIT in the entrance hall of the Schwarzwaldhalle

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 13.10.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJqg5∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneDxv0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseKrm5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Leichte Sprache | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-21150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseByf7∂kit edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

Anleitung RSS-Feed einbinden

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 128/2014

Start ins Wintersemester am KIT

Erstsemesterbegrüßung in der Schwarzwaldhalle – knapp 4.000 Studentinnen und Studenten beginnen ihr Studium am KIT
Das KIT begrüßt die Erstsemester und ihre Familien in der Schwarzwaldhalle (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)
Das KIT begrüßt die Erstsemester und ihre Familien in der Schwarzwaldhalle (Foto: Sandra Göttisheim)

Knapp 4.000 Studentinnen und Studenten beginnen zum Wintersemester 2014/2015 ihr Studium am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Bei der traditionellen Erstsemesterbegrüßung heißt das KIT seine Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger mit ihren Familien in Karlsruhe willkommen. Die Festveranstaltung findet am Freitag, 17. Oktober 2014, ab 18 Uhr in der Schwarzwaldhalle des Kongresszentrums Karlsruhe statt.

 

„Die forschungsorientierte Lehre und die Nähe zur Großforschung machen das Studium am KIT aus. Unsere Studierenden erhalten dadurch einmalige Möglichkeiten: Schon früh können sie sich mit Fragen aus der Forschungspraxis auseinandersetzen und Geräte der Großforschung nutzen“, sagt KIT-Präsident Professor Holger Hanselka, der bei der Erstsemesterbegrüßung auch die Besonderheiten des Studiums am KIT vorstellen wird. Dazu zählt auch die im Vergleich der führenden technischen Universitäten Deutschlands überdurchschnittlich gute Betreuungsrelation, die das KIT durch die Integration von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern des Großforschungsbereichs in die Lehre erreicht.

 
Die wichtigsten Anlaufstellen am KIT haben die Erstsemester bereits in den vergangenen Tagen kennengelernt: bei den von den Fachschaften organisierten Orientierungsphasen, die den Studienanfängerinnen und -anfängern den Start am KIT erleichtern.

 

Mit knapp 4.000 hat sich die Zahl der Studienanfängerinnen und -anfänger wieder auf das Niveau vom Wintersemester 2010/2011 normalisiert. In den vergangenen Jahren war die Zahl unter anderem aufgrund der doppelten Abiturjahrgänge in Bayern (2011), Baden-Württemberg (2012) und Nordrhein-Westfalen (2013) teilweise um bis zu zehn Prozent angestiegen. Einschreibung und Nachrückverfahren laufen derzeit allerdings noch, Stichtag für die Studierendenstatistik ist der 30. November. Die Gesamtstudierendenzahl wird voraussichtlich bei 23.500 liegen.

 

„Unsere Studentinnen und Studenten gestalten das KIT maßgeblich mit, überall auf dem Campus – und darüber hinaus“, sagt Professor Alexander Wanner, KIT-Vizepräsident für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten. „In den Fachschaften und vielfältigen Hochschulgruppen schauen sie nicht nur über den Tellerrand des eigenen Faches, sondern sie bereichern mit ihren Angeboten und Aktivitäten den Austausch und das Leben am KIT.“ 55 Studentinnen und Studenten zeichnet Alexander Wanner in diesem Jahr für ihr besonderes Engagement aus.

 

KIT-Rucksack, Broschüre „Was Studierende wissen sollten“

Wie bereits in den vergangenen Jahren erhalten die Erstsemester zum Start ins Studium den KIT-Rucksack: Neben Informationsmaterial wichtiger KIT-Einrichtungen, des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses und des Studierendenwerks enthält er auch Beilagen und Give-aways der Rucksacksponsoren. Das Wichtigste zum Studienstart, zentralen Einrichtungen sowie Service- und Beratungsangeboten am KIT fasst die Broschüre „Was Studierende wissen sollten“ zusammen:
www.kit.edu/mediathek/print_forschung/Broschuere_Erstsemester_de.pdf

 

Neue Ausgabe des Online-Studierendenmagazin „clicKIT“

Zum Vorlesungsbeginn erscheint das Online-Studierendenmagazin „clicKIT“: Unter www.kit.edu/clickit liefert es aktuelle Informationen und Hintergründe – mit Audio-Interviews, Filmen (www.kit.edu/youtube) und Diskussionen (www.kit.edu/facebook). In jeder Ausgabe findet sich ein Thema, dass die Facebook-Community ausgesucht hat. Die Redaktion stellt das Magazin bei der Erstsemesterbegrüßung am Stand in der Schwarzwaldhalle vor. Verschiedene KIT-Einrichtungen, Hochschulgruppen und Partner informieren an weiteren Ständen über ihr Angebot und stehen für Fragen zur Verfügung. Präsentiert wird außerdem die KIT-Kollektion: Kleidung, Büroartikel und Geschenke im KIT-Design sind aber auch unter www.kit-shop.de oder in der Buchhandlung am Kronenplatz erhältlich.

 

Programm der Erstsemesterbegrüßung
Beginn: 18 Uhr; Einlass ab 17.15 Uhr

 

Musikalische Einlage des Uni-Tanzorchesters am KIT
Leitung: Frank Mathes

 

Begrüßung durch das Präsidium
„Exzellente Forschung – exzellente Lehre: Studieren am KIT“
Professor Holger Hanselka, KIT-Präsident

 

Grußwort der Stadt Karlsruhe
Bürgermeister Michael Obert

 

Grußwort des AStA-Außenreferenten

„Von Studierenden für Studierende“
Johannes Janosovits

 

Auszeichnungen für herausragendes studentisches Engagement
Professor Alexander Wanner, KIT-Vizepräsident für Lehre und akademische Angelegenheiten

 

Ersti-Quiz

 

Kabarett mit Sascha Korf

 

anschließend
Besuch der Informationsstände und Get-Together mit Professorinnen und Professoren des KIT im Foyer der Schwarzwaldhalle

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le, 13.10.2014

Weiterer Pressekontakt:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneQdz0∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseSbw0∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.