Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 112/2014

Karlsruhe University Sports Association Wins Competition Ranking

The Sports Association for the First Time Wins the Overall Ranking of the German University Sports Federation adh
2014_112_Karlsruher_Hochschulsport_gewinnt_Wettkampfranking_72dpi
The rowing team of KIT performed well in the past years. (Photo: University Sports Association, KIT)

The sports association of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) has won the 2013 competition ranking of the German University Sports Federation adh. For the first time, the Karlsruhe Sports Association won both the participation and the host rankings and, hence, was top in the overall ranking. In 2013, the Karlsruhe University Sports Association sent a total of 442 athletes to competitions and hosted 5 sports events.

 

The Karlsruhe University Sports Association managed by the KIT also includes athletes of Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences, Karlsruhe University of Education, and the Karlsruhe Cooperative State University. In 2013, a total of 442 participants from Karlsruhe took part in competitions in lacrosse, American football, swimming, judo, artistic gymnastics, and rowing. The KIT hosted the first and intermediate rounds of the German university championship in football, the adh-Open American Football Competition (Uni-Bowl), the intermediate round of the Basketball championship, the Golf championship, and the first and intermediate rounds of the table tennis championship. In 2013, the Karlsruhe University Sports Association won the German university championships in road running and cross-country running, judo (three first places), long jump, ultimate frisbee, artistic gymnastics, American football, taekwondo, and rowing.

 

The adh competition ranking results from top-three rankings in competitions, the delegation of participants to competitions, and the hosting of competition events. All rankings are based on absolute results without taking into account the size of the universities and sports associations. In 2011 and 2012, the Karlsruhe University Sports Association was second in the adh competition ranking. Now, it has won the 2013 overall ranking for the first time. This ranking is based on the participant and host rankings. Moreover, the Karlsruhe University Sports Association is in fourth place in the performance ranking. The second place in the overall ranking is reached by the Sports Association of Münster. Last year’s winner, the Sports Association of Cologne, is in third place.

 

“This big success results from the good performance of our students and the perfect work of our volunteers and responsible staff in the past year,” Dr. Dietmar Blicker, Head of the KIT Sports Association, comments the win of the adh competition ranking. “The first place also reflects the high commitment and excellent work of the staff of both the association and the sports institute of KIT.”

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 28.07.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseUye7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneEuv4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseWnb7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 112/2014

Karlsruher Hochschulsport gewinnt Wettkampfranking

Mit Siegen im Teilnahme- und Ausrichterranking steht die Wettkampfgemeinschaft erstmals an der Spitze der Gesamtwertung des Allgemeinen Deutschen Hochschulsportverbands adh
Mit konstant guten Leistungen überzeugte in den vergangenen Jahren unter anderem das Ruderteam des KIT-Hochschulsports (Foto: Hochschulsport, KIT)
Mit konstant guten Leistungen überzeugte in den vergangenen Jahren unter anderem das Ruderteam des KIT-Hochschulsports (Foto: Hochschulsport, KIT)

Der Hochschulsport am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) hat das Wettkampfranking 2013 des Allgemeinen Deutschen Hochschulsportverbands adh gewonnen. Mit Siegen im Teilnahme- und im Ausrichterranking sicherte sich die Wettkampfgemeinschaft Karlsruhe zum ersten Mal Platz eins in der Gesamtwertung. 2013 entsandte der Karlsruher Hochschulsport insgesamt 442 Sportlerinnen und Sportler zu Wettkämpfen und richtete selbst fünf Wettkampfveranstaltungen aus.

 

In der Wettkampfgemeinschaft Karlsruhe starten unter der Leitung des KIT auch Sportlerinnen und Sportler der Hochschule Karlsruhe – Technik und Wirtschaft, der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe und der Dualen Hochschule Baden-Württemberg in Karlsruhe. Im Jahr 2013 entsandte die Wettkampfgemeinschaft insgesamt 442 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer zu Wettkämpfen in den Sportarten Lacrosse, American Football, Schwimmen, Judo, Gerätturnen und Rudern. Das KIT richtete die Vor- und Zwischenrunde der Deutschen Hochschulmeisterschaft (DHM) im Fußball, die adh-Open American Football (Uni-Bowl), die Zwischenrunde der Basketball-DHM, die Golf-DHM sowie die Vor- und Zwischenrunde der Tischtennis-DHM aus. Zu den Wettkampferfolgen des Karlsruher Hochschulsports 2013 zählen die Deutschen Hochschulmeisterschaften in Straßenlauf und Crosslauf, Judo (drei erste Plätze), Weitsprung, Ultimate Frisbee, Gerätturnen, American Football, Taekwondo und Rudern.

 

Das adh-Wettkampfranking bewertet die Leistungen, das heißt Top-Drei-Platzierungen in Wettkämpfen, die Entsendung von Teilnehmern zu Wettkämpfen und die Ausrichtung von Wettkampfveranstaltungen. Alle Rankings betrachten die absoluten Leistungen, ohne nach der Größe der Hochschulen und Wettkampfgemeinschaften zu gewichten. Der Karlsruher Hochschulsport hatte 2011 und 2012 jeweils den zweiten Platz im adh-Wettkampfranking erreicht. 2013 sicherte er sich erstmals den Sieg im Gesamtranking mit dem Gewinn im Teilnahmeranking und im Ausrichterranking sowie einem starken vierten Platz im Leistungsranking. Den zweiten Platz in der Gesamtwertung erreichte die Wettkampfgemeinschaft Münster. Der Vorjahressieger, die Wettkampfgemeinschaft Köln, landete auf Platz drei.

 

„Die guten Leistungen unserer Studierenden sowie die tolle Arbeit der ehrenamtlichen Obleute und Verantwortlichen im vergangenen Jahr ließen dieses großartige Ergebnis zustande kommen“, kommentiert Dr. Dietmar Blicker, Leiter des Hochschulsports am KIT, den Gewinn des adh-Wettkampfrankings. „Die Spitzenposition belegt darüber hinaus das Engagement und die gute Arbeit der Mitarbeiter des Hochschulsports sowie des Sportreferates am KIT.“

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

or, 28.07.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseImb3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Kontakt für diese Presseinformation:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Tel.: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
margarete lehneDgy2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in der höchsten uns vorliegenden Qualität angefordert werden unter:
presseJve9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414.

Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.