Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 076/2014

KIT Researchers Build Optical Invisibility Cloak for a Diffusive Medium

Ideal Invisibility Cloaks for Visible Light in Diffusive Media / Simple Setup Produces Surprising Results
2014_076_KIT-Forscher_bauen_optische_Tarnkappe_fuer_den_Nebel_72dpi
In a diffusive light-scattering medium, light moves on random paths (see magnifying glass). A normal object (left) casts a shadow, an object with an invisibility cloak (right) does not. (Image: R. Schittny / KIT)

Real invisibility cloaks are rather complex and work in certain situations only. The laws of physics prevent an optical invisibility cloak from making objects in air invisible for any directions, colors, and polarizations. If the medium is changed, however, it becomes much easier to hide objects. KIT physicists have now succeeded in manufacturing with relatively simple means and testing an ideal invisibility cloak for diffusive light-scattering media, such as fog or milk. Their results are published in the renowned Science journal. (DOI: 10.1126/science.1254524)

 

In diffusive media, light does no longer propagate linearly, but is scattered permanently by the particles in the medium. Examples are fog, clouds, or frosted glass panes that let the light in, but hide the light source. “This property of light-scattering media can be used to hide objects inside,” says Robert Schittny, first author of the study. “The new invisibility cloaks have a rather simple structure.”

 

In the experiment, Schittny used an extended light source to illuminate a Plexiglas tank of a few centimeters in width from the back. The tank was filled with a white, turbid liquid. Objects inside cast a visible shadow onto the tank wall. Simple metal cylinders or spheres of a few centimeters in diameter were used as test objects. To hide them, they were first coated with a white dispersion paint, such that the light was reflected in a diffusive manner. To pass the light around the object, the researchers applied a thin shell made of the transparent silicon material PDMS, to which a certain concentration of light-scattering melamine microparticles was added. The silicon/melamine shell caused a quicker diffusion than in the environment and, thus, passed the light around the objects. Hence, they did no longer cast a shadow. “Disappearance of the shadow indicates successful cloaking.”

 

“Ideal optical invisibility cloaks in air have a drawback,” Martin Wegener points out. He conducts research at the KIT Institute of Applied Physics and the KIT Institute of Nanotechnology. “They violate Albert Einstein’s theory of relativity that prescribes an upper limit for the speed of light. “In diffuse media, in which light is scattered several times, however, the effective speed of light is reduced. Here, ideal invisibility cloaks can be realized.”

 

The study performed by Wegener and Schittny was funded by the DFG Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) and represents pure fundamental research to demonstrate the principle. “We will have to wait a long time for real applications, but with the help of the principle found, it might be possible to produce frosted glass panes for bathrooms with integrated metal bars or sensors against burglary. These sensors or bars would be invisible from the inside and outside,” Schittny explains.

 

Invisibility Cloaking in a Diffusive Light Scattering Medium, R. Schittny, M. Kadic, T. Bückmann, and M. Wegener, DOI: 10.1126/science.1254524

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

kes, 06.06.2014

For further information, please contact:

Kosta Schinarakis
PKM, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43568
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseHrq5∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 076/2014

KIT-Forscher bauen optische Tarnkappe für den Nebel

Ideale Tarnkappen für sichtbares Licht in diffusiven Umgebungen / Einfache Anordnung erzielt erstaunliche Ergebnisse
Im diffus streuenden Medium bewegt sich Licht auf zufälligen Bahnen (Lupe). Darin wirft ein normaler Gegenstand (links) einen Schatten, einer mit Tarnkappe (rechts) nicht. (Bild: R. Schittny/KIT)
Im diffus streuenden Medium bewegt sich Licht auf zufälligen Bahnen (Lupe). Darin wirft ein normaler Gegenstand (links) einen Schatten, einer mit Tarnkappe (rechts) nicht. (Bild: R. Schittny/KIT)

Reale Tarnkappen sind aufwendig und funktionieren nur in bestimmten Situationen. Die Gesetze der Physik verhindern es, dass eine optische Tarnkappe Objekte in Luft für beliebige Richtungen, Farben und Polarisationen unsichtbar macht. Ändert man jedoch das Medium, so wird es sehr viel einfacher Objekte zu tarnen. Physiker des KIT haben nun mit relativ einfachen Mitteln eine ideale Tarnkappe für lichtstreuende Umgebungen wie etwa Nebel oder Milch hergestellt und erfolgreich getestet. Ihre Ergebnisse erscheinen in der renommierten Zeitschrift Science. (DOI: 10.1126/science.1254524)

 

In diffusiven Medien breitet sich Licht nicht mehr geradlinig aus, sondern wird von den Partikeln im Medium ständig gestreut. Bekannte Beispiele sind Nebel, Wolken oder Milchglasscheiben, die zwar Licht einlassen, aber die Lichtquelle verschleiern. „Diese Eigenschaft von lichtstreuenden Medien lässt sich nutzen, um Objekte darin zu verstecken“, sagt Robert Schittny, der Erstautor der Studie. „Dabei sind die neuen Tarnkappen eigentlich ganz einfach aufgebaut.“

 

Im Experiment benutzte Schittny eine ausgedehnte Lichtquelle, die von hinten einen einige Zentimeter schmalen Plexiglas-Tank beleuchtete, der mit einer weißen, trüben Flüssigkeit gefüllt war. Objekte darin werfen einen sichtbaren Schatten auf die Behälterwand. Als Testobjekt dienen einfache Metallzylinder oder -kugeln mit einigen Zentimetern Durchmesser. Um diese zu tarnen, werden sie zunächst mit weißer Dispersionsfarbe gestrichen, sodass sie Licht diffus reflektieren. Um das Licht schließlich um das Objekt herumzulenken, bringen die Forscher eine dünne Schale des transparenten Silikonwerkstoffs PDMS auf, in den sie zuvor lichtstreuende Melamin-Mikropartikel in geeigneter Konzentration gemischt haben. Nun sorgt die Silikon/Melamin-Schale für eine schnellere Diffusion als in der Umgebung und lenkt damit das Licht um die Objekte, die somit keinen Schatten mehr werfen. „Das Verschwinden des Schattens ist der Beweis für gelungenes Tarnen.“

 

„Ideale optische Tarnkappen in Luft haben alle einen Pferdefuß“ macht Martin Wegener klar, der am KIT am Institut für Angewandte Physik und am Institut für Nanotechnologie forscht. „Sie verletzen Albert Einsteins Relativitätstheorie, die eine Obergrenze für die Lichtgeschwindigkeit vorschreibt.“ In diffusen Medien, in denen das Licht mehrfach gestreut wird, reduziert sich jedoch die effektive Lichtgeschwindigkeit. Hier lassen sich ideale Tarnkappen verwirklichen.

 

Bei der aktuellen Studie von Wegener und Schittny, die vom DFG-Center for Functional Nanostructures (CFN) gefördert wurde, handelt es sich um Grundlagenforschung und den Beweis des Wirkprinzips. „Bis zu realen Anwendungen ist es noch lang hin, aber mit dem nun gefundenen Prinzip könnte man Milchglasfenster für Badezimmer herstellen, in denen Metallstangen gegen Einbrecher oder Sensoren integriert sind – ohne dass man Sensoren oder Stangen von Innen oder Außen sehen könnte“ erläutert Schittny.

 

Invisibility Cloaking in a Diffusive Light Scattering Medium, R.Schittny, M. Kadic, T. Bückmann, and M. Wegener, DOI: 10.1126/science.1254524

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

kes, 06.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Kosta Schinarakis
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing, Themenscout
Tel.: +49 721 608-41956
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail:schinarakis@kit.edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseLva9∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.