Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 115/2014

Tailored Materials for Lightweight Vehicles

KIT and the Vector Foundation Establish “Green Mobility” Young Investigator Group (YIG)
2014_115__Massgeschneiderte_Werkstoffe_fuer_leichtere_Fahrzeuge_72dpi
The new Young Investigator Group of KIT focuses on the simulation of high-performance fiber composite plastics. (Figure: YIG “Green Mobility“, KIT)

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Vector Foundation jointly established the Young Investigator Group (YIG) “Green Mobility – Weight-optimized Vehicle Structures Using Tailored High-performance Fiber Composites”. This new Young Investigator Group is aimed at improving the simulation of high-performance fiber composite plastics for the weight-optimized design of vehicle components.

 

Lightweight vehicles consume less fuel, emit less pollutant, and improve the environmental compatibility of mobility. Lightweight structures are also needed for electric vehicles in order to compensate the relatively high weight of batteries and to save energy. The weight of structural components can be reduced significantly by the use of high-performance fiber composite plastics. These materials consist of a plastic matrix with embedded, extremely thin reinforcing fibers. Thanks to their high specific stiffness and strength, these fibers are ideally suited for lightweight applications.

 

However, use of high-performance fiber composite plastics is far from being established in automotive engineering. “Among others, this is due to the fact that these materials cannot be simulated accurately enough,” explains Dr. Luise Kärger, Head of the new “Green Mobility” YIG of the Chair of Lightweight Technology of the KIT Institute of Vehicle System Technology (FAST). “There still is a considerable difference between the real behavior of high-performance fiber composite plastics, which is influenced significantly by process control and process conditions, and the idealized assumptions of models used for structure simulation.“ In contrast to metals, stiffness and strength of high-performance fiber composites are influenced by the local fiber architecture. The ultimate fiber architecture of the components results from the draping process. Draping is forming the two-dimensional fiber material into a three-dimensional structure, the so-called pre-form. Its fiber architecture may be very heterogeneous due to different orientations and permeability of the fibers and different forms and structures of fiber bundles. But also local effects, such as overlaps, gaps, and fiber waviness, play a role. “Vehicle structures made of high-performance fiber composites can only be designed in a weight-optimized way, if the carrying capacity can be predicted with sufficient precision, if orientation dependence of the fibers is utilized to the full extent, and if manufacturing effects are identified correctly and taken into account,” Luise Kärger summarizes.

 

To enhance simulation of high-performance fiber composite plastics, the scientists of the “Green Mobility” YIG work on an efficient draping simulation that predicts the local fiber architecture of the pre-forms with sufficient accuracy. Moreover, they develop appropriate structure mechanics models to describe local draping effects as well as an efficient component simulation that considers all globally relevant effects. By means of the developed methods, the scientists derive approaches to determine the optimal draping strategy for the given component geometries in order to comply with the required capacities of the components and to minimize their weight. The YIG also contributes to the work of the KIT Mobility Systems Center.

 

The “Green Mobility” YIG is the first Young Investigator Group established by KIT in cooperation with a foundation. The Vector Foundation was contacted by the KIT Foundation, the central contact partner for philanthropic support of KIT. The Vector Foundation was established in 2011 by the founders of Vector Informatik GmbH, Eberhard Hinderer, Martin Litschel, and Dr. Helmut Schelling. The Foundation serves the purposes of supporting regional social institutions and young scientists at schools and universities and of funding research in the area of environmentally compatible and sustainable mobility. The “Green Mobility” YIG started on July 01 this year and is scheduled to have a duration of four years.

 

Young Investigator Groups are supposed to support outstanding young scientists directly after the completion of their doctorate and to strengthen the research profile of KIT. Via this funding instrument of KIT, young scientists can gather first experience in establishing and managing a group at an early stage of their career already. The head of a YIG may join the Young Investigator Network (YIN) of KIT.

 

The Mobility Systems Center pools KIT activities relating to vehicle technology. Presently, 40 KIT institutes with about 800 employees are working on methodological and technical fundamentals for tomorrow’s vehicles. It is their objective to develop concepts, technologies, methods, and processes for future mobility considering the complex interactions of vehicle, driver, traffic, and society.

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz-Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 26,000 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 08.08.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneYyy1∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseDeq2∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 115/2014

Maßgeschneiderte Werkstoffe für leichtere Fahrzeuge

KIT und Vector Stiftung richten Young Investigator Group (YIG) „Green Mobility“ ein
Mit der Simulierung von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen befasst sich die neue Nachwuchsgruppe am KIT. (Abbildung: YIG „Green Mobility“/KIT)
Mit der Simulierung von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen befasst sich die neue Nachwuchsgruppe am KIT. (Abbildung: YIG „Green Mobility“/KIT)

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Vector Stiftung haben gemeinsam die Young Investigator Group (YIG) „Green Mobility – Gewichtsoptimierte Fahrzeugstrukturen durch maßgeschneiderte Hochleistungsfaserverbunde“ eingerichtet. Ziel der neuen Nachwuchsgruppe ist, die Simulierbarkeit von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen zu verbessern, um Fahrzeugbauteile aus diesen Werkstoffen gewichtsoptimiert auslegen zu können.

 

Leichtere Fahrzeuge verbrauchen weniger Kraftstoff, stoßen weniger Schadstoffe aus und ermöglichen eine umweltfreundlichere Mobilität. Auch für Elektrofahrzeuge sind leichtere Strukturen gefragt, um das relativ hohe Gewicht der Batterien auszugleichen und Energie einzusparen. Das Gewicht tragender Bauteile lässt sich durch den Einsatz von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen (HL-FVK) deutlich reduzieren. Diese Werkstoffe bestehen aus einer Kunststoffmatrix und darin eingebetteten extrem dünnen Verstärkungsfasern. Dank ihrer hohen spezifischen Steifigkeiten und Festigkeiten eignen sie sich ideal für Leichtbauanwendungen.

 

Im Automobilbau haben sich HL-FVK allerdings noch nicht etabliert. „Dies liegt unter anderem daran, dass sich diese Werkstoffe noch nicht genau genug simulieren lassen“, erklärt Dr. Luise Kärger, Leiterin der neuen YIG „Green Mobility“ am Lehrstuhl für Leichtbautechnologie (LBT) des KIT-Instituts für Fahrzeugsystemtechnik (FAST). „Zwischen dem realen, durch die Prozessführung maßgeblich beeinflussten Verhalten der HL-FVK und den idealisierten Annahmen der Modelle für die Struktursimulation besteht derzeit noch eine erhebliche Diskrepanz.“ Im Unterschied zu Metallen werden Steifigkeit und Festigkeit bei HL-FVK von der lokalen Faserarchitektur beeinflusst. Die endgültige Faserarchitektur der Bauteile entsteht erst bei der Drapierung, das heißt Umformung des zweidimensionalen Fasermaterials in eine dreidimensionale Struktur, die sogenannte Preform. Deren Faserarchitektur kann sehr ungleichmäßig aufgebaut sein, etwa durch Unterschiede in Ausrichtung und Dichtheit der Fasern sowie in Form und Aufbau der Faserbündel, aber auch durch lokale Effekte wie Überlappungen, Lücken und Faserwelligkeit. „Fahrzeugstrukturen aus HL-FVK lassen sich nur dann gewichtsoptimiert auslegen, wenn die Tragfähigkeit ausreichend genau vorhergesagt wird, die Richtungsabhängigkeit der Fasern voll ausgenutzt wird und Fertigungseffekte richtig erkannt und berücksichtigt werden“, fasst Luise Kärger zusammen.

 

Um die Simulierbarkeit von Hochleistungs-Faserverbundkunststoffen zu verbessern, arbeiten die Wissenschaftler der YIG „Green Mobility“ an einer effizienten Drapiersimulation, welche die lokale Faserarchitektur der Preforms ausreichend genau vorhersagt. Zudem entwickeln sie geeignete strukturmechanische Modelle zur Beschreibung lokaler Drapiereffekte und erarbeiten eine effiziente Bauteilsimulation, die alle global relevanten Effekte berücksichtigt. Mithilfe der entwickelten Methoden leiten sie Vorgehensweisen zur Ermittlung der optimalen Drapierstrategie für gegebene Bauteilgeometrien her, um die geforderten Trageigenschaften der Bauteile einzuhalten und deren Gewicht zu minimieren. Die YIG trägt zu den Aktivitäten des KIT-Zentrums Mobilitätssysteme bei.

 

Die YIG „Green Mobility“ ist die erste Young Investigator Group, die das KIT in Kooperation mit einer Stiftung eingerichtet hat: Mit der Vector Stiftung hat die KIT-Stiftung, zentraler Ansprechpartner für philanthropisches Engagement am KIT, einen renommierten Förderer für die Einrichtung der YIG gewonnen. Die Vector Stiftung wurde 2011 von den Firmengründern der Vector Informatik GmbH, Eberhard Hinderer, Martin Litschel und Dr. Helmut Schelling, gegründet. Stiftungszwecke sind die Unterstützung regionaler sozialer Einrichtungen, die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs an Schulen und Hochschulen und als Schwerpunkt die Forschungsförderung im Bereich umweltfreundlicher und nachhaltiger Mobilität. Die YIG „Green Mobility“ startete am 1. Juli dieses Jahres und ist auf vier Jahre angelegt.

 

YIGs fördern herausragende Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler direkt nach dem Abschluss der Promotion und stärken das Forschungsprofil des KIT. Mit diesem Förder-instrument ermöglicht das KIT dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs, bereits in einer frühen Karrierephase erste Erfahrungen im Etablieren und Anleiten einer Gruppe zu sammeln. Die Leiterin oder der Leiter einer YIG kann Mitglied im Young Investigator Network (YIN) des KIT werden.

 

Das Zentrum Mobilitätssysteme bündelt die fahrzeugtechnischen Aktivitäten des KIT: An den methodischen und technologischen Grundlagen für die Fahrzeuge der Zukunft arbeiten derzeit knapp 40 Institute mit rund 800 Mitarbeitern. Ziel ist es, Konzepte, Technologien, Methoden und Prozesse für die Mobilität der Zukunft zu erarbeiten. Die Wissenschaftler berücksichtigen dabei das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Fahrzeug, Fahrer, Verkehr, Infrastruktur und Gesellschaft.

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 08.08.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Pressereferentin
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneVof7∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseXyg1∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.