Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 094/2014

Freedom and Responsibility of Science

Ethical Guidelines of KIT Are in Line with Current Recommendations of DFG and Leopoldina

Yesterday, the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the Leopoldina National Academy of Sciences presented their recommendations for “The Freedom and Responsibility of Science” in Berlin. Both research organizations appeal to science to develop ethical principles and mechanisms for the responsible handling of the freedom and risks of research. To ensure the freedom of research and act responsibly, KIT adopted its ethical guidelines in May 2012 already.

 

“In these guidelines, the KIT commits to applying ethical principles in all areas of research, teaching, innovation, and services,” says Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt, KIT Vice President for Human Resources and Law. These ethical guidelines were developed together with various groups of KIT members, including students.

 

The “Guidelines for Ethical Principles of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)” comply with the freedom of arts, sciences, research, and teaching as outlined in Article 5, par. 3 of the German Constitution. They point out that all employees and other members of KIT are responsible for their acting. According to the ethical principles, research, teaching, and innovation at KIT shall serve the gaining of knowledge, the sustainable benefit of mankind, and the protection of the environment and shall pursue peaceful purposes exclusively.

 

“To comply with the freedom of science, however, our guidelines contain neither a set of instructions nor concrete prohibitions and orders,” Barnstedt continues, “but principles that are supposed to guide our acting. In agreement with the recommendations presented by the research organizations, our ethical principles guarantee the freedom of science and the society’s responsibility.”

 

Among others, the ethical principles of KIT refer to the problem of “dual use” i.e. diverse and partly unforeseeable use of research results. Employees and members of KIT are requested to always weigh potential applications of research results with the required sensitivity and to make a technology assessment, if applicable. The latter is well-established at KIT’s Institute for Technology Assessment (ITAS). The KIT staff is to ultimately abstain from research activities that are associated with risks that cannot be restricted.

 

According to Barnstedt, societal responsibility of research, teaching, and innovation also includes public accessibility of the findings. The principles oblige the KIT members to make the results and findings obtained accessible for the scientific community and the society in compliance with the legislation and contractual regulations and to exclusively support by activities and the supply of resources research that meets these requirements. In addition, the ethical principles refer to the cooperation of the KIT members in partnership and trust as a basis of the KIT culture and the participation of students and employees in decision-making and organization processes at KIT.

 

If questions of ethical nature arise during research projects, KIT members may consult an ethics commission. Two ombudspersons have been appointed to give advice to the scientists.

 

More information:

Guidelines for Ethical Principles of KIT: http://www.kit.edu/downloads/KIT_Ethische_Leitlinien.pdf

Joint press release by DFG and Leopoldina “Empfehlungen Wissenschaftsfreiheit und Wissenschaftsverantwortung“ (“Recommendations for the Freedom and Responsibility of Science“): http://www.leopoldina.org/de/presse/pressemitteilungen/

 

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lg, 27.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseJsd2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu



The press release is available as a PDF file.

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Presseinformation 094/2014

Freiheit und Verantwortung der Wissenschaft

Ethische Leitlinien des KIT im Einklang mit den aktuellen Empfehlungen von DFG und Leopoldina

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und die Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina haben gestern in Berlin ihre Empfehlungen zur „Wissenschaftsfreiheit und Wissenschaftsverantwortung“ vorgestellt. Die beiden Forschungsorganisationen appellieren an die Wissenschaft, ethische Prinzipien sowie Mechanismen zum verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Forschungsfreiheit und Forschungsrisiken zu entwickeln. Um dem Spannungsfeld zwischen Forschungsfreiheit und dem verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit dieser gerecht zu werden, hat das KIT bereits im Mai 2012 ethische Leitlinien verabschiedet.

 

„Das KIT verpflichtet sich darin zu einem Handeln, das sich an ethischen Grundsätzen orientiert – in allen Wirkungsfeldern von Forschung, Lehre, Innovation und Dienstleistung“, sagt die Vizepräsidentin des KIT für Personal und Recht, Dr. Elke Luise Barnstedt. Erarbeitet wurden die ethischen Leitlinien gemeinsam mit verschiedenen Mitgliedergruppen des KIT; auch die Studierenden waren bei der Entwicklung beteiligt.

 

Die „Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT)“ haben die in Art. 5 Abs. 3 des Grundgesetzes geregelte Freiheit von Kunst, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Lehre fest im Blick. Sie appellieren zum einen an die Verantwortung aller Beschäftigen und weiteren Mitglieder am KIT für ihr Handeln. Ein wichtiger Grundgedanke der Leitlinien ist, dass Forschung, Lehre und Innovation am KIT dem Erkenntnisgewinn, dem nachhaltigen Nutzen für die Menschheit und dem Schutz der Umwelt dienen sowie friedliche Zwecke verfolgen sollen.

 

„Um der Wissenschaftsfreiheit gerecht zu werden, enthalten unsere Leitlinien jedoch keinen Kanon von Handlungsanweisungen und auch keine konkreten Verbote und Gebote“, so Barnstedt. „sondern es werden Handlungsmaximen formuliert, die Leitplanken sein sollen. Somit agieren sie - wie dies auch in den nun vorgestellten Empfehlungen der Forschungseinrichtungen deutlich wird - im Spannungsfeld zwischen Wissenschaftsfreiheit und gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung.“

 

So weisen die ethischen Leitlinien des KIT auf die Problematik des „dual use“, also der vielfältigen und zum Teil nicht vorhersehbaren Nutzung von Forschungsergebnissen, hin und fordern Mitglieder und Angehörige des KIT auf, mit der notwendigen Sensibilität die potenziellen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten von Forschungsergebnissen abzuwägen und gegebenenfalls eine Technikfolgenabwägung vorzunehmen. Diese ist gerade im KIT durch das Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung (ITAS) bestens etabliert. Auf Forschung mit nicht einzugrenzenden Risiken der Forschungsaktivitäten selbst soll in letzter Konsequenz verzichtet werden.

 

Zur gesellschaftlichen Verpflichtung von Forschung, Lehre und Innovation gehöre, so Barnstedt, aber auch die öffentliche Zugänglichkeit der Erkenntnisse: In ihren Leitlinien verpflichten sich die KIT-Mitglieder die gewonnenen Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse dem wissenschaftlichen Umfeld und der Gesellschaft unter Beachtung der Gesetzeslage und vertraglicher Regelungen allgemein zugänglich zu machen und ausschließlich Forschung, die diesen Anforderungen entspricht, durch Aktivitäten und Bereitstellung von Ressourcen zu fördern. Darüber hinaus befassen sich die ethischen Leitlinien mit dem partnerschaftlichen und vertrauensvollen Umgang der KIT-Angehörigen untereinander als Basis der KIT-Kultur sowie der Partizipation der Studierenden und Beschäftigten an Entscheidungsfindungs- und Gestaltungsprozessen im KIT.

 

Mitglieder des KIT können bei aktuellen ethischen Fragen bei ihren Forschungsprojekten eine Ethikkommission anrufen. Zwei Ombudspersonen stehen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern beratend zur Seite.

 

Weitere Informationen:

Leitlinien für ethische Grundsätze des KIT: http://www.kit.edu/downloads/KIT_Ethische_Leitlinien.pdf

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung DFG und Leopoldina „Empfehlungen Wissenschaftsfreiheit und Wissenschaftsverantwortung“: http://www.leopoldina.org/de/presse/pressemitteilungen/

 

 

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 24 400 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

lg, 27.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:

Monika Landgraf
Leiterin Gesamt-kommunikation, Pressesprecherin

Tel: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseNak2∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Stellvertretende Pressesprecherin

Tel.: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu