Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 095/2014

KIT Researchers Measure Emissions of the Capital

For the First Time, Greenhouse Gas Emissions Are Measured Using Ground-based Remote Sensing Instruments
2014_095_KIT-Forscher_messen_Emissionen_der_Hauptstadt_72dpi
Preliminary reference measurements by Fourier spectrometers on the roof of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research. (Photo: Dr. Frank Hase)

Scientists of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) have developed a new method to measure greenhouse gas emission of big cities and other local sources. Now, this method is applied for the first time in a campaign in Berlin. Five ground-based remote sensing instruments are distributed around the city to measure both the increased concentrations in the plume of the city and the background concentration, i.e. the amount of greenhouse gases already accumulated in the surrounding air. From the differences, the researchers can determine the emissions of carbon dioxide and methane.

 

Climate warming caused by the emission of the greenhouse gases carbon dioxide and methane is in the focus of politics again. The USA and China plan to undertake more efforts to reduce emissions, for example. However, the methods applied so far are not suited for predicting the long-term development of concentrations in the atmosphere. For this and to assess potential strategies to minimize impacts on the climate, both the greenhouse gas sources and the greenhouse gas sinks, i.e. ecosystems that take up more greenhouse gases than they release, have to be determined quantitatively with high precision. This means that the amount of gases released or absorbed has to be measured accurately by the scientists of the Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing Division of the KIT Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK-ASF).

 

“Precise quantification of the emission of greenhouse gas sources is difficult, because the gases remain in the atmosphere for a long time,” Dr. Frank Hase explains. He works in the group “Ground-based Remote Sensing with Fourier Transform Infrared Spectrometers” of IMK-ASF. “A certain source, such as a big city, causes a very small additional increase in concentration compared to the background. It is this small increase we want to measure.“ Established methods measure the concentration of the gases at the locations of the instruments with high accuracy. However, the data of such local measurements are dominated by sources in the direct vicinity. Moreover, interpretation of these data is difficult, as the calculated intensities of the source depend on model assumptions relating to the transport of gases through the air. Measurements of greenhouse gas concentrations at various heights on towers that are several hundred meters high allow for much more reliable statements. But these measurements are associated with a high expenditure.

 

This is why KIT climate researchers pursue a new approach: For the first time, emissions of a big city are measured by a small network of ground-based remote sensing instruments, namely, Fourier spectrometers. They record in the near infrared the wavelength intervals, in which carbon dioxide and methane absorb solar irradiation. This means that they analyze the extent to which the sun’s thermal radiation is weakened while passing the Earth’s atmosphere. “This is no local measurement. We determine the total amount of gases along the visual line, i.e. along the imaginary connecting line between the measurement instrument and the sun,” Frank Hase explains. The visual line, hence, corresponds to the pathway of the incident light.

 

The measurement campaign will take three weeks from late June to mid-July. During this time, the KIT researchers will install five Fourier spectrometers in the outskirts around Berlin. Depending on the wind direction, one of the measurement stations around the city is located in the plume and measures increased values, while the remaining stations record the background concentrations of the gases in the upstream air. From the differences of the measurement results, the emission rates of carbon dioxide and methane can be determined, if the wind conditions are known.

 

Prior to the application of this reliable method, the KIT scientists succeeded in improving measurement accuracy to better than 0.1 percent of the gas concentration observed. The new portable instruments were financed from the strategic investment program “Advanced Remote Sensing – Ground Truth Demo and Test Facilities” (ACROSS) of the Helmholtz Association. The instruments to be used in this campaign were developed by KIT in cooperation with Bruker Optik GmbH (Ettlingen) based on a series device. Bruker Optik has meanwhile commercialized these new instruments. First devices are now being applied by research institutions in the United States, Japan, and Australia.

 

To determine in advance potential instrument-related deviations of the measurement data of the spectrometers to be used in Berlin, the KIT climate researchers carried out simultaneous measurements with all devices on Campus North of KIT. Evaluation of the data measured in Berlin will take several months. Afterwards, the scientists plan to publish their results. They expect that the new measurement method will soon become firmly established, as it is not only suited for big cities, but also for other local sources, such as natural gas fields.

 

In the future, the IMK-ASF of KIT plans to use the portable spectrometers at other European cities and for other sources. In cooperation with local working groups, they intend to establish a worldwide network of stations. “These measurements will contribute to closing gaps in the existing global measurement networks and to understanding the carbon cycle,” Dr. Frank Hase says.


The KIT Climate and Environment Center develops strategies and technologies to secure the natural bases of life. For this purpose, 660 employees of 32 institutes produce fundamental and application-oriented knowledge relating to climate and environmental change. It is not only aimed at eliminating the causes of environmental problems, but increasingly at adapting to changed conditions.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

or, 27.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseOad7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneTfb3∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseFtb5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 095/2014

KIT-Forscher messen Emissionen der Hauptstadt

Klimaforscher erfassenTreibhausgasausstoß erstmals mit bodengebundenen Fernerkundungsinstrumenten
Vorbereitende Vergleichsmessungen mit mehreren Fourierspektrometern auf der Dachterrasse des KIT-Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung. (Foto: Dr. Frank Hase)
Vorbereitende Vergleichsmessungen mit mehreren Fourierspektrometern auf der Dachterrasse des KIT-Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung. (Foto: Dr. Frank Hase)

Eine neue Methode, um den Treibhausgasausstoß von Großstädten und anderen räumlich begrenzten Quellen zu messen, haben Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) entwickelt. In einer Messkampagne in Berlin wenden sie ihre Messmethode erstmals an: Mit fünf um die Stadt verteilten bodengebundenen Fernerkundungsinstrumenten messen sie sowohl die erhöhten Werte in der Abluftfahne der Stadt sowie die Hintergrundkonzentration, also die Menge an Treibhausgasen, die sich in der umgebenden Luft bereits angesammelt haben. Aus den Differenzen ermitteln die Forscher die tatsächlichen Emissionsstärken von Kohlendioxid und Methan.

 

Die durch den Ausstoß der Treibhausgase Kohlendioxid und Methan verursachte Klimaerwärmung steht in diesen Tagen wieder im Fokus der Politik. So wollen sich künftig auch die USA und China intensiver um ein Verringern der Emissionen bemühen. Allerdings reichen bisherige Methoden nicht aus, um die langfristige Entwicklung der Konzentrationen in der Atmosphäre vorherzusagen. Dazu und um mögliche Strategien zur Minimierung der Klimafolgen zu bewerten, ist es erforderlich, sowohl Treibhausgasquellen als auch Treibhausgassenken – also Ökosysteme, die mehr Treibhausgas aufnehmen, als sie abgeben – quantitativ genau zu bestimmen, das heißt genau messen zu können, in welcher Menge sie Gase abgeben oder aufnehmen. Damit befassen sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (IMK-ASF) des KIT.

 

„Den Ausstoß aus Treibhausgasquellen genau zu beziffern, ist deshalb schwierig, weil die Gase sehr lange in der Atmosphäre verweilen“, erklärt Dr. Frank Hase, Mitglied der Gruppe „Bodengebundene Fern¬erkundung mit Fourier-Transformations-Infrarot-Spektrometern“ am IMK-ASF. „Eine bestimmte Quelle – etwa eine Großstadt – bewirkt daher nur eine sehr kleine zusätzliche Erhöhung gegenüber der Konzentration, die sich bereits im Hintergrund angesammelt hat. Genau diese kleine Erhöhung gilt es zu messen.“ Zwar gibt es etablierte Messverfahren, welche die Konzentration der Gase am Aufstellungsort der Instrumente mit hoher Genauigkeit erfassen können. Die Daten derartiger lokaler Messungen sind aber dominiert von Quellen in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft; außerdem ist ihre Interpretation schwierig, weil die berechneten Stärken der Quelle von Modellannahmen über den Transport der Gase durch die Luft abhängen. Messungen der Treibhausgaskonzentrationen auf verschiedenen Höhenniveaus an Masten, die bis einige Hundert Meter hoch sind, erlauben deutlich tragfähigere Aussagen. Solche Verfahren sind jedoch äußerst aufwendig.

 

Daher gehen die KIT-Klimaforscher nun einen neuen Weg: Sie messen die Emissionen einer Großstadt erstmals mit einem kleinen Netzwerk bodengebundener Fernerkundungsinstrumente. Dabei handelt es sich um Fourierspektrometer. Diese messen im nahen Infrarotbereich die Wellenlängenintervalle, in denen Kohlendioxid und Methan die Sonnenstrahlung aufnehmen (absorbieren). Das heißt, sie analysieren, wie stark die Wärmestrahlung der Sonne beim Durchgang durch die Erdatmosphäre abgeschwächt wird. „Somit handelt es sich nicht um eine lokale Messung – vielmehr bestimmen wir die Gesamtmenge der Gase entlang des Sehstrahls, also entlang der gedachten Verbindungslinie zwischen Messinstrument und Sonne“, erläutert Frank Hase. Der Sehstrahl entspricht also dem Weg, den das einfallende Licht nimmt.

 

Die Messkampagne läuft über drei Wochen von Ende Juni bis Mitte Juli. In dieser Zeit setzen die KIT-Forscher fünf Fourierspektrometer entlang des Berliner Stadtrands ein. Je nach Windrichtung befindet sich jeweils eine der ringförmig um die Stadt verteilten Messstationen in der Abluftfahne der Stadt und misst erhöhte Werte, während die übrigen Stationen die Hintergrundkonzentration der Gase in der anströmenden Luft erfassen. Aus den Differenzen der Messergebnisse lassen sich bei Kenntnis der Windverhältnisse die Emissionsstärken von Kohlendioxid und Methan ermitteln.

 

Möglich wurde diese zuverlässige Methode dadurch, dass die KIT-Wissenschaftler die Genauigkeit der Messungen auf ein zuvor nicht erreichtes Niveau von besser als 0,1 Prozent der beobachteten Gasmenge verbesserten. Die neuen tragbaren Instrumente wurden aus der strategischen Ausbauinvestition „Advanced Remote Sensing – Ground Truth Demo and Test Facilities“ (ACROSS) der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft finanziert. Das KIT entwickelte die Instrumente eigens für diesen Einsatzzweck in Kooperation mit dem Industriepartner Bruker Optik GmbH (Ettlingen) auf der Basis eines Seriengeräts. Bruker Optik bietet die neuen Instrumente inzwischen für atmosphärische Messungen an – die ersten Geräte werden bereits von Forschungseinrichtungen in den Vereinigten Staaten, Japan und Australien eingesetzt.

 

Um eventuell verbleibende instrumentell bedingte Abweichungen in den Messdaten zwischen den einzelnen in Berlin eingesetzten Spektrometern vorab zu erkennen, nahmen die KIT-Klimaforscher gleichzeitige Messungen mit allen Geräten am Campus Nord des KIT vor. Die Auswertung der Daten aus der Messkampagne in Berlin wird einige Monate dauern. Anschließend wollen die Wissenschaftler ihre Ergebnisse veröffentlichen. Sie erwarten, dass die neue Messmethode sich schnell etablieren wird. Diese eignet sich nicht nur für Großstädte, sondern auch für weitere lokalisierte Quellen, beispielsweise Erdgasfelder.

 

Für die Zukunft plant das IMK-ASF des KIT, die tragbaren Spektrometer in Kampagnen für weitere europäische Großstädte und andere Quellen einzusetzen sowie in Kooperation mit lokalen Arbeitsgruppen ein weltweites Stationsnetz aufzubauen. „Diese Messungen werden dazu beitragen, Lücken in den vorhandenen globalen Messnetzen zu schließen und einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Verständnis des Kohlenstoffkreislaufs leisten“, sagt Dr. Frank Hase.


Das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt entwickelt Strategien und Technologien zur Sicherung der natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen: Dafür erarbeiten 660 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 32 Instituten Grundlagen- und Anwendungswissen zum Klima- und Umweltwandel. Dabei geht es nicht nur um die Beseitigung der Ursachen von Umweltproblemen, sondern zunehmend um die Anpassung an veränderte Verhältnisse.
 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 27.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneXvp2∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseRhd6∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.