Home | deutsch | Legals | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Contact:
Monika Landgraf
Chief Press Officer, Head of Press Office

Phone: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
e-mail

Subscription of Press Releases

RSS-Feed

Press Release 074/2014

Intelligent Machines for Tomorrow’s Factory

Plug & Produce Process for Efficient Manufacture of Niche Products – EU Funds SkillPro Research Project with EUR 3.8 Million
2014_074_Intelligente_Maschinen_fuer_die_Fabrik_der_Zukunft72dpi
Cooperation of intelligent machines: The robot gripper hands over a workpiece to a mobile platform that moves it to the next stage. (Photo: Irina Westermann)

Mass production of industrial goods, such as furniture, clothing or ball pens, is inexpensive. In the future, even small series of individualized products might be manufactured rapidly and efficiently by means of intelligent machines that communicate with each other. To this end, researchers of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) coordinate the SkillPro EU research project that is aimed at finding innovative solutions to considerably reduce changeover times in the production process.

 

Having completed one order, manufacture of any new product ordered mostly requires a modification of the production process. When manufacturing small series, preparation, setup, and programming of the machine park often take much longer than manufacture proper. “Machines equipped with additional intelligence and communicating with each other are expected to significantly reduce the changeover time,” says engineer Thomas Maier, Managing Director of KIT’s Institute for Information Management in Engineering (IMI). A machine equipped with camera sensors, for instance, can recognize any workpiece even in case of changing products. Having examined the workpiece’s shape and position, the machine can decide how to apply its gripper or suction caps and where to place the workpiece. Depending on the product, machines having gripping, welding, or bonding skills can determine their next task or production step. They “communicate” with neighboring machines and know whether they have to ask for a mobile robot to transport the product to the next workstation or the shipping department of the company.

 

Small and medium-sized enterprises in particular are to benefit from the intelligent production system. It allows for the low-cost production of niche products of variable shapes or fits. “The companies can offer individualized mass production and react flexibly to fluctuations in demand,” Maier says. Quicker execution of small-series production will strengthen European industry production.

 

In the plug & produce process developed under the project, machines autonomously adjust for the product to be manufactured. The solution concept is based mainly on new developments in computer science. Prior to the start of production proper, a specially developed computer program calculates in which assembly line the orders are executed most efficiently. “Additional machines or technical capabilities can be integrated into the existing park with a small expenditure, as they inform the system about which part of the production process they will accomplish,” Maier explains. The production sequence simulated in the planning phase and the real production process are displayed on a screen.

 

Robots and tools that communicate with each other and combine in variable factory lines within shortest periods of time are major elements of a smart factory. The factories of “Industry 4.0” combine production engineering with information technology. Under the SkillPro project, computer scientists cooperate with electrical engineers, business engineers, and mechanical engineers.

 

On the part of KIT, the Institute for Information Management in Engineering and the Institute for Anthropomatics and Robotics (IAR) with its Research Laboratory for Intelligent Process Control and Robotics (IPR) are involved in the project. “Existing plug & produce approaches are improved with the help of knowledge about the skills of new devices and their effects on the entire production system in terms of workflows and economic aspects,” explains SkillPro coordinator Professor Björn Hein, who conducts research at the IPR. Apart from the KIT, the Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation and the FZI Research Center for Information Technology, industry partners from France, Greece, Spain, Estonia, Finland, and Germany participate in the project. The European Union (EU) funds the research project that started in 2012 with EUR 3.8 million. The funding period will expire in September 2015. “Interim evaluation after half of the project duration confirmed the feasibility of our approach,” Thomas Maier emphasizes.

 


Digital Press Kit Relating to the Science Year 2014

Communication, energy supply, mobility, industry, health care, leisure time: Digital technologies have long been part of our everyday life, they open up new opportunities and offer solutions for problems of society. At the same time, they pose challenges. Opportunities and risks will be in the focus of the Science Year 2014 – The Digital Society. At the KIT, researchers of all disciplines study various – technical and societal – aspects of digitization. The digital press kit of KIT relating to the Science Year 2014 contains short portraits, press releases, and videos:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft 

 

 

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) is a public corporation according to the legislation of the state of Baden-Württemberg. It fulfills the mission of a university and the mission of a national research center of the Helmholtz Association. Research activities focus on energy, the natural and built environment as well as on society and technology and cover the whole range extending from fundamental aspects to application. With about 9400 employees, including more than 6000 staff members in the science and education sector, and 24500 students, KIT is one of the biggest research and education institutions in Europe. Work of KIT is based on the knowledge triangle of research, teaching, and innovation.

afr, 04.06.2014

For further information, please contact:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Phone: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneNmo0∂kit edu
The photo of printing quality may be requested by presseLde4∂kit edu or phone: +49 721 608-47414. The press release is available as a PDF file.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | Intranet | KIT
Portrait Monika Landgraf
Kontakt:
Monika Landgraf
Pressesprecherin, Leitung Presse

Tel: +49 721 608-47414
Fax: +49 721 608-43658
E-Mail

Abonnement der Presseinformationen

per RSS-Feed

per E-Mail

Presseinformation 074/2014

Intelligente Maschinen für die Fabrik der Zukunft

„Plug & Produce“-Verfahren für effiziente Fertigung von Nischenprodukten – EU fördert Forschungsprojekt SkillPro mit 3,8 Millionen Euro.
Kooperation intelligenter Maschinen: Der Robotergreifer übergibt ein Werkstück an eine bewegliche Plattform, die es zum nächsten Arbeitsschritt fährt.  (Foto: Irina Westermann)
Kooperation intelligenter Maschinen: Der Robotergreifer übergibt ein Werkstück an eine bewegliche Plattform, die es zum nächsten Arbeitsschritt fährt. (Foto: Irina Westermann)

Ob Möbel, Kleidung oder Kugelschreiber – als Massenprodukte werden Industriegüter besonders kostengünstig hergestellt. Künftig könnten sich auch kleine Auflagen individualisierter Produkte schnell und effizient fertigen lassen: durch intelligente Fertigungsmaschinen, die miteinander kommunizieren. Wissenschaftler des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) koordinieren das EU-Forschungsprojekt SkillPro, dessen innovative Lösungen unter anderem die Umrüstzeiten im Produktionsprozess deutlich reduzieren.

 

Von Auftrag zu Auftrag muss für jedes neue Produkt, das gefertigt werden soll, zumeist auch der Produktionsprozess umgestellt werden. Beim Herstellen in kleiner Stückzahl dauert das Vorbereiten, Einrichten und Programmieren des Maschinenparks häufig wesentlich länger als die eigentliche Fertigung. „Von Maschinen, die mit zusätzlicher Intelligenz ausgestattet sind und miteinander kommunizieren, erwarten wir eine deutliche Reduktion der Umrüstzeit“, sagt Diplom-Ingenieur Thomas Maier, Geschäftsführer des Instituts für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen (IMI) am KIT. So könne eine mit Kamera-Sensoren ausgestattete Maschine auch bei wechselnden Produkten das jeweilige Werkstück optisch erkennen und nach Prüfung von Form und Lage entscheiden, wie sie in diesem Fall ihren Greifarm oder ihre Saugnäpfe einsetzt und wo sie das Stück ablegt. Die mit unterschiedlichen Fähigkeiten wie die zum Greifen, Schweißen oder Kleben ausgestatteten Maschinen erkennen je nach Produkt ihre eigene Aufgabe sowie den nächsten Produktionsschritt. Sie „reden“ mit Nachbarmaschinen und wissen, ob sie zum Beispiel einen fahrenden Roboter anfordern müssen, der das Produkt zur nächsten Arbeitsstation oder in die Versandabteilung der Firma transportiert.

 

Insbesondere kleine und mittlere Unternehmen sollen von dem intelligenten Produktionssystem profitieren. Es ermöglicht, Nischenprodukte, die in Gestalt oder Passform variieren, kostengünstig zu produzieren. „Die Firmen können individualisierte Massenproduktion anbieten und flexibel auf Nachfrageschwankungen reagieren“, so Maier. Die Möglichkeit, die Produktion kleiner Stückzahlen schneller abzuwickeln, sei ein Mittel die europäische Industrieproduktion zu stärken.

 

In dem „Plug & Produce“ – „Einstecken und Produzieren“ – genannten Verfahren stellen sich die Maschinen im Verbund eigenständig auf das jeweils zu fertigende Produkt ein. Zu dem Lösungskonzept tragen vor allem Neuentwicklungen der Informatik bei. Bereits bevor die eigentliche Produktion startet, kann mit Hilfe einer speziell entwickelten Software errechnet werden, in welcher Montagelinie die Aufträge am effizientesten ausgeführt werden. „Zusätzliche Maschinen oder technische Fähigkeiten lassen sich mit geringem Aufwand in einen vorhandenen Maschinenpark einfügen, da sie dem System mitteilen, welchen Part im Produktionsprozess sie übernehmen“, erläutert Maier. Für das Management sind sowohl die simulierte Produktionsabfolge in der Planungsphase als auch der reale Fertigungsprozess als virtuelle Darstellung der Anlage auf dem Bildschirm sichtbar.

 

Roboter und Werkzeuge, die sich untereinander verständigen und innerhalb kurzer Zeit wandelbare Fabrikstrukturen bilden können, sind wesentliche Elemente der „smarten“ Fabrik. In den Werkshallen der „Industrie 4.0“ verschmelzen Fertigungstechnik und Informationstechnologie. Bei SkillPro kooperieren Informatiker, Elektrotechniker, Wirtschaftsingenieure und Maschinenbauer.

 

Von Seiten des KIT sind das Institut für Informationsmanagement im Ingenieurwesen sowie das Institut für Anthropomatik und Robotik (IAR) mit seinem Forschungslabor Intelligente Prozessautomation und Robotik (IPR) beteiligt. „Die bestehenden Plug & Produce-Ansätze sollen dadurch verbessert werden, dass das Wissen um die Fähigkeiten – oder „Skills“ – neuer Geräte und ihrer Auswirkung auf die Gesamtheit eines Produktionssystems in Hinblick auf Arbeitsabläufe und ökonomische Aspekte berücksichtigt werden“, so SkillPro-Koordinator Professor Björn Hein, der am IPR forscht. Neben dem KIT, dem Fraunhofer Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung und dem FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik gehören dem SkillPro-Konsortium Industriepartner aus Frankreich, Griechenland, Spanien, Estland, Finnland und Deutschland an. Die Europäische Union (EU) fördert das 2012 begonnene Forschungsprojekt mit 3,8 Millionen Euro. Die Förderphase der EU für SkillPro läuft bis September 2015. „Die Zwischenbewertung zur Halbzeit des Forschungsprojekts hat die Funktionalität des Ansatzes bestätigt“, sagt Thomas Maier.

 


Digitale Pressemappe zum Wissenschaftsjahr 2014

Ob in der Kommunikation, der Energieversorgung oder der Mobilität, in der Industrie, im Gesundheitsbereich oder in der Freizeit: Digitale Technologien sind längst Teil unseres Alltags, sie eröffnen neue Möglichkeiten und bieten Lösungen für gesellschaftliche Probleme. Gleichzeitig stellen sie uns vor Herausforderungen. Chancen und Risiken stehen im Mittelpunkt des Wissenschaftsjahres 2014 – Die Digitale Gesellschaft. Am KIT beschäftigen sich Forscherinnen und Forscher aller Disziplinen mit den vielfältigen – technischen und gesellschaftlichen – Aspekten der Digitalisierung. Kurzporträts, Presseinformationen und Videos dazu bietet die digitale Pressemappe des KIT zum Wissenschaftsjahr:
http://www.pkm.kit.edu/digitalegesellschaft 

 

 

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) verbindet seine drei Kernaufgaben Forschung, Lehre und Innovation zu einer Mission. Mit rund 9 300 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern sowie 25 000 Studierenden ist das KIT eine der großen natur- und ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtungen Europas.

KIT – Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft

afr, 04.06.2014

Weiterer Kontakt:

Margarete Lehné
Presse, Kommunikation und Marketing
Tel.: +49 721 608-48121
Fax: +49 721 608-45681
margarete lehneGbl8∂kit edu
Das Foto kann in druckfähiger Qualität angefordert werden unter: presseVpg8∂kit edu oder +49 721 608-47414. Die Presseinformation steht auch als PDF-Datei zur Verfügung.