Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 084/2014

Mail without Mailmen

Report “Mail Services and Modern Information and Communication Technologies“ on the Development of the Letter Market / Four of Ten Persons Do Not Send Paper Letters Anymore
2014_084_Post_ohne_Brieftraeger_72dpi
Providers of mail services will have to adapt their business strategy to the decrease in classical letter correspondence. (Photo: Laila Tkotz, KIT)

The amount of classical letter correspondence in Germany is decreasing. Electronic mails and messages increasingly replace conventional correspondence, tax declarations are submitted online to the tax office, and private correspondence in particular is transmitted by communication means other than ordinary mail. According to the study of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), mail companies may respond to this change of the market by developing their strengths in logistics and other services.

 

The new possibilities of communicating via the internet are used extensively by many people. This largely influences the amount and type of letter correspondence. Greeting cards, invitations, orders, and invoices are replaced by electronic mails, SMS or web forms issued by authorities and companies. “The share of letters sent by private customers is small and decreased constantly in the past years,” emphasizes sociologist Ulrich Riehm, who managed the study project of the Office of Technology Assessment with the German Bundestag (TAB) that is operated by KIT’s Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS). A representative poll organized by TAB revealed that four of ten persons in Germany do not send paper letters anymore. “By 2020, the amount of letter-based correspondence is expected to decrease by 13 to 29 percent,” Riehm says.

 

According to the report, mail companies might respond to this development by adapting their business strategies to their strengths. These are special competencies in logistics as well as a good reputation as a transmitter of confidential information, which was acquired over centuries and results from the legally required privacy of correspondence. Moreover, mail companies have many contacts to clients in all areas of society and vast experience in the operation of information technologies.

 

According to the TAB report, such a strategy might also include hybrid letter models, which combine the conventional letter with the electronic one. Mail companies already offer secure e-letter portals and complex e-letter solutions for companies and private customers.

 

Mail companies are specialized in shipping and might deliver medicine, books, correspondence of public authorities or food in addition to letters and parcels in the future. This is already done by the French mail service. Mailmen would then be valuable contact persons for ill and elderly people and might establish contacts to other helpers, if necessary. As the decrease in letter correspondence will result in a reduction of jobs, extension of the service spectrum will result in new perspectives for the employees of mail companies.

 

The study was made on behalf of the Federal Parliament, which is interested in particular in how area-wide, legally guaranteed “universal mail service” of sufficient and equal quality can be maintained for all citizens, if letter correspondence will decrease further. Riehm is in favor of a new conception of the universal mail service that ensures the freedom of choice between conventional and electronic letter. “If this freedom of choice is guaranteed, groups of the population would not be excluded from letter communication, because they do not have access to the internet,” the sociologist says. As the letter volume in Germany is expected to decrease gradually and not to drop dramatically as in some other countries, there is sufficient time to prepare necessary adaptations and to discuss them together with politics, science, and the public.

 

The TAB report “Mail Services and Modern Information and Communication Technologies” is summarized on the internet at:

www.tab-beim-bundestag.de/de/publikationen/berichte/ab156.html

 

In connection with the study, the following book was published: Ulrich Riehm/Knud Böhle, Post ohne Briefträger, Sinkende Briefmengen und elektronische Postdienste als Herausforderungen für die Politik, Reihe Studien des Büros für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung, Bd. 39, Edition Sigma, Berlin 2014, ISBN 9783836081399

 

Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:

http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

afr, 18.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseYvh3∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Kosta Schinarakis
Redakteur/Pressereferent
Phone: +49 721 608-21165
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakisTaj4∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYhm7∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 084/2014

Post ohne Briefträger

Studie „Postdienste und moderne Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien“ zur Entwicklung des Briefmarkts / Vier von zehn Personen verschicken keine Papier-Briefe mehr
Mit dem Rückgang des klassischen Briefverkehrs werden Postdienstleister ihre Geschäftsstrategie anpassen müssen. (Foto: Laila Tkotz, KIT)
Mit dem Rückgang des klassischen Briefverkehrs werden Postdienstleister ihre Geschäftsstrategie anpassen müssen. (Foto: Laila Tkotz, KIT)

In Deutschland wird immer weniger klassische Post verschickt. E-Mails und elektronische Mitteilungen ersetzen vermehrt herkömmliche Geschäftsschreiben, Steuererklärungen erreichen das Finanzamt online und vor allem private Briefe landen immer seltener im Briefkasten. Postunternehmen könnten auf diese Marktveränderung reagieren, indem sie ihre Stärke als Logistiker und Service-Dienstleister ausbauen, so die Untersuchung des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT).

 

Die neuen Kommunikationsmöglichkeiten des Internets werden von vielen Menschen intensiv genutzt. Dies hat einen starken Einfluss auf die Menge und Art der Briefkommunikation. Für Grußkarten, Einladungen, Bestellungen und Rechnungen gibt es elektronischen Ersatz durch E-Mail, SMS oder Web-Formulare von Behörden und Unternehmen. „Der Anteil der von Privatkunden verschickten Sendungen ist gering und hat in den vergangenen Jahren kontinuierlich abgenommen“, so der Soziologe Ulrich Riehm, Projektleiter der Studie des Büros für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB), das vom Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) des KIT betrieben wird. Vier von zehn Personen in Deutschland verschicken überhaupt keine Papier-Briefe mehr, ergab eine repräsentative Bevölkerungsbefragung durch das TAB. „Bis 2020 ist ein Rückgang des Briefaufkommens zwischen 13 und 29 Prozent zu erwarten“, so Riehm.

 

Postunternehmen könnten auf diese Entwicklung reagieren, indem sie ihre Geschäftsstrategien anpassen und dabei an ihren Stärken ansetzen, heißt es in dem Bericht. Dazu gehörten ihre besonderen Kompetenzen in der Logistik sowie ein über Jahrhunderte erworbenes – und durch das Briefgeheimnis gesetzlich verankertes – Renommee als Übermittler vertraulicher Nachrichten. Hinzu kämen umfassende Kundenkontakte in alle Bereiche der Gesellschaft und die breite Erfahrung mit informationstechnischen Systemen.

 

Hybride Briefmodelle, die den herkömmlichen Brief mit dem elektronischen verknüpfen, würden ebenfalls in eine solche Strategie passen, stellt die Untersuchung fest. Postunternehmen böten schon jetzt sichere E-Brief-Portale und komplexe E-Brief-Lösungen für Unternehmens- und Privatkunden an.

 

Als Spezialisten für Beförderung könnten Postunternehmen neben Briefen und Paketen künftig auch Medikamente, Bücher, Behördenformulare und Lebensmittel ins Haus bringen. Eine solche Ausweitung der Dienste verfolgt bereits die französische Post. „Postboten“ wären als Kontaktpersonen für kranke und ältere Menschen denkbar, die notfalls weitere Hilfen vermitteln. Da ein Rückgang der Briefsendungen mit einem Beschäftigungsabbau einhergehe, bedeutete ein Erweitern des Service-Spektrums zugleich neue Perspektiven für die Mitarbeiter von Postunternehmen.

 

Den Bundestag als Auftraggeber der Studie interessiert in erster Linie, wie die flächendeckende, allen Bürgern in gleicher und ausreichender Qualität zustehende Postdienstleistung – der gesetzlich garantierte „Postuniversaldienst“ – bei einem sinkenden Briefaufkommen aufrecht erhalten werden kann. Riehm spricht sich für eine Neukonzeption des Postuniversaldienstes aus, welche die Wahlfreiheit zwischen herkömmlichem und elektronischem Brief gewährleistet. „Würde diese Wahlfreiheit garantiert, bestünde keine Gefahr, dass Bevölkerungsgruppen aus der Briefkommunikation ausgeschlossen werden, weil sie zum Beispiel nicht über einen Internetzugang verfügen“, sagt der Soziologe. Da für Deutschland eher eine kontinuierliche Absenkung der Briefmengen erwartet wird und nicht wie in einigen anderen Ländern ein dramatischer Einbruch, bleibe Zeit, notwendige Anpassungen gründlich vorzubereiten und gemeinsam mit Politik, Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit zu diskutieren.

 

Der TAB-Arbeitsbericht Postdienste und moderne Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien findet sich als Zusammenfassung im Internet:
www.tab-beim-bundestag.de/de/publikationen/berichte/ab156.html

 

Zur Studie liegt eine Buch-Publikation vor: Ulrich Riehm/Knud Böhle, Post ohne Briefträger, Sinkende Briefmengen und elektronische Postdienste als Herausforderungen für die Politik, Reihe Studien des Büros für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung, Bd. 39, Edition Sigma, Berlin 2014, ISBN 9783836081399

 

Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr.

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

afr, 18.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseZba4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.