Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Press Release 081/2014

United Nations Emphasize Sustainability in the Real Estate Sector

In Cooperation with UN Working Groups, KIT Experts Coordinated the Drafting of Management Guidelines for Companies in the Real Estate Sector
2014_081_UN_setzt_auf_Nachhaltigkeit_in_der_Immobilienbranche_72dpi
Systematic implementation of sustainability in the real estate sector is the objective of UN management guidelines coordinated by KIT researchers. (Photo: David Lorenz, KIT)

Buildings are part of our living and working environment: They affect the health and satisfaction of their users, but they also consume resources. However, sustainability – the balance of ecological, economic, and social development – has not yet been implemented systematically in the real estate sector. This is to be changed by management guidelines drafted by the Finance Initiative of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP-FI). These guidelines are to support actors of the real estate, finance, and insurance sectors worldwide in implementing sustainability on all levels of their corporate strategy. Leading authors of the report were economists of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

 

“Sustainability in the real estate sector is not only a sociopolitical objective, it also creates added financial value for companies,” says David Lorenz, expert of the Centre for Real Estate at KIT. Together with his colleague Thomas Lützkendorf, he shaped the drafting of the “Sustainability Metrics” report to implement a corporate sustainability management system in the real estate sector and established the scientific basis for the report. Among others, the scientists identified sustainability criteria for the real estate sector. They include heat and noise protection as well as ecobalancing results or the compatibility of construction materials with the environment and health. In addition, the researchers analyzed how these sustainability aspects influence economic success factors and which difficulties result for enterprises implementing sustainability strategies. On this basis, the scientists developed recommendations for best practices.

 

“In our opinion, the biggest challenges consist in systematically acquiring and internally pooling sustainability-relevant data. Furthermore, these data have to be adjusted to internationally comparable standards,” Lützkendorf explains. An online survey organized by the KIT scientists revealed that 81% of real estate companies and valuators make a “sustainability check”, while only 16% acquire and use these data strategically. Insufficient documentation and communication structures prevent sustainability aspects from being considered in management decisions and new investments. Properties like energy efficiency, room air quality or service life of building products reduce operation and maintenance costs, enhance user comfort and health, and secure the market value of a real estate in the longer term.

 

The report presents 24 best practices for real estate companies to implement and profit from sustainability in existing business routines, evaluation methods, and decision processes. These best practices include object documentations for all buildings, their updates along the lifecycle, and their use as a basis of new investments. “We need binding standards to describe, compare, and comprehensively evaluate real estates,” Lorenz says. In his opinion, the Energy Efficiency Regulation of the European Commission only is the first step. It needs to be analyzed which sustainability criteria influence the value of real estates and this influence is to be quantified. For the German-speaking area, the KIT scientists have already drafted NUWEL, detailed guidelines for the integration of sustainability aspects into value determination. The UNEP-FI sustainability metrics report also refers to the “Principles for Responsible Investment” Initiative supported by the UN and the “Global Reporting Initiative” that is aimed at establishing a more sustainable economy worldwide. In this way, these principles are transferred to the real estate sector.

 

The sustainability metrics report is aimed at implementing sustainability in the real estate sector. This means enhancing environmental compatibility, user friendliness, and value conservation. The report is the result of a joint project of the United Nations, the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, the largest association of real estate surveyors worldwide, the Principles for Responsible Investment Initiative, and the Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change.

 

Complete report:
http://www.unepfi.org/fileadmin/publications/investment/UNEPFI_SustainabilityMetrics_Main_Web.pdf

More information on this publication and on the KIT Centre for Real Estate:
http://www.oew.kit.edu/102_231.php

Information on the guidelines for sustainability and valuation of real estates (NUWEL):
www.nuwel.de

 

Being “The Research University in the Helmholtz Association”, KIT creates and imparts knowledge for the society and the environment. It is the objective to make significant contributions to the global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. For this, about 9,300 employees cooperate in a broad range of disciplines in natural sciences, engineering sciences, economics, and the humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 24,400 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science by offering research-based study programs. Innovation efforts at KIT build a bridge between important scientific findings and their application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural basis of life. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

lcp, 16.06.2014
Monika Landgraf
Contact:

Monika Landgraf
Head of Corporate Communications, Chief Press Officer

Phone: +49 721 608-41150
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
presseIfr8∂kit edu

Margarete Lehné

Margarete Lehné
Deputy Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-41157

margarete lehne∂kit edu

Contact for this press release:

Lilith C. Paul
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Telefon: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:l c paulAhr0∂kit edu
The photo in the best quality available to us may be requested by
presseYev8∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414.

The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 081/2014

UN setzt auf Nachhaltigkeit in der Immobilienbranche

KIT-Wirtschaftsexperten haben in Zusammenarbeit mit Arbeitsgruppen der Vereinten Nationen einen Managementleitfaden für Immobilienunternehmen federführend gestaltet
Nachhaltigkeit in der Immobilienbranche systematisch zu verankern, ist Ziel eines von KIT-Forschern federführend gestalteten Managementleitfadens der UN. (Foto: David Lorenz, KIT)
Nachhaltigkeit in der Immobilienbranche systematisch zu verankern, ist Ziel eines von KIT-Forschern federführend gestalteten Managementleitfadens der UN. (Foto: David Lorenz, KIT)

Gebäude sind Teil unserer Lebens- und Arbeitswelt: Sie wirken sich auf die Gesundheit und Zufriedenheit ihrer Nutzer aus – aber sie verbrauchen auch in erheblichem Maße Ressourcen. Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit, als Gleichgewicht aus ökologischer, wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung, ist in der Immobilienbranche allerdings noch nicht systematisch verankert. Mit einem Managementleitfaden der Finanz-Initiative des Umweltprogramms der Vereinten Nationen (UNEP-FI) soll sich das nun ändern: Er soll weltweit Akteure der Immobilien-, Finanz- und Versicherungswirtschaft dabei unterstützen, Nachhaltigkeit auf allen Handlungsebenen in die Unternehmensstrategie einzubinden. Federführende Autoren waren Wirtschaftswissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT).

 

„Nachhaltigkeit in der Immobilienbranche ist nicht nur ein gesellschaftspolitisches Ziel, sondern schafft auch einen finanziellen Mehrwert für Unternehmen“, sagt David Lorenz, Experte vom Fachgebiet Immobilienwirtschaft des KIT. Gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Thomas Lützkendorf hat er den Leitfaden „Sustainability Metrics“ zur Umsetzung eines unternehmensbezogenen Nachhaltigkeitsmanagementsystems für die Immobilienwirtschaft federführend mitgestaltet und die wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen dafür erarbeitet. Die Wissenschaftler identifizierten unter anderem Nachhaltigkeitskriterien für die Immobilienbranche, zu denen neben Wärme- und Schallschutz beispielsweise auch die Ergebnisse einer Ökobilanz oder die Umwelt- und Gesundheitsverträglichkeit von Baumaterialien zählen. Außerdem analysierten sie, wie sich diese Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte auf ökonomische Erfolgsfaktoren auswirken können und welche Schwierigkeiten sich für Unternehmen beim Umsetzen von Nachhaltigkeitsstrategien ergeben. Darauf aufbauend entwickelten sie Handlungsempfehlungen anhand von bewährten Praxisbeispielen.

 

„Die größten Herausforderungen bestehen unserer Einschätzung nach darin, nachhaltigkeitsrelevante Daten systematisch zu erheben, unternehmensintern zu bündeln und an international vergleichbaren Standards auszurichten“, so Lützkendorf. Eine Onlinebefragung der KIT-Wissenschaftler ergab beispielsweise: 81 Prozent der Immobilienunternehmer und Wertermittler führen einen „Nachhaltigkeits-Check“ durch, doch nur 16 Prozent erfassen und nutzen diese Informationen strategisch. Unzureichende Dokumentations- und Kommunikationsstrukturen verhinderten, dass Nachhaltigkeitsmerkmale in Entscheidungen der Unternehmensspitze einflössen und zu Zielvorgaben für neue Investitionen würden, erklärt Lützkendorf. Dabei seien es gerade Eigenschaften, wie Energieeffizienz, die Qualität der Raumluft oder die Lebensdauer von Bauprodukten, die Betriebs- und Instandhaltungskosten senkten, Nutzerkomfort und Gesundheit förderten und den Marktwert einer Immobilie auch längerfristig sicherten.

 

In 24 Best-Practice-Empfehlungen zeigt der Managementleitfaden daher, wie Immobilienunternehmen den Nachhaltigkeitsgedanken in bestehende Geschäftsroutinen, Methoden der Wertermittlung und Entscheidungsprozesse einbinden und davon profitieren können. Dazu gehört etwa, für alle Gebäude Objektdokumentationen anzulegen, diese lebenszyklusbegleitend zu aktualisieren und bei Neuinvestitionen einzufordern. „Wir brauchen verbindliche Standards, um Immobilien branchenweit beschreiben, vergleichen und umfassend bewerten zu können“, sagt Lorenz. Die Energieeffizienzrichtlinie der Europäischen Kommission sei nur der erste Schritt. Es sollte stärker als bisher analysiert werden, welche Nachhaltigkeitsmerkmale den Wert von Immobilien beeinflussten und in welcher Größenordnung ihr Einfluss liege. Für den deutschsprachigen Raum haben die KIT-Wissenschaftler mit NUWEL bereits einen detaillierten Leitfaden erstellt, der Grundlagen für die Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten in die Wertermittlung erläutert. Im UNEP-FI Managementleitfaden verweisen sie darüber hinaus unter anderem auf Vorgaben der UN-geförderten Initiative „Principles for Responsible Investment“ sowie der „Global Reporting Initiative“, die sich weltweit für eine nachhaltigere Wirtschaft einsetzt, und machen sie für die immobilienwirtschaftliche Praxis zugänglich.

 

Ziel des Managementleitfadens ist es, die Immobilienbranche langfristig nachhaltig aufzustellen: Das heißt sowohl umweltverträglich und nutzerfreundlich als auch vermögenserhaltend. Entstanden ist die Veröffentlichung als Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Vereinten Nationen, der Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, des weltweit größten Berufsverbandes für Immobiliensachverständige, der Principles for Responsible Investment Initiative und der Institutional Investors Group on Climate Change.

 

Vollständiger Bericht:
http://www.unepfi.org/fileadmin/publications/investment/UNEPFI_SustainabilityMetrics_Main_Web.pdf

Weitere Informationen zu dieser Veröffentlichung und zum Fachgebiet Immobilienwirtschaft am KIT:
http://www.oew.kit.edu/102_231.php

Informationen zum Leitfaden für Nachhaltigkeit und Wertermittlung von Immobilien (NUWEL):
www.nuwel.de

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

lcp, 16.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Lilith C. Paul
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Telefon: +49 721 608-48120
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail: l c paulLzf1∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseTsy4∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.