Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 107/2014

Preclinical Development of Tumor Therapeutic Agent Starts

KIT Spinoff amcure GmbH Receives EUR 5 Million for the Development of New Tumor Therapeutic Agents and Preclinical and Clinical Studies

There is an urgent need for medical agents to treat metastatic tumors. In case of pancreatic cancer, one of the most aggressive types of cancer that is often detected late, 95% of the patients die within five years after the diagnosis. The KIT spinoff amcure develops tumor therapeutic agents that might reduce this mortality rate. For preclinical and clinical tests of the agents, amcure has now received a total of EUR 5 million from investors. This will allow for the further development of these substances in the next years.

 

amcure, one of the partners of which is KIT, now plans to use the funds acquired for the further development of candidate agents identified by the team of Dr. Veronique Orian-Rousseau, KIT, for the treatment of metastatic tumors. The candidate substances bind specifically to a certain so-called isoform of the surface molecule CD44 and, thus, specifically interfere with central signal paths of tumor growth, while other types of cells remain unaffected. New formation of blood vessels supplying the tumor (angiogenesis) and migration of cancer cells and their invasion into other organs (development of metastases) are inhibited. “Data from animal tests reveal that our molecules do not only stop the growth of primary tumors, but may also prevent metastasis development and cause the regression of existing metastases,” says Dr. Alexandra Matzke, Chief Scientific Officer of amcure. The clinical studies that are to start in the next years will show whether these positive effects will also occur in human patients without any side effects.

 

The target molecule of amcure’s development candidates, CD44v6, plays a significant role for many types of tumors. It was discovered in the 1990s by Professor Helmut Ponta and his team at KIT. CD44 and its isoforms are increasingly considered significant factors for the spreading and formation of metastases. Blocking the receptor CD44v6 might open up opportunities for a wide-ranging application in tumor therapy.

 

“If these observations will be confirmed by clinical trials with patients, amcure can lay the foundation for treating tumors much more effectively and with far fewer side effects,” emphasizes Dr. Harald Poth, Senior Investment Manager of LBBW Venture Capital.

 

The next development steps will be funded by a consortium headed by LBBW Venture Capital, with participations from KfW, MBG Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg, S-Kap Beteiligungen Pforzheim, BioM AG as well as private investors. In addition, the company receives funding by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) under the special program Spinnovator managed by Ascenion GmbH. The funds are so-called series A funds provided by venture capital investors to support growth of the young KIT spinoff in the next years. Prior to and during the establishment of the company, amcure was financed by its partner KIT and the Helmholtz Association as well as from federal funds.

 

“The consortium around LBBW Venture consists of experienced investors having extensive networks. We are happy to have convinced them of our development approach so that now the next steps in the preclinical and clinical stages can be financed,” says Dr. Matthias Klaften, Chief Executive Officer of amcure.

 

More information:
http://www.innovation.kit.edu/english/shareholdings_679.php

 

About LBBW Venture Capital
The LBBW Venture Capital GmbH is a 100% subsidiary of the Landesbank Baden-Württemberg. Investments focus on life sciences and industrial technologies in southwest Germany. www.LBBW-venture.de

 

About amcure
amcure GmbH is a spinoff of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. It was established in 2012. The company develops peptide agents for the treatment of highly metastatic carcinomas. First development candidates are in the advanced preclinical development stage. In relevant proof-of-concept studies, they showed a high effectiveness for the treatment of various types of tumors, in particular pancreas cancer.

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 15.07.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 107/2014

Tumorwirkstoff geht in präklinische Entwicklung

KIT-Gründung amcure GmbH erhält Finanzierung von 5 Millionen Euro zur Entwicklung neuer Tumortherapeutika und der Durchführung vorklinischer und klinischer Studien

Bei der Behandlung von metastasierenden Tumorarten besteht dringender medizinischer Bedarf. Beim oft spät erkannten Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs, einer der aggressivsten Krebsformen, versterben 95 Prozent der Patienten innerhalb von fünf Jahren nach der Diagnose. Die KIT-Ausgründung amcure entwickelt Tumortherapeutika, die diese Rate senken könnten. Für die vorklinischen und klinischen Tests der Präparate hat amcure nun von Investoren insgesamt 5 Millionen Euro eingesammelt und kann so in den nächsten Jahren die Wirkstoffe weiterentwickeln.

 

Das Spin-off amcure, an dem das KIT als Gesellschafter beteiligt ist, wird die eingeworbenen Geldmittel nutzen, um seine Wirkstoffkandidaten zur Behandlung von metastasierenden Tumoren weiterzuentwickeln, die aus Arbeiten des Teams um Dr. Veronique Orian-Rousseau am KIT entstanden sind. Die Kandidaten binden spezifisch an eine bestimmte sogenannte Isoform des Oberflächenmoleküls CD44 und greifen damit gezielt in zentrale Signalwege des Tumorwachstums ein, ohne andere Zellenarten zu beeinflussen. Die Neubildung von den Tumor versorgenden Blutgefäßen (Angiogenese) sowie die Migration von Krebszellen und deren Invasion in andere Organe (Metastasierung) werden gehemmt. „Daten aus Tierversuchen zeigen, dass unsere Moleküle nicht nur das Wachstum von Primärtumoren stoppen, sondern auch die Entstehung von Metastasen verhindern und die Rückbildung bereits bestehender Metastasen bewirken können“, so Dr. Alexandra Matzke, wissenschaftliche Geschäftsführerin von amcure. Die in den nächsten Jahren startenden klinische Studien sollen zeigen, ob diese positiven Effekte ohne Nebenwirkungen auch bei menschlichen Patienten auftreten.

 

Das Zielmolekül der Wirksstoffkandidaten, CD44v6, spielt bei vielen Tumorarten eine wichtige Rolle und wurde in den 90er Jahren von Prof. Helmut Ponta und seinem Team am KIT entdeckt. CD44 und dessen Varianten werden in letzter Zeit zunehmend als bedeutsam bei der Ausbreitung und Entstehung von Metastasen erachtet. Die Blockierung des Rezeptors CD44v6 könnte Chancen für eine breite Anwendung in der Tumortherapie eröffnen.

 

„Sollten sich diese Beobachtungen in der Klinik bei Patienten bestätigen lassen, kann amcure den Grundstein für eine wesentlich effektivere und nebenwirkungsärmere Tumortherapie legen“, so Dr. Harald Poth, Senior Investment Manager der LBBW Venture Capital.

 

Die Finanzierung der nächsten Entwicklungsschritte erfolgt durch ein Konsortium unter der Führung der LBBW Venture Capital mit Beteiligung der KfW, der MBG Mittelständische Beteiligungsgesellschaft Baden-Württemberg, der S-Kap Beteiligungen Pforzheim, der BioM AG, und Privatinvestoren. Weiterhin erhält das Unternehmen Mittel des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) aus dem von der Ascenion GmbH gemanagten Sonderprogramm Spinnovator. Bei der Finanzierung handelt es sich um eine sogenannte Serie-A-Finanzierung durch Wagniskapitalgeber, die das Wachstum der jungen KIT-Gründung in den nächsten Jahren vorantreiben soll. Vor und während der Gründung und dem Aufbau der Firma erhielt amcure die Unterstützung ihres Gesellschafters KIT sowie Fördermittel des Bundes und der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft.

 

"Mit dem Konsortium um die LBBW Venture konnten wir erfahrene Investoren mit einem breiten Netzwerk gewinnen. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass wir mit unserem Entwicklungsansatz überzeugen konnten und die nächsten Schritte der präklinischen und klinischen Phase finanziert werden können.", sagt Dr. Matthias Klaften, Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung von amcure.

Weitere Informationen:
http://www.innovation.kit.edu/english/shareholdings_679.php

Über LBBW Venture Capital
Die LBBW Venture Capital GmbH ist eine 100%-Tochter der Landesbank Baden-Württemberg. Der Investitionsschwerpunkt liegt in den Bereichen Life Science und industrielle Technologien mit Fokus Südwestdeutschland. www.LBBW-venture.de

Über amcure
Die amcure GmbH ist ein Spin-off aus dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und wurde 2012 gegründet. Die Firma entwickelt Peptidwirkstoffe zur Behandlung von hochmetastasierenden Karzinomen. Erste Entwicklungskandidaten befinden sich in der fortgeschrittenen präklinischen Entwicklung und zeigen in relevanten Proof-of-Concept Studien eine einzigartige Wirksamkeit in verschiedenen Tumorarten mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs.

 

 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

kes, 15.07.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu