Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 077/2014

Electrical Control of Nuclear Spin Qubits

Quick and Specific Switching of Quantum Bits – Publication in the Science Journal
2014_077_Kernspins_elektrisch_manipuliert_72dpi
Single-molecule magnet, consisting of a metal ion and contacting organic molecules between the electrodes. The nuclear spin states (colored circles) can electrically be manipulated and read out. (Figure: S. Thiele, CNRS, C. Grupe, KIT)

Researchers of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and their French partners succeeded in making an important step towards quantum computers. Using a spin cascade in single-molecule magnet, the scientists demonstrated how nuclear spins can be manipulated with electric fields. Electric manipulation allows for a quick and specific switching of quantum bits. The experimental results are now reported in the Science journal. DOI: 10.1126/science.1249802

 

One of the most ambitious goals of nanotechnology is to realize a quantum computer. Such a computer based on quantum mechanics principles is to solve tasks much more efficiently than a classical computer. While the latter works with bits that assume the value of zero or one, a quantum computer uses so-called quantum bits, briefly referred to as qubits, as smallest computation units. They may also assume values in between. Qubits may rely on nuclear spins, i.e. intrinsic angular momentums of atomic nuclei. They orient relative to a magnetic field in upward (up) or downward (down) direction. Interlinkage of qubits with each other results in mixed quantum states, on the basis of which many calculation steps can be executed in parallel.

 

To integrate nuclear spin-based qubits into electronic circuits and specifically trigger novel information processes, specific electric manipulation of nuclear spins is required. A team of scientists of the KIT and the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in Grenoble and Strasbourg recently succeeded for the first time in manipulating a single nuclear spin in a purely electric manner. “Use of electric instead of magnetic fields paves the way to addressing quantum states in conventional electronic circuits,“ explains Professor Mario Ruben, Head of the Molecular Materials Research Group of KIT’s Institute of Nanotechnology (INT). “There, quantum states can be manipulated specifically by so-called displacement currents. Then, they can be directly read out electronically.“

 

For their experiments, the researchers used a nuclear spin-qubit transistor that consists of a single-molecule magnet connected to three electrodes (source, drain, and gate). The single-molecule magnet is a TbPc2 molecule – a single metal ion of terbium that is enclosed by organic phthalocyanine molecules of carbon, nitrogen, and hydrogen atoms. The gap between the electric field and the spin is bridged by the so-called hyperfine-Stark effect that transforms the electric field into a local magnetic field. This quantum mechanics process can be transferred to all nuclear spin systems and, hence, opens up entirely novel perspectives for integrating quantum effects in nuclear spins into electronic circuits.

 

Stefan Thiele, Franck Balestro, Rafik Ballou, Svetlana Klyatskaya, Mario Ruben, Wolfgang Wernsdorfer: Electrically driven nuclear spin resonance in single-molecule magnets. Science 6 June 2014, Vol. 344, # 6188. DOI: 10.1126/science.1249802.

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation pursuing the tasks of a state university of Baden-Wuerttemberg and of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. The KIT mission combines the three strategic lines of activity of research, higher education, and innovation. With about 9,400 employees and 24,500 students, KIT is one of the big institutions of research and higher education in natural sciences and engineering in Europe.

or, 06.06.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseXcc9∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 077/2014

Kernspins elektrisch manipuliert

Schnelles und gezieltes Schalten von Quantenbits – Publikation in der Zeitschrift Science
Einzelmolekül-Magnet, bestehend aus einem Metallion und kontaktierenden organischen Molekülen, zwischen Elektroden. Die Kernspinzustände (farbige Kreise) lassen sich elektrisch manipulieren und auslesen. (Abbildung: C. Grupe, KIT)
Einzelmolekül-Magnet, bestehend aus einem Metallion und kontaktierenden organischen Molekülen, zwischen Elektroden. Die Kernspinzustände (farbige Kreise) lassen sich elektrisch manipulieren und auslesen. (Abbildung: C. Grupe, KIT)

Ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zum Quantencomputer ist Forschern des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) mit Partnern aus Frankreich gelungen: An einem Einzelmolekül-Magneten demonstrierten die Wissenschaftler, wie sich Kernspins mit elektrischen Feldern manipulieren lassen. Die elektrische Manipulation ermöglicht ein schnelles und gezieltes Schalten von Quantenbits. Über die Ergebnisse ihrer Experimente berichten die Wissenschaftler im Magazin Science. (DOI: 10.1126/science.1249802) 

 

Einen Quantencomputer zu verwirklichen, ist eines der ehrgeizigsten Ziele der Nanotechnologie. Ein solcher Computer, der auf quantenmechanischen Prinzipien basiert, soll Aufgaben wesentlich effizienter lösen als ein klassischer Computer: Während dieser mit Bits arbeitet, die den Wert Null oder Eins annehmen können, nutzt ein Quantencomputer als kleinste Recheneinheit sogenannte Quantenbits, kurz Qubits, bei denen es auch Werte dazwischen gibt. Als Qubits eignen sich unter anderem Kernspins, das heißt Eigendrehimpulse von Atomkernen. Sie richten sich relativ zu einem Magnetfeld entweder nach oben (Up) oder nach unten (Down) aus. Durch Verschränkung von Qubits untereinander entstehen gemischte Quantenzustände, die es ermöglichen, viele Rechenschritte parallel auszuführen.

 

Um kernspinbasierte Qubits in elektronische Schaltungen zu integrieren und dort gezielt in neuartigen Informationsprozessen anzusteuern, ist es erforderlich, Kernspins gezielt elektrisch manipulieren zu können. Einer Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern des KIT und des Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) in Grenoble und Straßburg ist nun erstmals eine rein elektrische Manipulation eines einzelnen Kernspins gelungen. „Der Einsatz von elektrischen anstelle von magnetischen Feldern bereitet den Weg zur Adressierung von Kernspinquantenzuständen in herkömmlichen elektronischen Schaltkreisen“, erklärt Professor Mario Ruben, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Molekulare Materialien am Institut für Nanotechnologie (INT) des KIT. „Die gezielte Manipulation von Quantenzuständen kann dort durch sogenannte Verschiebungsströme erfolgen und anschließend direkt elektronisch ausgelesen werden.“

 

Für ihre Experimente setzten die Forscher einen Kernspin-Qubit-Transistor ein, bestehend aus einem Einzelmolekül-Magneten, der mit drei Elektroden (Source, Drain und Gate) verbunden ist. Bei dem Einzelmolekül-Magnet handelt es sich um ein TbPc2-Molekül – ein einzelnes Metallion aus Terbium, umhüllt von organischen Phthalocyanin-Molekülen aus Kohlenstoff-, Stickstoff- und Wasserstoffatomen, wobei die organischen Liganden eine leitende Brücke zwischen Elektroden einerseits und dem Kernspin andererseits aufspannen. Diese Brücke wird physikalisch vom sogenannten Hyperfein-Stark-Effekt geschlagen, der das elektrische Feld in ein lokales magnetisches Feld transformiert. Dieser quantenmechanische Prozess lässt sich auf alle Kernspinsysteme übertragen und eröffnet somit generell neuartige Perspektiven, die Quanteneffekte in elektronische Schaltkreise zu integrieren.

 

Stefan Thiele, Franck Balestro, Rafik Ballou, Svetlana Klyatskaya, Mario Ruben, Wolfgang Wernsdorfer: Electrically driven nuclear spin resonance in single-molecule magnets. Science 6 June 2014, Vol. 344, # 6188. DOI: 10.1126/science.1249802

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

or, 06.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseGsj5∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.