Home | deutsch  | Plain Language | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseKzo8∂kit edu

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 098/2014

The Electrical Gofer Comes at a Sign

Gesture-controlled, Autonomous Vehicles May Be Valuable Helpers in Logistics and Trans-Shipment Centers / Spare Parts Suppliers, Libraries, Online Trading, Intralogistics
2014_098_Der_elektrische_Laufbursche_folgt_auf_einen_Wink_72dpi
FiFi is controlled by gestures and carries small and big loads for the user. (Photo: A. Trenkle / KIT)

Transporting big boxes, holding shopping bags, or carrying suitcases to the plane or taxi: Often, we would like to have a second pair of arms for routine work. Many flows of materials and goods at factories and workshops take place manually. An electrical “gofer” is needed, which is controlled by natural gestures, relieves the workers of heavy loads, and transports them independently. This is done by the assistance system FiFi of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). It is now being tested in first industrial pilot applications.

 

“FiFi is an assistance system we developed to support man in his direct environment. It can be controlled in a contact-free manner,” Project Head Andreas Trenkle, KIT, explains. The mobile platform equipped with a camera system is particularly suited for dynamic material flows at factories and workshops. These flows require high flexibility and are usually executed by man. Typical examples are high bay warehouses for car spare parts, consumer products of big online traders or deliveries of goods between departments of big companies.

 

So far, two versions of FiFi have been realized: One vehicle allows for the transportation of loads of up to 30 kg and has a base area of 50 x 50 cm. Another bigger vehicle developed by the industry partner Bär Automation can transport loads of up to 300 kg and even pull a cart. Via a camera system, FiFi three-dimensionally acquires the gestures of the user and executes his commands. For moving FiFi or switching into the different modes of operation, no contact is required. FiFi follows the user and may approach him up to an arm’s length for loading. When the user points to a line on the floor, FiFi independently moves along the line to the next station, where it is deloaded by the next user. A safety laser scanner prevents it from colliding with objects or people and allows for safe operation. By a gesture, a lifting system can be adjusted to various working heights.

 

In a first practical test, FiFi was operated successfully. Now, the assistance system is planned to be commercialized in the area of intralogistics. Together with the industry partner Bär Automation, FiFi was optimized for various applications in the logistics sector. Now, other pilot applications are planned. “FiFi helps workers perform their tasks more efficiently,” Trenkle says. “It can also help design more workplaces in a senior-friendly manner by facilitating the transportation of light and heavy loads.”

 

Video about FiFi in operation:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=c71cc26zAWY

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014
Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:

http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Being „The Research University in the Helmholtz Association“, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 25,100 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life.

kes, 01.07.2014

Press contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail: schinarakisUej9∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseGgg7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presse(a)kit.edu

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 098/2014

Der elektrische Laufbursche folgt auf einen Wink

Gestengesteuerte, autonome Fahrzeuge können wertvolle Helfer in logistischen Umschlagsplätzen und Lagern werden / Ersatzteilzulieferer, Büchereien, Onlinehandel, Intralogistik
Mittels verschiedener Gesten bekommt FiFi seine Kommandos und nimmt dem Nutzer kleine und große Lasten ab. (Bild: A.Trenkle / KIT)
Mittels verschiedener Gesten bekommt FiFi seine Kommandos und nimmt dem Nutzer kleine und große Lasten ab. (Bild: A.Trenkle / KIT)

Schwere Kisten schleppen, geduldig Einkaufstüten halten und den Koffer bis zum Flieger oder Taxi tragen: Oft bräuchte man im Alltag ein zweites Paar Arme. Aber auch in Betrieben gibt es noch viele Material- und Warenflüsse, die von Hand ausgeführt werden. Hier bedarf es eines elektrischen „Laufburschen“, der einfach mit natürlichen Gesten steuerbar den Mitarbeitern viele Tragelasten abnimmt und eigenständig transportiert. Das Assistenzsystem FiFi des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) kann genau dies und wird nun in ersten industriellen Pilotanwendungen gestestet.

 

„Mit FiFi haben wir ein Assistenzsystem entwickelt, das den Menschen in seiner direkten Umgebung unterstützt und berührungslos steuerbar ist“, erklärt Projektleiter Andreas Trenkle vom KIT. Die fahrbare Plattform mit Kamerasystem lässt sich besonders sinnvoll dort einsetzen, wo es in Betrieben zu dynamischen Materialflüssen kommt. Denn diese erfordern hohe Flexibilität und werden üblicherweise von Menschen ausgeführt. Typische Beispiele sind Regallager für Autoersatzteile, Konsumprodukte bei großen Online-Händlern oder Warenlieferungen zwischen Abteilungen in Betrieben.

 

FiFi wurde bisher in zwei Varianten realisiert: Ein Fahrzeug ermöglicht den Transport von Lasten bis 30 Kilogramm und hat eine Grundfläche von 50 auf 50 Zentimeter. Ein größeres Fahrzeug, das vom Industriepartner Bär Automation entwickelt wurde, kann Lasten von bis zu 300 Kilogramm befördern und ermöglicht auch das Ziehen eines Wagens. Über ein Kamerasystem erfasst FiFi Gesten des Anwenders dreidimensional und führt dessen Kommandos aus. So lässt sich FiFi etwa berührungslos rangieren oder in die verschiedenen Betriebsmodi schalten: Während FiFi dem Benutzer folgt, kann das Fahrzeug zum Beladen beispielsweise auf Armeslänge an den Nutzer herangewunken werden. Mit einer Zeigegeste auf eine Linie am Boden fährt FiFi selbstständig entlang der Linie zur nächsten Station, wo er vom nächsten Nutzer entladen wird. Ein Sicherheitslaserscanner schützt vor Kollisionen und ermöglicht dadurch eine sichere Bedienung. Über ein Hubsystem lassen sich verschiedene Arbeitshöhen mittels Geste einstellen.

 

Im ersten Praxistest hat sich FiFi bereits so gut bewährt, dass das Assistenzsystem nun in den Markt der Intralogistik eingeführt werden soll. Zusammen mit dem Industriepartner BÄR Automation wurde FiFi für verschiedene Anwendungen in der Logistik optimiert, um nun im nächsten Schritt in weiteren Pilotanwendungen zum Einsatz gebracht zu werden. „FiFi hilft Mitarbeitern ihre Aufgaben effizienter zu erledigen“, ist sich Trenkle sicher. „Und kann auch dazu beitragen, mehr Arbeitsplätze altersgerecht zu gestalten, indem der Transport von leichten und schweren Lasten vereinfacht wird.“

 

FiFi im Einsatz – Videoclip: www.youtube.com/watch?v=c71cc26zAWY


Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:

http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Bildhinweis für alle Fotos:
Foto: IFL, KIT

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 01.07.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Fotohinweis: "Foto: IFL, KIT" Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.