Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 085/2014

New Learning and Seminar Center Opened at KIT

Opening Ceremony with Minister of Science Theresia Bauer – Second Central Service Center for Students of this Type in Germany
2014_085_Neues_Lern-_und_Seminarzentrum_am_KIT_eroeffnet_72dpi
Lord Mayor Frank Mentrup, Minister Theresia Bauer, KIT President Holger Hanselka, KIT Vice President Alexander Wanner, and Dominik Dürrschnabel, Vermögen und Bau BW (from left to right). (Photo: Markus Breig, KIT)

Open learning areas, seminar rooms, and laboratories under one roof. All this will be offered by the new Learning and Seminar Center on Campus South of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The new building is designed to meet the requirements of learning and researching students. Today, the building was opened officially in the presence of the Baden-Württemberg Minister of Science Theresia Bauer.

 

“Under the programs “Hochschule 2012” and “Master 2016”, the state of Baden-Württemberg created a total of 22,500 new studies places for freshmen and another 6,300 places for students starting master programs. With this, we want to give young people, who are eager to learn, the opportunity to attend a university. At KIT, we created 200 new studies places in chemical, biological, and bioengineering sciences. In close cooperation with the students’ representatives, we looked for possibilities of mitigating the shortage of space. The rooms that have been created for practical exercises, seminars, individual work, and teamwork with funds of the state represent an ideal place for high-quality education of students,” said Minister Theresia Bauer during the opening ceremony.

 

Das neue Lern- und Seminarzentrum am KIT (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

The utilization and building concept that also takes into account suggestions made by KIT students was set up by the Campus Development Service Unit. Under the direction of the State Ministry of Finance and Economics, the Karlsruhe Office for Assets and Construction in Baden-Württemberg supervised construction within the given time and budget limits. The Baden-Württemberg Ministry of Science, Research, and the Arts financed the construction costs of EUR 6 million under the development program “Hochschule 2012”. Both ministries quickly approved of the construction project in 2011 due to the novel approach pursued by the Center.

 

Professor Holger Hanselka, President of KIT, emphasized: “Research-oriented teaching is an important characteristic of studies at KIT. The new Learning Center is a place that supports students in learning, working, and conducting research and meets the special requirements associated with modern forms of scientific teaching and learning. At the same time, the Center provides students with room for exchange and with opportunities to retreat for relaxation. We would like to thank the state for this great support.”

 

The Lord Mayor of Karlsruhe, Dr. Frank Mentrup, said: “Without its universities and its more than 40,000 students, the city of Karlsruhe would only be half as fascinating. For Karlsruhe to remain an attractive location of science, the universities need to have a good infrastructure. For this reason, I am very happy about the new Learning Center that will considerably mitigate the shortage of rooms at KIT.”

 

A major element of the new Center is the open learning area that covers three floors. There, students can meet, discuss, and work. “The students are very pleased about the increase in learning space by more than 100 places for individual and group work and we hope that these places will be available to our students during the examination phase that will start soon,” said the Deputy Chairperson of the General Students Committee (AStA) at KIT. “Consideration of the wishes of students by a poll is a very positive example of participation at KIT. This policy should be continued.”

 

On the ground floor, the building planned by Reiner Becker Architekten, Berlin, accommodates a separable seminar room with a total of 58 places, a meeting and group room with 20 places, and a students’ lounge covering about 200 m². On the first and second floors, one seminar room with 28 places each can be found. In addition, the building accommodates 94 workplaces for students. The seminar rooms are open for lectures of all departments. In addition, the first floor accommodates a biological laboratory (60 places). A chemical laboratory, also with 60 places, can be found on the second floor.

   Das Kunstobjekt „Kontinuität“, eine frei-schwebende Säule bildet das Zentrum des Atriums im neuen Lern- und Seminarzentrum am KIT (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

The building also accommodates an object of art: The corresponding competition was won by the object “Continuity” by the artist Yoshiyuki Miura, Munich. His suspended column is located in the center of the atrium: 1,680 stainless steel ropes form a cuboid with twelve regular light-orange ellipses. The ellipsoids stand for the continuity of teaching and science.

 

The concept of the building follows that of the first European Learning Centre of the   Sheffield Hallam University. After the Learning Center of Göttingen University, the Learning Center of KIT now is the second service center for students of this type in Germany. Energy efficiency of the building is of high importance: The primary energy consumption is 30 % below the value given in the Energy Saving Ordinance (Energieeinsparverordnung, ENEV) 2009. Among others, the building has an energy-optimized and long-lived brick facework. On the roof, photovoltaic systems can be installed.

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le, 18.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseCrt7∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Margarete Lehné
stellv. Pressesprecherin
Phone: +49 721 608-21157
Fax: +49 721 608-41157
margarete lehneByk8∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseVvm0∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 085/2014

Neues Lern- und Seminarzentrum am KIT eröffnet

Feierliche Übergabe mit Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer – Bundesweit zweite derartige zentrale Serviceeinrichtung für Studierende
Oberbürgermeister Frank Mentrup, Ministerin Theresia Bauer, KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka, KIT-Vizepräsident Alexander Wanner und Dominik Dürrschnabel, Vermögen und Bau BW (v.l.n.r., Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)
Oberbürgermeister Frank Mentrup, Ministerin Theresia Bauer, KIT-Präsident Holger Hanselka, KIT-Vizepräsident Alexander Wanner und Dominik Dürrschnabel, Vermögen und Bau BW (v.l.n.r., Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Offene Lernbereiche, Seminarräume und Laborpraktika unter einem Dach: Das bietet künftig das neue Lern- und Seminarzentrum auf dem Campus Süd des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT). Das neuartige Gebäudekonzept ist damit auf die Anforderungen zeitgemäßen studentischen Lernens und Forschens zugeschnitten. Die feierliche Übergabe des Gebäudes fand heute mit der baden-württembergischen Wissenschaftsministerin Theresia Bauer statt.

 

„Mit den Programmen ‚Hochschule 2012‘ und ‚Master 2016‘ hat das Land insgesamt 22.500 neue Anfängerstudienplätze sowie weitere 6.300 Anfängerplätze in Masterstudiengängen geschaffen, um jungen, wissensdurstigen Menschen die Chance auf eine Hochschulausbildung zu geben. So entstanden am KIT 200 neue Studienplätze in den Chemie-, Bio- und Bioingenieurwissenschaften. In enger Abstimmung mit den Studierendenvertretern haben wir nach Möglichkeiten gesucht, die Raumnot zu lindern. Die jetzt aus Mitteln des Landes geschaffenen Räume für Praktika, Seminare, Einzel- und Gruppenarbeit sind zu einem geradezu idealen Ort geworden, um Studierenden eine qualitätsvolle Ausbildung zu geben“, so Ministerin Theresia Bauer bei der feierlichen Übergabe.

 

Das neue Lern- und Seminarzentrum am KIT (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Das Nutzungs- und Gebäudekonzept, für das auch die KIT-Studierenden ihre Vorschläge eingebracht haben, hatte die KIT-Standortentwicklung erarbeitet. Unter Federführung des Ministeriums für Finanzen und Wirtschaft hat Vermögen und Bau BW – Amt Karlsruhe den Bau im vorgegebenen Zeit- und Kostenrahmen umgesetzt. Das Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst finanzierte die Baukosten von sechs Millionen Euro im Ausbauprogramm „Hochschule 2012“. Beide Ministerien genehmigten das Bauvorhaben 2011 kurzfristig wegen seines neuartigen konzeptionellen Ansatzes.

 

Professor Holger Hanselka, Präsident des KIT, betonte: „Die forschungsorientierte Lehre ist ein wesentliches Merkmal des Studiums am KIT. Mit dem neuen Lernzentrum haben alle Beteiligten gemeinsam einen Ort geschaffen, der die Studierenden beim Lernen, Arbeiten und Forschen unterstützt und der den besonderen Anforderungen zeitgemäßer wissenschaftlicher Lehr- und Lernformen gerecht wird. Gleichzeitig bietet das Zentrum den Studierenden auch Raum für den Austausch untereinander und Rückzugsmöglichkeiten für Entspannungsphasen. Wir danken dem Land sehr für die große Unterstützung.“

 

Der Karlsruher Oberbürgermeister Dr. Frank Mentrup sagte: „Ohne seine Hochschulen und seine über 40.000 Studierenden wäre Karlsruhe nur halb so spannend. Damit die Fächerstadt auch weiterhin ein attraktiver Wissenschaftsstandort bleibt, brauchen die Hochschulen nicht zuletzt eine gute Infrastruktur. Deshalb freue ich mich sehr über das neue Lernzentrum, das die Raumsituation am KIT deutlich entspannen wird."

 

Ein wesentliches Element des neuen Zentrums ist der offene Lernbereich über drei Stockwerke, in dem sich Studierende treffen, diskutieren und arbeiten können. „Die Studierendenschaft begrüßt die Erweiterung des Lernraums um mehr als 100 Einzel- und Gruppenlernplätze und hofft, dass diese auch in der bald beginnenden Klausurenphase uneingeschränkt zur Verfügung stehen“, sagte die Zweite Vorsitzende des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses (AStA) am KIT. „Mit der Einbindung der Wünsche der Studierenden über eine Umfrage durch die Studierendenschaft hat das KIT ein positives Beispiel für Partizipation geliefert, dieser eingeschlagene Weg sollte weiter gegangen werden.“

 

Im Erdgeschoss verfügt das von Reiner Becker Architekten aus Berlin geplante Gebäude über einen teilbaren Seminarraum mit insgesamt 58 Plätzen, einen Gremien- und Gruppenraum mit 20 Plätzen und eine Studentenlounge auf rund 200 Quadratmetern. Im ersten und zweiten Obergeschoss gibt es jeweils einen Seminarraum mit 28 Plätzen. Darüber hinaus bietet das Gebäude 94 studentische Arbeitsplätze, die alle Studierenden des KIT nutzen können. Die Seminarräume stehen für Lehrveranstaltungen aller Fakultäten offen. Dazu kommt im ersten Obergeschoss ein Biologiepraktikum und im zweiten Obergeschoss ein Chemiepraktikum, beide verfügen über jeweils 60 Plätze.

   Das Kunstobjekt „Kontinuität“, eine frei-schwebende Säule bildet das Zentrum des Atriums im neuen Lern- und Seminarzentrum am KIT (Foto: Markus Breig, KIT)

Auch die Kunst am Bau erhält im Lernzentrum Raum: Den Wettbewerb gewann das Kunstobjekt „Kontinuität“ des Münchner Künstlers Yoshiyuki Miura. Seine freischwebende Säule bildet das Zentrum des Atriums: 1.680 Edelstahlseile bilden einen Quader mit 12 regelmäßigen hellorangen Ellipsen. Die Ellipsoide stehen für die Kontinuität von Lehre und Wissenschaft.

 

Als Vorbild für die Gebäudekonzeption diente das erste europäische Learning Centre an der Sheffield Hallam University. Neben dem Lernzentrum an der Universität Göttingen ist das Lernzentrum am KIT nun das bundesweit zweite derartige Gebäude als zentrale Serviceeinrichtung für Studierende. Große Bedeutung erhielt auch die Energieeffizienz des Gebäudes: Der Primärenergiebedarf liegt 30 Prozent unter der Energieeinsparverordnung 2009. Dazu erhielt das Gebäude unter anderem eine energetisch optimierte und langlebige Klinkerfassade. Auf dem Dach wurde zudem die Möglichkeit zur Installation von Photovoltaikanlagen geschaffen.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

le, 18.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneZov6∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseHhm2∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.