Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseByg6∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 102/2014

Heating and Electricity Supply Based on Renewable Sources

”Sol2Heat” Combines a Heat Pump with Thermal Storage Systems, Photovoltaics, Time-depending Electricity Costs, and Smart Control
Concept visualization: Time-depending electricity costs, local electricity production, heat pumps, and thermal storage systems are combined via a smart control. (Graphics: fbta KIT)
Concept visualization: Time-depending electricity costs, local electricity production, heat pumps, and thermal storage systems are combined via a smart control. (Graphics: fbta KIT) *

The “Sol2Heat” project of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is aimed at coupling heat and power supply, both of which are to be based on renewable energy sources to a maximum extent. The system combines a heat pump with thermal solar collectors as the heat source, modular thermal storage systems, and photovoltaic modules. For this purpose, the scientists develop an integrated energy management scheme, by means of which local consumption is largely adapted to fluctuating power production and power costs that vary with time. “Sol2Heat” allows for the direct use of the electricity produced by photovoltaics and for reducing the grid load.

 

The increasing share of renewable energies in Germany is associated with big challenges in power supply. As power production from the regenerative sun and wind fluctuates with time, differences between supply and demand have to be balanced. Electricity can be stored in thermal storage systems charged by heat pumps.

 

The “Sol2Heat – Intelligent Production and Storage of Solar Heat and Power to Increase Solar Power Fractions in the Grid and Enhance Load Management” combines a heat pump-based heating system with photovoltaics and a smart control. “In this way, heating and power supply can be coupled, primary energy use can be minimized, and CO2 emissions can be reduced,” Project Head Tillman Faßnacht of the Building Science Division of KIT explains. The scientists connect the heat pump-based heating system with photovoltaic modules that convert solar energy directly into electric energy. Alternatively, they use PV/T modules combining photovoltaic cells with solar thermal collectors for the production of electricity and heat from solar energy. An innovative modular thermal storage system takes up excessive heat and keeps it available for use.

 

Moreover, the researchers develop an integrated energy management scheme. It covers all thermal storage systems, including the mass of the building, as well as the heat pump, the photovoltaic or PV/T system, and household appliances. Furthermore, it considers incentives of the utilities, such as power costs that vary with time. The work is aimed at maximizing the share of solar power in the energy supply of the building, minimizing operation costs, and reducing grid load. Both energy supply of the individual building and integration into the entire energy system based on renewable sources benefit from the smart combination of technologies.

 

Within the framework of the project, the simulation study made focused on the use of PV or PV/T modules in the system envisaged. According to the study, use of PV/T modules instead of solar thermal/air collectors applied so far causes the power consumption of the system to increase. But thanks to electricity production by PV/T, the resulting annual power consumption from the grid is far smaller. The basic control strategy designed for coupling the system with PV/T collectors ensures optimum storage of locally produced power in the form of heat.

 

The “Sol2Heat” project is coordinated by the Building Science Division of KIT. Project partners are Consolar (www.consolar.de), a manufacturer of heating systems, the engineering office Bickele & Bühler (http://ibb-stuttgart.de/), and the Research Center for Information Technology (FZI; www.fzi.de). The project is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

 

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is one of Europe’s leading energy research establishments. Research, education, and innovation at KIT foster the energy turnaround and reorganization of the energy system in Germany. For this, KIT links excellent competences in engineering and science with know-how in economics, the humanities, and social science as well as law. The activities of the KIT Energy Center are organized in seven topics: Energy conversion, renewable energies, energy storage and distribution, efficient energy use, fusion technology, nuclear power and safety, and energy systems analysis. Clear priorities lie in the areas of energy efficiency and renewable energies, energy storage technologies and grids, electric mobility, and enhanced international cooperation in research.

 

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

or, 09.07.2014
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseBbl3∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 102/2014

Heizung und Stromversorgung mit erneuerbaren Energien

„Sol2Heat“ verbindet Wärmepumpe, thermische Speicher, Photovoltaik, zeitvariable Strompreise und intelligente Regelung
Visualisierung des Konzepts: Zeitvariable Stromtarife, lokale Stromerzeugung, Wärmepumpen und Wärmespeicherung sind über eine intelligente Regelung verbunden. (Grafik: fbta des KIT)
Visualisierung des Konzepts: Zeitvariable Stromtarife, lokale Stromerzeugung, Wärmepumpen und Wärmespeicherung sind über eine intelligente Regelung verbunden. (Grafik: fbta des KIT)

Wärme- und Stromversorgung zu koppeln und für beide Anwendungen erneuerbare Energien maximal zu nutzen – darauf zielt das Projekt „Sol2Heat“ am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). Das System verbindet eine Wärmepumpe mit thermischen Solarkollektoren als Wärmequelle, mit modularen thermischen Speichern und Photovoltaikmodulen. Dazu entwickeln die Wissenschaftler ein integriertes Energiemanagement, das den lokalen Verbrauch so weit wie möglich an die zeitlich schwankende Stromerzeugung anpasst und den Betrieb mit zeitlich variablen Strompreisen erlaubt. „Sol2Heat“ ermöglicht, den durch Photovoltaik erzeugten Strom vor Ort zu nutzen und das Netz zu entlasten.

 

Der steigende Anteil erneuerbarer Energien in Deutschland bringt große Herausforderungen für die Stromversorgung mit sich: Da die Erzeugung von Strom aus den regenerativen Quellen Sonne und Wind zeitlich schwankt, müssen Differenzen zwischen Einspeisung und Verbrauch ausgeglichen werden. Eine Möglichkeit, elektrische Energie zu speichern, bilden thermische Speicher, die über Wärmepumpen geladen werden.

 

Das Verbundprojekt „Sol2Heat – Intelligente Erzeugung und Speicherung von Solarwärme und -strom zur Realisierung hoher solarer Deckungsanteile und zum Lastmanagement“ kombiniert ein Wärmepumpen-Heizsystem mit Photovoltaik und einer intelligenten Steuerung. „Dadurch wird es möglich, Heizung und Stromversorgung zu koppeln, den Primärenergieeinsatz zu minimieren und CO2-Emissionen zu reduzieren“, erklärt Projektleiter Tillman Faßnacht vom Fachgebiet Bauphysik & Technischer Ausbau des KIT. Dabei verbinden die Wissenschaftler ein Wärmepumpenheizsystem mit Photovoltaikmodulen, die Sonnenenergie direkt in elektrische Energie umwandeln.

 

Alternativ setzen sie PV/T-Module ein; die Photovoltaik-Zellen und solarthermische Kollektoren kombinieren und aus der Sonnenenergie sowohl Strom als auch Wärme erzeugen. Ein innovatives modulares thermisches Speichersystem nimmt überschüssige Wärme auf und hält sie zur Nutzung bereit.

 

Überdies entwickeln die Forscher ein integriertes Energiemanagement. Dieses nutzt sämtliche thermischen Speicher einschließlich der Masse des Gebäudes aus, bezieht neben der Wärmepumpe und der Photovoltaik- oder PV/T-Anlage auch Haushaltgeräte ein und berücksichtigt Anreize der Energieversorger, wie beispielsweise zeitlich variable Stromtarife. Ziel ist, den Solaranteil in der Energieversorgung des Gebäudes zu maximieren, Betriebskosten zu minimieren und das Netz zu entlasten. Die intelligente Kombination verschiedener Technologien kommt damit nicht nur der Energieversorgung eines einzelnen Gebäudes, sondern auch der Einbindung in das gesamte, von erneuerbaren Energien bestimmte Energiesystem zugute.

 

Im Rahmen des Projekts haben die Wissenschaftler bisher eine Simulationsstudie zum Einsatz von PV- oder PV/T-Modulen in dem angestrebten System durchgeführt. Sie zeigt, dass durch den Einsatz von PV/T-Modulen als Ersatz für die bisher bei der solaren Wärmepumpe eingesetzten Solarthermie-Luft-Kollektoren zwar der Stromverbrauch des Systems steigt, aber dank der Stromerzeugung durch PV/T in der Jahresbilanz deutlich weniger Strom aus dem Netz benötigt wird. Weiter haben Sie für die Kopplung des Systems mit PV/T-Kollektoren eine Basisregelstrategie entworfen, welche die optimale Speicherung von lokal erzeugtem Strom als Wärme erlaubt.

 

Partner in „Sol2Heat“ sind neben dem fbta des KIT als Projektkoordinator und dem Heizsystemhersteller Consolar (www.consolar.de) das Ingenieurbüro Bickele & Bühler (http://ibb-stuttgart.de/) sowie das FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik (www.fzi.de). Das Projekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert.

 

In der Energieforschung ist das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) eine der europaweit führenden Einrichtungen. Das KIT unterstützt die Energiewende und den Umbau des Energie-systems in Deutschland durch seine Aktivitäten in Forschung, Lehre und Innovation. Hier verbindet das KIT exzellente technik- und naturwissenschaftliche Kompetenzen mit wirtschafts-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichem sowie rechtswissenschaftlichem Fachwissen. Die Arbeit des KIT-Zentrums Energie gliedert sich in sieben Topics: Energieumwandlung, erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicherung und Energieverteilung, effiziente Energienutzung, Fusionstechnologie, Kernenergie und Sicherheit sowie Energiesystemanalyse. Klare Prioritäten liegen in den Bereichen Energieeffizienz und erneuerbare Energien, Energiespeicher und Netze, Elektromobilität sowie dem Ausbau der internationalen Forschungszusammenarbeit. 

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9.300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieurs-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 26.000 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen.

or, 09.07.2014
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseIyf3∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.